Wow..

December is here..wow, I cannot believe the new yr is a month away

Wellโ€ฆHappy December to my GNI family/friends

Baking my black cake this weekend..

I have to set my ginger beer n go shopping for my pepperpot meat!!

I never cooked pork (the fam eats it but I dont) but I was thinking for treating fam with some roast pork..

any recipe tips?? Cain!!!

ps

last yr i tried the ham n it was very good)iused online/youtube recipes)

but it was too much for a family of 3 so hubby said not to do it again

i like to try a new  recipe every Xmas ..

any suggestions??

Well Lynn, I haven't made ginger beer in years and never made garlic pork. I did eat it many years ago but it aint my thing now.

I picked up some shredded coconut to try making salara. I will use red colouring in one, green in the other, for the Christmas spirit.

With my luck with baking hard bread I will more than likely end up with two  door stops...one with red swirls one with green.

Well..Cain i tried making the ginger beer few yrs ago..ie Canadian style because i grew up making it the Gy way..ie u grated dry ginger n filled jug with water n put in d  sun to brew for days before xmas..then i  strained n added sugar n essence..

but i never tried boiling water n brewing it here until 2-3 yrs ago I used a Jcan recipe.  It wasnt too bad..nothing like the real thing, but it ok.  

Lynn

Cain i bought the frozen shredded coconut (Indian brand i think) from Freshco..labelled โ€˜coconut shredsโ€™

it is very good..moist n fresh unlike the dry, shredded kind(which often tastes rancid)

normally i grate my own coconut but many times i get stale ones that r rancid..so i have to buy abt 4 n grate up to half way inside so i dont get the rancid portion which is close to the shell

i decided to try this brand n now i am sticking to it.

Years ago i used to get from asian store..there was an indian brand called laksmi which  was just as good ie frozen shreds but i dont see it anymore.  There was another one called DEEP but that had the brown parts n was very dry

anyway good luck with yrs..it wont be  hard..

Try Metemgee (Althea Brown) recipe ..make the 1st dough a BIT  sticky , not hard n it will be soft

Lynn
@cain posted:

Well Lynn, I haven't made ginger beer in years and never made garlic pork. I did eat it many years ago but it aint my thing now.

I picked up some shredded coconut to try making salara. I will use red colouring in one, green in the other, for the Christmas spirit.

With my luck with baking hard bread I will more than likely end up with two  door stops...one with red swirls one with green.

Oy Cainster... send dem salara to Irfan fa shy pon Maduro and knock off 'e head clean clean.