Dunks? Snacking on some juyicy ones from the Indian store.
quote:Originally posted by alena:
Were they the bottled ones or fresh ?....
I bought some a few weeks ago at a local market...they were advertise with another name. Darn I can't remember. They were delicious too.
Were they the bottled ones or fresh ?....[/QUOTE]
....:........:................................................
Super fresh. Could not believe my eyes. They call it 'beir'.
quote:Originally posted by Riya:
I bought some a few weeks ago at a local market...they were advertise with another name. Darn I can't remember. They were delicious too.
I picked up some at a little store in Colonial Drive....they were from Mexico but tasted like the Guyanese ones.....I bought sapodilla also ....
I have a tree. Trouble is that they come out in December and the cold weather get to them before I can. Right now there are some on the tree about 10 centimeters in size.
Man why YUh Al dont go back and live in Guyana. Deh People in Guyana want Allpes and Grapes.
quote:Originally posted by Nehru:
Man why YUh Al dont go back and live in Guyana. Deh People in Guyana want Allpes and Grapes.
Human nature. We always want what we don't have.
quote:They call it 'beir'.
I have heard it called "Beir" in the Corentyne ask Chief he may be familar with the name.
i had some a month ago when i went to guyana
also had some of the other fruits i don't ever see here in canada (at least not where i live)....
fatpoke
mamee
sugar apple
star apple
sopadilla
apple banana
also had some of the other fruits i don't ever see here in canada (at least not where i live)....
fatpoke
mamee
sugar apple
star apple
sopadilla
apple banana
No sweet fig
yes....i had sweet fig (the banana that is )
but i sometimes get that at the local Fortinos or the Asian stores.
Where? I have been looking for years.
[QUOTE]Originally posted TI
Where? I have been looking for years.[/Q
STORE is called Apna BAZAAR on Oak Tree Road. Edison.
Where? I have been looking for years.[/Q
STORE is called Apna BAZAAR on Oak Tree Road. Edison.
quote:Originally posted by bird:quote:They call it 'beir'.
I have heard it called "Beir" in the Corentyne ask Chief he may be familar with the name.
I have always known it as bAir, until people in Guyana get westernized pan me and call it dunks.
In Corentyne, anyone know...
Short Bachnee
Latiff, who shouted death announcements on the street.
One foot Lilly.
How about Balhead[rumshop] and
Uncle Cock?
I never heard it call beir. The store had another name for it....still can't remember. I have it look for it next time.
The most common name for it is jujube. Maybe that is where the beir come in.
how did you get beir from jujube?
never heard jujube either..was always dunks
RIya.- Beir might be the Indian name for Dunks. Jujube sounds like jug jug candy.
alena, there is actually a candy name jujube. I have seen it before and it looks lik jug jug
I had my fair share of jug jug from my mom's shop.
Now, why yuh have to mention jug jug? I'd love some now
quote:Originally posted by Riya:
how did you get beir from jujube?
I don't know. be .... beir.
Fresh jujube
quote:Originally posted by ksazma:
I don't know. be .... beir.
.......................................................................................
Ksazma pls send some Jujube my way... Sounds funny.
Fresh jujube
Ever had Stretcher???
[QUOTE]Originally posted by Nehru:
Ever had Stretcher??? [QUOTE]Originally
........................................................................................
Yes. and nut crush as well.
........................................................................................
Ksazma pls send some Jujube my way... Sounds funny.
Two years in a row the damn cold weather killed the dunks on the tree. I can see some again now and hopefully ya'll keep ya'll cold weather dahside so I can actually get my first dunks from the tree.
How about Butterball? Dem Clap Hand Church used to give out one to everyone who attended Sunday School. Dont forget Nuttin.
[QUOTE]Originally posted by Nehru:
67 online (0 members
67 guests)