Here are some of (PNC/AFC) accomplishments after 9 months in office. 

1.Murder 2. Robbery 3. Rape 4. Suicide 5. Unemployment 6. No Job Creation. 7. No Jobs for young graduates. 8. Poverty 9. More Laid Off in the works. 10. Racial division need to address. 11. Waste inquiries and investigations that leads to nowhere. 12. Democracy is struggling to survive. 13. Repackaging all PPP ideas. 14. Painting Yellow & Green on National Buildings. 15. $300 Million taxpayers money allocated to drink rum, dance and have a good time. 16. 50% pay raise in six months for incompetent government ministers.

We must stand and salute them for their failure.

Cobra...

Amral posted:

bai there is dancing and singing in the streets, the people are more happy and content than they have been in a long time. Everyone is looking forward to the big 50 in May and they behind the Govt, Guyanese will party like there is no tomorrow, while some you be like sour puss in NA

Bossman, yes there will be dancing in the streets. In every family there are priorities. The first priority of the head of household is to feed the family. Rum and dancing can come later. The leaders of a starving Guyana should try to address more important issues before allocating hundreds of millions for celebrations. I am not saying they should not celebrate, just not on a grand scale. Sport today; starve tomorrow.
I have never been in Guyana for any of these celebrations.

That's NOT all true, Amral. If you spoke to all the people of Guyana and they tell you the same then I will believe. I also communicate with Guyana on a daily basis (for free), I gather a wealth of information from the people and their way of life. Unfortunately, many of the folks I spoke to are worried about their jobs and businesses. Most of them are afraid of the constant drug users and robbery in their neighborhood, and so much more. 39,000 citizens applied for visas to run away from Guyana. Almost all of them that were granted 10 years vias never return home. Indians are replaced by Dogulas. (Dougla is a mix breed of people that has no racial classification). They were called Duglas by natural selections.

It is my opinion that Granger really does have the interest of Guyana and the people at the top of his list. He really does want  a better life for all Guyanese.

While there are some out there that enjoy playing the race card, and keep trying to cast doubts among the people.

Unless the actions of those involved are stopped, racial unity will never be achieved under this or any other govt.

Amral
Amral posted:

It is my opinion that Granger really does have the interest of Guyana and the people at the top of his list. He really does want  a better life for all Guyanese.

While there are some out there that enjoy playing the race card, and keep trying to cast doubts among the people.

Unless the actions of those involved are stopped, racial unity will never be achieved under this or any other govt.

I agree with AMRAL Mr. Granger means well, but he choose badly.  He is surround by some dumb people; really dumb people and thus his legacy is unachievable - the good life will not happen under Granger watch.

Amral posted:

Agreed. The Cobras, Yuji of the world are not I interested in unity.  They are all about Indian domination. In a multi ethnic society this will not work. 

Cobra posted:

That's NOT all true, Amral. If you spoke to all the people of Guyana and they tell you the same then I will believe. I also communicate with Guyana on a daily basis (for free), I gather a wealth of information from the people and their way of life. Unfortunately, many of the folks I spoke to are worried about their jobs and businesses. Most of them are afraid of the constant drug users and robbery in their neighborhood, and so much more. 39,000 citizens applied for visas to run away from Guyana. Almost all of them that were granted 10 years vias never return home. Indians are replaced by Dogulas. (Dougla is a mix breed of people that has no racial classification). They were called Duglas by natural selections.

Cobby..when this scourge took over the homeland ??,twenty years ago it was not so prevalent,hard drugs habits was unheard off,poor governance allowed the pushers to succeed in their trade,now the chicken come home to roost,the current gov't are being blamed,rest assured they will clean that mess up.

i will give you an example of a harsh reality here in Guyana. A young East Indian girl attends North Georgetown secondary school. The headmistress of the school selected her to be a prefect. Many students in the school objected to her being a prefect because she was East Indian (they used the C***** word) The girl's mother reluctantly decided to tell the HM that her daughter does not want to be a prefect.  The disappointed girl figured that she did not want to deal with the future incidents. I know that this is one case. How many more examples of these realities are there out there. So, Amral, please define who you mean by everyone will be celebrating. I know many who will not be  and they are not racial bigot, just the everyday people.

Z
Amral posted:

Amral i totally agree with you,i sensed Granger is looking for the betterment of all the people of Guyana,the peddlers of doomsday will not succeed,i always believe in support the gov't of day,when they goof up let your voice be heard,

Cobra posted:

Cobby..when this scourge took over the homeland ??,twenty years ago it was not so prevalent,hard drugs habits was unheard off,poor governance allowed the pushers to succeed in their trade,now the chicken come home to roost,the current gov't are being blamed,rest assured they will clean that mess up.

There is a prize to pay for every good thing. In 1992, when the PPP won election and Jagan open Guyana to the world with free media, followed by computers, internet and cell phones, it was a blessing and a curse on Guyana at the same time. An open source of information brought the good and bad to Guyanese. Communication is an important source for everything. Guyanese get smarter and the drug pushers get wiser. Small time pick pockets turned to guns and became gang members and drug dealers. That how the story started.

Zed posted:

i will give you an example of a harsh reality here in Guyana. A young East Indian girl attends North Georgetown secondary school. The headmistress of the school selected her to be a prefect. Many students in the school objected to her being a prefect because she was East Indian (they used the C***** word) The girl's mother reluctantly decided to tell the HM that her daughter does not want to be a prefect.  The disappointed girl figured that she did not want to deal with the future incidents. I know that this is one case. How many more examples of these realities are there out there. So, Amral, please define who you mean by everyone will be celebrating. I know many who will not be  and they are not racial bigot, just the everyday people.

Zed..good that you bring this up,what was supposed to be done here is disciplinary action should have been taken for using the C**** word,this is the level where respect should start.You are aware of NA schools it is not allowed on school grounds the offenders pay the consequences. The question is when will the line be drawn.

Zed posted:

Scraping the barrel there Zed with that example of yours.  What a revelation Zed someone using "collie".  I am sure no one use  " Blackman " either.   Further, what does incident have to do with celebrating the 50th anniversary other than insinuating this is a black people ting. Let us wait and see who turns out.

KishanB posted:

. . . Mr. Granger means well, but he choose badly.  He is surround by some dumb people; really dumb people and thus his legacy is unachievable - the good life will not happen under Granger watch.

Guyana will do just fine . . . ethnic (and personal) axe grinders like you notwithstanding

we really cannot do and are not doing worse than the PPP previous

yes, there are plenty dumb, grasping and even evil characters in the coalition . . . but they are vastly outnumbered by people of goodwill and competence

while not blazingly obvious, there are checks and balances in place, starting at the very top

the not-so-clever KishanB's of Guyana need to be called out and exposed

shaitaan was so much better at doing some of the low stuff u are trying here

redux posted:
KishanB posted:

. . . Mr. Granger means well, but he choose badly.  He is surround by some dumb people; really dumb people and thus his legacy is unachievable - the good life will not happen under Granger watch.

Guyana will do just fine . . . ethnic (and personal) axe grinders like you notwithstanding

we really cannot do and are not doing worse than the PPP previous

yes, there are plenty dumb, grasping and even evil characters in the coalition . . . but they are vastly outnumbered by people of goodwill and competence

while not blazingly obvious, there are checks and balances in place, starting at the very top

the not-so-clever KishanB's of Guyana need to be called out and exposed

shaitaan was so much better at doing some of the low stuff u are trying here

Thanks for pointing that out....ahmmm...redux?

FC posted:
Zed posted:

Scraping the barrel there Zed with that example of yours.  What a revelation Zed someone using "collie".  I am sure no one use  " Blackman " either.   Further, what does incident have to do with celebrating the 50th anniversary other than insinuating this is a black people ting. Let us wait and see who turns out.

FC..you know we Guyanese,we say blackman,collie,buckman most of the time we don't consider it derogatory,the Social Cohesion minister mentioned we should stop addressing an individual by those words.The children of Guyana should not see each other to be different,the day this happens a new generation will evolve,the result will be a better place for every one.

Amral posted:

Is the racial problem worse now in 2016 than it was say 35 years ago, I am just curious?  Growing up, I attended a school that was dominated by blacks but never really had a problem.

Guyana's race problem was never really organic

the people have been victimized by unenlightened politics/politicians/activists/ideologues across the spectrum

at the people level . . . no, i don't think that it is worse

but then again, i've lived away from Guyana since the mid-late 1970's

Back in the day I never felt racial tensions in school. I was blessed to attend a very balanced school where racial disrespect was not promoted and/or tolerated. Blacks and Indians coexisted very well.  I felt more racial overtures in the wider society.  But not at school. We played, cricket, football, basketball, ran track together.  Race was not of high importance. Winning as a team was important.

To this day I  still keep intouch with my mates.

FC posted:
Zed posted:

FC..you know we Guyanese,we say blackman,collie,buckman most of the time we don't consider it derogatory,the Social Cohesion minister mentioned we should stop addressing an individual by those words.The children of Guyana should not see each other to be different,the day this happens a new generation will evolve,the result will be a better place for every one.

I agree with you. Good point regarding the new vision. 

redux posted:
Amral posted:

Is the racial problem worse now in 2016 than it was say 35 years ago, I am just curious?  Growing up, I attended a school that was dominated by blacks but never really had a problem.

Guyana's race problem was never really organic

the people have been victimized by unenlightened politics/politicians/activists/ideologues across the spectrum

at the people level . . . no, i don't think that it is worse

but then again, i've lived away from Guyana since the mid-late 1970's

I dont think the race problem is worse today than before May2015. Having sensationalized media like GT and KN doesnot help the situation.  I do believe Granger might be sincere in addressing the nation's problems. This may come as a surprise to some, but the people I speak to said that the govt is not engaged in "witch-hunting". I also believe most Guyanese want to move away from the race problem, at least the younger ones.

I disagree that the race problem was not "organic". Its a historical anomaly that is rooted in the colonial past, but it was exploited by politicians on both sides. it has become institutionalized. Neither the PNC or PPP cared to address the problem, it seems. Most of the research I am looking at seems to agree on this point.  

The problem is that the current government needs to be more sensitive to the issue and really try to correct the problem since half of the population did not vote for the coalition. The longer this problem is allowed to fester, it will convince many Indians that this government is simply not interested in addressing "their" problems. What the coalition has done is to continue to demonize Jagdeo, without understanding that many Indians, rightly or wrongly, see him as a leader who has their interests at heart. 

Added to this is the feeling that the government does not care about Indians. The problem with the sugar industry is one issue. While most people will argue that there is no future in sugar, this government, knowing how sensitive the issue is for Indians, did not formulate a clear plan for what comes after and did not include the Indians in the plan (whatever it is).

These are lost opportunities. I remember that Cheddi was accused of the same thing when he came to power in 1992. The racial problem continued. I am guessing the same thing is going to happen if Granger does not genuinely create a more inclusive government which will give Indians a greater role in developing the country and addressing the problem.

Regarding the issue raised by Zed above, I think this issue has to be addressed with the school so that it wan be corrected and it can become a learning moment for people. 

Last edited by VishMahabir
Amral posted:

Amral i totally agree with you,i sensed Granger is looking for the betterment of all the people of Guyana,the peddlers of doomsday will not succeed,i always believe in support the gov't of day,when they goof up let your voice be heard,

You sure you AGREE with Amral????

I used the incident as an example of the harsh realities that exist here on the ground. I a sorry that it was seen as scraping the bottom of the barrel. Whatever this girl hoped has resulted in disillusionment and might forever colour her views. Does she matter? YES! She does! Can the HM do something, yes but what happens after school is out and the girl is on her own. Many issues progress to fights after school.

I am uncertain that there is an increase of racism but i have been privy to more accounts of it happening. Additionally, there is more apprehensiveness on the part of one racial group and assertiveness on the part of another. This is the reality here.  It depends on the lens through which one looks. If one looks thru a racial lens, then that will colour what one sees. 

I have had one problem which I ignored. It is nice to see the interaction  some of the rural areas. On one building site, both races work side by side and the guys share the same bottle of pop and make jokes with each other. I think that there is still hope and hopefully, politicians and special interest groups do not use the racial insecurities to further their interests.

Z

I urge you to take off your rose colored glasses and see the govt for what it has accomplished, zero, in fact the country has gone backwards. 

Granger may have good intentions but so did Ramoutar, Jagdeo, Jagan and even Hoyte and Burnhum. So what good intentions don't put food on the table for the majority who are now suffering. Those jumping up and dancing are from the afc/apnu who wanted a Black face to govt for 23 years. Free music, booze and food will always bring out the jumpers and dancers. In fact the PPP used this tactics and lured a lot of Blacks out to their events, only to see them still vote APNU. 

I urge you to take off your rose colored glasses and see the govt for what it has accomplished, zero, in fact the country has gone backwards. 

Granger may have good intentions but so did Ramoutar, Jagdeo, Jagan and even Hoyte and Burnhum. So what good intentions don't put food on the table for the majority who are now suffering. Those jumping up and dancing are from the afc/apnu who wanted a Black face to govt for 23 years. Free music, booze and food will always bring out the jumpers and dancers. In fact the PPP used this tactics and lured a lot of Blacks out to their events, only to see them still vote APNU. 

DRUGB, I think you pushing it now.

The Granger administration did an excellent job on advocating internationally for a settlement of the Venezuelan border issue.

Plus, the fillet of the new government was to bring to an end all the PPP deals.  THEFT.

Amral makes a statement, then everybody agrees, this reminds me of the Old Colonial Days, Masa Always Right. Go to Wales and tell the people about 50th. celebration, the first reply would be , "they got money for dance, and we don't have food", I spoke to some people recently from Wales. Give Guyanese free food and booze, they will never refuse but the reality still remains the same .On a weekly interval I am in touch with people in Guyana, I still have Interests in Guyana . There is some change, but it's not happening as fast as promised .Only the people in the government Changed, another person told me it is not fair for people from Overseas coming to take their good jobs{contract workers} and we who stay and sacrifice is not given the opportunity. Right now too much interest and money are spent for this celebration, many think it will be doom and gloom after May2016.

Ceremony is necessary for national coesion as is pension for retired workers. It is what fabricate the summoning creed that we call national identity.

Wales is a failed business. It must be closed. Governments are in the business of the whole not only the parts. Detroit did not get all its citizens on the dole when the auto plants close. It stayed in the doldrums for over 15 years and is now making a comeback.

These people in Wales  have to bootstrap themselves as everybody else has to do who do not have a state enterprise in their area. Indeed I expect the government to help beyond severance but it cannot take them on the dole in perpetuity. They will have to help themselves.

baseman posted:
KishanB posted:

We have to give the coalition 12 months before we judge them.  They need the time.

Like 28 years??

how about 23 years if equivalency is in the works.

Nah, PNC/AFC have a much slower learning curve.  That cannot match the PPP's 23 years in 23 years.  Just not a fair expectation.  They may however, destroy 23 years accomplishment in three years!!

True dat, this govt is putting quite a dent in the drug industry that went on for about 20 years or so.

baseman posted:
KishanB posted:

We have to give the coalition 12 months before we judge them.  They need the time.

Like 28 years??

how about 23 years if equivalency is in the works.

Nah, PNC/AFC have a much slower learning curve.  That cannot match the PPP's 23 years in 23 years.  Just not a fair expectation.  They may however, destroy 23 years accomplishment in three years!!

True dat, this govt is putting quite a dent in the drug industry that went on for about 20 years or so.

Dat is true too man. Now de PNC govt in pawa. Dem PNC bais nah need fuh push all de drugs now. Is abie welfare time. No welfare, nah worry. Abie guh go choke and rab and get pardoned by abie great leedah.

Cobra posted:

1.Murder 2. Robbery 3. Rape 4. Suicide 5. Unemployment 6. No Job Creation. 7. No Jobs for young graduates. 8. Poverty 9. More Laid Off in the works. 10. Racial division need to address. 11. Waste inquiries and investigations that leads to nowhere. 12. Democracy is struggling to survive. 13. Repackaging all PPP ideas. 14. Painting Yellow & Green on National Buildings. 15. $300 Million taxpayers money allocated to drink rum, dance and have a good time. 16. 50% pay raise in six months for incompetent government ministers.

Cobra...

Oh lawd oh gawd.. abie kyant teef nuh mo ... abie guh talk any shit now.

antabanta posted:
Cobra posted:

Cobra...

Oh lawd oh gawd.. abie kyant teef nuh mo ... abie guh talk any shit now.

Is that the way you intended to ignore the 16 listed problems that still exist? Not everyone agrees with the PPP then, and not everyone agrees with the coalition now. It's healthy to have opposition views to remind government that they're working for the people and their interest. 

Cobra posted:

Cobra...

You are right on the money here Cobra Bhai. PNC never has and never will succeed. Burnham's disciple Granger will destroy Guyana.