A typical Guyanese speaks creolese more than standard English, is often late for meetings and socials, loves foreign stuff more than local substitutes, says "over the river" instead of "across the river", litters streets and public spaces as if it's a constitutional right, welcomes money and free gifts but not advice from overseas relatives, thinks money is primary and integrity is secondary, believes chronic complaining is an entitlement, admires fancy clothes over good manners, is quick to launch ad hominem attacks instead of respecting other opinions, etc.

Yes you hit it as these attributes describe the Indo, Afro and mixed identified.  So can be considered Guyanese traits.

While Trinis are similar (though have a different creole lexicon) they don't seem as interested in living off their overseas relatives as are Guyanese.  This entitled attitude that people have towards their family in Barbados, NY or Toronto gets amazing.  As is the scorn and ingratitude that they direct once the money wire is received.

*****, Granger gat yo family in bad shape .. wok and and send the money or them gon starve man. 

me...a person of color...and of mixed blood...we gon show yall de way forward...

So you are wan cross breed?

"cross breed"?? meaning? 

Naw...we multicolor...like the rainbow...we tekkin ova de world too...

...the more Afro and Indo intermarry the merrier...for the record, we are the fastest growing population in Guyana...both Indo and Afro in decline...known fact...ask Django to show you the census...

You got kids?...teach them not to be re racist...

For all the years that I lived in Guyana, the PNC were in government (mostly illegally) and they and their supporters behaved like Indians don't belong there. When I left in 1987, I had washed my mind of that God forsaken country. Once my wife joined me in America, Guyana was no more than the place where I was born and where the PNC manifested their prejudice on more than 60% of the them population. There was nothing to look forward there and getting a ticket out of there was the best gift anyone can get.

I do see Guyanese a lot like Gilly stated.

Zed posted:

Well, an exercise of self-definition and identification? As I travel this country, I meet many many Guyanese who do not have the attributes  that some of you identify. Maybe, time for a revisit or to widen your horizons and linkages in Guyana.

One thing for sure is the Race divide gap is wider than when I left 4 decades ago. Indian banditry is on the increase. Children are being raped and on the rise; and the perps are walking free. Homes are like a prison with all those iron bars which also make them a fire trap.

You are probably not seeing the forest for the trees.

Zed posted:

Well, an exercise of self-definition and identification? As I travel this country, I meet many many Guyanese who do not have the attributes  that some of you identify. Maybe, time for a revisit or to widen your horizons and linkages in Guyana.

One thing for sure is the Race divide gap is wider than when I left 4 decades ago. Indian banditry is on the increase. Children are being raped and on the rise; and the perps are walking free. Homes are like a prison with all those iron bars which also make them a fire trap.

You are probably not seeing the forest for the trees.

So true.

antabanta posted:

and why is it interpreted as derogtory? Far as I know, most Guyanese are proud to be Guyanese. No?

He like Indians more than Indians like themselves (he was referring to an Afro-Guyanese who happen to appreciate Indo culture and kindness). This is a typical Guyanese who speak the truth accidentally and refuse to wipe the shame off his face.  

Skeldon_man supported him.  

antabanta posted:

and why is it interpreted as derogtory? Far as I know, most Guyanese are proud to be Guyanese. No?

He like Indians more than Indians like themselves (he was referring to an Afro-Guyanese who happen to appreciate Indo culture and kindness). This is a typical Guyanese who speak the truth accidentally and refuse to wipe the shame off his face.  

Skeldon_man supported him.  

I support a lot of people. You might drop down dead if I let the secret out. Be careful now.

The PNC has turn Guyana into a Cesspool. Their incompetence, ignorance, Bullyism and plain wrang and strong has made Guyana worst than a banana Republic!!!!

yuh mean they cause that man to run ova he wife and then chap she up?

Dat man I heard was trained in America. Lawlessness, Bullyism, immorality breads lawlessnesss, inhumanity and Violence. So if you have a socalled Govt who are experts in those Fields then expect the illiterate part of the population to do the same!!!

Amral posted:

I am a typical Guyanese man. Woman must know she place and know she duty. 

Food hot and ready and roti always hot. Bed nice and warm and the words "not tonight" is not in her vocabulary lol

You think them Guyanese girls like that these days?  You bring them from hubu backdam, in no time dem learn Meetoo and you balls in a bind!

Creolese is a beautiful dialect that makes great use of intonations and little structure to transmit the message which is always clearly received except by those pretending to be superior.

Being late for meetings and socials suggests there are more important things in life than arriving at meetings and socials on time.

Foreign stuff is loved for the novelty. I don't know any Guyanese who prefer an apple over a mango.

"Over the river" is one of many aspects of the creolese dialect that makes it unique and beautiful.

Garbage collection and disposal is not an effective service in Guyana. Do you or your family and friends litter streets and public spaces? Shame on you.

Giving someone money does not entitle you to control their life. Advice offered does not have to be implemented.

The allure of money over integrity is more endemic in the US than Guyana... by far.

Life for most people living in Guyana is difficult. Their complaints are justified.

Admiration for fancy clothes stands alone. How do you associate that with being over good manners?

Ad hominem attacks are a staple of US society. Why do you see it as a typical Guyanese trait?

What about people not allowing guests to leave unless they eat food? What about youngsters displaying respect for adults in both manner and words? What about love for a good party? What about helping each other in times of sickness and death? What about enjoying the holidays of all religions? What about willingness to sip a beer with a friend?

antabanta posted:

Creolese is a beautiful dialect that makes great use of intonations and little structure to transmit the message which is always clearly received except by those pretending to be superior.

Being late for meetings and socials suggests there are more important things in life than arriving at meetings and socials on time.

Foreign stuff is loved for the novelty. I don't know any Guyanese who prefer an apple over a mango.

"Over the river" is one of many aspects of the creolese dialect that makes it unique and beautiful.

Garbage collection and disposal is not an effective service in Guyana. Do you or your family and friends litter streets and public spaces? Shame on you.

Giving someone money does not entitle you to control their life. Advice offered does not have to be implemented.

The allure of money over integrity is more endemic in the US than Guyana... by far.

Life for most people living in Guyana is difficult. Their complaints are justified.

Admiration for fancy clothes stands alone. How do you associate that with being over good manners?

Ad hominem attacks are a staple of US society. Why do you see it as a typical Guyanese trait?

A fair rebuttal. Thanks.

antabanta posted:

A fair rebuttal. Thanks.

No worries. We just gyaffin.

antabanta posted:

What defines a typical Guyanese? Is it the laissez faire disposition combined with the motivation for success? Is it the enthusiasm for upbeat music - reggae, calypso, soca, chutney, Indian? It can't be physical attributes, only be behavioral.

A simple down to earth human being who believes in helping his fellow human being. We were not all born with the same ability to battle through daily life on our own. This my opinion only.