here is Ravi Dev:

https://guyanatimesgy.com/indi...lencing-and-erasure/

"At Guyana’s Independence, the national symbols of flag (Garveyite and Ethiopian colours) and National Hero (Cuffy) were ostentatiously of African origin"

here is the truth:

https://portlandflag.org/2016/...iths-flag-of-guyana/

The last issue of The Flag Bulletin (Number 233, July 2008-October 2011) is titled Celebrating 50 Years of Vexillology and commemorates the launch of the Bulletin–the first flag studies journal–on 1 October 1961.  More specifically, it is a celebration of the life of Whitney Smith, upon his retirement, through a long series of personal recollections of his friends and family.

One of these is by his sister, Sybil Smith, and includes a story about how Whitney Smith learned that his design for the flag of Guyana had been selected, and what happened then:

When Guyana showed signs of political upheaval Whitney designed a flag for them and our mother stitched up a prototype and Whitney sent it off. It wasn’t until years later that Guyana adopted a new flag that looked similar to the one he had designed. Writing to the powers that were in charge, he questioned the origin of their new flag only to find out they had been looking for him. It was then that we started calling our mother “the Betsy Ross of Guyana.” Whitney was later invited to Guyana’s Independence Day celebration. They were slightly surprised to find out he wasn’t a native, but rather a white American. An invitation from The White House came from President Lyndon Johnson when he hosted a luncheon in honor of the Prime Minister of Guyana. Whitney was sort of low man on the totem pole seated at table #10 with the president of the Stock Exchange and others, but table #10 was right next to table #1 where the president and prime minister sat.

smith-jbl-forbes-burnham

The Guyanese flag’s entry in the Flags of the World database gives some addition context.  In anticipation of British Guiana achieving independence in 1962 an international flag competition was held, to which Smith submitted this design:

gy_smith
Smith’s proposal. Illustration by Kazutaka Nishiura / FOTW.

The actual flag issued  by the British College of Arms for Guyana’s independence in 1966 has this design:

2000px-Flag_of_Guyana.svg

FOTW contributor Jaume Ollé wrote:

In Smith’s original design, the red and the green altered their positions. I believe that it was because that those who participate in a contest want to win the contest. Smith made his design prevaling the red color according to the leftist inclinations of the premier Mr. Jagan (a ethnic Indian pro-Soviet). The design of Vaclav Kalikova also show a gold triangle (but single) from hoist to fly and rest is green (and a blue star is in the yellow triangle). Perhaps the College of arms made a mixture of both designs. I believe that the five colors were in fact requested by the government (I read it) but I don’t remember if for Mr. Jagan or Mr. Burham. The fimbriations are against the heraldic principles and it is strange that the College of Arms (always precise) added unnecesary fimbriations.

To give Whitney Smith the last word, here is the entry for Guyana from his book Flag Lore of All Nations:

In 1960 the author of this book sent a flag design to Prime Minister Cheddi Jagan of British Guiana, who added it to the many other proposals received. When the British finally agreed to independence for their colony, the author’s flag design was slightly modified. Parliament officially adopted it, and when Guyana became independent on May 26, 1966, the flag was first officially raised. Green stands for the jungles and fields, white for the many rivers of Guyana; black is for perseverance, and red for nation building. The golden arrowhead [the flag’s nickname] symbolizes a thrust forward toward a golden future for the country and recalls the original Indian inhabitants of Guyana.

"In Smith’s original design, the red and the green altered their positions. I believe that it was because that those who participate in a contest want to win the contest. Smith made his design prevaling the red color according to the leftist inclinations of the premier Mr. Jagan (a ethnic Indian pro-Soviet). The design of Vaclav Kalikova also show a gold triangle (but single) from hoist to fly and rest is green (and a blue star is in the yellow triangle). Perhaps the College of arms made a mixture of both designs. I believe that the five colors were in fact requested by the government (I read it) but I don’t remember if for Mr. Jagan or Mr. Burnham. The fimbriations are against the heraldic principles and it is strange that the College of Arms (always precise) added unnecesary fimbriations."

Bring back the Union Jack. When we get our own independent sovereign country I propose bringing back the Union Jack, the Queen as head of State and God Save the Queen Anthem I .  They symbolise order and stability. 

Hey hey hey...awwww...burnham juss get somebady from farrin to mek de flag...hey hey hey.

"In anticipation of British Guiana achieving independence in 1962 an international flag competition was held, to which Smith submitted this design"

try to keep up banna, try to keep up

Hey hey hey...awwww...burnham juss get somebady from farrin to mek de flag...hey hey hey.

"In anticipation of British Guiana achieving independence in 1962 an international flag competition was held, to which Smith submitted this design"

Hey hey hey...and burnham dem select de one wid all de Garvey colour? Hey hey hey...

Bhai, funny !!!

"Smith made his design prevaling the red color according to the leftist inclinations of the premier Mr. Jagan (a ethnic Indian pro-Soviet)."

the flag was designed for Guyana's anticipated independence under Jagan . . .  those are the FACTS!

klown, was Cheddi Jagan a Garveyite?

tap dancin jackass . . . waste person

waste of everyone's time

"Smith made his design prevaling the red color according to the leftist inclinations of the premier Mr. Jagan (a ethnic Indian pro-Soviet)."

the flag was designed for Guyana's anticipated independence under Jagan . . .  those are the FACTS!

waste of everyone's time

Mr Ravi seh nuff more ting. Why yu focusing on dis part? 

waste of everyone's time

Mr Ravi seh nuff more ting. Why yu focusing on dis part? 

tekkin dem 1 at a time for maximum EXPOSURE

The colors of the flag are harsh and pronounced, sharp and edgy.  It reflects much of how Guyana turned out.  Softer colors with less sharp boundaries should have been adopted. 

Green and yellow seems very Rasta/Afro!  Why would anyone put Black...apart from ISIS?  And why would the designer think or Red to appease Jagan?  Clearly Guyana had differing views on ideology!

Guyana (PPP) should redesign the flag and issue a new currency!

Bhai, funny !!!

Actually, Marcus Garvey was qute influential among the GT Negroes and generally Negroes in English speaking regions of the World. Even the villages of Guiana he had prominence. So popular, he made a visit to GT and persuaded them of the importance of Ethiopia, the only African country never to be colonalized. He held the emblems of Ethiopia in high regards, the flag, the anthem and the Emperor. A Jamaican living in America, he had the following of prominent blacks world over, and the great Bob Marley. The Emperor was impressed with his zeal for taking back the Negroes to Ethiopia that there was a sizeable portion of land set aside for the new arrivals-the Rastas. Something like the re-settlement in Liberia.

waste of everyone's time

Jagan embraced everything Black, I doan know if it is for paternal instincts. So messed up he was, he tried to hang out with Stokey Carmichael whilst stoking up GT Blacks. Carmichael told him that he Carmichael was for black power and Cheddie ain Black.

Actually, Marcus Garvey was qute influential among the GT Negroes and generally Negroes in English speaking regions of the World.

thanks Captain Obvious . . . or should i address you properly as corporal Derail

but wait, didn't i already slap you up lil pan dis subject, score yuh IGNORANCE and pull down yuh panty not such a long while back?

waste of everyone's time

Jagan embraced everything Black, I doan know if it is for paternal instincts. So messed up he was, he tried to hang out with Stokey Carmichael whilst stoking up GT Blacks. Carmichael told him that he Carmichael was for black power and Cheddie ain Black.

I remember being taught the meaning of the colors of the flag in Social Studies.  We were being taught by a bad-ass PNC woman.  She told us:

Green - for the lush green forest and plants

White - for the many rivers, creeks and lakes

Yellow - for the gold, the myth of ElDorado...but we were poor ass

Black - for our people.  She opened her eyes big, raised her voice and said...we are a Black nation, everyone is Black...including the Putagees

Red - I don't remember what that supposed to represent!

I remember being taught the meaning of the colors of the flag in Social Studies.  We were being taught by a bad-ass PNC woman.  She told us:

Black - for our people.  She opened her eyes big, raised her voice and said...we are a Black nation, everyone is Black...including the Putagees

lance corporal DERAIL, your 'talent' as a compulsive maker-upper-of-things is bettered in degree only by your instincts as an inveterate RACE-BAITER

i say you lie

lance corporal DERAIL, your 'talent' as a compulsive maker-upper-of-things is bettered in degree only by your instincts as an inveterate RACE-BAITER

i say you lie

I say it's true.

What does the colors of the flag mean?

I still remember that statement!  I was in 2rd or 3rd form!

i say you lie

I say it's true.

yaaawwwn

lance corporal DERAIL all saddled up and ready to ride

i decline yuh invite

arite?

waste of everyone's time

This is BS.....and you know it....RE: Red represents the communism of the PPP...just as much as it is BS that the other colors were a reflection of Garvey and Ethiopia....

Its difficult that a creator of the flag would include RED as a reference to the communism or ...of an "ETHNIC INDIAN PRO-SOVIET" in reference to the leftist inclinations of Jagan...especially when this dude (Jagan) was so hated for his ideology and the fact that communism was seen as a threat to the WEST at the time...

The racial tribes on both sides of the flag needf to clean their eyes:

Here is the scoop:

The Golden Arrowhead, Guyana's National Flag has FIVE symbolic colors -- GREEN represents the agricultural and forested nature of Guyana, WHITE symbolizes the rivers and water potential of the country, a GOLDEN arrow represents Guyana's mineral wealth, BLACK portrays the endurance that will sustain the forward thrust of the Guyanese people and RED represents the zeal and dynamic nature of nation-building which lies before the young and independent Guyana.

waste of everyone's time

This is BS.....and you know it....RE: Red represents the communism of the PPP...just as much as it is BS that the other colors were a reflection of Garvey and Ethiopia....

Its difficult that a creator of the flag would include RED as a reference to the communism or ...of an "ETHNIC INDIAN PRO-SOVIET" in reference to the leftist inclinations of Jagan...especially when this dude (Jagan) was so hated for his ideology and the fact that communism was seen as a threat to the WEST at the time...

ow banna, save yuh energy and guh argue with history nuh

where did you get the stupid idea that i made this stuff up?

smfh

According to PNC, the flag represent BLACK FREEDOM FIGHTER. Former President Desmond Hoyte stands next to notorious criminal Blackie with the flag draping his coffin. 

Everybody giving their own interpretation to suit their ethnic emotions...

Just like some people used to say that the religious RED flag in front of people's home was a sign they were communist....

waste of everyone's time

The racial tribes on both sides of the flag needf to clean their eyes:

Here is the scoop:

The Golden Arrowhead, Guyana's National Flag has FIVE symbolic colors -- GREEN represents the agricultural and forested nature of Guyana, WHITE symbolizes the rivers and water potential of the country, a GOLDEN arrow represents Guyana's mineral wealth, BLACK portrays the endurance that will sustain the forward thrust of the Guyanese people and RED represents the zeal and dynamic nature of nation-building which lies before the young and independent Guyana.

Subliminal messaging!  Most people envision black as no light/wisdom, emptiness and the abyss.

Black and deep Red and harshly defining colors!  I can accept the purposeful meaning of the other three!

According to PNC, the flag represent BLACK FREEDOM FIGHTER. Former President Desmond Hoyte stands next to notorious criminal Blackie with the flag draping his coffin. 

Just like some people used to say that the religious RED flag in front of people's home was a sign they were communist....

nonsense!

nuff "interpretation" by the IGNORANT and the SCAMPISH came on board after the fact (Ravi Dev's race bait wickedness, for example)

but the history is there and cannot be erased

yet you insist on shutting one eye and braying like a confused donkey just because you have an internet connection and posting privileges

to make a silly non-point and draw attention to your stupid self

smfh

nonsense!

nuff "interpretation" by the IGNORANT and the SCAMPISH came on board after the fact (Ravi Dev's race bait wickedness, for example)

but the history is there and cannot be erased

yet you insist on shutting one eye and braying like a confused donkey just because you have an internet connection and posting privileges

to make a silly non-point and draw attention to your stupid self

smfh

Dig deeper knucklehead….

Ravi Dev is guilty of misinformation and ethnic nationalism…YOU are guilty of being a simpleton… …looking at a book without investigating whats inside the book…

These are not Smith’s words that you posted below…the Harvard trained flag pioneer was smarter than this….I doubt he would make such a stupid statement and proceed to make a permanent fixture paying tribute to a communist government, knowing that such a government may not be lasting…Burnham was  very much in play at the time…

The link below indicates that when requested, Jagan did not provide any indication as to how the flag should look…

"In Smith’s original design, the red and the green altered their positions. I believe that it was because that those who participate in a contest want to win the contest. Smith made his design prevaling the red color according to the leftist inclinations of the premier Mr. Jagan (a ethnic Indian pro-Soviet). The design of Vaclav Kalikova also show a gold triangle (but single) from hoist to fly and rest is green (and a blue star is in the yellow triangle). Perhaps the College of arms made a mixture of both designs. I believe that the five colors were in fact requested by the government (I read it) but I don’t remember if for Mr. Jagan or Mr. Burnham. The fimbriations are against the heraldic principles and it is strange that the College of Arms (always precise) added unnecesary fimbriations."

https://www.nytimes.com/2016/1...reer-dies-at-76.html

https://www.britannica.com/topic/flag-of-Guyana

These are not Smith’s words that you posted below…the Harvard trained flag pioneer was smarter than this….I doubt he would make such a stupid statement and proceed to make a permanent fixture paying tribute to a communist government, knowing that such a government may not be lasting…Burnham was  very much in play at the time…

The link below indicates that when requested, Jagan did not provide any indication as to how the flag should look…

dope

not sure what point you are 'proving' with the silly word and quote salad you mashed up to camouflage your monumental stupidity

learn to properly digest information and organize your thoughts like an adult before indulging the compulsion to bray

hard FACT banna, the conceptualization and adoption of the Guyana flag had NOTHING to do with Garvey, Africa or Afrocentrism

THAT'S the history!

everything else from YOU and the race antimen prancing around here is carping NONSENSE and malignant, ignorant imaginings

dope

not sure what point you are 'proving' with the silly word and quote salad you mashed up to camouflage your monumental stupidity

learn to properly digest information and organize your thoughts like an adult before indulging the compulsion to bray

hard FACT banna, the conceptualization and adoption of the Guyana flag had NOTHING to do with Garvey, Africa or Afrocentrism

THAT'S the history!

everything else from YOU and the race antimen prancing around here is carping NONSENSE and malignant, ignorant imaginings

Dope...read slowly...stop being obtuse...

Point taken about Garvey and Ethiopia...

....I am questioning your (and the writer) insertion about the RED color attributed to Jagan 

Snowey, regardless of the intent of de white man that designed de flag. De colors are still very afrocentric. That's all Ravi was saying. 

maybe the white fella thought guyana was in africa and everyone associated with flag was black in his presece.

YUh know the show Big Bang Theory, Sheldon has a site on the show where review flags. Maybe he knows about the Guyana Flag.

....I am questioning your (and the writer) insertion about the RED color attributed to Jagan 

banna, i didn't "insert" anything into the record . . . enough with the fakery and the LIES

Jaume Ollé, an editorial artist at FLAGS OF THE WORLD contributed that bit of information

you have NOTHING to "question" me about . . . go argue with him

much as it makes you uncomfortable, my refutation of Ravi Dev and the shine face RACE BAITERS stands

you are a waste of everybody's time

Actually, Marcus Garvey was qute influential among the GT Negroes and generally Negroes in English speaking regions of the World.

thanks Captain Obvious . . . or should i address you properly as corporal Derail

but wait, didn't i already slap you up lil pan dis subject, score yuh IGNORANCE and pull down yuh panty not such a long while back?

For you, I am a General.

Yuh ought to Google Marcus Garvey visit to British Guiana and read it yuhself. Before yuh put yuh spin on it. The flag does have a strong African appearance-and nothing racial about that. It does look African, not even Caribbean Flags have that.

The flag does have a strong African appearance-and nothing racial about that. It does look African, not even Caribbean Flags have that.

what's y'all stupid point?

Garvey obeah infected Whitney Smith when he was drawing up the flag for Jagan Guyana . . . huh?

y'all invincible, race fueled imbecility beggars belief

smfh

No offence to Baseman and his cousin who I knew since I was a boy. We have to stamp out the influence of Salassie and Rasta farai on the East Indian and Dougla people of Guyana. It is a foreign concept and influence to our people just like the Arabs and their white supremacy attitudes towards our people. We have to stamp it out and replace it with an authentic South Asian cultural identity.

The flag does have a strong African appearance-and nothing racial about that. It does look African, not even Caribbean Flags have that.

what's y'all stupid point?

Garvey obeah infected Whitney Smith when he was drawing up the flag for Jagan Guyana . . . huh?

y'all invincible, race fueled imbecility beggars belief

smfh

Fella, Garvey gave Black ppl pride, and I not prejudice about my comment. Some years ago more like 20 years, PBS ran a documentary on the man, it was a series of 10 one hour veiwings. 

No offence to Baseman and his cousin who I knew since I was a boy. We have to stamp out the influence of Salassie and Rasta farai on the East Indian and Dougla people of Guyana. It is a foreign concept and influence to our people just like the Arabs and their white supremacy attitudes towards our people. We have to stamp it out and replace it with an authentic South Asian cultural identity.

Hey Prax, no issue.  Next time you see him, tell him in his face yourself!😁

Fella, Garvey gave Black ppl pride, 

Kinda like the same "influence" yuh black Nigerian pastor got pon yuh. Yet yuh evil ass still running around praying fuh black people suffer and dead in Linden. The rest of the nonsense yuh wrote gat nothing to do with anything on this thread. Senile man.

Hey Prax, no issue.  Next time you see him, tell him in his face yourself!😁

I saw him run then catch and beat up a thief who had a knife who tried to rob his house.  Prashad is keeping his mouth shut.