@Amral posted:

Then it will be a big 65th birthday party Lynn

Hahahaâ€Ķnah.  I don’t like crowds n parties!!

Maybe the 2 gal pickney might do 1 for Pops..but I am not into parties.

whn it was my  50th, i warned them ‘No surprise party’ as this guest of honor wont show up!!

Maybe a family trip to Hawaii..( i should make a few hintsâ€Ķlol)

Lynn
@Amral posted:

Has anyone been to Montreal? I am planning to go to Halifax in July spend a week and then fly to Montreal for a week. Will take the train back from Montreal to Toronto.

Just worried about the language problem in Montreal. I have heard different stories how sometimes you get snubbed as English Canadians.

Yepâ€Ķgoing in to restaurants was a problem..even 4 police guys were mocking us as we walked to our table..they sad the N word as we passed

in McDonalds the lady didnt quite understand our orders

we took the train fromTO..after 4 hr it was getting onmy nerves (this was 2008)

i couldnt take nap with the crickets clack n i couldnt read as u ‘shake’ in yr seat .

Back then all the girls had was iPods so thy listened to music

we were comfy as we got family seat for 4..

maybe things r better now after 15 yrs

Lynn

so my trip is booked now to Charlottetown in June.

Mid July I decided to go to Victoria BC and Sidney BC,  will stay 2 weeks there around the harbor area. Hope I can go on one of those Whale watching trips

And then late August to mid Sept I will be flying to Halifax for a week, then fly to Montreal for the next week and take the Via train back to Toronto.

I just checked my Via Rail points and I can get the trip from Montreal to Toronto Business class free.

I pay only the taxes (about $30.)

Will book it tomorrow Tuesdays are the Via discount days

Amral
@Amral posted:

so my trip is booked now to Charlottetown in June.

Mid July I decided to go to Victoria BC and Sidney BC,  will stay 2 weeks there around the harbor area. Hope I can go on one of those Whale watching trips

And then late August to mid Sept I will be flying to Halifax for a week, then fly to Montreal for the next week and take the Via train back to Toronto.

I just checked my Via Rail points and I can get the trip from Montreal to Toronto Business class free.

I pay only the taxes (about $30.)

Will book it tomorrow Tuesdays are the Via discount days

Wowâ€Ķhats off to you!

u r like my big daughter..ie how she plans ahead for her trip!!

This sounds like an exciting summer BM!!

Lynn

Btw..dont rem if i mentioned it before (me fugetful now..)

but I did 2 bus trips abt 15 yrs ago ...Lord I cant even remember the name but with Chinese tour company

i took my lil girl n her cuz from Cayman on both trips (4 days to Montreal/Quebec/Mont Tremblanc n 7 days to the Maritimes

i enjoyed it but the actual bus rides were abit coring for me as i sat beside a strangers who hadno interest in being friendly

i wont mind doing another trip esp to the Maritimes but if i can find some one to go with me but this time..i wud fly to Montreal n join the bus there

btw Amral..we paid for the whale watching on the ferry but guess wht!!..none surfaced!!

Lynn

I went to Grand Cayman for a week

last visit was in 2008 n the place was desolate after hurricane Ivan devasted the island in Nov 2004 .

Now it  full of life..beaches n the greeneryâ€Ķmost of old buildings were replaced..

so many roads n boy oh boy..round-about all ovah d place.  

Itis so developed now..so many more hotels n even more r being constructed.

Lots of big apt buildings too

My elder girl n I stayed with my niece n alsoi ith a=some friends of ours ..

last time she visited was 2003 for her cuz high sch graduation ..

N she took some pix of the primary sch she used to attend .  

This time nothing is familair..we drove past the few places we lived..we couldnt even recognize the yards or streets.

same for the hospital (where I used to work )

my gf n her hubby r now semi retired (pharmacists ) in a newly built (downsized) home as their 3 kids have their own homes now

i took pix of their yardâ€Ķomg I thought I was in GY..!! All the TREES/Plants below

they have a humongous SAIJAN tree..(if u see Saijan ..green n dried ones) , plantain n banana suckers , sapodilla, starapple, five-fingers, guavas, mangoes, soursop, papaya, gy cherries, fine leaf thyme, married man poke, wiri wiri n hot peppers, coconut trees!! She had frozen guavas n five fingers n cherries..uses it to make drink!! N sugar cane too !!

My niece has a few trees too ..but i got sapodilla from her ..the 1st ‘bearing’..oh my..huge n sweet!!

Lynn

I forgot to mention..as soon as we exited the airport..we were greeted by a creole fowl cock !!

It seems like they have ‘stray fowls’ in cayman..even at the beach!!

There was a cock crowing all during the day..every 3-5 mins..all day long!!

Well..we reared creole fowls/cocks n once in a blue moon a rooster wud crow during the day time

Videos (1)
IMG_0549
Lynn