UG students found guilty of $8M armed robbery… Duo sentenced to community service, counselling

August 4, 2015 | By | Filed Under News 
Guilty: Darion Bess

Two University of Guyana students, found guilty of an $8M armed robbery, two weeks ago, have been given sentences of community service by City Magistrate Judy Latchman after they appeared at the Georgetown Magistrates’ Courts yesterday. Darion Bess, 20, of Lot 429 Guyhoc Park, Georgetown and Joel De Mendonca, 21, of Lot 17 Providence, East Bank Demerara, were both found guilty of robbing Golyn and Sons Fashion, on Regent Street, of a quantity of cell phones worth $8,968,000 on July 25, 2014. The convicts were order to perform six hours of community service for the next twenty-five Mondays. In addition, they were also sentenced to a maximum period of counselling, as deemed fit by a probation officer. Failure to complete the sentences will result in them being imprisoned for 48 months. Magistrate Latchman, before handing her verdict, considered all mitigating factors. She took into consideration the fact that the men had no negative antecedents and that the probation report that was tendered in their favour. De Mendonca was instructed to perform his community service at the National Library, while Bess will be doing his at the Palms. The men were found guilty of the offence last month. Morris Gibson, 22, of Lot 334 East Street, South Cummingsburg, had also been charged with the duo. However, the charge was dismissed against him earlier on in the trial. The Magistrate had based her ruling on the sworn testimonies given by the defendants and store clerk, Mohanlall Narine. Police Inspector Vishnu Hunt presented the prosecution’s case. The court had heard that on the day in question, around 09:00hrs, Gibson approached the store clerk, inquiring about the prices of various cellular phones and a fan. Whilst he was doing so, Bess entered the store, approached the store clerk and pointed a gun to his head then ordered him to pack all of the cell phones. The store clerk complied. Bess then left the store and joined a waiting car on King Street and escaped. The matter was reported to the Brickdam Police Station. About an hour after the report, ranks who received information about the robbery, dashed to Peters Hall, East Bank Demerara, and intercepted Bess and Gibson. At the time Bess was carrying a haversack on his back, which when checked by the ranks revealed a quantity of cellular phones. Both students were arrested and through police interrogation they led ranks to the home of De Mendonca in Providence. When the house was searched, four cellular phones were found. De Mendonca had confessed to being the driver of the motor car, which fled the scene with Bess and Gibson. Even though all the cell phones were not recovered, the ones retrieved were identified by Narine as items belonging to the store. Bess and De Mendonca first appeared before Former Chief Magistrate Priya Sewnarine-Beharry and denied the allegation. They were represented by Attorneys Adrian Thompson and Peter Hugh respectively.

Penalty for G$8M armed robbery:

(1) Community Service

(2) Counseling

Wonder what this magistrate was smoking when she handed down her decision.

Is her decision within the sentencing guide lines? 

What she has done, it seems, that to make more UG Graduates go and commit more crimes.

mE POST DIS FUU BUT DEM DELETED ME WAN. HOWEVER, THE PNC AND THEIR TWO HOUSE SLAVES ARE NOTHING BUT A CRIMINAL ENTITY. FIRST THING THEY DID WAS TO RELEASE OVER 100 CRIMINALS, NOW THIS.

CHANGE GUYANA STYLE WITH THE PNC AND THEIR TWO HOUSE SLAVES!!!!!!!

Originally Posted by asj:

Penalty for G$8M armed robbery:

(1) Community Service

(2) Counseling

Wonder what this magistrate was smoking when she handed down her decision.

Is her decision within the sentencing guide lines? 

What she has done, it seems, that to make more UG Graduates go and commit more crimes.

GRANGER INSTRUCTED HER TO GIVE YOUTHS A CHANCE.

AL YUH WANT CHANGE, AL YUH GOT CHANGE!!!!!!!

mE POST DIS FUU BUT DEM DELETED ME WAN. HOWEVER, THE PNC AND THEIR TWO HOUSE SLAVES ARE NOTHING BUT A CRIMINAL ENTITY. FIRST THING THEY DID WAS TO RELEASE OVER 100 CRIMINALS, NOW THIS.

Did not see your post bai, if I did then I would not have posted this.

Originally Posted by asj:

Did not see your post bai, if I did then I would not have posted this.

I am not blaming you, it was really directed at the authorities, Saddam Hussein.

Let's just say ASJ's post was more in line with GNI standards

Well ASj and dem Chaps attended high class Universities so their standards will obviously be better.

Dont make I ask Cobra to start another Petition for your departure.

Did you go watch dem Old Farts Play over the weekend???

I didn't realize they were playing...I heard about the game, but didn't follow up...where did they play?

Community service can be far better than prison. In prison you just sit around. For community service you got to work for hours on end for no pay. And the threat of going to prison if you fail to show up at any time or misbehave is an even bigger deterrent. Prison is not a deterrent. It can turn you into an even bigger criminal.

Originally Posted by Mr.T:

Community service can be far better than prison. In prison you just sit around. For community service you got to work for hours on end for no pay. And the threat of going to prison if you fail to show up at any time or misbehave is an even bigger deterrent. Prison is not a deterrent. It can turn you into an even bigger criminal.

HEHEHE Jay Leno gone, Jon Stewart gone, David Letterman gone BUT we gat Mr T.

Dont make I ask Cobra to start another Petition for your departure.

Did you go watch dem Old Farts Play over the weekend???

I didn't realize they were playing...I heard about the game, but didn't follow up...where did they play?

At the Cricket Stadium at the back of Rosedale , I forgot the name of the Park.

Still, other criminals will see this and figure why not go out and rob, the penalty is not too bad

We have to leave it to the judges and magistrates to pass judgement based on the circumstances. If criminals think that they know in advance that they would get away with robbery then I am sure they would be in for a shock.

Were you born to be a two-faced shameless slimeball??? You are the lowest of the low, just go back and look at your comments with regards to sentencing prior May 11.  You are indeed a SHAMELESS SLIMEBALL!!!!!!!!!!!!  RACISM may be your motive but I will leave that for others to judge!!!!!!!!!!!!

I understand that sometimes prison is not the best option for every criminal, it makes them worse that they were before they went in...maybe she should also make them pay back the money they took

"Mohanlall Narine. Police Inspector Vishnu Hunt presented the prosecution’s case. The court had heard that on the day in question, around 09:00hrs, Gibson approached the store clerk, inquiring about the prices of various cellular phones and a fan. Whilst he was doing so, Bess entered the store, approached the store clerk and pointed a gun to his head then ordered him to pack all of the cell phones. The store clerk complied. Bess then left the store and joined a waiting car on King Street and escaped."

This is armed robbery with a deadly weapon,the

sentence is a slap on the wrist...

"Quote from Nehru"GUYANA GONE FUH CHANNA.

Well, them men had to get the phones, yuh expect them to go in and politely ask for them....

If only I did not know you playing, yuh would ah get am good pun yuh Baxside.

Last edited by Nehru
Originally Posted by Billy Ram Balgobin:

If you were the victim what sentence would you have demanded?

Few months of prison term,with counseling.They

are adults and University Students, if you do the

crime you have to pay the penalty.

Originally Posted by Django:

Few months of prison term,with counseling.They are adults

and University Students, if you do the crime you have to

pay the penalty.

The judge is offering them 48 months of prison if they mess up. That's 4 years.

pay the penalty.

I missed that,my bad.

"The convicts were order to perform six hours of community service for the next twenty-five Mondays"

I hope they don't messed up with their community service.

Kick down door and murder next. Robbery with a gun and you get community service? How about murder and you get probation? What a country! Guyana gone fuh channa. Good example P.o.k.e.y Latchman!!!!!

Community service is good.  It saves the Government a lot of money to feed and clothes them in prison.

I can see community service for non violent offences. However, robbery under arms? Can you imagine what could have happened there?

half of the Guyanese population are criminals.  Can you find jails for all of them?

I am not saying "jail all of them". At least jail the violent ones.

OK.   JAIL THE VIOLENT ONES.  We still need to build more jail houses.

I agree we need more prisons. Expand the Mazaruni prison.

Good, Idea!

OK.   JAIL THE VIOLENT ONES.  We still need to build more jail houses.

I agree we need more prisons. Expand the Mazaruni prison.

Good, Idea!

All violent prisoners should be moved to Mazaruni.

“That is totally wrong” – Fmr Chancellor reacts to youths being given ‘light’ sentence for armed robbery

August 4, 2015 10:38 am Category: latest news A+ / A-

By Jomo Paul

Former Chancellor of the Judiciary, Justice Cecil Kennard

[www.inewsguyana.com] – Former Chancellor of the Judiciary, Cecil Kennard does not believe that the recent sentencing of two youths to 150 hours of Community service should not go unchallenged, given the fact that they were charged with the offence of armed robbery.

Magistrate Judy Latchman ordered that 20 – year – old Darien Best and 21 – year – old Joel De Mendonca to perform six hours of community service for the next twenty-five Mondays along with a maximum period of counselling, as deemed fit by a probation officer.

De Mendonca was instructed to perform his community service at the National Library, while Best will be doing his at the Palms.

Failure to complete the sentences will result in them being imprisoned for 48 months. The two youngsters were charged and found guilty of robbing Golyn and Sons Fashion, on Regent Street, of a quantity of cell phones worth $8,968,000 on July 25, 2014.

The sentencing has already sparked a debate on social media with some persons questioning the rationale behind such a move, given that the charge is a serious one.

It should be noted that the maximum penalty for such an offence is life imprisonment. Many believe that the Magistrate passed down a light sentence to the duo, when it is known that she has imposed harsher sentences for similar offences.

Darien Best

Darien Best

Kennard, in an invited comment to iNews, made it clear that the Police Prosecutors should not accept this sentencing and should approach their seniors and the Director of Public Prosecutions to challenge it.

“The Prosecutors should speak to their seniors and their senior should speak to the DPP…that’s the best course,” said Kennard.

He further noted, “that is totally wrong” referring to the sentence handed to the two University of Guyana students.

On social media Best said that “I was honestly surprised at the sentence.” In July, Magistrate Latchman sentenced 19-year-old Ron Collins to 56 months in prison after he pleaded not guilty to armed robbery of a pair of sunglasses and a Blackberry smartphone collectively valued $166,000.

pay the penalty.

Answer the damn question. They used a GUN to do the crime. They did not go in to steal bread because they were hungry, in which case I would agree with the sentence. If you are not against criminals and their activities you certainly are for the criminals and their activities. Your silence on answering the question speaks volumes about you and your character.

OR TO GIVE THEMSELVES MORE PAY INCREASES.

Exactly! They now have to repay society not sit around in prison coming up with plans for the next job.

"On social media Best said that “I was honestly surprised at the sentence.” In July, Magistrate Latchman sentenced 19-year-old Ron Collins to 56 months in prison after he pleaded not guilty to armed robbery of a pair of sunglasses and a Blackberry smartphone collectively valued $166,000."

Now this is nonsense, the Judge seems to do this haphazardly, in,light of her giving this sentence, the one with the two guys should have been the same. I do think they should all be made to repay society for what they have done and yes, they should repay everything they stole.