Call Centre accident victim critical
By STABROEK STAFF | LOCAL NEWS | SATURDAY, JULY 23, 2011

One of the victims of Thursday evening’s Lamaha Street accident, Rozena Razack, is now a patient of the Intensive Care Unit (ICU) at the Georgetown Public Hospital. Razack, 37, is said to have suffered severe head injuries. Razack and Yolanda Murphy, two employees of the Clear Connect Call Centre, were struck down on Lamaha Street, Kingston, minutes after leaving work. The two were heading in the direction of the car park when tragedy struck.

Rozena Razack

According to an eyewitness, the car had swerved into the girls’ path, and upon impact, hurled Razack over the vehicle while Murphy hit the windscreen. Murphy, who reportedly sustained hand and foot injuries, was treated and discharged from the hospital.

The driver, meanwhile, remains in police custody.

Originally posted by Gerhard Ramsaroop:
Driving in Guyana is very dangerous – US State Dept. - vehicles, pedestrian and animals compete for road space
JULY 7, 2011 | BY KNEWS | FILED UNDER NEWS

Given the spate of accidents reported in the city, the State Department of the United States of America has concluded that traffic accidents are a major concern in Georgetown, since road and driving conditions are very poor.

In a damning report on crime and safety in Guyana, the State Department said that the local police only sporadically enforce local traffic laws, and local drivers often drive recklessly. But while the US State Department has focused mainly on the capital city, where most of the accidents occur, a significant amount of fatal accidents occur in other parts of the country, especially the interior. So far this year, the Police Traffic Department has recorded 59 fatalities resulting from 57 accidents compared with 55 deaths from 56 accidents for the same period last year.

β€œStop signs and traffic signals are often treated as suggestions only,” the State Department report stated, while advising persons to be very cognizant of other cars, large commercial vehicles, minibuses, horse drawn carts, bicycles, mopeds, scooters, motorcycles, stray dogs, sleeping animals, and free range livestock, as they all share narrow, poorly maintained roads. The report pointed to a combination of very aggressive experienced drivers, along with inexperienced, timid drivers makes driving in Guyana especially dangerous. Driving at unsafe speeds, reckless driving, and tailgating, quick stops without signaling, passing at intersections, and passing on crowded streets is commonplace, the report stated.
Additionally, driving at night poses additional concerns as many roads are not lit, drivers frequently do not lower high beam lights, livestock sleep on the road, and many pedestrians congregate by the roadside.

β€œIf you are involved in an accident, you are expected to stay at the scene until the police arrive to take a report, unless there is an imminent threat,” the US State Department advised.

Traffic Chief Neil Semple was unavailable to respond to the State Department observation when this newspaper contacted his office yesterday. However a senior traffic rank said that he agreed with almost all the points raised in the report.

We are talking about a country with a tiny population where very few can afford a car. There is a very serious cultural problem. Guyana is a country with no civility or culture.
UPDATED: One dead, 11 injured in Linden accident
Written by Denis Scott Chabrol
Monday, 25 July 2011 08:46

Picture by Citizen Journalist

A two-year old child died and 11 others were injured Monday morning during a head-on collision between a bus and a truck in Mackenzie.
Dead is two year old Malvin Hartman of Coomacka Mines. Two of his four siblings --Malcolm, Marissa, Myer, Marvin -- are hospitalized in an unsconscious condition at the Linden Hospital Complex. Their parents, Henry and Suzette Hartman, as well as their nephew, Ulric Hartman are also hospitalized. Other occupants of the bus, who are not related to the Hartmans and are also in-patients, are Alicia Bristol, Peter De Clou; Linden Daw and Shevonne Corbin.

The accident occurred on Surpana Road when one of the vehicles drove across in the other's lane, resulting in the collission, reports say. Eyewitnesses said the truck was in the wrong lane and had just moved off when the bus sped around a blind turn. This latest accident marks an ongoing carnage on the roads of Guyana.

Authorities blame speeding, careless driving and driving under the influence of alcohol as the main causes of accidents. Five persons died last week when a speeding minibus toppled several times on Homestretch Avenue, Georgetown after suffering a rear wheel blowout.

Miner dies in Mahdia collision - another critical
By STABROEK STAFF | LOCAL NEWS | MONDAY, JULY 25, 2011

One man is dead and another critically injured following a collision between an all-terrain vehicle (ATV) and a motorcar at the small community of Princeville, located close to Mahdia in Region 8 on Saturday evening. According to a police source at Mahdia, around 6:15 pm on Saturday, 24-year-old miner Narine Harrichand was riding an ATV bike along the roadway linking Mahdia and Princeville with his workmate, Shane Lawrence, said to be in his early 20s, in tow when they collided with a taxi which was proceeding in the opposite direction.

Narine Harrichand

An eyewitness reported last evening that the men were travelling at a fast rate along the roadway when the two vehicles collided. She said that Harrichand and Lawrence, who were heading to Princeville, were flung several feet away from the point of impact, adding that the former sustained severe head injuries and his neck was said to have been broken. She said that Lawrence, sustained injuries to his head, shoulders and legs and he reportedly lost a significant amount of blood while at the scene of the accident. He is now a patient at the Georgetown Public Hospital (GPH), after being transferred from the area yesterday.

The father of the deceased told Stabroek News at the Lykens Funeral Home that his son sustained several head injuries, adding that during the impact, he also suffered a wound to his abdomen. Both men were picked up and rushed to the Mahdia District Hospital where Harrichand was pronounced dead on arrival. A source at the hospital in the hinterland community noted last evening that the injured man was slipping in and out of consciousness for most of the day yesterday. After several hours of waiting for a flight to enter the mining community yesterday during poor weather, the man was air-dashed to the city shortly after lunch. He was subsequently admitted to the Intensive Care Unit (ICU) of the GPH.

According to a police source at Mahdia, while the matter is still being investigated, both motorists were said to have been travelling at a fast rate along the roadway prior to the collision. The deceased and the injured man were said to be new to the area as persons in the mining community noted yesterday that they recently travelled to Mahdia to work at a mining concession there. Harrichand’s father noted that his son had been working in the mining industry for close to three years. He said that his son’s death came as a shock to the family, and according to him, the young man was in the process of developing himself. At the family’s home last evening at Tuschen on the East Bank of Essequibo, numerous relatives and friends gathered as many shared memories of the young man when he was alive. He leaves to mourn his parents and three siblings and he is expected to be buried later this week.

The driver of the car is in police custody assisting with investigations. The accident comes amid a spate that has claimed many lives recently and upped the pressure on the government and the police to do something about it. Two Mondays ago five persons died on Homestretch Avenue after a minibus suffered a tyre blow-out.

Stabroek news

Kaieteur News
Linden children die after bike hit car
By CATHY RICHARDS | LOCAL NEWS | FRIDAY, JUNE 24, 2011

Two children are dead after they rode into a car along the One Mile Wismar Road, Linden yesterday. Aquilah Samuels, 4, died on the spot, while her cousin Shaka Anthony, 13, succumbed on the operating table at the Linden Hospital Complex approximately two hours after the incident. According to eyewitness reports, Anthony was towing Samuels on a pedal cycle, after collecting her from the One Mile Nursery School, when the accident occurred.

Shaka Anthony

In a statement, police said investigations revealed that an oil tanker, bearing licence plate GFF 9050 and the car, PKK 8621, were proceeding in opposite directions along the roadway when it is alleged that, the children rode out from an access road and collided with the motor car. As a result of the collision, the two children fell off the bicycle into the path of the tanker and were run over. The two drivers are being held at the Mackenzie Police Station, where they are assisting with the investigations, police added.

A man, who said he witnessed the incident, told Stabroek News that the two children were heading out of the Daffodil Street corner when it appeared that the boy’s bicycle brakes failed, resulting in a collision with the front of the car that was heading towards Wisroc on the Main road. β€œIs the car he hit from the front. [Neither] the car nor the tanker [was] speeding, but they couldn’t see them coming out of that street,” he said. The man, whose account was supported by a stall holder in the area, added that the driver of the car immediately applied brakes when he noticed the children.

β€œIt was too late. They hit the front of the car and the number plate break off and that is what make the lil boy fall off the cycle and the lil child lef on the cycle pitch and hit the back wheel of the truck. The driver didn’t even know that he run over somebody. This case you can’t blame none of the drivers,” added another eyewitness.

Persons in the area said that most of fuel tanker, which is operated by the BOSAI Mineral Group Inc., was already on the pedestrian crossing when the children rode out on to the main road. The driver of the car was unable to spot the children earlier because the position of a number of stalls at the corner of the road obstructed his view.

Aquilah Samuels

According the residents, the driver of the car drove a few yards away from the scene and fixed the broken number plate. β€œA woman hold on on him and was hollering. She see exactly what happen then she tell him look he number plate get break,” a resident said. He fixed the number plate back in place, drove a few yards further away for a second time when a bystander indicated to him that the number plate had fallen off again. At that point, the driver assisted residents in putting Anthony, who was still alive, in the car and he was taken to the Linden Hospital Complex. β€œThe poor tanker driver left in a daze. He ain’t get off [the tanker] because no big truck ain’t supposed to be using this road. They supposed to be driving on the Wisroc/Block 22 back road, which would lead them to the bridge. But they don’t hear. They always speeding down this road and it very dangerous,” wailed a woman.

β€˜Really loved each other’

Aquilah and Shaka, first cousins of One Mile Extension, Wismar, Linden, lived together with their mothers. Aquilah’s mother, Keisha Anderson, had left for Georgetown early yesterday morning to take a brother for medical care.

Afi Hinckson (second from left), mother of Shaka Anthony and aunt of Aquilah Samuels being comforted by relatives and staff of the Linden Hospital Complex.

β€œβ€™Quilah was she only child! Ow wah a gon tell me sister now,” cried Afi Hinckson, Shaka Anthony’s mother. The distraught mother said that one of her sons would usually take on the responsibility of bringing the four-year-old home from school on a daily basis. β€œMost time she does stay with a teacher friend ’til them boys come home and they would go and collect her,” she explained. Shortly after 11, Shaka had returned home from the Mackenzie High School, where he was a First Form student. Just barely able to speak, Hinckson explained that upon his arrival home, the lad kept checking the time to go for his cousin. β€œThey really loved each other, they were like best friends,” she said, while trying to hold back her tears. Hinckson said that she advised her son to go on foot to collect his cousin. β€œBut he keep begging and ah seh, β€˜man go long.’ Now, look what happen… Wah we gon tell the fathers? They gon say they lef we fuh take care of them children and we mek they geh kill like this. Ow God? How ah gon tell them dah now?”

The BOSAI tanker involved in the accident

The fathers of the children, Edward Samuels Jr. and Shawn Anthony, were both at work in an interior location and up to press time had no knowledge of the accident. Dr. Peter Chen, who is attached to the Linden Hospital, said that he had hopes that Shaka was going to make it. X-ray results had shown that he had extensive damage to his left shoulder and hand. Doctors fought hard to stabilise the boy, who Chen said would have had to have his hand amputated. He succumbed to his injuries on the operating table, approximately half hour after he was taken into the theatre.

Scores of residents converged at the accident scene. Most of the women were crying uncontrollably. β€œLook she poor lil lunch bags on she back. Such a pretty little girl,” cried one woman. The girl is believed to have died on the spot.

Agents of the State continue to issue fraudulent licences - it is not a separate criminal operation - and notwithstanding limited resources, the State is not doing enough.

How hard is it to have ranks going in mini-buses and taxis undercover? For security and to decrease the possibility of collusion they could be in pairs, rotated periodically. Also, they can text to the next police station while preserving their cover.

The buck has to stop somewhere and it is time the State be sued. That is the only way they will act with some significant and lasting measure.
Accident victim seeks help to find hit and run driver
JULY 24, 2011 | BY KNEWS | FILED UNDER NEWS

Ramnarine Dwarka

A Mon Repos man is appealing to the police to try and locate the driver of a motor car that struck him down on the Non Pareil Public Road, East Coast Demerara last Wednesday. Ramnarine Dwarka, 50, of 31 Block CC Mon Repos West, is nursing injuries to his head and back as a result of the accident. To date, he is yet to hear from the driver who had driven away leaving him lying on the roadway. Even the police who had been provided with the licence number of the car are still to contact him with the progress of their investigation so far.

Dwarka who is scheduled to revisit the doctor because of severe pains about his body and head, told this newspaper that he had just crossed the road from his place of work at the Best Buy Hardware Store at Non Pareil when he was struck down by a yellow station wagon number PJJ 8525 β€œWhen this man hit me, I fall pon this bonnet and I fall down pon de road. Ah get unconscious. When I catch meself I realize that dem man just put me pon de ground and lef me deh,” Dwarka said. He told this newspaper that just after regaining consciousness he overheard persons telling the driver to take him to the hospital. But according to Dwarka, the driver replied that he had passengers in his car and that he would return to assist the injured man after dropping them off. But the car headed up the East Coast, and Dwarka never saw the driver again. β€œDe man never come back. All he seh is dat he gat to drop off he passenger and come back. Is me son-in-law pick me up and carry me hospital and the doctor attend to me,” Dwarka recalled.

On his way to the hospital, the matter was reported to the police at the Vigilance Police Station. Fortunately, x-rays revealed no fractures but Dwarka is experiencing severe pains otherwise. β€œMe call several times at the police station and the police say that dem ain’t got no information about de man. Dem tell me that they gun make contact with me. Up to this morning (Friday) I call, the policeman tell me dem ain’t get no contact and like me ah get li’l push around,” Dwarka said.

The incident has left him traumatize especially since his brother Hansraj Dwarka died under similar circumstances eight years ago. Although that case was a hit and run, the police managed to locate the driver. But the case ended up being dismissed in the court.

Law is always dynamic. It evolves with the times and the nature of the defects a community must remedy. My proposition was but an extension of this thing you call vicarious liability - to make the State culpable when the issuance of the licence by its officer is proven to be fraudulent.

Law is not dynamic. Vicarious liability is only applicable when the acts of the servant can be perceived as acts of the master.
Also a fraudulent licence does not make you a worse driver. Many people resort to this to avoid the beaucratic hassles of standing in lines for hours and dealing with lazy staff.
Originally posted by Mad Max:
Law is always dynamic. It evolves with the times and the nature of the defects a community must remedy. My proposition was but an extension of this thing you call vicarious liability - to make the State culpable when the issuance of the licence by its officer is proven to be fraudulent.

Law is not dynamic. Vicarious liability is only applicable when the acts of the servant can be perceived as of the master.
Also a fraudulent licence does not make you a worse driver. Many people resort to this to avoid the beaucratic hassles of standing in lines for hours and dealing with lazy staff.

Good they sent you to answer this one.

Like I said, it is agents of the state who issue these fraudulent licences, so liability remains.

And how dare you try to suggest these may be good drivers?! And that they only obtain their licences because of bureaucratic inefficiency? Whose fault is that anyway? Mad Max, have you ever stopped to talk to one of these madmen on the road? They make it clear that not only do they not know the rules of the road, but that they don't even care!

You are yet another shameless Gov't apologist Mad Max, a paid blogger under Dr Misir in my estimation.

But let's give you the benefit of the doubt, Mad Max. Where do you think the buck should stop, and what in your estimation needs to be done? And why hasn't anything of significance been done in the last 19 years, Mad Max? Would you want us to believe now the increase in deaths is because of the increase in development in Guyana that now allows so many to own vehicles today?

And answer me this too please, how hard is it to have ranks going in mini-buses and taxis undercover? For security and to decrease the possibility of collusion they could be in pairs, rotated periodically. Also, they can text to the next police station while preserving their cover.
You know, instead of ranting and raving, why don't you spend your time reading up about the law?
BTW, how did you get a Guyana Drivers Licence?
Good question Mad Max! I went through the system in 1988, in the days when "buying your book" was unheard of! I can tell you everything I learnt, and that there was a lecturer with a briefcase of car parts!

I am no lawyer, as I made clear earlier in this thread. But you answer my questions Mad Max!

Where do you think the buck should stop, and what in your estimation needs to be done? And why hasn't anything of significance been done in the last 19 years, Mad Max? Would you want us to believe now the increase in deaths is because of the increase in development in Guyana that now allows so many to own vehicles today?

And answer me this too please, how hard is it to have ranks going in mini-buses and taxis undercover? For security and to decrease the possibility of collusion they could be in pairs, rotated periodically. Also, they can text to the next police station while preserving their cover.

I haven't been this angry in a while, you shameless faceless PPP apologist!
Originally posted by Ramakant_p:
You know, instead of ranting and raving, why don't you spend your time reading up about the law?

$5 US dollars would buy one under the table.
This was hapening during the Burnham regime. It maybe still hapening.
It is worse under the PPP today Uncle Rama!!

But when I took my tests, including practicals in car, tractor and lorry, I never heard of "buying your book". Though it may have already been occurring given that corruption began during the PNC days, it was most certainly not on the scale it is today! Look at the lost lives in this thread - the children! And Mad Max comes in here spewing nonsense?!
Originally posted by Ramakant_p:

$5 US dollars would buy one under the table.
This was hapening during the Burnham regime. It maybe still hapening.
It is worse under the PPP today Uncle Rama!!

But when I took my tests, including practicals in car, tractor and lorry, I never heard of "buying your book". Though it have have already been occurring given corruption began during the PNC days, it was most certainly not on the scale it is today! Look at the lost lives in this thread - the children! And Mad Max comes in here spewing nonsense?!

I know about the police taking of the bribes in days gone by, but not today. I wouldn't waste time investigating them. Most of the drive barely fail their tests.
Originally posted by Ramakant_p: I know about the police taking of the bribes in days gone by, but not today. I wouldn't waste time investigating them. Most of the drive barely fail their tests.
And that is the point Uncle Rama, thank you. Lives are being lost and something concrete must be done. Like I said, Uncle Rama, the fiddling continues as Rome burns...as our children die and are maimed...
Good question Mad Max! I went through the system in 1988, in the days when "buying your book" was unheard of! I can tell you everything I learnt, and that there was a lecturer with a briefcase of car parts

Impossible! I bought my book for $120 and a few drinks in 1988.
And I never had an accident.
You are nothing but a louse. I have never let my self go on GNI like this. I will disengage now. I will let your conscience deal with you - we all have one, even people like you, and it is bound to kick in at some point.
Originally posted by Ramakant_p: I know about the police taking of the bribes in days gone by, but not today. I wouldn't waste time investigating them. Most of the drive barely fail their tests.
And that is the point Uncle Rama, thank you. Lives are being lost and something concrete must be done. Like I said, Uncle Rama, the fiddling continues as Rome burns...as our children die and are maimed...

The problem is not driving.

The problem is driving under the influence.

I am no lawyer, as I made clear earlier in this thread.

Then stay away from making comments about law.
The law is a complex animal not to be interpreted by laymen.

But you answer my questions Mad Max!

Where do you think the buck should stop, and what in your estimation needs to be done? And why hasn't anything of significance been done in the last 19 years, Mad Max? Would you want us to believe now the increase in deaths is because of the increase in development in Guyana that now allows so many to own vehicles today?

I haven't been this angry in a while, you shameless faceless PPP apologist!

People usually get angry when they realize they don't really have a point to argue, but argue anyway.

Traffic accidents are caused by driver error and often by drunk drivers. Undercover cops would be a waste of assets and wouldn't prevent accidents.
And furthermore, if the police start harassing drivers, you would be jumping up and down screaming police harassment.
Good question Mad Max! I went through the system in 1988, in the days when "buying your book" was unheard of! I can tell you everything I learnt, and that there was a lecturer with a briefcase of car parts

Impossible! I bought my book for $120 and a few drinks in 1988.
And I never had an accident.
You are nothing but a louse. I have never let my self go on GNI like this. I will disengage now. I will let your conscience deal with you - we all have one, even people like you, and it is bound to kick in at some point.

Good luck! Smile
Read up on some statutes and law manuals this evening. They do come in handy!
I checked the issue with law and am assured I am solid footing. I have never pretended to know more than I actually do, so your snideness does me nothing.

Enforcing the law in most countries does not hassle drivers. Why should we be any different?

The situation in Guyana is extreme. Mini-buses by far are the worst culprits. The idea of undercover police will deter them, especially after a few successful prosecutions.

Now, my legal luminary, what is it that you suggest be done?
I checked the issue with law and am assured I am solid footing.

Enforcing the law in most countries does not hassle drivers. Why should we be any different?

The situation in Guyana is extreme. Mini-buses by far are the worst culprits. The idea of undercover police will deter them, especially after a few successful prosecutions.

Which undercover NYPD police you know tracking NY buses, taxi, and limo?
I checked the issue with law and am assured I am solid footing.

Which undercover NYPD police you know tracking NY buses, taxi, and limo?
Always compare to the US when convenient - but when the good is compared you shout it's unfair!

Which NY bus drives like our mini-buses? Which one, Mad Max? And you know why that is so, and as it is in many countries, it is because they have implemented systems, that largely, do work.

What you see in Guyana is a result of years of inaction. And will require thinking out of the box. You and the PPP seem to be frozen in time.

But, my legal luminary, let's give you a chance and you tell us what is it that you suggest be done.
There are no more crazy drivers than US drivers.
For the couple months I been here, I almost got run over half a dozen time by people talking on cell phones, running red lights, cutting lanes, and probably drunk.

So far you ignore the main reason for head on crashes...two way road, instead of one way road and bad visibility.

I did not see this in your thesis, unless I missed it.

I suggest you do a thorough study on causes of vehicular accidents before you pen any thoughts in public. The auto insurance industry can help you out here.
There are no more crazy drivers than US drivers.
For the couple months I been here, I almost got run over half a dozen time by people talking on cell phones, running red lights, cutting lanes, and probably drunk.

So far you ignore the main reason for head on crashes...two way road, instead of one way road and bad visibility.

I did not see this in your thesis, unless I missed it.

I suggest you do a thorough study on causes of vehicular accidents before you pen any thoughts in public. The auto insurance industry can help you out here.
And that is because many simply do not know the rules of the road, nor are the consequences of certain actions properly explained - for example the difference in handling of a laden and empty vehicle - which I was taught in my time.

You missed a whole lot in my paper, that's for sure. I addressed the issues of proper lane demarcation among so many other things. I did also say it was far from comprehensive and that I hope my paper would produce further discussion. Again, I am no know it all.

I have been driving in Guyana for over 22 years - I began riding motorbike at 16, have driven various sizes of cars and vans, both left hand and right hand, tractors, sand trucks and a tractor-trailer truck (30'), including in the bush - and I therefore, speak from experience. I have also been in mini-buses - regularly - ask your PPP people how many of them have ever travelled in a mini-bus.

Again, my legal luminary, some solutions please. All I have seen so far is you ridiculing my legal knowledge and trying to negate my suggestions, many of which came from other people. Did you see the sources I cited?

And my learned friend, I have no issue penning my thoughts in public and being proven wrong. I am speaking on a serious issue, and if at the end of the day, something is done, even if it is not my idea, but it leads to an improvement then good! flag
This brazen bus conductor boasts that his police contacts will protect him
JULY 24, 2011 | BY KNEWS | FILED UNDER LETTERS

Dear Editor,

If I had needed any evidence of the arrogance of some mini-bus operators, I got it last Wednesday while travelling in a route 42 mini-bus from Diamond to Georgetown. I was coming down to the city to lend support to the families who were protesting the deaths of their loves ones in the Homestretch Avenue crash. I joined minibus BKK 4362 at Diamond. During the journey, the Conductor picked up two extra passengers. Then, as the vehicle was in the vicinity of the Providence Stadium, a fit of madness suddenly seized the driver, who began to do his best to overtake everything in his path. With the recent tragedy still fresh in my mind, I immediately cautioned the driver and the conductor against overloading and speeding.

On reaching the Stabroek Bus Park, I warned the Conductor that I would report him to the police if he ever overloaded his vehicle again while I was travelling with him. His response amazed me. β€œYou kyaan get me lock up,” he said. β€œI got a brother in the CID.” He also made it clear that he would not pick me up in the future.

Well, I took his photograph and a photograph of the bus he was conducting. I’ve handed them over to the police. So now let’s see if the system works.

Michael Jordan.
Journalist

First off, in the above story, two undercover ranks in the bus could have ordered the bus driver to desist immediately. Secondly, the bus had to pass West Ruimveldt Police station where a text message could have resulted in a waiting police rank.

In both cases, so as not to inconvenience the passengers, the bus driver could have been ordered to desist, drop off the passengers at the park, and ordered to return to the police station. In the second case, the police could have followed him and then escorted him into Brickdam. It only needs for this to happen a few times and the mini-bus drivers will "ketch some sense".
When a policeman disregarded his appearance
JULY 27, 2011 | BY KNEWS | FILED UNDER LETTERS

Dear Editor,

It was the 18th of July, 2011 shortly after 19:00 hrs 7pm. I was sitting outside the Accident and Emergency Unit of the Georgetown Public Hospital, with a friend because her son was taking oxygen in the asthma room. I was observing the quiet atmosphere and the passersby. Suddenly the surroundings erupted into Police sirens, it was a police car (silver BMW) driven at fast breakneck speed almost took the hospital gate off because the female security did not cover the gate in time.

I paid no mind, thinking that the police had shot someone, but when I saw this Police officer in black clothes, driving the vehicle into the emergency unit and came out before the vehicle even stopped and started to scream for the attendant’s assistance, I knew there was disaster. Upon closer inspection, this officer found a stretcher lying on the ground like First Aid Training and started to take out casualties. There were children mostly ages from eleven years down and they were covered in blood and could not be identified at the time. I saw a boy with his skull cap torn off and my body froze for a moment.

Then I glanced across and saw a Queen’s College girl washed in blood from her face down, in a wheel chair. As I looked around further there was this police pick up, brown in colour, bearing number plate PLL6342 with an adult female in blood, her hands bore signs of serious abrasion and lacerations, her face was swollen. Most of the victims were unconscious. One young man was frothing at the mouth. Also on the scene to help were a route 48 minibus BMM5026 and a yellow taxi cab. These persons all showed unity and support. Nobody was thinking about their vehicles getting bloodied; their aim was to save lives.

But what touched me the most was the efficient work of this black clothes policeman that was driving the BMW. He must be complimented for a job well done. He had his work cut out and he did the job as a professional. This officer just had casualties on the stretcher. While the attendant was struggling to push his hands into a pair of gloves, this officer had all the casualties that were transported in the back seat of the car out of the vehicle and into the emergency unit. This officer did not hesitate; the police car had blood on the seats; the officer’s clothes was in blood; he was not thinking about blood on his uniform, he was trying to save lives, and that demonstrates love and unity, true patriotism.

I did not get the number plate of the car but I can remember the driver. He worked so swiftly and briskly that before I knew it he had driven back through the gate and was racing to the accident scene because his words were, β€œThere are more persons out there.” This officer needs a medal of recognition for his service.

My daughter works at the A&E. I stood there and watched her take a child from the Police Officer and placed her on the stretcher. She too displayed a mother’s feelings because she has kids. Emergency cases such as these, medical personnel are never too much. The nurses, the doctors, they all did well. As for the security at the door he had to bring the crowd to order, but he erred by not allowing even one relative to identify their family member and that caused some amount of wailing as people became hysterical.

I felt tortured by my failure to render assistance. I have sent many applications to the Nursing School and never received a reply. I applied on numerous occasions for the Patient Care Training at GPHC, I received no reply. I did First Aid Training at the St. John’s Ambulance Brigade, I watch as my training go to waste all because I don’t have the CXC passes to get into the Nursing School. But I prayed silently for the injured.

I do hope that this serves as a wake up call for errant delinquent drivers. How can a driver license expire for months and left unnoticed? These drivers need screening on a regular basis, just to keep them in line. What kind of driver is he? Do drivers give their vehicles a thorough check throughout the day or just get into the bus and drove off. The rush for gold has left many families with pains for the remainder of their lives. And some is battling for recovery.

The government needs to bring back the transport buses and passengers will feel much at ease traveling instead of being in fear for their lives.
The driver of this ill fated bus, the conductor/adult passengers are to be held accountable for this terror. They sit in the buses the driver races like he is at the South Dakota Circuit and nobody says anything out of fear of being verbally abused or ask to get off the bus. Some of them are disrespectful and full of arrogance. I had the experience traveling in minibuses, where most drivers, and conductors, along with their friends were buying Guinness by the rounds. The driver then drove at speed, Guinness bottle in one hand while the music went to the fullest. No amount of talk and protest can help this situation. I would recommend that the Guyana Police Force issue an emergency bulletin for all drivers to attend training sessions once each month on a rotation system.

Agonised commuter

Woman dies in Crane hit-and-run
By FRANCES ABRAHAM | LOCAL NEWS | WEDNESDAY, JULY 27, 2011

A woman is now dead and a girl is a patient of the Woodlands Hospital following a hit-and-run accident last evening at Crane, West Coast Demerara. Kaishri Persaud, 26, of Lot 10 Crane, Old Road, died while being transported to the West Demerara Hospital while 17-year-old Trisha Defreitas sustained a broken pelvis.

According to β€˜Harry’ who was accompanying the two to a nearby shop to purchase a phone card, they were walking in the corner while he rode his bicycle alongside them. The vehicle, reportedly a Pathfinder and driven by a female, swerved off the road, pitching Defreitas into a trench while Persaud was left lying face-down on the road. The vehicle, eyewitnesses said, sped off. Harry related that he then pulled Defreitas from the trench. Meanwhile, Persaud’s face was badly bruised and persons say she was practically motionless as she panted heavily for breath. It was reported that two cars stopped and offered to transport the injured persons to the hospital.

Defreitas’ mother, Rose, at the Woodlands Hospital, said that the staff at the West Demerara Hospital were not prompt in responding and as a result, they decided to have Defreitas taken to the private hospital in Georgetown. β€œWe de want bring Kaishri too but it de too late for her,” the mournful woman said. The distressed mother explained that she lived next door to Persaud but said her daughter, Defreitas, resides in the United States of America and is currently on vacation. From her hospital bed, Defreitas was crying uncontrollably as she said, β€œI shoulda never ask she to follow me to the shop”.

Stabroek News

Kaieteur News
Extract from a letter by Professor Calvin Everlsey, Head of the UG Law Department, explaining the law of Vicarious Liability that Mad Max on this forum, and Pro BONO on the Kaieteur News forum, attempted to take me to task with, while ridiculing me:

The law of vicarious liability allows for the imposition of legal responsibility on some person or organization for the illegal or tortious conduct of someone (1) who stands in a special legal relationship with that person or organization, such as an employee; and (2) where that employee commits the illegal or tortious act under special legal circumstances, such as during the course of his employment and not while he is β€œon a frolic of his own.” In legal parlance, we may call the employee the primary defendant (or D1) and the employer the secondary defendant (or D2). Legal practitioners, for obvious reasons, are more interested in suing the employer than the employee. However, the jurisprudent or law teacher would usually have wider and deeper concerns. For instance, the jurisprudent or law teacher, and consequently law students, may be concerned as to whether the underlying rationale for the principle of vicarious liability is justified, philosophically, in terms of morality and fairness. In other words, since the primary justification for imposing liability in tort, for instance, is based on some degree of fault, ie, the negligent or intentional conduct of the wrongdoer (or tortfeasor), how can it be justified philosophically for the law to impose liability on an employer who is without fault in terms of the commission of the specific tort. It is quite another thing if the employer has acted negligently in employing an incompetent employee, or where the employer fails to properly supervise, or never supervises, the employee in question. Or where the employer deliberately instructs the employee to do something illegal. Or where the employer knowingly or negligently condones an illegal act done by its/his employee. Note here, that β€˜wilful blindness’ or β€˜wilful ignorance’ is no defence.

Therefore, as it relates to holding an employee of the state, who issues a driver's licence to someone who is not qualified, accountable, this what we can take from Professor Eversley's piece:

The law of vicarious liability allows for the imposition of legal responsibility on some person or organization for the illegal or tortious conduct of someone (1) who stands in a special legal relationship with that organization, such as an employee; and (2) where that employee commits the illegal or tortious act under special legal circumstances, such as during the course of his employment and not while he is β€œon a frolic of his own.” ...since the primary justification for imposing liability in tort, for instance, is based on some degree of fault, ie, the negligent or intentional conduct of the wrongdoer, how can it be justified philosophically for the law to impose liability on an employer who is without fault in terms of the commission of the specific tort. It is quite another thing if the employer fails to properly supervise the employee in question. Or where the employer negligently condones an illegal act done by its employee. Note here, that β€˜wilful blindness’ or β€˜wilful ignorance’ is no defence.

Over to the legal luminaries now.
Note here, that β€˜wilful blindness’ or β€˜wilful ignorance’ is no defence.

Did you read that?

If an employee commits fraud or accepts bribe to issue a drivers licence, an act which is punishable by instant termination and criminal prosecution by the employer, as it violates the employee/employer realtionship, is neither wilful ignorance nor wilful blindness on the employer's part.

Do you get it now?

Now stop wasting my time.
New Yorker is putting me to task and she is more important!
Note here, that β€˜wilful blindness’ or β€˜wilful ignorance’ is no defence.

Did you read that?

If an employee commits fraud or accepts bribe to issue a drivers licence, an act which is punishable by instant termination and criminal prosecution by the employer, as it violates the employee/employer realtionship, is neither wilful ignorance nor wilful blindness on the employer's part.

Do you get it now?

Now stop wasting my time.
New Yorker is putting me to task and she is more important!
This is what I read: It is quite another thing if the employer fails to properly supervise the employee in question. Or where the employer negligently condones an illegal act done by its employee. Note here, that β€˜wilful blindness’ or β€˜wilful ignorance’ is no defence.

And since I am no legal luminary, can you please explain it for me? Thanks wavey

This shouldn't take long at all for someone like you Mad Max. I am sure your brilliant mind can multitask and you do not have to wait on anyone for answers. Right?
It is quite another thing if the employer fails to properly supervise the employee in question. Or where the employer negligently condones an illegal act done by its employee.

Neither applies when an employee sets out to take bribe.
It is a criminal offence that violates the master/servant relationship.

If you are alleging that the employer condones that activity, that is another issue, and you have to prove that, not draw inference.
It is quite another thing if the employer fails to properly supervise the employee in question. Or where the employer negligently condones an illegal act done by its employee.

Neither applies when an employee sets out to take bribe.
It is a criminal offence that violates the master/servant relationship.

If you are alleging that the employer condones that activity, that is another issue, and you have to prove that, not draw inference.
If such activities have been taking place for over 19 years without a single prosecution, is that not more than mere inference?

You yourself said you bought your driver's licence in 1988...
Did you file a complaint wiht the police?
Let's not go in circles son. Can the State be made liable or not, if it is proven that an employee of the State while in the service of said State a fraudulent licence was issued? Where furthermore, the State is aware that these activities do take place.