Ayana Adams, a Guyanese woman who said officers of the Customs Anti-Narcotics Unit (CANU) wanted her to strip naked and squat at the Cheddi Jagan International Airport, is suing the Government and CANU.

The woman said that when she refused, she was compelled to undergo an x-ray in Georgetown, causing her to miss her flight back home.

Adams is Guyanese by birth and has U.S. citizenship. She was vacationing in Guyana and was returning to New York.

On Sunday afternoon, Adams checked in at the airport. Her two suitcases, along with her one carry-on bag and her personal bag, were searched by an officer of CANU.

She was cleared and proceeded to immigration, where her passport was stamped.

Next, it was time for the security check. Once she was screened, she was told to take a seat. Then, she was escorted into a room by two female Police officers who said they were instructed to carry out a search on her.

She hesitantly agreed but it was when she was told to take off her underwear and to squat and cough that she refused.

She asked if there was any other way the search could be done. She was told that the only other way is an x-ray and that would be in Georgetown, meaning she would miss her flight.

She decided on that option and was taken to a city hospital; she contacted an attorney before telling CANU she would not consent to the x-ray.

The Attorney, Siand Dhurjon, also arrived at the hospital and stated his client’s wishes. But CANU determined that the woman had to undergo the x-ray.

Dhurjon said that CANU does not have the power to require such a search.

“For them to actually require a strip search, or a cavity search, or for them to require someone submit to an ultrasound or an x-ray, (they) you need specific sanction for that.

“And what that simply means is there must be an act of Parliament or a section in the law books that authorises them to say under (what) conditions the Police or CANU can do this,” Dhurjon stated.

Once the x-ray was done, Ayana Adams was cleared.

“So what happened was an affront to her dignity,” said Dhurjon.

The Attorney said it is not that CANU or officers at the airport cannot carry out their normal functions, and to carry out further searches if they have reasonable suspicion.

But in this case, they had none, and certainly nothing that would warrant the humiliation of his client.

The Attorney said that Ayana Adams’ case is by no means unusual.

“It would be frightening if we knew the full extent, in most cases people are ashamed to come forward,” he stated.

By suing the Government and CANU, Adams is hoping to set the record clear once and for all that CANU does not have the power to humiliate anyone the way she was, and if they do, they should be made to pay.

https://newsroom.gy/2019/04/08...ort-suing-govt-canu/

Ayana Adams, a Guyanese woman who said officers of the Customs Anti-Narcotics Unit (CANU) wanted her to strip naked and squat at the Cheddi Jagan International Airport, is suing the Government and CANU.

The woman said that when she refused, she was compelled to undergo an x-ray in Georgetown, causing her to miss her flight back home.

Adams is Guyanese by birth and has U.S. citizenship. She was vacationing in Guyana and was returning to New York.

On Sunday afternoon, Adams checked in at the airport. Her two suitcases, along with her one carry-on bag and her personal bag, were searched by an officer of CANU.

Next, it was time for the security check. Once she was screened, she was told to take a seat. Then, she was escorted into a room by two female Police officers who said they were instructed to carry out a search on her.

She hesitantly agreed but it was when she was told to take off her underwear and to squat and cough that she refused.

She asked if there was any other way the search could be done. She was told that the only other way is an x-ray and that would be in Georgetown, meaning she would miss her flight.

She decided on that option and was taken to a city hospital; she contacted an attorney before telling CANU she would not consent to the x-ray.

The Attorney, Siand Dhurjon, also arrived at the hospital and stated his client’s wishes. But CANU determined that the woman had to undergo the x-ray.

“For them to actually require a strip search, or a cavity search, or for them to require someone submit to an ultrasound or an x-ray, (they) you need specific sanction for that.

“And what that simply means is there must be an act of Parliament or a section in the law books that authorises them to say under (what) conditions the Police or CANU can do this,” Dhurjon stated.

The Attorney said it is not that CANU or officers at the airport cannot carry out their normal functions, and to carry out further searches if they have reasonable suspicion.

But in this case, they had none, and certainly nothing that would warrant the humiliation of his client.

“It would be frightening if we knew the full extent, in most cases people are ashamed to come forward,” he stated.

By suing the Government and CANU, Adams is hoping to set the record clear once and for all that CANU does not have the power to humiliate anyone the way she was, and if they do, they should be made to pay.

This lawyer, a knucklehead,  is making his out to be a frequent occurence...its not. 

Matters not..just one... is wrong.

Why would any decent woman wish to have her lips touch that cold unclean concrete floor?

Stuffing coke in condominiums the hiding it in punani is a regular occurrence around the world. 

The woman has no case against CANU or the Guyanese government. Customs officers and the security service in any country can arrest and strip search any incoming or outgoing passenger without an excuse. She is lucky it didn't happen in the US. She would be back on the plane to Guyana with her US passport revoked. They don't take any nonsense at Customs in the US if you try to give them hassle.

This lawyer, a knucklehead,  is making his out to be a frequent occurence...its not. 

How do you know it is not? Is tge absence of proof the proof of absence in this case?

Z
Zed posted:

How do you know it is not? Is tge absence of proof the proof of absence in this case?

How many times have incidents like these been reported?  Thats my guideline...

Zed posted:

It happened in Guyana to a Bajan girl travelling. I believe the lawyer, Guyana has alot of sickos, male and females blacks.

Racist DOG Seignet, yuh can't resist linking "blacks" to sickos in Guyana. How about them Indian ones that we read of almost daily in de papers? Yuh kno, de ones dat rape dem pickney, kill dem baby, chop up dem mattie, butcher dem wife and suh on. Dem nah sickos too? Iz only black man?

Not gonna let yuh bigoted old skont get away wid it. Yuh one foul heartbeat away from de grave and still wid yuh racist nonsense. Yuh gon dead suh.

Amral posted:

You could train dogs to go sniffing under there for drugs

I bet that some men are already experienced without training.

Zed posted:

I agree...lots of sickos...including some of them politicians too

You're still not thinking thrice. Stop being stupid. You have no idea what happens in Guyana. Plus the attorney has to build a case for his client. He's doing his job and doing it well.

This lawyer, a knucklehead,  is making This out to be a frequent occurence...its not. 

Hey Mr. Knucklehead, what if she was your relative? Did the custom officers exceed their authority? What about her dignity and human rights? 

VishMahabir posted

Would you say the same if she was your mother..  your dear mother,  may  not be proud of you saying this... you fkt Jackass. 

This lawyer, a knucklehead,  is making This out to be a frequent occurence...its not. 

Hey Mr. Knucklehead, what if she was your relative? Did the custom officers exceed their authority? What about her dignity and human rights? 

This dude doesn't think. He sees only one side of the coin. He never bothers to look on the flip side. And this man is a college educated author. No wonder he has joined the "starving artists" group.

Folks, asking a woman to strip naked is very personal. Doing your job is another, but when you're a suspect of trafficking narcotics it's more serious. However, the woman was found to be clean of all charges and she is suing. That's her right. CANU needs to train their employees to meet customer service standard. Not every suspect is guilty and they will face legal challenges along the way. 

Amral posted:

Keep people relatives out of the discussion folks

You should have said this to Vish and Iguana last night.

E7814830-439E-4601-9393-DCD2C407040B

I should add..  I agree with you.

However, I would not stay quiet if Admin ignore posters who make reference of my relatives. 

Knucklehead Mits...welcome aboard..

...where did I say I agreed with this...I was referring to the lawyer's statement. 

antabanta posted:

You're still not thinking thrice. Stop being stupid. You have no idea what happens in Guyana. Plus the attorney has to build a case for his client. He's doing his job and doing it well.

Trollster...you are like a nagging etch on my behind...

I was commenting on the attorney's statement...he can build a case w/o making that statement...

Knucklehead

Amral posted:

Keep people relatives out of the discussion folks

You should have said this to Vish and Iguana last night.

E7814830-439E-4601-9393-DCD2C407040B

Banna...go join a book club...and stop you racist rants...

AND...stop taking things personally

However, I would not stay quiet if Admin ignore posters who make reference of my relatives. 

How did vishmahabir insult your relatives you dimwit? He said the 2 women could be your mother, a typical statement made when someone seeks to discourage insulting women who are of age to be your parent. He was not in any way implying they look like your mother.

My post, on the other hand, did insult you. I make no apologies. It is what you get when you are a typical lowlife gutter rat, ready to grab a palin stave and start screaming and lashing in drunken stupor. Typical drunk village idiot.

Knucklehead Mits...welcome aboard..

...where did I say I agreed with this...I was referring to the lawyer's statement. 

Why does it have to be a frequent occurrence? In Canada we have human rights. This type of examination can only be done by a doctor. 

antabanta posted:

Trollster...you are like a nagging etch on my behind...

I was commenting on the attorney's statement...he can build a case w/o making that statement...

Knucklehead

That's right. Bytch and whine. I have no interest in your behind. Sorry. Perhaps you should lend your legal expertise to the woman's attorney on how to build a case. It's obvious you were commenting on the attorney's statement. It's a stupid comment.

I was going to leave you alone but changed my mind. Every time I check in I'm going to jump all over your stupid posts. I'm going to enjoy showing you the extent of your own stupidity and the limit of your intellect. You're not qualified to run around calling people derogatory names.

Last edited by antabanta

How did vishmahabir insult your relatives you dimwit? He said the 2 women could be your mother, a typical statement made when someone seeks to discourage insulting women who are of age to be your parent. He was not in any way implying they look like your mother.

My post, on the other hand, did insult you. I make no apologies. It is what you get when you are a typical lowlife gutter rat, ready to grab a palin stave and start screaming and lashing in drunken stupor. Typical drunk village idiot.

Haul you black mangee mother Fkt. 

Go  find your fkt father loser, you fkt crab dag son of bitch. 

You son of a bitch unshackle the chain from the mental asylum, showing up here attacking posters again. This place was peaceful until your black sprit shows up. 

Disappear you F’vk low life, go look at High street.. the building with the Big G where you was fkt conceived .. and you was dump in the fkt gutter. 

Amral, should take not. Iguana shows up last night after a period of absence and start attacking posters again in his usual ways. 

Man just give him right back, dat is how it is done

You son of a bitch unshackle the chain from the mental asylum, showing up here attacking posters again. This place was peaceful until your black sprit shows up. 

Disappear you F’vk low life, go look at High street.. the building with the Big G where you was fkt conceived .. and you was dump in the fkt gutter. 

Hey, listen here dude...things can get real out of hand here when people hide behind their key board...it takes 2 to tango..

when I made that comment about your mother it was in jest...could have been mine or your mother...if you offended, then my apologies...

Then again...we dont know your mother, so why the sensitive behavior?

But you just can put that kind of picture about women...a photoshop one too...and expect people not to respond the way they did... 

Take this, for example,

Is this language necessary??