ba$eman posted:

Now you double taking and talking shyte!!  You laff their accent.  What stupidity!!

Now, you vote for Bunnham because there were Indians who kept a bit of their traditions.  If not, Burnham and the rest would not have seen the light.  And how has these changed or not changed?  I guess you still feel that way!!

Now, where did I say Indians contributed to the Civil Rights Movement?  I said, be benefited.

Now, why you feel it necessary to "Look down" at Black Americans?

Caribj, you talk sheer shyte!!

Even Bajans laugh at their accent as it is quite unique.

Caribbean blacks and American blacks look down on each other.   Just like Asian Indians look down on you culturally douglarized lot.

And yes, racists like you led to Burnham gaining power.   The black middle class went to him after the apaan jhat.  They feared what Indian rule would lead to.  And 23 years of ethnic exclusion showed them that their fears were well founded.

The rural blacks went to him after the PPP, in their 1961 victory motorcade, threatened to send them back to slavery.  Even a black PPP woman, who at that point still loved Cheddi, was abused.  Bet she switched her support then.

Prior to the PPP emerging as an apaan jhat party neither rural blacks, nor the black middle class trusted Burnham.  His base was among the urban black working class in G/T and the then McKenzie.

Given that Indians did NOT contribute to the Civil Rights movement, and Afro Caribbean people (including Guyanese) did, what is your rant about our ingratitude. 

Caribbean blacks fought alongside black Americans.  I am sure that you heard of Stokely Carmichael, who played a very strong role in SNCC.  I suggest that you look at the popularity of places named after Marcus Garvey, and Malcolm X, in black neighborhoods all over the USA before you chat your garbage. 

ba$eman posted:

Caribj, stop talking shyte again.  You can never say an Indian leader who is worthy to rule Guyana.  You like TK because he pour cow dung on his mattie.  However, for you his name would still be too "Indian sounding" to accept!!

What black leaders do you think are fit to rule Guyana?  Before Granger began to rule, you damned him as some one who would destroy Guyana.

I suggest that you look in the mirror before you call other people ugly.

george dasilva posted:

This is the reason why we should not celebrate.

guy

George, you are so right. Independence day is a reminder to all of us of how innocent people were slaughtered, brutalized, raped and badly beaten. Their properties were burned to the ground. They lost everything. What a shame. Independence means nothing to me. 

Taxpayers don't fund coolie people party.  You can bet on that!

They did up to 2015.  Evidence of this was when folks showed up to get paid after the election for PPP campaign materials. 

I am glad that you finally admit that the PPP is a "coolie people party". After all this is how Rohee, and Jagdeo describe it, and you are such a loyal PPP slave.

So then buy a one way ticket to Jamaica because me nah think you and President Trump will rally out either.

Its a pity that you don't love being Guyanese the way that Jamaicans love being Jamaican.  That is my point, but the PPP slave that you are, it flew over your head.

When Jamaica had their 50th BOTH the PNP and the JLP participated, because they are Jamaican, and would have found it strange not to be involved, just because another party was in power.

Not so Guyanese.  Because your party isn't in power you cannot see it fit to acknowledge your country and its peoples, with all their warts, and frailties.

Burnham selected this day to humiliate Indos.

Given that Cheddi was also involved in the independence negotiations, please furnish proof that he objected to that date.

The final Constitutional Conference took place in November 1965, and it was there that the date for independence was set – May 26, 1966. The PPP did not send a delegation because among other things, it wanted the state of emergency lifted first, but this was not done. This conference was chaired by Anthony Greenwood, the British Minister for Overseas Development, members of the PNC and UF, Sir Richard Luyt (the governor), David Rose, the then advisor to the Governor on Defence, Lionel Luckhoo and Sonny Ramphal, the Attorney-General. According to Hamilton Green, who was one of those who attended, β€œThere was no historical significance to May 26. Burnham wanted Independence to be in February because of the historical February slave rebellion, and D’Aguiar wanted August since it was August (of 1834) that the British granted emancipation. May was the middle ground between the two months, a compromise.

Yugi, should read this and stop being a sheep.

Given that Cheddi was also involved in the independence negotiations, please furnish proof that he objected to that date.

PNC and LFSB were in power on December 7, 1964. It was Burnham who gave the British Government the date for Independence. Go read your history.

The issue is not what happened 50 years ago, but is Guyana any better off today?  As a nation, is Guyana any further along the path to reconciliation, to a common sense of nationhood, to everyone feeling the same vested interested.  Guyana continues to be two nations in one, two sets of dreams and aspirations with one group always feeling excluded.  when the PNC in power, one group views it as Afro power, when the PPP is in power, the other group views it as Indian power.

The distrust i experienced as a kid is still there and the actions of the leadership ensures it remains.  everything in guyana is defined by race.  there has hardly been any direct effort to address and begin building trust.  this new govt had a chance but quickly ran to the dark side and the mistrust continues.

so, as the writer said, from civic and human standpoint, what are we celebrating? 

The final Constitutional Conference took place in November 1965, and it was there that the date for independence was set – May 26, 1966. The PPP did not send a delegation because among other things, it wanted the state of emergency lifted first, but this was not done. This conference was chaired by Anthony Greenwood, the British Minister for Overseas Development, members of the PNC and UF, Sir Richard Luyt (the governor), David Rose, the then advisor to the Governor on Defence, Lionel Luckhoo and Sonny Ramphal, the Attorney-General. According to Hamilton Green, who was one of those who attended, β€œThere was no historical significance to May 26. Burnham wanted Independence to be in February because of the historical February slave rebellion, and D’Aguiar wanted August since it was August (of 1834) that the British granted emancipation. May was the middle ground between the two months, a compromise.

Yugi, should read this and stop being a sheep.

Thank you very much. Now let the brown bai KKK scream "blackman a kill ahbe". They really seem to enjoy terrifying themselves.

Dondadda posted:

PNC and LFSB were in power on December 7, 1964. It was Burnham who gave the British Government the date for Independence. Go read your history.

History was provided.  Now resume your screams of "blackman a kill ahbe".

Since you are so interested in history, note that in 1964 the PNC protested about the violence that their supporters were suffering from the PYO, who had been armed by Fidel Castro. We are talking about innocent women and kids.

In fact an assessment of the 60s indicated that it was likely that MORE blacks died, while Indians suffered greater property damage.

ba$eman posted:

The issue is not what happened 50 years ago, but is Guyana any better off today?  

The writer described the paucity of infrastructure.  Dirt roads, nonexistent clean water, and limited electricity outside of the major towns, the sugar estates and the bauxite areas.

Guyana has been a huge disappointment, and we are way behind where we ought to be, but to claim that no progress was made is NONSENSE!

Any way the celebration should be to indicate our pride in being Guyanese, and our loyalty to the land of our birth.

Unless you are ashamed to be Guyanese I don't see why you will have a problem with that!

ba$eman posted:

The issue is not what happened 50 years ago, but is Guyana any better off today?  

The writer described the paucity of infrastructure.  Dirt roads, nonexistent clean water, and limited electricity outside of the major towns, the sugar estates and the bauxite areas.

Guyana has been a huge disappointment, and we are way behind where we ought to be, but to claim that no progress was made is NONSENSE!

Any way the celebration should be to indicate our pride in being Guyanese, and our loyalty to the land of our birth.

Unless you are ashamed to be Guyanese I don't see why you will have a problem with that!

Correct.  There was a lot of progress made under the PPP, especially during the Jagdeo era. 

ba$eman posted:

You seem to miss the gist of what the writer was referring to.   Where is Guyana on the civic/human development side?  Guyana remains very unreconciled and unpacified!  Almost every thing, the economy, decisions is defined by race.

"Guyana" is not a huge disappointment, the politicians have been.  The PPP tried, but the PNC and their politics of terror made it difficult!

People are not nice at all, generally. Particularly, for Guyanese, we have no compassion for one another. WE each trying to make a case. On the Indo side, our hurts are ours, With the exception of those Indoes who somehow have moved on with settled minds of the massacre at Wismar. For those individuals, it was history. And for those who remembers the event, efforts should be made to ensure it doan happen again, ever. The public has a short memory.

Guyana is very big for the size of its population.  The population is scattered and disconnected. It's costly to build infra-structure everywhere. We are not a little Caribbean Island like Barbados where one or a couple of water systems can supply every where. We are a vast country with many transportation barriers.

The majority of Guyanese live along one road, which begins in Charity and ends on the Corentyne.

Guyana has been led by backward gov'ts which we support because of our racial anxieties.

Bajans demand that their gov'ts perform. A gov't was dumped by Bajans.  When the former PM asked why he was voted out, even though the economy was booming at the time, they told him that some of his MPs had gotten too arrogant, and were failing to perform.

That will NOT happen in Guyana.

Guyana is very big for the size of its population.  The population is scattered and disconnected. It's costly to build infra-structure everywhere. We are not a little Caribbean Island like Barbados where one or a couple of water systems can supply every where. We are a vast country with many transportation barriers.

The majority of Guyanese live along one road, which begins in Charity and ends on the Corentyne.

Guyana has been led by backward gov'ts which we support because of our racial anxieties.

Bajans demand that their gov'ts perform. A gov't was dumped by Bajans.  When the former PM asked why he was voted out, even though the economy was booming at the time, they told him that some of his MPs had gotten too arrogant, and were failing to perform.

It could happen.  A group of vibrant new politicians will be shaking things up within the next 10 years.

ba$eman posted:

The issue is not what happened 50 years ago, but is Guyana any better off today?  As a nation, is Guyana any further along the path to reconciliation, to a common sense of nationhood, to everyone feeling the same vested interested.  Guyana continues to be two nations in one, two sets of dreams and aspirations with one group always feeling excluded.  when the PNC in power, one group views it as Afro power, when the PPP is in power, the other group views it as Indian power.

The distrust i experienced as a kid is still there and the actions of the leadership ensures it remains.  everything in guyana is defined by race.  there has hardly been any direct effort to address and begin building trust.  this new govt had a chance but quickly ran to the dark side and the mistrust continues.

so, as the writer said, from civic and human standpoint, what are we celebrating? 

What wrang with you bwoy?  Leh we whine up and grine up some more nah.  What Ramutar was back balling, you did not cry out.  As the titanic sinks, let us have a ballroom dance, or a back-ball session.

Lennox posted:

It could happen.  A group of vibrant new politicians will be shaking things up within the next 10 years.

Carib,

You all Afros would have voted out the PNC  a long time ago if the demographics were like that of Barbados. 

RiffRaff posted:
george dasilva posted:

This is the reason why we should not celebrate.

guy

This picture is one of weakness, not strength

This exposes the rape, torture and murder of Indos.

In a few hours I will be visiting a family who suffered dearly at the hands of PNC thugs at Wismar 1964.  Three of their homes were burnt down. They were lucky to have survived.  Thanks to the people at the Canadian Bauxite Company who took them in the compound and protected them the marauding thugs. Their accent is vintage McKenzie. The father is Hindu and the mother is Muslim. Very nice people.

Granger wants to erase this dark history of Guyana. Indo lives do not matter.

Ewing life was more important than the Indos who were raped, murdered and slaughtered.

Lennox posted:

There will be no change until Guyanese demand change. Guyanese need to look within their souls and admit that the reason why the voted for the same incompetent fools for SIXTY years, is because of RACE.

Until they figure out how to resolve the issue of racial insecurity Guyana will remain at the bottom of every index of socio economic progress in the English Caribbean.

Lennox posted:

There will be no change until Guyanese demand change. Guyanese need to look within their souls and admit that the reason why the voted for the same incompetent fools for SIXTY years, is because of RACE.

Until they figure out how to resolve the issue of racial insecurity Guyana will remain at the bottom of every index of socio economic progress in the English Caribbean.

Guyanese didn't have any courageous rebels to guide them.  Since the '50s, there has been a mass migration to all parts of the globe.  Most of them fled the PNC regime.

Europeans took the different races to Guyana to slave for them.  After the end of European rule, there was total chaos, who should rule who?  Hence the fighting between Blacks and Indos.  Maybe the solution is to bring back the Europeans.   

A group of strong young men and women will be shaking things up soon.     

Lennox posted:

I suggest that you open up a Guyana history book so that you will learn that the Euros ensured that the Indos and blacks would fight each other.

They brought in Portuguese and Chinese indentures to undermine blacks.  When that didn't work, they then brought in Indians.  They taxed the blacks heavily to pay for this.

They did their best to undermine the black villages, to force blacks back on to the estates. Then they proceeded to use blacks as scabs, when Indians begin to fight for better conditions, even bringing in some from Barbados, when necessary.

They made it easier for Indians to acquire land, but kept them out of the educational system, and the civil service, which they reserved for the blacks and mixed. 

I would say that they set an excellent stage to ensure that both groups would feel insecure about the other.

So bring them back, but then don't be shocked at the results.

Lennox posted:

I suggest that you open up a Guyana history book so that you will learn that the Euros ensured that the Indos and blacks would fight each other.

They brought in Portuguese and Chinese indentures to undermine blacks.  When that didn't work, they then brought in Indians.  They taxed the blacks heavily to pay for this.

They did their best to undermine the black villages, to force blacks back on to the estates. Then they proceeded to use blacks as scabs, when Indians begin to fight for better conditions, even bringing in some from Barbados, when necessary.

They made it easier for Indians to acquire land, but kept them out of the educational system, and the civil service, which they reserved for the blacks and mixed. 

I would say that they set an excellent stage to ensure that both groups would feel insecure about the other.

Thanks for explaining, Carib.  I've read some of this over the years.  Currently I'm reading some books by Reuben Lachmansingh in which he discusses his ancestry and some of this. 

Lennox posted:

I suggest that you open up a Guyana history book so that you will learn that theEuros ensured that the Indos and blacks would fight each other.

Guyanese need to acknowledge what the Brits had done to divide the two major races of Guyana,then came the local politicians who strengthened the division,50 years of Independence will be here soon and we are still divided,some one have to break this barrier.

.,some one have to break this barrier.

No one will break the barrier.

Not until ordinary Guyanese seize the initiative, and have an honest discussion about racial insecurity, instead of the usual.  "we does get on good, is de politushuns to blame". 

They then go and vote race.  And condone incompetence and corruption, provided that it is "ahbe/ahwe" doing it.

ocaribny posted:
Lennox posted:

Good piece here Caribj!!