Charrandas Persaud, an Attorney-at-law, sent shockwaves throughout the country Friday night when he voted emphatically in favour of the No-Confidence motion brought by the Opposition Peoples’ Progressive Party (PPP).

His vote effectively handed the PPP the one vote they needed to win the No-Confidence motion. The PPP has 32 Members and the Government side, with Mr Persaud, has 33.

On March 16, Citizens Report, an online entity linked to the PPPP reported that Opposition Leader Bharrat Jagdeo had “trashed” Mr Persaud over comments he made on Facebook.

“…those of you who go on TV complaining about your children being kept away from school because you were laid off from GuySuCo (Guyana Sugar Corporation) should be charged for keeping them away,” Persaud is reported to have said in the post.

Jagdeo retorted: “You can prosecute people if they have means to send children to school and (in this case) they can’t.”

Mr Persaud represented Region Six in the National Assembly and is a member of the Alliance for Change (AFC) which joined with the coalition of five parties in APNU to contest and win the May 2015 general and regional elections.

He became a Parliamentarian in May 2015 when the new Government was sworn in.

“This is the only time in three and half years as a Parliamentarian that I voted according to my conscience.

“All the other votes I took was according to party lines because I am an AFC man and a party man, I voted in favour of anything the Government wanted much to my dislike on some occasions.”

“…I have a conscience, it is now clear.”

In September 2013, the Stabroek News reported that Persaud left the AFC because he was treated as “second class and taken for granted.”

He lamented that the AFC had failed to recognise the contribution he in attracting supporters for the party in Berbice.

However, two months later he appeared at a AFC press conference and claimed that he never tendered a resignation.

“I never resigned from the AFC and I will never resign, not until and unless the PPP is out of office,” he stated then.

Following his vote Friday night, Mr Persaud said he would resign as a Member of Parliament.

“I am extremely disappointed in the AFC team,” he stated.

Following are other comments Mr Persaud made after the vote.

“My reason for voting today in the favour of the No-Confidence is because I have no confidence in what the AFC team is doing.

“We are sitting in Parliament as Yes men to the APNU and we are AFC, we have not blended with the APNU; the other parties have, we have not.

“We have not blended.

“Why are we doing everything they want us to do like passing (former) Prime Minister Hamilton Green’s pension bill?

“That man is getting favours from the PNC, not from us.

“Why are we giving him tax payers money? And we voted for that, we are not opposing anything or saying not to anything and that is what the problem is.

“I can’t stand that.

“There are times when you have to vote according to your conscience and not because of party affiliation. This is a conscience vote and I am not a PPP member, I am not affiliated to the PPP, this is not because of the PPP.

“This is because my conscience is now clear.

“My life may not go but you know what, I will die happy person and with a clear god damn conscience,

“I have not spoken to that man (Bharrat Jagdeo) about anything. All he says is hello to me if he in Parliament.”

He said that a Government minister was sitting in the cafeteria at Parliament and threatened to kill anyone who crosses the floor.

The Mafia Kingpin gave him a suitcase of cash to do what we saw today.

No matter what anyone says in public, Guyana is for sale and the lowest bidder gets the suitcase.  I have know some people in Guyana for the past 20 years.

The tradition of lawyers is to make money and clients comes secondary. 

He voted his conscience here. I know who he is and he is far from being a PPP fifth column. He is also one who likes attention and believes he deserved to have his pelotas polished on a daily basis so he sold out the APNU. In any event, he lived in berbice so know the plight of the people He also saw that the APNU was not doing anything to ease their burden. He had reason to man up here.  Sadly for him, the PPP will not trust him either so  he has no place in their party. 

I have been reading comments about him taking money to vote against the coalition. Well, he said that he voted his conscience. Until someone has actual proof that he accepted money, then we need to accept him at his word.  In the absence, it is wild speculation and says more about those who make the statement than Charrandas. They are trying to construct a narrative based on their wild speculation or maybe on whatthey might have done in the same situation.

Z
Tola posted:

No matter what anyone says in public, Guyana is for sale and the lowest bidder gets the suitcase.  I have know some people in Guyana for the past 20 years.

The tradition of lawyers is to make money and clients comes secondary. 

base on what you said suicide organizations in Guyana is a business. 

Look at the fellas on both sides of him and listen to their language. Charandass is one brave Hero. The speaker did an honourable job.

Looks like the PNC did not want to give up power. Bullies.

You sounding like sour grapes.

I was born a PPP and will die the same. My village was bigtime PPP, and hosted CBJ and Janet many times. Like many others, I never liked BJ's policies because he didn't endorse CBJ's ideals. As D2 pointed out on another thread, I fought for PPP for 15+ years here, took abuse from 40+ members but still held my head high. D2 and Mars called me all kinds of names. The turning point came when PPP cursed out the Ambassador; I was ashamed to be associated with such a party. Then PPP was thrown out on their butts, and Obama was happy to do business with Granger. We're watching to see what happens now. Maharaja BJ wants to meet Granger to make a deal. Hope Yugi and friends get nice and fancy jobs with the PPP.  

Hope Yugi and friends get nice and fancy jobs with the PPP 

I have enough to last me ten lifetimes. I want nothing from the PPP, I love and support the PPP.

Lke so many Guyanese, I want to see a democratic Guyana, a Young Yuji stood in minus 25 degrees Canadian weather at Parliament Buildings in Ottawa in the presence of Janet, Sat and others to fight for free and fair elections in Guyana.

I am hopeful that the Afros and Indos can walk arm in arm in the New Guyana.

The shameless PNC Pig who threatened Charrandas should be brought to justice !!!

Long Live the PPP !!!! Long Live the PPP !!! Long Live Charrandas !!! Long Live our young and fragile democracy !!!!

In 1993 Errol Persaud and I did a Real Estate deal in Toronto, Charrandas is known in Toronto as Errol. He was a Real Estate Agent with a Century 21 office. He always aspired to become a lawyer, a few years later he returned to Guyana as a PPP and attended UG to study Law. I remembered, his first case he lost, his client got life.

He like many saw a light in the AFC to which he joined, given time if they had stuck to their agenda and grow, AFC could have become a majority party, but a few at the top couldn't wait for the process, power hungry.

Charrandas did not agree with the coalition of the parties, where two x-PPP became V- Presidents and the rest were left to dry. As he clearly stated, awarding Hamilton Green with fat pension and with the highest award of Guyana, he disapproved. When the AFC was silent after Volda"s remarks was the straw that broke his back.

Charrandas must have contacted the Canadian government for protection  and safe passage to Canada, he is a Canadian citizen. What he has done many would like to do but are too scared of the PNC GOONS. It took guts and courage, let's see more will follow him. Volda declared the PNC a racist Party.

Errol see you in Toronto! Bravo!

In 1993 Errol Persaud and I did a Real Estate deal in Toronto, Charrandas is known in Toronto as Errol. He was a Real Estate Agent with a Century 21 office. He always aspired to become a lawyer, a few years later he returned to Guyana as a PPP and attended UG to study Law. I remembered, his first case he lost, his client got life.

He like many saw a light in the AFC to which he joined, given time if they had stuck to their agenda and grow, AFC could have become a majority party, but a few at the top couldn't wait for the process, power hungry.

Charrandas did not agree with the coalition of the parties, where two x-PPP became V- Presidents and the rest were left to dry. As he clearly stated, awarding Hamilton Green with fat pension and with the highest award of Guyana, he disapproved. When the AFC was silent after Volda"s remarks was the straw that broke his back.

Charrandas must have contacted the Canadian government for protection  and safe passage to Canada, he is a Canadian citizen. What he has done many would like to do but are too scared of the PNC GOONS. It took guts and courage, let's see more will follow him. Volda declared the PNC a racist Party.

Errol see you in Toronto! Bravo!

Silent?  I wish they had remained silent!  Ramjattan said BJ fight for the sugar industry is similar to Volda's Blacks only comments!  And Trotman came out and supported.  What stupidity!

I must say, I felt happy that not everyone in that Coalition had become a PNC "wh0re!"

The racist abhorrent old guard PNC seeking to re-establish Burnham-style Party Paramountcy got a good kick in their teeth.  Imagine the gall to publicly say you will only give jobs to people who "look" like yourself!

I was born a PPP and will die the same. My village was bigtime PPP, and hosted CBJ and Janet many times. Like many others, I never liked BJ's policies because he didn't endorse CBJ's ideals. As D2 pointed out on another thread, I fought for PPP for 15+ years here, took abuse from 40+ members but still held my head high. D2 and Mars called me all kinds of names. The turning point came when PPP cursed out the Ambassador; I was ashamed to be associated with such a party. Then PPP was thrown out on their butts, and Obama was happy to do business with Granger. We're watching to see what happens now. Maharaja BJ wants to meet Granger to make a deal. Hope Yugi and friends get nice and fancy jobs with the PPP.  

Holy schittttttttt!!!   All of a sudden these PNC people are PPP.  Jagdeo say to welcome y'all.  But in my books, you will always be a soup drinker.  Yuji and friends don't need PPP jobs.  For 60 plus years my family served the govt of Guyana.  Many of my classmates got Gov't scholarship to study.  I accepted nothing.

I have no regrets pummeling you. I do not like the PPP as constituted then or now. I do hope you have become stronger in all the broken places where you took punches from us. I can affirm you did beat up good and proper. 

Holy schittttttttt!!!   All of a sudden these PNC people are PPP.  Jagdeo say to welcome y'all.  But in my books, you will always be a soup drinker.

Shut you dumb behind if you do not know. Everyone from Amral to Riff to Mars to Caribj to Billy to Cain and the long standing members here knows her to be a PPP to the bone. Most will tell you they took hard swings at her for which Amral had to intervene. Not because you kiss jagdeo backside you are queen  of the PPP supporters.  That she ever supported the PNC is the dumbest thing you ever said here and you say lots! Your books does not matter since it is full of sycophantic scrawls. It takes guts to be here in those times and you cannot even stand here and I am the only one nagging you.

Holy schittttttttt!!!   All of a sudden these PNC people are PPP.  Jagdeo say to welcome y'all.  But in my books, you will always be a soup drinker.

Shut you dumb behind if you do not know. Everyone from Amral to Riff to Mars to Caribj to Billy to Cain and the long standing members here knows her to be a PPP to the bone. Most will tell you they took hard swings at her for which Amral had to intervene. Not because you kiss jagdeo backside you are queen  of the PPP supporters.  That she ever supported the PNC is the dumbest thing you ever said here and you say lots!

You both deserve to be in the party whose govt was toppled.  Enjoy yourselves.

So Stormy you are a PNC lover??

I love my country. I have no love for any party. I will support the one that has the best platform even if both are mangy dogs from where I stand. To me it is a contest of mangy dogs

All of a sudden Charandas bring out all the multiple handles on GNI.  Nuff mad people talking to themselves today.

Where do you see multiple handles speaking to themselves? Go and get that lithium if you are hearing or seeing things. 

Zed posted:

I have been reading comments about him taking money to vote against the coalition. Well, he said that he voted his conscience

People make all sorts of allegations about all sorts of people. The fact that your hero is now part of this is par for the course.  We have a legitimate right to speculate as to why suddenly he has this "crisis of conscience" when it suits Jagdeo's purpose.

If the man had integrity we should have heard about this long ago.  What he rails about aren't events which only just happened. The pay increase a mere weeks after the election would have been a good time for him to express his views and urge better from the coalition.

Know that feelings. PPP in the blood..

the door is  always open for you, come right in baby. 

But in my books, you will always be a soup drinker.  Yuji and friends don't need PPP jobs.  For 60 plus years my family served the govt of Guyana.  Many of my classmates got Gov't scholarship to study.  I accepted nothing.

Your lil note book is inconsequential.  No one gives a shit. You think more of yourself than you are.

You never accepted because you never got offered.  

A former teacher of yours said you actually struggled needing extra weekend lessons due to low grades.  So you were never in any running!   You lie!!

And who gives a crap about what your family did or did not do.  They got paid to do a job, like anyone else!

But in my books, you will always be a soup drinker.  Yuji and friends don't need PPP jobs.  For 60 plus years my family served the govt of Guyana.  Many of my classmates got Gov't scholarship to study.  I accepted nothing.

Your lil note book is inconsequential.  No one gives a shit. You think more of yourself than you are.

You never accepted because you never got offered.  

A former teacher of yours said you actually struggled needing extra weekend lessons due to low grades.  So you were never in any running!   You lie!!

And who gives a crap about what your family did or did not do.  They got paid to do a job, like anyone else!

Fella, stick to the program.  You too sober to  talk drunk.

Now that I've see the video, I must say this guy Charrandas was under some serious pressure there. I think I understand now more than before why this man chose to leave. In my view, this was nothing short of intimidation. As far as Naga is concerned, he shouldn't feel betrayed or disappointed. he should now know how it feels.

I have no regrets pummeling you. I do not like the PPP as constituted then or now. I do hope you have become stronger in all the broken places where you took punches from us. I can affirm you did beat up good and proper. 

I've become a comedienne now.   Some used to rip me apart and ask why was I fighting for BJ, that he doesn't know of my existence.  I saw all the abuse that was heaped on Indians, so I decided to fight for my people. Some knights in shining armor jumped in to rescue the damsel in distress. Who can forget Mara? I hope he recovers from his illness. 

All of a sudden Charandas bring out all the multiple handles on GNI.  Nuff mad people talking to themselves today.

He hid after the PNC fell and showed up around 2 A.M when everyone went to bed, talking to himself as usual. 

Know that feelings. PPP in the blood..

the door is  always open for you, come right in baby. 

Open the door and let the PNC Gyal come in, all a we is one family. Jaggy said to welcome everyone. Even Ramjattan is invited to come back home.