U.S Embassy slams Health Minister’s “distasteful” and “downright irresponsible” comments against female activist

"I am not going to prescribe to the Minister what he ought to do, but what I will say is that in the United States, if one of our cabinet officials were to have made that sort of comment, that person would have been expected to resign without question" -ChargÉ Hunt

U.S Embassy slams Health Minister’s “distasteful” and “downright irresponsible” comments against female activist

Guyana’s Minister of Health Dr. Bheri Ramsarran continues to come under fire for his verbal assault on women’s rights activist Sherlina Nageer and now the U.S Embassy in Georgetown has described the comments as “distasteful” and as a threat of “sexual violence”.

In an interview with News Source (https://soundcloud.com/gordon-...s-to-womens-activist) at the U.S Embassy, ChargÉ d’ Affaires Bryan Hunt said that had a cabinet member of the United States made similar comments, he would have been expected to tender his resignation.

Hunt said “I am not going to prescribe to the Minister what he ought to do, but what I will say is that in the United States, if one of our cabinet officials were to have made that sort of comment, that person would have been expected to resign without question”.

During a confrontation outside the Whim Magistrates’ Court in Berbice on Monday, the Health Minister called the women’s rights activist “a piece of sh#t” and an “idiot” who should get out of his face, after she persistently questioned him about the maternal death rate in Guyana.

As Ms. Nageer was being led away by the police, Ramsarran could be heard telling two reporters that “I would slap her ass you know just for the fun and I can have some of my women strip her right here”.

The U.S ChargÉ said such statements by Ramsarran have no place in a country like Guyana which has a high rate of domestic violence and sexual and gender based violence.

Bryan Hunt

U.S ChargÉ d’ Affaires Bryan Hunt

“In a country that has a domestic violence rate as high as Guyana’s and a sexual assault rate as high as Guyana’s, it is downright irresponsible for any senior politician to make the statement to any woman, in public or in private, that the Minister of Health made the other day. It is completely unacceptable”, Hunt said.

Mr. Hunt went on to state that “there is no possible reason or rationale to threaten sexual violence against anyone but especially against a woman given Guyana’s very serious gender based violence problem”.

The U.S official said he is pleased that some members of the government have called the Minister to task on the statements but “I consider the conduct quite frankly to be a disgrace”.

One day after the incident as the recording began to make its way across social media and the mainstream press reported on it, the  Minster of Health issued an apology saying that he was sorry for what he described as “harsh words”.

ChargÉ Hunt explained while it was important and appropriate for the Minister to apologise for his conduct, “what would have been more appropriate was for him to never have made the statement in the first place”.

“I don’t think you can un-ring a bell. I don’t think you can take back the damage that would have already been done by suggesting that sexual violence is an appropriate response to whatever sort of provocation that the Minister felt he was under. I think the damage was much more severe than what the woman’s activist heard or the offense that she took at the remarks. I think it conveys a sense from a senior government official that somehow sexual violence is something that is appropriate to use, appropriate to threaten and somehow societally acceptable and it’s not. It can’t be”, Hunt told News Source.

In his statement of apology, Minister Ramsarran said he was provoked into making the statements he made.

That excuse has also been found as unacceptable by the US envoy who made it clear that “I don’t believe that there is any possible provocation that any woman could have made that would legitimately result in a response in which a senior government official threatens that woman with sexual violence”.

A number of non-governmental organisations and activists have issued a call for the Minister to step down from office.

While not calling for his resignation, one of his own cabinet colleagues, Education Minister Priya Manickchand has described his statements as “sexist, disrespectful, vulgar and stupid”.

There are new reports that one day after the apology, Dr. Ramsarran described the same women’s rights activist Sherlina Nageer as a “miscreant” who needs “psychiatric help”.

He reportedly made those comments while addressing a health forum.

A number of non-governmental organisations and activists have issued a call for the Minister to step down from office.

While not calling for his resignation, one of his own cabinet colleagues, Education Minister Priya Manickchand has described his statements as “sexist, disrespectful, vulgar and stupid”.

Look how them PPP Buggerman Hiding now.....Like all ah dem under lock-down  in Kwame Behind ......dem cant come out.

Let us see who is the Brave Cockorach to peep out lil bit.

Let them stay there .....dem all gon dead in there and Rotten....

Den Kwame will get shittings and blow them all out as worms.

Everyone in the world see how dem PPP Minister Behaving...but them Dutty Cockroach gone and hide in Kwame Crack. Dem aint see nothing wrong.

for the US Embassy to speak on this matter shows they have their eyes on Guyana. They don't usually come out on such matters. Have they come out in any of the murders?

Now they are getting like us all, fed ta fk up with the blantant in your face heh take dat you peasants, attitude.

They probably fed up with the "look woman stop tryin to make me do things to you I cyan do, get outta ma dam bedroom an go sleep pon the couch. I goin an find a good man fo make tings right"  attitude.

Dem people already pissed off since dat Priyas McFattie cuss up the man and think she fish him up, now she probably feelin like a cent ice,

Originally Posted by Jay Bharrat:

Embassies don't usually get involved in things like this.

Why is he running his mouth?  Is that proper?

That's why Manickchand give them a tongue lashing.

Correct! But just as some of us tend to get carried away,myself included and say nasty things all because of the asinine things being said by some posters, the embassy is probably going through the same. Everyone is dam fed up with the Guyana Government.

I believe in this case the Americans are right to speak out. The Minister is no better than a ignorant child in a school yard.  He reminds me of the other one who was shooting people for their wives!!!!!

for the US Embassy to speak on this matter shows they have their eyes on Guyana. They don't usually come out on such matters. Have they come out in any of the murders?

Now they are getting like us all, fed ta fk up with the blantant in your face heh take dat you peasants, attitude.

They probably fed up with the "look woman stop tryin to make me do things to you I cyan do, get outta ma dam bedroom an go sleep pon the couch. I goin an find a good man fo make tings right"  attitude.

Dem people already pissed off since dat Priyas McFattie cuss up the man and think she fish him up, now she probably feelin like a cent ice,

mnYOu are no better than Beri Ramsarran so STFU!!!

You asking for compassion and decent action from a devil 

Someone mentioned that this devil is bi-sexual.

You sure they didn't say bi-polar?

You asking for compassion and decent action from a devil 

Someone mentioned that this devil is bi-sexual.

You sure they didn't say bi-polar?

That's a dangerous combination... but good for the APNU+AFC.

the US State Dep't and Bryan Hunt is on point u klown

get your moral compass out of the repair shop

you have totally lost your way

I totally agree, Embassies should not get involved with local politics, Hunt needs to be called in the President's office. This is a crucial time, more so days before an election. Firing Bheri would just be a symbolic jester and could be good for the PPP, this is where Ramotar should show leadership and take action. Take Bheri out from the public view he screwed-up.

Originally Posted by kp:

I totally agree, Embassies should not get involved with local politics, Hunt needs to be called in the President's office. This is a crucial time, more so days before an election. Firing Bheri would just be a symbolic jester and could be good for the PPP, this is where Ramotar should show leadership and take action. Take Bheri out from the public view he screwed-up.

freudian shit . . . rubs up against total ignorance

today's PPP on display

smfh

10 hours ago

I believe in this case the Americans are right to speak out. The Minister is no better than a ignorant child in a school yard.  He reminds me of the other one who was shooting people for their wives!!!!!

Like Like (0 likes)
PermalinkReport This Reply To Site ModeratorsView Printer Friendly FormatMulti-quoteReply With Quote Now

9 hours ago

mnYOu are no better than Beri Ramsarran so STFU!!!

...................................................................................................

OK, so in the first post you agree the US had a right to intervene and yet in the second post you try to belittle me with your stupidity...didn't work. So you can go FYurSlf

Usually, diplomats don't get into stuff like that.

I think they are trying to show their displeasure with this regime and are trying to help our Coalition.

Yeh! You gotta be able to read between the lines.