You voted for change.

Why is this happening ? Why ?

Where is the change ?

Hey YUJI, you are nothing but a jackasrse.  I do not live in Guyana and I voted for OBAMA.  GET that in your thick head.

This is not a racial thing, this is a serious economic situation.

We have afro-Guyanese rice farmers who are suffering even more than the Nand Persauds and Kayman Sankars.

SO REST your fricking self.

THis is a people issue.

This is a serious matter.  Small rice farmers are sinking.

this entire thread is based on a lie and you know it

carry on

RUX, if it is a lie, show the alternative facts.

I spoke to three rice farmers yesterday and do you know what they all plan to do?

I spoke to one last week same message.

I will be talking to some more next week and do not expect a different message.

The want duty free fuel and they think they can make it.

You trying to kill the truth here? RUX?

The small rice farmers said they will be using their visa, come to the US and work for 5 months off the books and that should help them pay for the bank loan.  They shall rent the land if there is any takers.

It tough in Mahaicony and MMA.

We need to get down into the industry and talk to the farmers and find solutions.

carry on

I spoke to three rice farmers yesterday and do you know what they all plan to do?

if rice farmers want to leverage the political situation to get cheap fuel, that is their right

but for u to LIE like a horing antiman in that cause with the disgraceful statement that the gov't has a policy of 'non-support' towards the rice industry is beyond mendacious

in fact, what u are engaging in here is classic jagdeoite race baiting not much different from the Bath Settlement/Linden electricity [comparison] nonsense

somehow, somebody somewhere convinced u that this stuff is 'clever'

And the Rice Millers are living large....take the Small Farmers Paddy....and refuse to pay the small farmers.

So kish what should Govt Do?

xxxxxxxxxxxxxx

In the Gold Industry....the Guyana Govt is doing the right thing....they are going after the Big Smugglers who were protected by the previous Govt.

US help to be sought in finding smuggler of gold stolen in Curacao....at least 15,000 ounces of gold are being smuggled out of Guyana each week (US$15 Million)

https://guyana.crowdstack.io/topic/us...-of-guyana-each-week

The Guyana-registered MV Summer Bliss from which 70 pounds of gold were snatched in November 2012 while docked at Curacao [photo by the Telegraph)

The gold was snatched by several men in Curacao in November 2012....just before elections.

The PPP said they Investigated...

With the PPP in-house report

not pointing fingers at anyone,

he said this new government would soon

be asking the US for information

that could help in tracing

who was the exporter.

“I am due to have discussions

with some US officials

within the next two weeks

and we are hoping

to take it a little further,” he said.

The Minister of Governance

declined to say whether there was

any link between

gold smuggling and drug trafficking,

and whether funds are being used

to finance terrorism elsewhere.

“We are not aware of it right now

but I cannot rule out

or rule in anything,” he said.

Look out .... some Big Fish involved.

carry on

if rice farmers want to leverage the political situation to get cheap fuel, that is their right

but for u to LIE like a horing antiman in that cause with the disgraceful statement that the gov't has a policy of 'non-support' towards the rice industry is beyond mendacious

in fact, what u are engaging in here is classic jagdeoite race baiting not much different from the Bath Settlement/Linden electricity [comparison] nonsense

PNC Man redux, why give the miners duty free fuel and not the rice farmers when they are both suffering currently?

Why cut of the street light at Bath and give Linden heavily subsidized electricity?  Why PNC MAN?  Why?

Originally Posted by VVP:

carry on

PNC Man redux, why give the miners duty free fuel and not the rice farmers when they are both suffering currently?

Why cut of the street light at Bath and give Linden heavily subsidized electricity?  Why PNC MAN?  Why?

2015 "politics" Freedom House style . . . thanks for sharing

Q.E.D.

The small rice farmers said they will be using their visa, come to the US and work for 5 months off the books and that should help them pay for the bank loan.  They shall rent the land if there is any takers.

It tough in Mahaicony and MMA.

We need to get down into the industry and talk to the farmers and find solutions.

If it is not profitable, get out of the business.

carry on

Yuh asking fuh reasonable thinking? 

Did it dawn on you that the gold miners asked for something that is within the realms of what gov't can do, so were assisted, and rice farmers want the gov't to fully secure their situation, so cannot be helped.

Rice wants guaranteed markets, and guaranteed prices, and guaranteed financing.  Gold does NOT ask for this.

Let the rice industry show some initiative and personal responsibility and then their grounds for help will be on firmer footing.

BTW the PPP abandoned Linden and left THOUSANDS of people out of work. This included some of the densest clusters of skilled workers, based on the 2001 census.  To scream about a subsidy, which benefits the Chinese hugely is a disgrace, isn't it. 

Had the PPP not consisted of a bunch of black hating racists, they would have converted Linden into an Economic Enterprise Zone, capitalizing on its skilled labor force, cheaper energy and its location as the gateway to the interior.

Instead the PPP abandons Linden, and they have to rely on their own devices.  Even the Indo KKK yuji is now beginning to admit this.

Caribny,

Post the article on this, I can't say I was following everything.

Rice wants guaranteed markets, and guaranteed prices, and guaranteed financing.

I thought I read that the rice farmers were asking for duty free fuel to help drive production costs down...what wrong with this?

BTW, stop arguing about what the PPP did to Linden.  I am not a PPP.  I am talking about today and what should be done.

Caribny,

I thought I read that the rice farmers were asking for duty free fuel to help drive production costs down...what wrong with this?

BTW, stop arguing about what the PPP did to Linden.  I am not a PPP.  I am talking about today and what should be done.

The main goal of the rice industry is to continue being the spoiled baby of the politicians.  It is a privately owned industry, yet demands the same support which Guysuco, a state owned entity gets.

What ideas have the rice industry brought forth to solve their problems.  They wanted Granger to cave into Maduro to keep Venezuela.  Even though this was a POLITICAL deal, not grounded on anything economic, and therefore unsustainable. 

In fact it is the rice industry which should have resisted increasing production beyond levels which could have been sustained based upon the markets which existed.  Had the rice industry been responsible it would have matched production with demand, and more aggressively sought out markets to reduce its extreme dependence on Venezuela.

The gold miners take it upon themselves to find solutions to their problems, or even exit the industry if they cannot survive in a lower price environment.  They are NOT demanding price guarantees, as is rice (the infamous $9,000 claim which the PPP claims that the AFC promised).

The rice industry has real problems and needs real help.  But they need to stop having their cake and eating too. As a PRIVATE industry the onus is on them to solve their problems and ask for assistance in areas where gov't can be of help.

LIKE REDUX record stick?

This is what I cannot handle.  This board have extremist from the PNC and extremist from the PPP posting all day long.

Let us get some rational post from sensible people.

Gilly Baka, where are you.

Let us hear from sense.

I have had enough of YUJI and REDUX, tow mad and racist men.

Caribny,

The main goal of the rice industry is to continue being the spoiled baby of the politicians.  It is a privately owned industry, yet demands the same support which Guysuco, a state owned entity gets.

What ideas have the rice industry brought forth to solve their problems.  They wanted Granger to cave into Maduro to keep Venezuela.  Even though this was a POLITICAL deal, not grounded on anything economic, and therefore unsustainable. 

In fact it is the rice industry which should have resisted increasing production beyond levels which could have been sustained based upon the markets which existed.  Had the rice industry been responsible it would have matched production with demand, and more aggressively sought out markets to reduce its extreme dependence on Venezuela.

The gold miners take it upon themselves to find solutions to their problems, or even exit the industry if they cannot survive in a lower price environment.  They are NOT demanding price guarantees, as is rice (the infamous $9,000 claim which the PPP claims that the AFC promised).

The rice industry has real problems and needs real help.  But they need to stop having their cake and eating too. As a PRIVATE industry the onus is on them to solve their problems and ask for assistance in areas where gov't can be of help.

Bud I can give you a lesson on this in the electric industry in the USA: 

It does not work as easy as you put it in a competitive industry.  But I am still waiting for the article that states the rice industry demands you stated.  I just want to read for myself because you are known to stretch things.

Caribny,

Bud I can give you a lesson on this in the electric industry in the USA: 

It does not work as easy as you put it in a competitive industry.  But I am still waiting for the article that states the rice industry demands you stated.  I just want to read for myself because you are known to stretch things.

BTW when I said competitive industry above...it theory competition should match demand and supply but it does not always work that way; greed and unforeseen factors could come in an change things up in the industry, for example, the impact of shale gas in the electric industry. 

d give Linden heavily subsidized electricity?  Why PNC MAN?  Why?

Interesting that you can raise Linden to serve your agenda and then scream that I shouldn't respond to your nonsense on this.

This is CURRENT isn't it?

Your screams about Linden and electricity is current.  Linden is a community of thousands of people ABANDONED by the PPP, so why not start from that, rather than envying the people the few advantages that they have.  GPL is a highly inefficient company, so the fact that the people of Bath are forced to deal with them is their misfortune.

In the real world when supply exceeds demand those who over supply lose.  So what is different with rice?  This is why suppliers attempt to ensure that they do not produce excess quantities.   This is why suppliers do not place full reliance on a lunatic buyer.

The rice industry didnt, and so the rest is history.  Chat with the thousands of gold miners and workers, who no longer have employment in that sector.  Interesting thing is that I do not hear them demanding that the gov't give them something to do. Many of these are former bauxite workers, so thus is the second blow for them.

If the problem with rice are too many small and inefficient producers, they will have to do as the small gold miners did when they could no longer cover their costs, or finance their operations.  Find something else to do.

d give Linden heavily subsidized electricity?  Why PNC MAN?  Why?

Interesting that you can raise Linden to serve your agenda and then scream that I shouldn't respond to your nonsense on this.

This is CURRENT isn't it?

Your screams about Linden and electricity is current.  Linden is a community of thousands of people ABANDONED by the PPP, so why not start from that, rather than envying the people the few advantages that they have.  GPL is a highly inefficient company, so the fact that the people of Bath are forced to deal with them is their misfortune.

Put them on welfare and let them sit at home. No need to go look for a job.

Blackman fuh blackman. Build mansions for them. Soon they will burn them down.

In the real world when supply exceeds demand those who over supply lose.  So what is different with rice?  This is why suppliers attempt to ensure that they do not produce excess quantities.   This is why suppliers do not place full reliance on a lunatic buyer.

The rice industry didnt, and so the rest is history.  Chat with the thousands of gold miners and workers, who no longer have employment in that sector.  Interesting thing is that I do not hear them demanding that the gov't give them something to do. Many of these are former bauxite workers, so thus is the second blow for them.

If the problem with rice are too many small and inefficient producers, they will have to do as the small gold miners did when they could no longer cover their costs, or finance their operations.  Find something else to do.

You didn't hear the complaints from the miners about low gold prices and how it is affecting them?  Banna haul yuh batty dah side.

In the real world when the going is good everybody jumps in for a killing.  But some industries are not like a supermarket or fast food restaurants that can react quickly.  Some of these industries involve large scale capital investments and they cannot survive when the tide turns against them.  It happens in the belly of capitalism...America.  They all turn to the government for help when things bad, but the average joe will not know this.

Put them on welfare and let them sit at home. No need to go look for a job.

Blackman fuh blackman. Build mansions for them. Soon they will burn them down.

Typical racist rant.

Well let rice farmers starve them.  "Do for do en obeah".

Rice farmers will not starve. They do not and will never look for a handout. When ever you hear "coolie ah starve"? No matter how much they fight with each other, it's in their nature to help their fellow. Obeah nah affcek dem.

Remember they suffered 28 years under blackman rule. They are resourceful people. You don't see them in the big city robbing and killing.

You didn't hear the complaints from the miners about low gold prices and how it is affecting them?  Banna haul yuh batty dah side.

The miners DID NOT DEMAND that the gov't make them whole.  They merely demanded that the gov't assist them to survive by reducing certain taxes and duties.

In fact many of the smaller miners have shut down their operations, and employees of others also lost their jobs, but you didnt know this, because they do not think that it is gov'ts obligation to fully insulate them, from market conditions.

Now compare this to the wailing of the rice industry.  Millers dont pay them, so they demand that the govt does.  The produce too much, and put all their eggs in a broekn basket owned by a mad dictator,who periodicall;y attacks Guyana, when the mad dog in his brain bays, and they wail that they must be 100% guaranteed and protected.

Govt cannot insulate private sector entities from market conditions.  They can assist by reducing costs that they control.  The rice industry is entitled and demands full insulation.

You can be willfully stupid if you wish, but that doesnt impress me.

".

Rice farmers will not starve. They do not and will never look for a handout. When ever you hear "coolie ah starve"? No matter how much they fight with each other, it's in their nature to help their fellow. Obeah nah affcek dem.

Remember they suffered 28 years under blackman rule. They are resourceful people. You don't see them in the big city robbing and killing.

I see so they are ENTITLED to full compensation by the gov't/  Prices that they are paid by buyers is higher than their priduction, so gov't must make up the difference. They produce too much and do not bother to find new markets.  So govt must make up the difference.

The PPP, who 99% of them voted for, left them in this mess, but they scream that the new govt must fully compensate them.

Now resume your racist rant.  Kari will call me anti Indian for confronting you.

The miners DID NOT DEMAND that the gov't make them whole.  They merely demanded that the gov't assist them to survive by reducing certain taxes and duties.

In fact many of the smaller miners have shut down their operations, and employees of others also lost their jobs, but you didnt know this, because they do not think that it is gov'ts obligation to fully insulate them, from market conditions.

Now compare this to the wailing of the rice industry.  Millers dont pay them, so they demand that the govt does.  The produce too much, and put all their eggs in a broekn basket owned by a mad dictator,who periodicall;y attacks Guyana, when the mad dog in his brain bays, and they wail that they must be 100% guaranteed and protected.

Govt cannot insulate private sector entities from market conditions.  They can assist by reducing costs that they control.  The rice industry is entitled and demands full insulation.

Carib you are really too much now.

The rice farmers are not asking for total support.  They also need help too.  Why don't you carry your racist self in a corner.

Our Coalition Government is not racist and I know my President, Dr Granger will soon reach out to the rice farmers.

In the real world when the going is good everybody jumps in for a killing.  But some industries are not like a supermarket or fast food restaurants that can react quickly.  Some of these industries involve large scale capital investments and they cannot survive when the tide turns against them.  It happens in the belly of capitalism...America.  They all turn to the government for help when things bad, but the average joe will not know this.

Small gold miners spend lots to buy equipment.  See the equipment break up because the infrastructure in the bush is primitive.  Risk injury, snake bites, malaria, and attacks by bandits.

And then, because speculators in the USA are no longer interested in gold, prices suddenly drop, leaving them high and dry.  Note that this is the very industry which allowed the PPP to pretend that their economic policies were working when Jagdeo screamed how "prosperous" Guyana was when massive increases in gold exports (volume and value) and the multiplier effect into the economy led to growth after 2008.

Do they ask the govt to pay for the equipment that they bought?  NO. Do they ask thhe govt to pay them a higher price than market conditions dictate?  NO. Do they ask that the gov't even protects them against the many thieves against them due to the corrupt nature of how the civil service functions?  No. They merely ask that gov't reduces the taxes, and import duties on SOME of their inputs.

Now why cannot the rice industry adopt a similar attitude?  I submit to you that gold miners have as hard, if not harder a life than do rice millers.

I still waiting on the article on the rice farmers DEMAND.

".

I see so they are ENTITLED to full compensation by the gov't/  Prices that they are paid by buyers is higher than their priduction, so gov't must make up the difference. They produce too much and do not bother to find new markets.  So govt must make up the difference.

The PPP, who 99% of them voted for, left them in this mess, but they scream that the new govt must fully compensate them.

Now resume your racist rant.  Kari will call me anti Indian for confronting you.

So the negroes must get everything free because PNC is in power? I did not see the coolies got everything free when the PPP was in power. What a set of bullies. Why can't the blacman work for what he wants?

Originally Posted by Georgie:

Carib you are really too much now.

The rice farmers are not asking for total support.  They also need help too.  Why don't you carry your racist self in a corner.

Our Coalition Government is not racist and I know my President, Dr Granger will soon reach out to the rice farmers.

Which other industry demands guaranteed prices and guaranteed markets and full insulation against market conditions?  ONLY RICE!

They do nothing to find new markets and demand that civil servants do this for them.  It is preposterous that the gov't must find markets for them.  They ought to find the markets, through locating buyers, and then obtain gov't support, to the extent that foreign gov'ts intervene.

Granger cannot do for the industry what the industry doesnt do for itself as he is not in the industry and therefore cannot be expected to devise solutions for the industry.  If the industry expects him to make magic then they truly deserve their current problems.

So the negroes must get everything free because PNC is in power?

What are they getting.  Thousands of them have been squeezed out of gold, as they cannot compete, given their high costs, and the sharp drop in prices.

Please outline what the gov't has done to help them.  Start with those who have closed down their operations, and/or laid off many of their employees.

Its been plastered all over GNI.  I am NOT going to pander to your laziness.

Why not google Guyantimes and rice, and you will see the screams of how the AFC promised some outlandish price.  If the AFC did so then they are idiots and the industry should have been smart enough to know this.

Banna,

I do not know much about the rice industry plight other than scanning headlines.  But let me ask you since you know, doesn't the payment have to do with something about the GOVERNMENT receiving payments directly from Venezuela and the rice farmers didn't get paid?  Or something like dat?  This is not the same situation for miners, I think.

Its been plastered all over GNI.  I am NOT going to pander to your laziness.

Why not google Guyantimes and rice, and you will see the screams of how the AFC promised some outlandish price.  If the AFC did so then they are idiots and the industry should have been smart enough to know this.

I ain't looking to see what the PPP seh, ah looking fuh see wha the rice farmers demand per what YOU stated.