There have been 33 views of this thread, which is more or less the total active members on GNI. From those 33 views not a single person has declared to be earning less than a MP in Guyana. Conclusion: the PPP shouts of massive pay rise is clearly far less than any of us earns. No wonder none of us want  to be a minister in Guyana. 

Originally Posted by Mr.T:

With all this talk about how much the ministers in Guyana are earning I am wondering who on GNI is earning less than them. Off hand I can't think of anyone. Even my kids cost me more than that each year. So how poor are we compared to a minister who has to live from a Guyanese salary?

You missed the point by a mile.

You only told the workers a month ago that you can only afford 5% and $5,000 BUT yuh scrunt got $990,000 for Joes Harmon?

Look haul you rass with this shytty excuse.

There have been 33 views of this thread, which is more or less the total active members on GNI. From those 33 views not a single person has declared to be earning less than a MP in Guyana. Conclusion: the PPP shouts of massive pay rise is clearly far less than any of us earns. No wonder none of us want  to be a minister in Guyana. 

Earning less in first world countries is a no..no, my mixed

real estate property taxes are US$20G yearly,damn that is

a lot the good part they are protected from invasion by

the security forces and the quality area they are in.

Tell that to the people in Guyana. Compare your income to the country you live presently. PNC solution for PPP thieving is to thief UP FRONT. I don't care what all you PNC defenders are saying, the dam country is poor , civil servants must be paid according to the country's GDP, presently Guyana is in a RECESSION.

Originally Posted by Vish M:

What toys come with the Happy Meal

PS

I am in Guyana ...I am just paid $1000 for 6 mangoes.

Still recovering from the price shock

Are you selling mangoes now in Guyana? Things must be bad with RHEDC.

How much would a new car cost is Guyana as compared to the US when the 100% plus taxes/duties are added on?

PS

Where in Guyana you paid $1,000 for 6 mangoes, you got ripped-off.Maybe you bought it at the Marriott Hotel, the going price when in season is less than half what you paid. Guyana is no different than Mexico, Cuba, Jamaica, if you look and behave foreign, then you pay a higher price. Normally I would have the locals do my purchases and I get the local price. Still are you justifying the PNC 50% raise just as they started work. Where on earth you get a job, and you start you got a BIG raise.

Originally Posted by kp:

PS

Where in Guyana you paid $1,000 for 6 mangoes, you got ripped-off.Maybe you bought it at the Marriott Hotel, the going price when in season is less than half what you paid. Guyana is no different than Mexico, Cuba, Jamaica, if you look and behave foreign, then you pay a higher price. Normally I would have the locals do my purchases and I get the local price. Still are you justifying the PNC 50% raise just as they started work. Where on earth you get a job, and you start you got a BIG raise.

Many are Professional  Robbers, Thieves, Liars and WORST!!!!

Originally Posted by Mars:

PS

Are you selling mangoes now in Guyana? Things must be bad with RHEDC.

How much would a new car cost is Guyana as compared to the US when the 100% plus taxes/duties are added on?

Damn...why the taxes/duties so high.

With all this talk about how much the ministers in Guyana are earning I am wondering who on GNI is earning less than them. Off hand I can't think of anyone. Even my kids cost me more than that each year. So how poor are we compared to a minister who has to live from a Guyanese salary?

What a fing dotish question!

Why T and others now do an about turn on minister salaries now that the afc/apnu is in power? Let us remember when the PPP was in power how they lambasted the minister's salaries claiming that they were sucking the country dry. Now the shoes is on the other foot they suddenly support opulent salaries for ministers because of political affiliation. 

It shows what sheep Guyanese are.  Is abee in powa so day could do wha day waan.  

I feel absolutely sorry for the downtrodden in Guyana.  There is no hope for them.  Politics in Guyana is getting your hand in the till. 

Originally Posted by VVP:

It shows what sheep Guyanese are.  Is abee in powa so day could do wha day waan.  

I feel absolutely sorry for the downtrodden in Guyana.  There is no hope for them.  Politics in Guyana is getting your hand in the till. 

you two are lying, conflating scamps

the brief against the Freedom House ruling class was opulent living beyond what their salaries could afford

people were also up in arms over the lavish open-ended benefits being paid to Jagdeo in retirement

enough with the stink mouth lies!

the brief against the Freedom House ruling class was opulent living beyond what their salaries could afford

people were also up in arms over the lavish open-ended benefits being paid to Jagdeo in retirement

******* the beef about the thieving coalition is that they are robbing the poor people to pay themselves.  It is legal corruption, just like Jagdeo.  Guyana gan fuh channa.

co-signing drug_b vomit has its hazards

exactly what in my post do u find inaccurate klown?

Mr T, even as I write this, there are APNU+AFC supporters inside and outside Guyana who disagree with the ministerial salary increases.

The Guyana Teachers Union is no friend of the PPP. GTU is protesting. In the coming days other trade unions will voice their disapproval.

On Facebook there are questions from coalition supporters too.

As a supporter I think the government has shot itself in the foot with this unpopular pay hike.

Comparing the ministers' salaries to our pay in the ABC countries is like comparing crappo to catfish. No consolation to the people in Guyana.

Mr T, even as I write this, there are APNU+AFC supporters inside and outside Guyana who disagree with the ministerial salary increases.

The Guyana Teachers Union is no friend of the PPP. GTU is protesting. In the coming days other trade unions will voice their disapproval.

As a supporter I think the government has shot itself in the foot with this unpopular pay hike.

Comparing the ministers' salaries to our pay in the ABC countries is like comparing crappo to catfish. No consolation to the people in Guyana.

Gil, using ANY standard, what exactly is outlandish ("opulent" if you will) about paying a Guyana Gov't minister US$50,000/year?

the Guyana Teacher's Union and other unions will do and should do what they can to leverage the Minister salary increase in obtaining better pay for their members

this is normal; this is proper in the union business

coalition supporters who see this as a legitimate PPP wedge issue need to check themselves

Valid point. These PNC/AFC Axis of Evil bunch were screaming about a humble lifestyle.

What happen to a humble lifestyle now ?

Valid point. These PNC/AFC Axis of Evil bunch were screaming about a humble lifestyle.

willing a lie into existence by dogged repetition is a neat trick antiman hore love to practice when spending time rehabbing sore knees

yugee hugging up drugb and trying he best now while soaking he bt

This is what one skunk said:

3 hours ago

When the PNC/AFC Gang cannot pay Pensioners any increases, they themselves took from the Cookie Jar, extravagant Pay Increases and the Gang regarded it as

Increases for new Ministers justified – Harmon

By Michael Younge

Minister of State, Joseph Harmon on Wednesday defended the Cabinet’s decision to increase its own pay by millions of

Harmon [2)

Minister of State, Joseph Harmon

dollars, declaring that it was “justified”.

willing a lie into existence by dogged repetition is a neat trick antiman hore love to practice when spending time rehabbing sore knees

yugee hugging up drugb and trying he best now while soaking he bt

Gil, using ANY standard, what exactly is outlandish ("opulent" if you will) about paying a Guyana Gov't minister US$50,000/year?

the Guyana Teacher's Union and other unions will do and should do what they can to leverage the Minister salary increase in obtaining better pay for their members

coalition supporters who see this as a legitimate PPP wedge issue need to check themselves

Gil you pull me out from my relaxed state with your comment.

I am an APNUAFC supporter and I think all Minister deserve a proper pay but pay has to be driven by affordability.  Guyana is the second poorest country in CARICOM and the third poorest in the WESTERN HEMISPHERE.

BUT I am extremely disappointed that we could not have package this salary increase like sensible big men.  This comes across like a botch job done by a novice.

Who executed this wages increase really does not have any executive skills and is a poor politician.

FIRST OFF

1.  In August we provided the teacher, nurses and other public servants with  5% and $5,000.  The Unions including Patrick Yarde and the GPSU said not enough and we responded with a Commission of Inquiry into the working conditions for workers and hopefully some level of collective bargaining.

ALL GOOD.

But let us look at the political optics.  5% for workers but 50% for Ministers.

Try selling that to the accounts clerk in the Ministry of Agriculture who voted for the APNUAFC.

How is she feeling right now - used and abused.

Politics is about perception.

What do you think she will do in the Local Government Elections?

ANYONE - what would she do?

a.  vote APNUAFC

b. stay home.

c. migrate out of frustration

d. vote for the PPP.

Let us hear your thoughts.

Politics is about perception and the perception on this Minister salary increase is that it was abusive of their powers and abuse of the Treasury for self enrichment.

Redux, timing is the key.

The coalition is not even 5 months old.

The coalition is facing the electorate again in LGE in 3-4 months.

The coalition had promised public servants hefty salary increases but fell short of its promise.

The coalition had promised rice farmers $9,000/bag paddy but is now saying something else.

Public servants and rice farmers are voters whom the coalition will need on LGE Day.

It does not make political sense at this point in time to raise ministers' pay by up to 50 percent. Couldn't they wait half a year more for the pay raise? They aren't starving or hard up.

Redux, I was never a blind PPP supporter and I will not be a blind APNU+AFC supporter. I told my old friend Moses a few weeks ago that he must not expect me to tell him what he wants to hear. In my long years of political activism, I discovered that yesmen cause politicians to alienate themselves from the masses.

I want this coalition to succeed. I want it to win the 2020 general elections fair and square. What I am saying is that they are making a big mistake now and it will cost them votes.

Redux, timing is the key.

The coalition is not even 5 months old.

The coalition is facing the electorate again in LGE in 3-4 months.

The coalition had promised public servants hefty salary increases but fell short of its promise.

The coalition had promised rice farmers $9,000/bag paddy but is now saying something else.

Public servants and rice farmers are voters whom the coalition will need on LGE Day.

It does not make political sense at this point in time to raise ministers' pay by up to 50 percent. Couldn't they wait half a year more for the pay raise? They aren't starving or hard up.

Redux, I was never a blind PPP supporter and I will not be a blind APNU+AFC supporter. I told my old friend Moses a few weeks ago that he must not expect me to tell him what he wants to hear. In my long years of political activism, I discovered that yesmen cause politicians to alienate themselves from the masses.

I want this coalition to succeed. I want it to win the 2020 general elections fair and square. What I am saying is that they are making a big mistake now and it will cost them votes.

i am quite sure that you are aware of my numerous posts addressing the salary increase issue

therefore you must know that you and i are not far apart on this

so, with all due respect, this is not about coercing 'yes manism' out of any coalition supporter

i am simply pointing to facts and reason; pointing out that bad timing and political tone deafness does not a corruption make

the conflating liars and confusion spreaders are out in demonic force

it is up to people like u (and me) to hold the line

Originally Posted by Georgie:

Gil you pull me out from my relaxed state with your comment.

I am an APNUAFC supporter and I think all Minister deserve a proper pay but pay has to be driven by affordability.  Guyana is the second poorest country in CARICOM and the third poorest in the WESTERN HEMISPHERE.

BUT I am extremely disappointed that we could not have package this salary increase like sensible big men.  This comes across like a botch job done by a novice.

Who executed this wages increase really does not have any executive skills and is a poor politician.

FIRST OFF

1.  In August we provided the teacher, nurses and other public servants with  5% and $5,000.  The Unions including Patrick Yarde and the GPSU said not enough and we responded with a Commission of Inquiry into the working conditions for workers and hopefully some level of collective bargaining.

ALL GOOD.

But let us look at the political optics.  5% for workers but 50% for Ministers.

Try selling that to the accounts clerk in the Ministry of Agriculture who voted for the APNUAFC.

How is she feeling right now - used and abused.

Politics is about perception.

What do you think she will do in the Local Government Elections?

ANYONE - what would she do?

a.  vote APNUAFC

b. stay home.

c. migrate out of frustration

d. vote for the PPP.

Let us hear your thoughts.

Politics is about perception and the perception on this Minister salary increase is that it was abusive of their powers and abuse of the Treasury for self enrichment.

Georgie boy, I was busy composing a reply to my honourable friend Redux and I just read your piece. My answer to Redux is applicable to your query too.

Last night I told our renowned Haryana brahmin that in Guyana perception is more real than baigan choka.

Mark my words, that brahmin will soon sing that the PPP will crush the coalition like baigan choka in upcoming local government elections.