February 20 marks the birth date of Linden Forbes Sampson Burnham (LFSB). While some use the date to reflect on his life and work, some use it to continue vilifying him. LFSB remains one of the most misunderstood leaders of our time. From his policies, deportment, competitiveness, intellect, philosophy, patriotism to his charisma, detractors have found ways to downplay and demonise attributes that normally would be sources for discourse to arrive at an objective understanding of the man. As we face elections his name surfaces with vengeance and is being associated with untruths. He becomes the bogeyman to pronounce why a group/party is unworthy to govern. It is time to kill this germ with some home truths:-

For keeping his eyes on the prize to achieve independence and having successfully influenced the colonizer and its ally (Britain and USA), in a Cold War era, to accept his embrace of socialism as unthreatening and posing no opportunity for USSR/communist expansion, his detractors refuse to acknowledge his shrewdness and accuse him of being power hungry. That he subsequently fought for Republican status, finally breaking the yoke of domination and a compromise struck for 23rd February, he is accused of fixing this date to celebrate his birthday. It is ignored February 23 marks the slaves’ first (1763) major blow for freedom in the New World, and this final attainment (1970) is a fitting homage to those who began the struggle centuries before.

When Guyana joined the Non-Aligned Movement, an organisation conceived by India Prime Minister Jawaharal Nehru, LFSB was not condemned. When LFSB and other Caribbean leaders in the new post-colonial societies saw the need to establish regional institutions in furtherance of the interest of the region’s people, he was accused of trying to submerge a race.

All Guyana supported the visit to India by Cheddie Jagan and LFSB in the struggle for independence, given that country’s attainment in 1947. Guyana became divided when LFSB used India and Guyana experiences to help the anti-colonial struggles in Southern African. He remains accused of lending support because of race and budgetary allocation to the struggles was not supported by the PPP. He is denied the Oliver Tambo Award because his detractors managed to influence others to accept, that albeit his support satisfies the criteria for the award, he remains underserving under criteria created by them.

He is accused of banning flour, spilt peas and potato to punish Indians. Ignored is the fact that the restriction of these items impacted on all races. The race-hate propaganda is moving at whirlwind speed in this silly season. It matters not that flour was/is used to make bakes, bread, cakes and, roti is a staple of all. It matters not that split peas was/is used in soup, cook-up and, dhall is a staple of all. It matters not that potato was/is a staple of all. More importantly, it is ignored the circumstances under which Guyana was unable to continue the importation of these items.

Disregarded is the function of government to make choices or tough decisions spending scarce foreign exchange on expenditures and debt repayment. The oil crisis of the early 1970s that sent economies reeling and non-producing, oil-dependent countries like Guyana into a tailspin was seen as LFSB’s fault. That Guyana, unlike countries like USA and Trinidad, had no social safety net to cushion the effects made matters worse. Efforts by his administration to encourage citizens to conserve and be self-reliant were labeled as a return to dark times. Where developed societies are driven by the ingenuity and entrepreneurship of its people, at home forces influenced the masses to think self-empowerment equals deprivation and anti-development.

Alongside the oil crisis, were political strikes and economic sabotages causing millions of foreign exchange to the Treasury, an insight which can be gleaned from Dr. Tyrone Ferguson’s “To survive sensibly or court heroic death….” In 1976 sugar workers led a 135 days political strike that caused Guyana to run into conflict with the buyers. Recall too, rice farmers were told not to engage in large scale production.

LFSB stands accused of being anti-Indian, racist, even though he zealously pursued the aspiration of One People, One Nation, One Destiny. His remains an unsurpassed record to bring racial healing and forge positive race relations. This record includes the designation of major religious and race observances as national holidays, legitimising Hindu and Muslim weddings, allowing pandit and imam to become marriage officers, the repeal of the Obeah Ordinance, the legitimising of children born out of wedlock which also impacted on Indians who did not confirm to the western marriage, the policies of mandatory early education and free education from nursery to university which opened the doors to learning for all.

We see his additional achievements in our national symbols including naming of awards, the Coat of Arms, the reconfiguration of local government boundaries which allows for diverse groups to work together in common pursuit, honouring the 1948 struggles of sugar workers via Enmore Martyrs monument and national commemoration, the building of all-weather road in Canal No. 1 & 2 that allowed farmers improved access to bring their produce from the backdam to the main road, the Demerara Harbour Bridge which improved trading, the construction of silos that allowed for improvement in rice storage, Hinterland Scholarship, Mashramani events which showcase cultural diversity in celebration after hard work, etc.

As Head of Government he used his power to remove the Jim Crow laws and topple the class, colour and race barriers in sugar and bauxite. This policy had a domino effect in Guyana Stores, Fogarty’s etc. No longer if you were non-white, dark and from poor families you had to stay back. He established financial institutions such as GAIBANK, GNCB, GNCB Trust Cooperation and Mortgage Finance, making it possible for the ordinary man to own his home and engage in business. Amidst accusations that he wanted to steal workers’ money and calls to boycott by his political rival, he forged ahead with the National Insurance Scheme (1969), which remains the nation’s major social safety net in times of sickness, maternity, injury, death, invalidity, disablement and old age. The single largest bloc of beneficiary to the Industrial Branch benefit remains sugar workers. Today part of NIS financial woes is the PPP’s misuse of the workers’ money to ‘invest’ in shady schemes and a $1B owed by GuySuCo.

Added to the above is his godson, Cheddie Jagan’s revelation that, “As a teenager I remember during the dark period of the early 1960s, when the PNC and PPP were engaged in spreading violence, my godfather, Forbes Burnham, and my father, Cheddi Jagan met on several occasions secretly (they even went to the seawalls some evenings), I am sure to contain the violence. As recently as 1985, these great Guyanese leaders met to discuss a coalition government of the PPP and PNC….” http://www.stabroeknews.com/…/shared-governance-is-what-we…/ That a man so slandered was able to maintain cordial and working relationship with the country’s leading Indian icon is the ultimate exposure of the deceit of his detractors.

If LFSB was anti-Indian, with a record as outlined above, then it doesn’t say much of elder Jagan who had close relations with him. While LFSB was a complex man, a misunderstood man he must no longer remain! Let’s truthfully and contextually examine his record, give him his credit and where mistakes were made, let us learn from them. Members and supporters of his party must become uncompromising and intolerant of the effort(s) to unjustly malign and deny him his contributions to society. To do otherwise would be tantamount to maligning and denying ourselves, allowing others to wipe us from history, make us irrelevant, and settling for less when we know we deserve and are capable of more!

Minette Bacchus

'Debra Archer 2 mins February 20 marks the birth date of Linden Forbes Sampson Burnham [LFSB). While some use the date to reflect on his life and work, some use it to continue vilifying him. LFSB remains one of the most misunderstood leaders of our time. From his policies, deportment, competitiveness, intellect, philosophy, patriotism to his charisma, detractors have found ways to downplay and demonise attributes that normally would be sources for discourse to arrive at an objective understanding of the man. As we face elections his name surfaces with vengeance and is being associated with untruths. He becomes the bogeyman to pronounce why a group/party is unworthy to govern. It is time to kill this germ with some home truths:- For keeping his eyes on the prize to achieve independence and having successfully influenced the colonizer and its ally [Britain and USA), in a Cold War era, to accept his embrace of socialism as unthreatening and posing no opportunity for USSR/communist expansion, his detractors refuse to acknowledge his shrewdness and accuse him of being power hungry. That he subsequently fought for Republican status, finally breaking the yoke of domination and a compromise struck for 23rd February, he is accused of fixing this date to celebrate his birthday. It is ignored February 23 marks the slaves’ first (1763) major blow for freedom in the New World, and this final attainment (1970) is a fitting homage to those who began the struggle centuries before. When Guyana joined the Non-Aligned Movement, an organisation conceived by India Prime Minister Jawaharal Nehru, LFSB was not condemned. When LFSB and other Caribbean leaders in the new post-colonial societies saw the need to establish regional institutions in furtherance of the interest of the region’s people, he was accused of trying to submerge a race. All Guyana supported the visit to India by Cheddie Jagan and LFSB in the struggle for independence, given that country’s attainment in 1947. Guyana became divided when LFSB used India and Guyana experiences to help the anti-colonial struggles in Southern African. He remains accused of lending support because of race and budgetary allocation to the struggles was not supported by the PPP. He is denied the Oliver Tambo Award because his detractors managed to influence others to accept, that albeit his support satisfies the criteria for the award, he remains underserving under criteria created by them. He is accused of banning flour, spilt peas and potato to punish Indians. Ignored is the fact that the restriction of these items impacted on all races. The race-hate propaganda is moving at whirlwind speed in this silly season. It matters not that flour was/is used to make bakes, bread, cakes and, roti is a staple of all. It matters not that split peas was/is used in soup, cook-up and, dhall is a staple of all. It matters not that potato was/is a staple of all. More importantly, it is ignored the circumstances under which Guyana was unable to continue the importation of these items. Disregarded is the function of government to make choices or tough decisions spending scarce foreign exchange on expenditures and debt repayment. The oil crisis of the early 1970s that sent economies reeling and non-producing, oil-dependent countries like Guyana into a tailspin was seen as LFSB’s fault. That Guyana, unlike countries like USA and Trinidad, had no social safety net to cushion the effects made matters worse. Efforts by his administration to encourage citizens to conserve and be self-reliant were labeled as a return to dark times. Where developed societies are driven by the ingenuity and entrepreneurship of its people, at home forces influenced the masses to think self-empowerment equals deprivation and anti-development. Alongside the oil crisis, were political strikes and economic sabotages causing millions of foreign exchange to the Treasury, an insight which can be gleaned from Dr. Tyrone Ferguson’s “To survive sensibly or court heroic death….” In 1976 sugar workers led a 135 days political strike that caused Guyana to run into conflict with the buyers. Recall too, rice farmers were told not to engage in large scale production. LFSB stands accused of being anti-Indian, racist, even though he zealously pursued the aspiration of One People, One Nation, One Destiny. His remains an unsurpassed record to bring racial healing and forge positive race relations. This record includes the designation of major religious and race observances as national holidays, legitimising Hindu and Muslim weddings, allowing pandit and imam to become marriage officers, the repeal of the Obeah Ordinance, the legitimising of children born out of wedlock which also impacted on Indians who did not confirm to the western marriage, the policies of mandatory early education and free education from nursery to university which opened the doors to learning for all. We see his additional achievements in our national symbols including naming of awards, the Coat of Arms, the reconfiguration of local government boundaries which allows for diverse groups to work together in common pursuit, honouring the 1948 struggles of sugar workers via Enmore Martyrs monument and national commemoration, the building of all-weather road in Canal No. 1 & 2 that allowed farmers improved access to bring their produce from the backdam to the main road, the Demerara Harbour Bridge which improved trading, the construction of silos that allowed for improvement in rice storage, Hinterland Scholarship, Mashramani events which showcase cultural diversity in celebration after hard work, etc. As Head of Government he used his power to remove the Jim Crow laws and topple the class, colour and race barriers in sugar and bauxite. This policy had a domino effect in Guyana Stores, Fogarty’s etc. No longer if you were non-white, dark and from poor families you had to stay back. He established financial institutions such as GAIBANK, GNCB, GNCB Trust Cooperation and Mortgage Finance, making it possible for the ordinary man to own his home and engage in business. Amidst accusations that he wanted to steal workers’ money and calls to boycott by his political rival, he forged ahead with the National Insurance Scheme (1969), which remains the nation’s major social safety net in times of sickness, maternity, injury, death, invalidity, disablement and old age. The single largest bloc of beneficiary to the Industrial Branch benefit remains sugar workers. Today part of NIS financial woes is the PPP’s misuse of the workers’ money to ‘invest’ in shady schemes and a $1B owed by GuySuCo. Added to the above is his godson, Cheddie Jagan’s revelation that, “As a teenager I remember during the dark period of the early 1960s, when the PNC and PPP were engaged in spreading violence, my godfather, Forbes Burnham, and my father, Cheddi Jagan met on several occasions secretly (they even went to the seawalls some evenings), I am sure to contain the violence. As recently as 1985, these great Guyanese leaders met to discuss a coalition government of the PPP and PNC….” http://www.stabroeknews.com/…/shared-governance-is-what-we…/ That a man so slandered was able to maintain cordial and working relationship with the country’s leading Indian icon is the ultimate exposure of the deceit of his detractors. If LFSB was anti-Indian, with a record as outlined above, then it doesn’t say much of elder Jagan who had close relations with him. While LFSB was a complex man, a misunderstood man he must no longer remain! Let’s truthfully and contextually examine his record, give him his credit and where mistakes were made, let us learn from them. Members and supporters of his party must become uncompromising and intolerant of the effort(s) to unjustly malign and deny him his contributions to society. To do otherwise would be tantamount to maligning and denying ourselves, allowing others to wipe us from history, make us irrelevant, and settling for less when we know we deserve and are capable of more! Minette Bacchus'

Like ·

I have had the privilege to speaking to numerous people (mostly Indians) who encountered him in life and they always remark about his charm, wit, brilliance, and the grace he displayed towards them.

My Grandfather particularly recalls being asked by Burnham to buy a New Nation paper. My Grandfather replies "Well Comrade PM, what am I supposed to do with these? (showing Burnham his stack of unsold New Nation papers)" ....My grandfather was proud that he managed to stump the Kabaka who had no response.

Quote:

Forbes Burnham, and my father, Cheddi Jagan met on several occasions secretly (they even went to the seawalls some evenings),

~~~~~~~

hahahaha, from my recollection, a secret evening meeting on the seawall meant something in a back seat, hahahaha

who does write dese crap?

Originally Posted by TI:

Quote:

Forbes Burnham, and my father, Cheddi Jagan met on several occasions secretly (they even went to the seawalls some evenings),

~~~~~~~

hahahaha, from my recollection, a secret evening meeting on the seawall meant something in a back seat, hahahaha

who does write dese crap?

LMAO

Mek sense though. Cheddi use to tek nuff PNC buggery. That was his whole claim to fame

Burnham had absolutely no financial or economic sense. The man was a sweet talker and power drunk.

I loved it when I saw him riding his horse and observing his party supporters bowing to him in the cane fields and coconut estate as he rode majestically by.

Originally Posted by TI:

Burnham had absolutely no financial or economic sense. The man was a sweet talker and power drunk.

I loved it when I saw him riding his horse and observing his party supporters bowing to him in the cane fields and coconut estate as he rode majestically by.

My grandfather recounts how he was amazed that his supporters would run up to him as he rode horseback just to touch his riding boots. It looked as if he was kicking them.

That's a bloody successful politician there. Literally kick your supporters and they're grateful fuh de kick

He came to Houston two times before he died. I was about 11 years. I still remember him eating crackers and butter. I remember him cracking jokes with the kids, most East Indians. My brother has another story. He is much older than I am. He and his buddy placed a stone in the center of the cabbage. The cabbage grew really big and when Forbes came to inspect the school garden he was really impressed by the size and weight of the cabbage 

Originally Posted by TI:

My grandfather recounts how he was amazed that his supporters would run up to him as he rode horseback just to touch his riding boots. It looked as if he was kicking them.

That's a bloody successful politician there. Literally your supporters and they're grateful fuh de kick

Hahaha, that's the the secret of Guyanese politics. Guyanese people like to be kicked...they will love you and vote for you eternally.

For some reason in January 2001 I found myself in the Botanical Gardens and strolled over to Burnham's Mausoleum. As I paid my respects and walked away, I couldn't help but notice this nice young couple together holding hands as they paid homage to the Late Kabaka. It was a young coolie bai holding hands with his Black girl sweetheart. I thought to myself "what a fitting tribute to the Kabaka's enduring legacy."

Then I was briefly ashamed of myself for thinking such obviously racist thoughts. That that was my go to place at that very instant in time

Originally Posted by TI:

That's a bloody successful politician there. Literally kick your supporters and they're grateful fuh de kick

Bhai, Dont talk about Caribj like dat.

Burnham to an Indian Pandit whose name I forgot.

Burnham drinks from a glass and hands it to the Pandit. Pandit says "PM, I'm a Pandit I can't drink juta"

Burnham without missing a beat says "Pandit, this is the PM's juta" and offers him the glass again

I knew somebody who used to write speech for Burnham. One of my boss at my first job.

One day I get away from work and sneak in Bourda to watch cricket.  I saw my boss up in member pavilion, then the PA system in the clubhouse came on making an announcement...The President would like his speech immediately...

Man if you see run...Fatboy had his boys well trained

Personally, I think Fatboy was a cheapskate.

One time, the man invited me to his birthday party, and I was walking around town flashing the invite, and scoring some good points.
Later in the day, I check the letter the invitation came with.
"Comrade, your mandatory contribution of $100 will be deducted from your pay"

First time I had to pay to attend a birthday party.

Originally Posted by TI:

I knew somebody who used to write speech for Burnham. One of my boss at my first job.

One day I get away from work and sneak in Bourda to watch cricket.  I saw my boss up in member pavilion, then the PA system in the clubhouse came on making an announcement...The President would like his speech immediately...

Man if you see run...Fatboy had his boys well trained

HAHA And dem liked it that way.  Ask Caribj.

Burnham drinks from a glass and hands it to the Pandit. Pandit says "PM, I'm a Pandit I can't drink juta"

Burnham without missing a beat says "Pandit, this is the PM's juta" and offers him the glass again

Wonder if dat is GNI's high caste canoe pandit Yuji.

Originally Posted by TK:

Duh would explain his lifelong pathological hatred of Burnham and black people.

Dem bais mek he drink lil juta

And not even respectable chat-3 juta at that but Black people juta

Originally Posted by TK:

You guys are stirring up stuff. 

Burnham was intelligent, outfoxed Cheddi and was the greatest Speaker in the Caribbean.

His resentment for Indos brought his downfall.

Thanks to Burnham, many of us had to flee Guyana and are now enjoying a very high standard of living in North America.

Thank you Burnham for giving Nehru Bhai Breadfruit Curry.

Originally Posted by TK:

Burnham was intelligent, outfoxed Cheddi and was the greatest Speaker in the Caribbean.

Thanks to Burnham, many of had to flee Guyana and are now enjoying a very high standard of living in North America.

Burnham NEVER resented Indians. Unintended consequences of his policies were the problem. Debate the merits and demerits of his policy instead of continuing this nonsense that his policies were meant to deliberately hurt Indians.

Early 70's when I was a teacher at Meten- Meer -Zorg, Forbes came to officially open the new school, he stopped by my parents house had lunch, I spoke briefly with him and he gave me, an autograph photo, which I still owned.P.S I also have an autographed photo of Jagan.Yes he ban flour,dhall and aloo, but we learn to make rice flour, use sweet potatoes as fries. When you get lemon, you make lemonade.

Originally Posted by kp:

Early 70's when I was a teacher at Meten- Meer -Zorg, Forbes came to officially open the new school, he stopped by my parents house had lunch, I spoke briefly with him and he gave me, an autograph photo, which I still owned.P.S I also have an autographed photo of Jagan.Yes he ban flour,dhall and aloo, but we learn to make rice flour, use sweet potatoes as fries. When you get lemon, you make lemonade.

Did you teach English and do you know Philadelphia?

Originally Posted by kp:

Did you teach English and do you know Philadelphia?

Was he the education officer?

I can't get beyond the fact that Burnham was an unelected dictator, and therefore, an illegitimate leader, such as Hitler or Idi Amin.

One mistake the PNC is  making is celebrating Burnham's birthday, death day.

They should leave Burnham where he is. Maybe get him a fan or AC where he is.

Originally Posted by Jay Bharrat:

I can't get beyond the fact that Burnham was an unelected dictator, and therefore, an illegitimate leader, such as Hitler or Idi Amin.

WHy would you compare Burnham to Hitler or Idi? 

Originally Posted by Jay Bharrat:

Elections dear friend are not the sole source of legitimacy. I have not heard that theory of legitimacy yet.

Burnham was legitimate for all the classical reasons that grant legitimacy to rulers. Same reason why King Salman is legitimate yet hasn't won an election. Same reason why the Governors were legitimate in British Guiana for 200 years and not one was ever elected or even born in Guyana.

OH...Burnham was also legitimate because he sat in Parliament with the PPP.  That was the ultimate conferral of legitimacy chap. The PPP accepted their minority status and took up their seats thereby conferring legitimacy on the whole Parliament.

For all the foregoing briefly put to you, Burnham was legitimate. "Dictator" is one of those pejoratives I suspect average people use with not even a layman's grasp of the term. Especially Guyanese.

In life, we  all do things that might be unpleasant to others.

When we harbour animosity for what others might have done to us, it is only us who might suffer the consequences, because others in charge of our animosity might not even care.

Animosity is a destroyer of our well-being, harmony and our peace of mind.

Sometimes it is difficult to avoid the perceived  actions of Burnham, Hitler or Edi Amin, but how we deal with what they have contributed to the world, will take us forward in our personal life.

Like Cheddi Jagan, Burnham did what he thought was best for Guyana, maybe in his own warped manner, but in  a spiritual  sense, who gave us the right to judge.

What others do will ultimately have benefits or consequences in their life, we either accept and go forward with our life, or suffer the consequences of animosity.

Personally, I had issues with how Burnham actions caused the suffering of our parents, but decades ago while visiting Guyana we received an invitation to his garden party.

With some hesitation and investigation we accepted and had very pleasant evening.

Getting to know a person better who we think might try to hurt us, might be better for our personal well being.

Animosity has its consequences.         

Originally Posted by ksazma:
Originally Posted by Tola:

.... but in  a spiritual  sense, who gave us the right to judge.

But isn't this what we do all the time ?

Yes, we all do. Its part of our nature to judge and criticize, especially in times when we feel vulnerable.     

Last edited by Tola
Originally Posted by TK:

Thanks to Burnham, many of had to flee Guyana and are now enjoying a very high standard of living in North America.

Burnham NEVER resented Indians. Unintended consequences of his policies were the problem. Debate the merits and demerits of his policy instead of continuing this nonsense that his policies were meant to deliberately hurt Indians.

Thank you TK.

Yugi stop your racist shit.

Calling a man a great leader who ran a country into the ground, created a situation where children did not know what bread and butter looked like, responsible for food lines circling around the block.....hahaha, Guyanese like suffering! 

Plant a seed...fill a need