Two little girls with a Bakie and Scrubbing board. It's the way children learned to wash clothe in the early days of Guyana. Sometimes young ladies and their parents wash by the trenches or near by creeks. It used to be nice to walk over and lend a helping hand. It's a wonderful feeling to relive the simple way of life. Yes, those innocent days of Guyana!
A familiar scene where women and children get together for a day wash by the trench.
quote:It used to be nice to walk over and lend a helping hand.
I somehow doan remember dis part.
Are you a Guyanese, uncle?
one of the reasons I will never go back and live in GY
i hated washing clothes by the trench karna with a 'beatah'....the bed sheets were the hardest!!!
it was very very hard work!!
give me my washing machine please!!
i hated washing clothes by the trench karna with a 'beatah'....the bed sheets were the hardest!!!
it was very very hard work!!
give me my washing machine please!!
Chami.....when you live in a house with a family of 10+.....washing clothes is not fun!!!
bedsheets, towels and 'hard pants'
except for very rural areas, trench corner washing is a thing of the past. From what I have seen most people got bit "vat" or overhead tank as I would call it these days.
quote:Originally posted by Cobra:
Iman used to run away from house wuk, always had to fix my bicycle.
quote:Originally posted by Riya:
except for very rural areas, trench corner washing is a thing of the past. From what I have seen most people got bit "vat" or overhead tank as I would call it these days.
gurl my famo dem got washing machine in GY!!
hmmmmm....so maybe i can go back and live there now!!!!
NOT!!!
quote:Originally posted by cain:quote:Originally posted by Cobra:
Iman used to run away from house wuk, always had to fix my bicycle.
to ride and go soor dem gyals, eh??
I agree it's hard work today that life has changed so much for most of us. Even so, it's the kind of work that made us good men and women of yesteryear schooling. Remembering the old day are better than reliving it.
There wasn't any bad people in those days?quote:Originally posted by Cobra:
I agree it's hard work today that life has changed so much for most of us. Even so, it's the kind of work that made us good men and women of yesteryear schooling. Remembering the old day are better than reliving it.
I'm sure there is but when you're kids growing up the bad things other people do just come and go. We never had an appetite to hold grudges towards your neighbor. At least that's how I remembered it. Some people may tell you differently based on the kind of environment they were grown up.
TI (Guest)
quote:Originally posted by antabanta:There wasn't any bad people in those days?quote:Originally posted by Cobra:
PNC don't count
quote:Originally posted by chameli:
everybody, where i visited, had washer (not dryer)
Them musse does prapa stew up them teeth when blackout hit
I, myself, like air drying but I'm prohibited to put up a clothesline where I live.
Somebody on this forum has been smoking some really crazy shit.
I, myself, like air drying but I'm prohibited to put up a clothesline where I live.
I thought the HOA objected to the draazees only.
TI (Guest)
In your yard? Are you in prison and not telling us?
quote:Originally posted by ksazma:
maybe in your area
quote:Originally posted by TI:quote:Originally posted by antabanta:
There wasn't any bad people in those days?
PNC don't count
He said people.
TI (Guest)
quote:Originally posted by ksazma:quote:Originally posted by Riya:
Maybe there is a multitude of them
quote:Originally posted by TI:
In your yard? Are you in prison and not telling us?
yeah, i'm using my alloted library/computer time to post
quote:Originally posted by Riya:quote:Originally posted by ksazma:
maybe in your area
Come to think of it, if you hang a nowadays drazee pun a line, it could be mistaken for a piece of string.
TI (Guest)
Maybe the lady living in some rich fancy neighborhood where they have to keep it comely, and keep out the riff raff!
Here is a scene entering the black water creek. It has shown red in color because of the shallowness and sand. As you go deeper it all seems black. Black water is good to drink as well as to cook with in certain parts of Guyana. Many kinds of fishes live in the water, also snake, reptiles and piranha.
quote:Originally posted by Riya:quote:Originally posted by chameli:
everybody, where i visited, had washer (not dryer)
Them musse does prapa stew up them teeth when blackout hit
funny because in Canada they have now lifted all those ancient by-laws and are actually encouraging people to put their laundry out on lines to dry!!!
back when we were buying our house i refused to buy in an area that prohibited clothes lines!!!
from May to Sept i do not use my dryer!!!
Clothes/bed sheets dried on a an outdoor clothesline smells nice and fresh, none of that fake smell.
It's nice to watch the kid's fishing in a near by pond. Though it looks like fun, it could also be a way of living or just hoping to catch dinner to feed four hungry mouth. There is nothing rich and elegant about this scene, not to mention the scorching sun that rains down on a shirtless body of a child.
Many of my neighbours use lines, so do I. It's in the backyard no problemo.
It's possible that apartment buildings could be a whole different ball game. Visualize a highrise with everyone's clothes hanging out on their balconies.
As for chicken an goat, I doan think so.
But one of my neighbours did have a rooster last year and many a morning you can hear we boy crowin tarass, but by Christmas time is like it stop crowing.
It's possible that apartment buildings could be a whole different ball game. Visualize a highrise with everyone's clothes hanging out on their balconies.
As for chicken an goat, I doan think so.
But one of my neighbours did have a rooster last year and many a morning you can hear we boy crowin tarass, but by Christmas time is like it stop crowing.
TI (Guest)
People come to north and forget they roots! They all 'dry cleaning' and 'wash and fold' now
The other day I saw a towel on my neighbor line. I'm sure I saw Marriot written on it.
quote:Originally posted by TI:
You doan live nex door to Iman, do you? IS you who got dat BIG butt woman come over sometimes?
TI (Guest)
I keeping a low profile, bai! Oprah still stalking me.
quote:Originally posted by Villagebelle:
funny because in Canada they have now lifted all those ancient by-laws and are actually encouraging people to put their laundry out on lines to dry!!!
back when we were buying our house i refused to buy in an area that prohibited clothes lines!!!
from May to Sept i do not use my dryer!!!
what can I say....Floridians are backwards people living with antiquated laws We got summer galore and forced to use dryers. Well, certain areas where people chose to live.
TI (Guest)
Maybe it's the hurricane laws.
Some people probably object to little lacy things flying in they face!
Florida got lots of pervs who would actually enjoy that
Keep me out of your discussion please. Many thanks.
143 online (0 members
143 guests)