of these? This is a dwarf size wooden bench or "peerah" that we used to sit on back in the old days in Guyana. It's comfortable to grate coconut, or to give you an extra edge to reach the top shelf. In the US and Canada where Guyanese gained a dhall belly, the little bench or peerah is no longer recommended for them. What else do you remember about the little peerah?
What other names do you called the peerah? Peerah is the Hindi word for it. I think.
Dem ladies used to sit on them and beat clothes
Brides and grooms sit on them when they get married under the maro.
Me bus me buddy head wid ours and de thing bruk.
great to sit on when gating coconut
quote:Originally posted by chameli:
I remember that those of us who are not berbicians called it peerHAH
i have one in my home but not so high
Berbician also call it PEERAH, Believe it or not they are from the same Tribe,as them West Coast people from Vreeden-hoop to Hubu backdam.
āĪŽāĨāĪāĪ
Bookman (Guest)
quote:Originally posted by IGH:
āĪŽāĨāĪāĪ
Translation: Sit donk yuh backside.
quote:Originally posted by Bookman:quote:Originally posted by IGH:
āĪŽāĨāĪāĪ
Translation: Sit donk yuh backside.
I was looking for the Hindi word & came up with that.
108 online (2 members
106 guests)