Addressing the Annual Officersβ Conference of the GDF at State House today, President David Granger said that the Defence Force today βis fit for roleβ.
An excerpt of the Presidentβs address follows:
The Defence Force has effected organisational change in order to better identify and deter threats to territorial integrity and the national patrimony. The past five years have witnessed the Forceβs regularization, reorganization and recapitalization.
that looks like Fiji.
seignet posted:that looks like Fiji.
Fiji...has indigenous Fijians and Indos like yourself...what you trying to say?
More like Congo!
All wrong. It is Guyana...less some wimps from other races.
VishMahabir posted:Addressing the Annual Officersβ Conference of the GDF at State House today, President David Granger said that the Defence Force today βis fit for roleβ.
An excerpt of the Presidentβs address follows:
The Defence Force has effected organisational change in order to better identify and deter threats to territorial integrity and the national patrimony. The past five years have witnessed the Forceβs regularization, reorganization and recapitalization.
Are you sure this is today???!!
GDF needs patrol vessels, helicopters for oil sector
Posted by: Denis Chabrol in Crime, Economy, News, Oil & Gas January 16, 2020 1 Comment
The Guyana Defence Force (GDF) is asking for money to buy helicopters and boats to meet the challenges of an oil and gas state, even as President David Granger says the countryβs oil-rich maritime zone faces a serious threat.
βAs the force continues this transformative process, ocean patrol vessels for the coast guard are necessary, helicopters for the air corps and more off-road vehicles are also necessary to ensure that as a force we have the capabilities that are required to support an emerging oil industry,β Chief of Staff of the GDF Brigadier Patrick West said at the opening of the 2020 Annual Officersβ Conference.
GDFβs lone functioning civilian model helicopter is not authorised for routine night flights or to conduct major search and rescue operations. The GDFS Essequibo, once the GDFβs flagship coast guard vessel, is facing serious technical problems. The other marine craft cannot conduct long-range patrols or respond to armed conflict.
He promised that the GDF would take all steps to respond to security issues related to the oil and gas sector. βNow that the country is an oil-producing nation, the force must be better poised to handle some of the challenges that will arise and will do its best to maintain safety and security in this changing environment,β Brigadier West s said.
Brigadier West says the army is better in 2019 than in previous years, but there is a need for more investments in education, equipment and incentives in order to position the GDF to perform better in 2020.
The Chief of Staff made the remarks in the presence of, among others, President Granger who told the opening of the 2020 Officers Conference that the GDF has a major role to play in confronting the threat of scaring away investors from Guyanaβs oil-rich maritime zone. βThe interruption of economic activity in the countryβs exclusive economic zone (EEZ) has been a grave threat in the recent past. The countryβs maritime zone now is the scene of a surge of economic activity; petroleum production has commenced and exploration is continuing. The EEZ must be protected from illegal incursions aimed at the intimidation of investors or interference with production,β Granger said.
Another of the four βformidable threatsβ facing Guyana, according to President Granger, are criminal threats to fisherfolk whose sector contributes to the national economy and food security. βThe countryβs fishing grounds, and those who are employed in it, must be protected,β he added.
Granger said illegal miners from other states have entered our territory, occasionally, to exploit Guyanaβs mineral resources βunlawfully and steal our wildlife,βoccurrences he wants the GDF to help stamp out. βIncursions into our territory by illegal miners and wildlife raiders must be resisted in order to protect our natural resources. Criminal gangs, known as βsindicatosβ, have been known to invade mining camps, blockade rivers and commit murders. The countryβs frontier communities and their residents are vulnerable to attacks from these armed gangs,β he said.
Natural hazards such as floods and drought which inflict destruction, distress and death, the President said, are the fourth threat facing Guyana. βNatural hazards can degrade our natural capital and result in the costly damage to the environment and public property. Both the coastland and hinterland have been affected,β he added.
Dem chaps like Vish na gat shame.
De army is not taking sides politically. They vote and go home. Don't try to stir up shyte.
Vishmahabir ,please provide the Source for the excerpt .
Django posted:Vishmahabir ,please provide the Source for the excerpt .
Why don't you edit or delete the heading like you have done to my posting and to others. Fair is fair.
Sean posted:Dem chaps like Vish na gat shame.
De army is not taking sides politically. They vote and go home. Don't try to stir up shyte.
Voting 98% constantly for PNC is not taking side???
kp posted:Django posted:Vishmahabir ,please provide the Source for the excerpt .
Why don't you edit or delete the heading like you have done to my posting and to others. Fair is fair.
Giving Vish ,sometime will take later.
Can't recall doing any major changes to your post,except clean up the advertisement .
Django posted:Vishmahabir ,please provide the Source for the excerpt .
Sorry....its already posted above...and below (pix excluded)
GDF needs patrol vessels, helicopters for oil sector
Posted by: Denis Chabrol in Crime, Economy, News, Oil & Gas January 16, 2020 1 Comment
The Guyana Defence Force (GDF) is asking for money to buy helicopters and boats to meet the challenges of an oil and gas state, even as President David Granger says the countryβs oil-rich maritime zone faces a serious threat.
βAs the force continues this transformative process, ocean patrol vessels for the coast guard are necessary, helicopters for the air corps and more off-road vehicles are also necessary to ensure that as a force we have the capabilities that are required to support an emerging oil industry,β Chief of Staff of the GDF Brigadier Patrick West said at the opening of the 2020 Annual Officersβ Conference.
GDFβs lone functioning civilian model helicopter is not authorised for routine night flights or to conduct major search and rescue operations. The GDFS Essequibo, once the GDFβs flagship coast guard vessel, is facing serious technical problems. The other marine craft cannot conduct long-range patrols or respond to armed conflict.
He promised that the GDF would take all steps to respond to security issues related to the oil and gas sector. βNow that the country is an oil-producing nation, the force must be better poised to handle some of the challenges that will arise and will do its best to maintain safety and security in this changing environment,β Brigadier West s said.
Brigadier West says the army is better in 2019 than in previous years, but there is a need for more investments in education, equipment and incentives in order to position the GDF to perform better in 2020.
The Chief of Staff made the remarks in the presence of, among others, President Granger who told the opening of the 2020 Officers Conference that the GDF has a major role to play in confronting the threat of scaring away investors from Guyanaβs oil-rich maritime zone. βThe interruption of economic activity in the countryβs exclusive economic zone (EEZ) has been a grave threat in the recent past. The countryβs maritime zone now is the scene of a surge of economic activity; petroleum production has commenced and exploration is continuing. The EEZ must be protected from illegal incursions aimed at the intimidation of investors or interference with production,β Granger said.
Another of the four βformidable threatsβ facing Guyana, according to President Granger, are criminal threats to fisherfolk whose sector contributes to the national economy and food security. βThe countryβs fishing grounds, and those who are employed in it, must be protected,β he added.
Granger said illegal miners from other states have entered our territory, occasionally, to exploit Guyanaβs mineral resources βunlawfully and steal our wildlife,βoccurrences he wants the GDF to help stamp out. βIncursions into our territory by illegal miners and wildlife raiders must be resisted in order to protect our natural resources. Criminal gangs, known as βsindicatosβ, have been known to invade mining camps, blockade rivers and commit murders. The countryβs frontier communities and their residents are vulnerable to attacks from these armed gangs,β he said.
Natural hazards such as floods and drought which inflict destruction, distress and death, the President said, are the fourth threat facing Guyana. βNatural hazards can degrade our natural capital and result in the costly damage to the environment and public property. Both the coastland and hinterland have been affected,β he added.
They collect a paycheck and eat free food and liquor and provide no added value to the nation's tax payers. The GDF are useless as we see them have no effect on robbery on land or at sea. The venozs criminals continue to rob and kill miners while these sweet skinned leeches duck for cover.
The only person trying to stir up shyte here is you...who said the army taking sides.
If anything the army is more professional today and given recognition for the role it has played in society.
VOTING like a BOSS...for COALITION!!!
The head of this thread edited, there may be a change of heart ,although in the past elections majority of the discipline forces cast their ballots in favor , of the PNC ,currently PNCR ,APNU-AFC. In the coming March 2020 Elections ,the PPP/C Prime Minister Candidate is a retired Brigader from the GDF .Perhaps their vote can swing.
Actually history have proven ,the majority vote for PNC ,currently PNCR ,APNU-AFC.
Django posted:Sean posted:Dem chaps like Vish na gat shame.
Actually history have proven ,the majority vote for PNC ,currently PNCR ,APNU-AFC.
The majority is probably 99.99%
hey...who changed Vish headline
the man right...all them people in the picture most likely will vote PNC...he was giving an opinion with a picture...
DJ, don't let them chap this push yuh round...let me know which one giving you a hard time...I'll send him/her to the pen
better identify and deter threats to territorial integrity and the national patrimony.
What a joke! They can't even shoot an ocelot and they want to exchange fire with another country? Are these people serious?
Ray posted:hey...who changed Vish headline
the man right...all them people in the picture most likely will vote PNC...he was giving an opinion with a picture...
DJ, don't let them chap this push yuh round...let me know which one giving you a hard time...I'll send him/her to the pen
Let them stay , i am known to handle them appropriately.
Look how Dave ,the new-be ,running after Django ,the same was done to you.
Django posted:Ray posted:hey...who changed Vish headline
Look how Dave ,running after Django ,the same was done to you.
Django, as a friend, I can see these guys jerking your string, irritate and aggravate you. Laugh it off man!! Come on.
skeldon_man posted:Django posted:Ray posted:hey...who changed Vish headline
Django, as a friend, I can see these guys jerking your string, irritate and aggravate you. Laugh it off man!! Come on.
You know i am cool !!!
Django posted:skeldon_man posted:Django posted:Ray posted:hey...who changed Vish headline
You know i am cool !!!
We gon know how cool u is when pressure brace yuh rass.
Sheik101 posted:Django posted:skeldon_man posted:Django posted:Ray posted:hey...who changed Vish headline
You know i am cool !!!
We gon know how cool u is when pressure brace yuh rass.
Will give some responsibilities ,to some posters ,who are willing to assist.
Anyway i can handle pressures ...experienced a lot during the course of life.
@Former Member posted:They collect a paycheck and eat free food and liquor and provide no added value to the nation's tax payers. The GDF are useless as we see them have no effect on robbery on land or at sea. The venozs criminals continue to rob and kill miners while these sweet skinned leeches duck for cover.
Dem boys waiting for you to come out from hiding.
286 online (0 members
286 guests)