What is a LOOKING GLASS??
N DRESSING CASE??
What is a LOOKING GLASS??
N DRESSING CASE??
@Mitwah posted:OMG! D_G getting too personal and to treating Lady Lynn with such insolence, indignity and contempt. It's not funny.
. Wutliss means "good for nothing" from the word "worthless'.
Thnx MITS bhaiya β¦glad u noticed ..smh
@Mitwah posted:Lickrish = sweet & sour. It's also a fruit with small black seeds.
Laang tongue = talkative . BTW, a girafe tongue is 18 inches longue.
Laang belly = someone with an insatiable appetite..
dung-guts...... black pudding? constipated?
No no bhaiya..u talking abt LICORICE
LIKRISH aka SCRAVEN ..ie GLUTTON n LANG TONG means the same thing..u too GLUTTON
DUNG0sguts..u right.whn u CONSTIPATED..u belly swell up n get stiff..or whn u eat too much n get fat belly..dem say u gat DUNG-GUTS ( S h i t n d belly) lol
If somebody tellu that you βMOUTH like FUH RUNβ. Wha da mean??
Ah tell yuh..awe GYese anguage so nice!!
whn u cryingβ¦yuh mudda guh say
βyuh eye watah a leakβ
oR we duz seh .me eye watah r RUN!!
@cain posted:Torch light
Tinin cup
No no no.. Cain !
mirror .. looking glass
dresser / vanity .. dressing case
( my English Gyenese friend says βnightie/ grip/ frock n dressing caseβ β¦ she living in Uk since she was 13 yrs β¦ now 75)
Btw .. did u get duck yr onnyr visit??
Tinin cup
mek a nice βpuzzling cupβ!!!β
@Lynn posted:Tinin cup
mek a nice βpuzzling cupβ!!!β
Cain u know abt βpuzzlinβ cupβ?
My Aajaa had one that was similar with lots of holes as shown. He probably got it from his Estate Scottish Manager. He called it the Fundaling cup ..... probably meant puzzling cup. He kept it on a colonial type of furniture called the "Dinner Wagon". Back in the day, dem white people used to give away their stuff when they moved back to Scotland, Ireland or England.
Nice memories there Lynn.
hey Mits, I was told my Aajee had a secret spot in their house where she hid money and jewelry, then nailed a piece of board over it so no one would suspect
@Former Member posted:hey Mits, I was told my Aajee had a secret spot in their house where she hid money and jewelry, then nailed a piece of board over it so no one would suspect
Heard that your Aajee used to sing sohar like this.
hey Mits, very nostalgic. when I was little and visited my Nani & Nana, if older relatives visited them from faraway villages, they would sit in a circle and sing to each other. i think they were recreating their estate days
@Mitwah posted:My Aajaa had one that was similar with lots of holes as shown. He probably got it from his Estate Scottish Manager. He called it the Fundaling cup ..... probably meant puzzling cup. He kept it on a colonial type of furniture called the "Dinner Wagon". Back in the day, dem white people used to give away their stuff when they moved back to Scotland, Ireland or England.
Nice memories there Lynn.
Wow..this is unique!! Never seen it before.
iβve herd abt the dinner wagon..not sure if iβve seen it though!
well..my puzzling cup was a cut out brunswick sardine can..nailed to the wall with a slot on the top end!!
My ma has a lil shiny silver cup(i think she got it from the pharmacy, most likely an empty pill container) n she kept her $$ in that )
@Former Member posted:hey Mits, very nostalgic. when I was little and visited my Nani & Nana, if older relatives visited them from faraway villages, they would sit in a circle and sing to each other. i think they were recreating their estate days
Wow..never seen this or heard abt it either!
Thnx for sharingβ¦
Whn u n somebody βfall-outβ..we say βu GET WRANG with that personβ (or me n so n so GET WRANG!! )
that means ayuh nah talk to each other anymore!! Had a quarrel or fight n yuh vex up !!
Mits bhaiya..
u know abt βSUSKAY/SOOSKAY??
meused to prappa suskay whn me bin lil!!
Dem poor babies does cry so much till dem SUSKAY..
pls explain this in hinglish β¦
Eheh..i rem this 1 yesterday
whn u hear somebady sah βu like fuh FALLA-PATβ is wha dem mean???
Whn i seh JHANJAT..is wht i mean??
is it like RIGMAROLE??? Lol
Ok letβs pick up on this againβ¦
Yuh RUN mouth or yuh. Mouth ah run or like run!!..means u like fuh βcarry newsβ¦.β ..
wht abt βrub-outβ?? Since i started sch using a slate , we didnt say βearseβ whn u made amistake.
so we said -RUB-OUT meaning βEraseβ
oh rass gyal, yuh dig this up lol
meh know one that meh wife use to tell them kids when dem seh some lie or something
she does seh "wha kind of jim kak bring ram goat story yuh telling meh"
@Amral posted:oh rass gyal, yuh dig this up lol
meh know one that meh wife use to tell them kids when dem seh some lie or something
she does seh "wha kind of jim kak bring ram goat story yuh telling meh"
Yeahβ¦lol
our Gyese language very flowery
Wht abt βyuh BIG-EYEβ or yuh βeye too bigβ ?
lol..mek me rememba..i used to fight my sissy for the βbiggerβ half..(poor people u cantget a whole βsomethingβ , u had to share everything..cut in half or quarterβ¦
My big sista used to get vex with me, saying half is half n not bigger..but i used to βshow herβ that the 2 pieces were not the exact size..hehehe
U can say me eye was too big eh?? (Greedy)
How abt we saying a word twice..
Eg
scratch-scratch
dig-dig
rub-rub
D word MASH!!
like u mash rice (paddy)
u mash flour(knead)
u mash some person body (massage)..
u mash me foot(u stepped on my foot/toes)
me clothes mash up ( wrinkled)
me feel mash-upβ¦like u tired after playing cricket or doing hard dayβs work
anymore??
I dont know/rememba is this 1 was posted ahready
DUNKAYDAAM
dun-kay-daam
lol
my maa used to tell 1. Of me brudda that..
he too dunkaydaam!!
(Dont care a damn!!) lol
PATCHβ¦
like u PATCH geera or masala (PARCH)
Wrang n strang!!
BULLY??
Wht abt BIG N BAD!!
Wht abt βHIGH n MIGHTYβ
?? BIG shot??
?? Too PROUD or ARROGANT??
U ever suck yuh teeth n get a slap??
hahaha i once did n my maa gave me a βhard back handβ
she asked me if i knew wht itmeant..of course i didnt know..i was a lil kid..innocent
she said it means βkiss me assβ
lord have mercy..i never suck me teeth pun any βbigβ people again
Ok..somebody share something now..
i am trying hard to keep the convo goingβ¦but itis boring to do it all by meself!!
me na into palatix n suh..
me just gyaff lil laang time story n me love me bollywood songs n stories
gyal meh new sweet homan does got me tied up more and more
Anytime I ask my sister something such as, " what colour was the coat?" She'll answer "it was kinda greeny greeny."
Sometimes her rice would come out lumpy lumpy.
Sometimes she would say the day lil grey-e grey-e.
@Amral posted:gyal meh new sweet homan does got me tied up more and more
Moe n moe baiβ¦hehehe
abeedeez does say MO/MOE
@cain posted:Anytime I ask my sister something such as, " what colour was the coat?" She'll answer "it was kinda greeny greeny."
Sometimes her rice would come out lumpy lumpy.
Sometimes she would say the day lil grey-e grey-e.
Yeah yuh face white white wid powder..
or yuh skin nasty nasty whn u come from d backdam or weed a trench
We used βishβ like yellowish !!
Itβs like saying it once didnt convey the meaning..saying it twice tells u how BAD /severe it-is eh!!
de tank watah cold-cold fuh bathe with early marning!!
How abt leff-leff!! Hahahaha
@Amral posted:gyal meh new sweet homan does got me tied up more and more
U gat fuh seh..me new-new sweet homan. BM
lol
u leff de ole-ole wan??
Me clean d house clean clean an dem lil picknee mess am up ahready!!
De place smell stink stink..
or d place dark dark or bright bright
rIver watah rough rough
low low
high high
oh boy! talking abt low low β¦this mek i rem how my gf laff mek me laff whn i lived in st maarten
u see-my gf is GYese but married to Indian guy..Sindi n they owned a lil clothing shop beneath our apt. Soi sed to visit her home n watch how she prepared Indian dishes ( she came to my place to eat Gyese food ..she didnt cook it at her home)
So she mek a kinda pancake roti thing where she added mashed potato to flower n all the indian seasoning like coriander /methi leaves, masala , chili powder etc n friend onions n made a batter like pancake..so tasty !!
she was so wicked . She asked-me if i liked it n i told her it was very tasty n that i enjoyed it
den d gyal told me i was eating Lowlee
n explained that is the SINDI word for the roti/pancake
how we laughed..she kept teasing me that liked to eat lowlee
her bro in lawβs wife was there( she is from India)n was looking perplexed..she-had no idea why we were laughing so hard β¦my gf told her that it was a Gyese joke n she wont understand .. n she asked me not to explain it to herβ¦