While I am able to log on to my work computer from my desktop which uses Windows 7, I am not able to log on from my laptop using Windows 8. I keep getting the message that I do not have permission to access that computer which is incorrect since I do access it from my desktop. Is there an additional setting necessary? In the System settings, there is only one option for 'allow remote assistance' while Windows 7 had another one for 'allow remote connection' How can I fix my laptop to access my work computer. Many thanks.

Originally Posted by ksazma:
Originally Posted by Amral:

I have 2 computers one running XP and the other win8, I am able to network between them without any problems.

It is not the network. I want to use remote desktop connection but am not able to connect although I am from my desktop.

Maybe I should try remote laptop connection.

You better off jus try a remote lapdance erection

Originally Posted by Amral:

I have 2 computers one running XP and the other win8, I am able to network between them without any problems.

It is not the network. I want to use remote desktop connection but am not able to connect although I am from my desktop.

Maybe I should try remote laptop connection.

You better off jus try a remote lapdance erection

That would be virtual connection. I would prefer an actual connection though.

Hey Ksaz, there is no magic in this. The work computer is set up for any Windows OS to access it. The Win 7 Desktop PC at home 7 is successful and there should be no reason why the Win 8 laptop shouldn't.

On the Win 8 laptop there is successful CONNECTIVITY to your work computer. What you're reporting is a case of permission to access after making the connectivity. It cannot be user account permission so it has to be machine permission. One would have to take a look at your Remote services setup on the laptop to see what about the laptop that's preventing successful access.

Hey Ksaz, there is no magic in this. The work computer is set up for any Windows OS to access it. The Win 7 Desktop PC at home 7 is successful and there should be no reason why the Win 8 laptop shouldn't.

On the Win 8 laptop there is successful CONNECTIVITY to your work computer. What you're reporting is a case of permission to access after making the connectivity. It cannot be user account permission so it has to be machine permission. One would have to take a look at your Remote services setup on the laptop to see what about the laptop that's preventing successful access.

This is what I thought but the Win8 does not have remote desktop connection in the system settings only remote desktop assistance. I tried to update windows but to no avail. There must be somewhere in the system where I can turn on remote desktop connection and not just remote desktop assistance but I am not that computer proficient.

Originally Posted by Danyael:

Just throw the dam thing out, get a new one.

bai, yuh think I rich like yuh?

Have you followed everything stated on this page? http://windows.microsoft.com/e...ntly-asked-questions

I may be getting my problem here. I can't do the highlighted part because I am using Mcafee and it is over-riding the windows firewall settings.

The Remote Desktop port might be blocked by a firewall. If you're using Windows Firewall, follow these steps:

1. Open Windows Firewall by swiping in from the right edge of the screen, tapping Search (or if you're using a mouse, pointing to the upper-right corner of the screen, moving the mouse pointer down, and then clicking Search), entering firewall in the search box, tapping or clicking Settings, and then tapping or clicking Windows Firewall.

2. Tap or click Allow an app or feature through Windows Firewall.

3. Tap or click Change settings. Administrator permission required You might be asked for an admin password or to confirm your choice.    

4. Under Allowed apps and features, select Remote Desktop, and then tap or click OK.

If you're using a different firewall, make sure the port for Remote Desktop (usually 3389) is open

I got it figured out. I had this guy over who as a last resort decided to copy the settings from my desktop since it was working there and it turned out to be that the certificate was not set properly on the laptop. Now I am able to access it although I have to click on the shortcut I copied rather than the remote desktop connection in the menu. Thanks all for your input. Even you Cainsta.