Originally Posted by Sheik101:
Originally Posted by GT Stingaa:
Yuh kno wit de war wuz Rouk? Coolies fitein dem mattee to get to front a de dhall & also line

So there was indeed a war? and all the "victors" of said war are here to today to recount their battle scars.

Look at abbe Kneeru. Poor gyal still havin nightmares of breadfruit curry

Personally, I was very traumatized by my loss at the famous Battle of the Corentyne where we sadly lost my pet duck to negro savagery in a heavy curry sauce

So you were always afraid?

Nehru, what is it about this breadfruit curry Shaitan keep saying you're having nightmares about?  Circumstances aside, I would imagine this to be a nutritious dish. yuh agree bai?

Bhai , Dat ILLITERATE BUM like to spew GARBAGE whole Day.  He himself agreed about the bad days of Burnham but as a SOUP DRINKER and a LEACH on Society he will continue to try and spread his usual GARBAGE.  He also lacks basic understanding.

Still nothing on this breadfruit curry though.

Lemme splain you lil. In a discussion of PNC atrocities during Burnham's era on another thread, abee Kneeru explained how he was traumatized because he went to a coolie wedding expecting to be served finest curry of aloo but instead got breadfruit curry

This apparently has caused his deep PTSD for the past decades and implacable hatred of the PNC

Yuh kno wit de war wuz Rouk? Coolies fitein dem mattee to get to front a de dhall & also line

So there was indeed a war? and all the "victors" of said war are here to today to recount their battle scars.

Personally, I was very traumatized by my loss at the famous Battle of the Corentyne where we sadly lost my pet duck to negro savagery in a heavy curry sauce

Nehru, what is it about this breadfruit curry Shaitan keep saying you're having nightmares about?  Circumstances aside, I would imagine this to be a nutritious dish. yuh agree bai?

Breadfruit Curry Nutritious??/ Is weh you from Hubu Backdam??/  Next thing you would have wanted from Bunham was Hog Food like Shaitaan.

All I did was ask you about this breadfruit curry not throw a tantrum.

Originally Posted by Django:

Those of you who didn't live during the days of the kabaka, cannot in any way understand what was going on or what was happening.

Most of the food items that you think were banned. were only restricted.  You had to go to congress place to get a licence to import.   When you were there, they forced you to join the PNC in order to obtain that licence.

That was the confusion.

Then they formed a national service whew everybody who wEnt there enjoyed some kind of fringe benefits.

And life goes on....

Import licence was always a requirement,what caused

the declining food imports was shortage of foreign

currency controlled by the government.

Bai Django, At Line Path and Crabwood Creek, we had everything. Even Burnham's boys came down to buy the stuff. Just had to help the contrabanders hide their stuff.

One of my friend got married at #68 we spent three

days,on our return trip food stuff stashed away in

the car door,we got stopped at Weldaad,every one

stay cool routine check and pass thru,we got lots

of stuff from the western border.

Bhai , Dat ILLITERATE BUM like to spew GARBAGE whole Day.  He himself agreed about the bad days of Burnham but as a SOUP DRINKER and a LEACH on Society he will continue to try and spread his usual GARBAGE.  He also lacks basic understanding.

Still nothing on this breadfruit curry though.

Lemme splain you lil. In a discussion of PNC atrocities during Burnham's era on another thread, abee Kneeru explained how he was traumatized because he went to a coolie wedding expecting to be served finest curry of aloo but instead got breadfruit curry

This apparently has caused his deep PTSD for the past decades and implacable hatred of the PNC

When you are ILLITERATE and want to discuss an era you have no facts on, you are simply being your DUMB self.  There is  so much you need to learn before you discuss here.

Those of you who didn't live during the days of the kabaka, cannot in any way understand what was going on or what was happening.

Most of the food items that you think were banned. were only restricted.  You had to go to congress place to get a licence to import.   When you were there, they forced you to join the PNC in order to obtain that licence.

That was the confusion.

Then they formed a national service whew everybody who wEnt there enjoyed some kind of fringe benefits.

And life goes on....

Bai Django, At Line Path and Crabwood Creek, we had everything. Even Burnham's boys came down to buy the stuff. Just had to help the contrabanders hide their stuff.

Django,

No 68 ? Was it far from the School dam ?

I am originally from a neighbouring village.

No 69 was a hub for "importing" products from Suriname to assist and save Guyanese from the rotten PNC.

I don't know why people like to lie to themselves and others to the point of delusion.

No one smuggled to "assist and save Guyanese." People smuggled to save themselves and their families and to price gouge their fellow Guyanese.

There was nothing heroic about this.

My family smuggled to make money. We weren't trying to earn entry to Heaven.

That was the confusion.

And life goes on....

Django,

De berbice lady from  number 66 village used to give me salt and rice with onion chip up inside. said this was what they used to had in the ancient county, I had no issues with the dish.

That was the confusion.

And life goes on....

Django,

This was in the late 70's i can't recall the area

his wife(Devi)went UG there is were they met, both

graduated as pharmacist,his father-in-law

worked at Skeldon hospital.

That was the confusion.

And life goes on....

Django,

De berbice lady from  number 66 village used to give me salt and rice with onion chip up inside. said this was what they used to had in the ancient county, I had no issues with the dish.

i know some people that live in canada that eat this right now say they enjoy it when i go to guyana i love to eat shinerice 

all dis scorning of katahar makes me wonder what the 'ancestors' were using fuh "proper" curry before the Europeans introduced aloo to India from South America in the colonial period

Look Buddy,

Ah doan know where you get this racist nonsense from but our chat-3 ancestors feasted on finest curry of aloo (we sometimes called it pomme de terre in polite company), paired with finest Claret, and served on finest Imperial Mughal dinner service.

No one deigned or condescended to dine on this "katahar" monstrosity you speak of.

Potato came from South America, brought to Europe by the Spanish.  It became a popular crop throughout Europe, displacing other crops as a staple diet for the poor.

India was introduced to potato via the British. I even wonder whether the Indo Caribbean use of potato isn't part of its adaptation to life in the Caribbean, and not having anything to do with India.

So banning potatoes wasn't the end of the world.  If split peas grows in India than most likely it could have also been grown in Guyana.

All that is left is the banning of wheat flour, wheat not being a crop which can be grown in Guyana, and it is the most efficient source of flour a staple for ALL Guyanese, not just Indians.  So I am not impressed by those who claim that Burnham used banning to frustrate Indians.  He couldn't pay his bills because he destroyed the economy, and the suppliers of wheat stopped sending any.  So then came the nonsense about rice flour.

all dis scorning of katahar makes me wonder what the 'ancestors' were using fuh "proper" curry before the Europeans introduced aloo to India from South America in the colonial period

Look Buddy,

Ah doan know where you get this racist nonsense from but our chat-3 ancestors feasted on finest curry of aloo (we sometimes called it pomme de terre in polite company), paired with finest Claret, and served on finest Imperial Mughal dinner service.

No one deigned or condescended to dine on this "katahar" monstrosity you speak of.

Potato came from South America, brought to Europe by the Spanish.  It became a popular crop throughout Europe, displacing other crops as a staple diet for the poor.

India was introduced to potato via the British. I even wonder whether the Indo Caribbean use of potato isn't part of its adaptation to life in the Caribbean, and not having anything to do with India.

So banning potatoes wasn't the end of the world.  If split peas grows in India than most likely it could have also been grown in Guyana.

All that is left is the banning of wheat flour, wheat not being a crop which can be grown in Guyana, and it is the most efficient source of flour a staple for ALL Guyanese, not just Indians.  So I am not impressed by those who claim that Burnham used banning to frustrate Indians.  He couldn't pay his bills because he destroyed the economy, and the suppliers of wheat stopped sending any.  So then came the nonsense about rice flour.

ALL THESE THINGS BURNHAM BAN the black people use also so it not only the collie that was punishing

Look Buddy,

ALL THESE THINGS BURNHAM BAN the black people use also so it not only the collie that was punishing

But DEm still Vote for PNC and will ALWAYS Vote PNC.  ASk Caribj!!!

Look Buddy,

Potatoes was farmed in the North West District

during Burhnam era,the quality was not too good.

Peanuts was also farmed around Linden Hwy.