Walter Rodney Commission of Inquiry… PNC Govt. killed Rodney – Karen de Souza

April 30, 2014, By Filed Under News, Source

It was the People’s National Congress (PNC) Government led by Forbes Burnham, that killed Dr. Walter Rodney, says prominent activist, Karen de Souza.

Witness: Karen de Souza

De Souza, who said she was associated with the Working People’s Alliance (WPA) and was arrested numerous times during the late 1970s and early 1980s, made the statement yesterday during her appearance as a witness for the Commission of Inquiry into Rodney’s 1980 death which was blamed on a bomb hidden in a walkie-talkie allegedly given to him by former army rank, Gregory Smith. Rodney was a founder/leader of WPA.

De Souza was led through her evidence by attorney-at-law, Latchmie Rahamat, at the hearings being held at the High Court law library building, Charlotte Street. She has been recognized for her work in Red Thread, a non-profit organization, in which she is the Coordinator.

According to the witness, she became active in WPA work especially in 1979 attending numerous meetings. Many of the meetings were broken up by the police’s “Death Squad” and members of the House of Israel, a religious sect led by Rabbi Washington, who was said to be close to the Burnham administration.

The members of the so-called “Death Squad” were “clearly vicious” individuals armed with batons and were happy to use them on unarmed persons attending WPA meetings.

Questioned about the House of Israel operations, de Souza recalled that it was a religious organization that hosted a “radio programme, sold plantain chips and broke up meetings.”

She was unable to describe the cult as a “quasi” one, preferring to call it religious. She believed that the sect was linked to ruling PNC as they were mainly “adversarial” to the WPA and the People’s Progressive Party.

In the late 70’s and 80’s, WPA was mainly opposed to the policies of the PNC remaining openly critical.

ARRESTED MANY TIMES
Arrested too many times to count, de Souza recalled the 1979 arrest of Dr. Rodney for a fire at a Government facility. Arrested also were WPA’s Dr. Rupert Roopnaraine, Bonita Harris and her four-year-old son. The activist was detained, too, after she went to the CID headquarters to visit her colleagues. She was later taken to court for larceny…of a kit belonging to the Guyana National Service. That matter only ended in 1985, with no conviction.

De Souza recalled a 1979 meeting in Campbellville, Georgetown, where police charged the WPA members and supporters, beating many of them. The hand of Moses Bhagwan, a senior official, was broken while Dr. Rodney managed to escape. De Souza said she escaped a possible beating by sitting down. She said Burnham later joked of sending Rodney to the Olympics for his speed in running.

Speaking of June 13, 1980…the day of Rodney’s death, de Souza said she was at her Croal Street home with another colleague, Andaiye, when she heard a loud explosion. Within minutes, she heard a loud banging on her door and found a bleeding Donald Rodney, the brother of Dr. Rodney, outside. He told them that a “terrible accident” had happened to Dr. Rodney.

KILLED
De Souza said that within minutes, she hurried down to John Street, Werk-en-rust, where she saw a large crowd. There were several members of the police ‘Death Squad’ there. She managed to move close to the damaged car and saw Dr. Rodney inside, slumped forward. The roof of the car was gone. She left after being recognized by one of the police. It was about 20:00hrs in the evening.

She did not recall seeing any Government official or persons from the House of Israel. Asked specifically about her opinion as to what happened, the activist was blunt. “Essentially that he had finally been killed by government.”

She believed that he was killed because of the very adversarial “posture” of PNC. She spoke of two persons killed before by police that were from the WPA. These were Edward Dublin and Ohene Koama.

Asked about the suspect, Gregory Smith, de Souza said she did not know him and only saw a photo of him in the Catholic Standard.

The witness was also questioned about alleged threats by PNC leader, Burnham, who on radio messages told WPA members to make their wills. Specifically, she testified, Burnham said that “Let there be no weeping at the bar. No quarter must be asked. None will be given. And they must make their wills.”

Burnham reportedly also said that “we will fight their steel with more highly tempered steel”.

She was questioned by the Commissioners about the speed of the police to arrive at the scene and whether there were any sirens.

De Souza was not aware that the WPA was stockpiling arms but noted her fight involved a “can of spray paint”.

However, Rodney’s death may now have come as a total surprise. According to de Souza, “we were living with expectations that it could happen to us.”
The hearings continue today.

DG, Dat is the glorious Govt Caribj and others would like to see RULE Guyana!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

The PPP also has bloody hands, refuses to investigate teh murder of Sat Sawh, and freed a mass murderer.

Not only that, but many of the thugs connected to Burnham, are now with the PPP.

DG, Dat is the glorious Govt Caribj and others would like to see RULE Guyana!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

The PPP also has bloody hands, refuses to investigate teh murder of Sat Sawh, and freed a mass murderer.

Not only that, but many of the thugs connected to Burnham, are now with the PPP.

Hold on to Massa till death. Yuh are entitled to your loyalty.

The topic is .. "Walter Rodney Commission of Inquiry".

Why the enquiry, if it was already determined who killed Walter?

Yeah BUt Caribj and otherswere not sure.

Shut your keer!!

The PPP are kilLing more people today than what the PNC DID.

You may not be around (rum will kill you) when the new Government will indict Jagdeo and the PPP along with roti gAJRAJ FOR THIER ILLEGAL USE OF A pHANTOM sQUAD TO MUDER HUNDREDS OF PEOPLE.

Shut your keer!!

You may not be around (rum will kill you) when the new Government will indict Jagdeo and the PPP along with roti gAJRAJ FOR THIER ILLEGAL USE OF A pHANTOM sQUAD TO MUDER HUNDREDS OF PEOPLE.

Aids killing you already. Dem Lil gal ah Masjid wha yuh ah ghee small freck gun bring yuh so much SIN you will creep and die!!!!!!!!!!!

THe PPP has provided a sanctuary for these PNC thugs. One was even given lots of land by Jagdeo.

Should we have inquiries for them also???

Burnham consulted Jagan andJagan said yes Kabaka, Rodney is a threat to both the PNC AND ppp SO KILL HIM.

Should we have inquiries for them also???

Kill them first and then hold the enquiry.

Shut your keer!!

Aids killing you already. Dem Lil gal ah Masjid wha yuh ah ghee small freck gun bring yuh so much SIN you will creep and die!!!!!!!!!!!

Creep and die at a Masjid is much better than dying choking on piss in a rum shop. 

PNC leader, Burnham, who on radio messages told WPA members to make their wills. Specifically, she testified, Burnham said that “Let there be no weeping at the bar. No quarter must be asked. None will be given. And they must make their wills.”

Burnham reportedly also said that “we will fight their steel with more highly tempered steel”.

Shut your keer!!

Creep and die at a Masjid is much better than dying choking on piss in a rum shop. 

SINS will kill you. Fooling Lil Gals with small frek at a place of Worship PIGS dont do. You are nothing but GARBAGE!!!

He hehe he!! 

I will not go tit for tat with you  because you want to change the nature of the discourse.

Be man enough To admit that the PPP killed more innocents than the PNC.

Facts speak for itself, it was open war between Forbes and Rodney and Forbes won.

He hehe he!! 

I will not go tit for tat with you  because you want to change the nature of the discourse.

Be man enough To admit that the PPP killed more innocents than the PNC.

Facts speak for itself, it was open war between Forbes and Rodney and Forbes won.

You are allowed to worship the Kabaka but dont tell me to lie. And yes dont try going tit for tot with OFFICER NEHRU.

Officer Nehru,

Alcohol and denying the  nonsense that the PPP is doing will carry up your blood pressure.

Do you agree that the PPP under Jagdeo killed or caused people to die including their own Minister Sat Sawh? 

Officer Nehru,

Alcohol and denying the  nonsense that the PPP is doing will carry up your blood pressure.

Do you agree that the PPP under Jagdeo killed or caused people to die including their own Minister Sat Sawh? 

Like I said continue to worship the dead Kabaka who taught you the art of LYING .    You were on the soup side and being Shamreless you should always be grateful to the DAAG.

Originally Posted by Conscience:

The PNC needs to come clean on what actually happened to Walter Rodney, the truth has a sense of revealing itself, come clean Congress Place....come clean.

eVERYONE IS AWARE THAT bURNHAM KILLED rODNEY WITH THE BLESSINGS OF COMMUNIST jAGAN.

The PNC needs to come clean on what actually happened to Walter Rodney, the truth has a sense of revealing itself, come clean Congress Place....come clean.

eVERYONE IS AWARE THAT bURNHAM KILLED rODNEY WITH THE BLESSINGS OF COMMUNIST jAGAN.

Everyone?? You really STUPID!!!  The Kabaka was right to ride you like a DONKEY!!!

You admitted that you used to go at The Kabaka farm when he siad " Trench or Retrench" you jumped into the trench.

The opposition goons appears to be at full throttle trying to derail the thread away from its subject matter, as the C.O.I continues a particular political party is looking as guilty as charge!

You admitted that you used to go at The Kabaka farm when he siad " Trench or Retrench" you jumped into the trench.

Dont daab yuh shit pun me. Stooges like you did that. I NEVER went to Hope Estate despite being ORDERED to go!!! I had BALLS and was NOT a SLIMEBAG STOOGE like you.

Miss De souza, should not be afraid to speak against the ills of the then PNC government, and the damaging impact had on the society that is still felt in some factions of the society.

Now that the long overdue inquiry into the assassination of Walter Rodney is underway, it is amusing, if this were not such a serious matter to see all the various conspiracy theories out there about who killed who and all kind of nonsense.  For those who engage in such stupidness if you are so sure of your information then submit it to the Commission for consideration.  It is time to put up or shut up.  

As the C.O.I continues, more and more information from creditable individuals are coming forth, no wonder a lawyer from a certain political partner was attempting to disrupt the work on the commission today...

The DRITY and ROTTEN PNC is still around and awaiting to introduce terror in Guyana again.

As the C.O.I continues, more and more information from creditable individuals are coming forth, no wonder a lawyer from a certain political partner was attempting to disrupt the work on the commission today...

A COI needs to be setup to investigate Roger Khan's involvement with the GOG and the PPP and who killed Sat Sawh.

Mitwah bai well said. Dont expect dem hupocrit foh do that.

Bottom line Walter Rodney was assasinated by Forbes with the blessings of Jagan.

Rodney was a threat to the PPP more than the PNC.

rODNEY HAD STARTED TO MOVE TO TO THE SUGAR WORKERS AND jAGAN AND gawu was unhappy.

Yeah BUt Caribj and otherswere not sure.

Yes.  We know that the PNC killed Rodney Roger Khan killed Sat Sawh and was not punished by the PPP.

We also know that the Burnham thugs who beat up Rodney and other WPA activists are now members of the Jagdeo/Ramotar PPP.

Any more questions?

rODNEY HAD STARTED TO MOVE TO TO THE SUGAR WORKERS AND jAGAN AND gawu was unhappy.

Jagan told Rodney to stay away from cane cutters.  Rodney wanted to unify the working class, so didn't listen.

Jagan was angry.  Maybe Linden Forbes and Cheddi Bharat schemed to rid Guyana of that trouble maker over drinks.  The notion that race politics might end terrified both of them!

Miss De souza, should not be afraid to speak against the ills of the then PNC government, and the damaging impact had on the society that is still felt in some factions of the society.

Do you think that Ms. De Souza is happy that the goons who beat her up are now best friends with the PPP?

Jagan told Rodney to stay away from cane cutters.  Rodney wanted to unify the working class, so didn't listen.

Jagan was angry.  Maybe Linden Forbes and Cheddi Bharat schemed to rid Guyana of that trouble maker over drinks.  The notion that race politics might end terrified both of them!

Thank you , thank you and thank you!!!