@Lynn posted:Kaka haan(hand)..wht does this mean n why we called it kaka haan??
the hand used to wipe kaka
just remembered old folks used to say jabbar jasty. maybe Mits can tell us the meaning
@Lynn posted:Kaka haan(hand)..wht does this mean n why we called it kaka haan??
the hand used to wipe kaka
just remembered old folks used to say jabbar jasty. maybe Mits can tell us the meaning
@Former Member posted:the hand used to wipe kaka
Left hand is kaka handβ¦β¦.hehehehe..u wash u bt with it..using the bottle of water ..rt hand pour n left hand wash!!!
it took me long to realize thisβ¦i e i had to grow up n figure this out !!
btw my hubby is rt handed but he uses left hand to wipe whichis weird!! hehehe
@Former Member posted:the hand used to wipe kaka
Never heard jabbar jasty
iknow abt jabbar..or jabri..to do with messy hair ..full with βnatβ
it may be zabardasti ..as sometimes Z n J were mispronounced..
zabardast/ zabardasti is like one is forced or compelled to do something
hey lynn, I haven't been posting much because been really busy at work and taking care of personal business
I know bai..we all bzbz..buti miss d gyaff on social with chami n cain..
thnx for chking in whn u can thoughβ¦
hope chami comes back ifnot me na all might have to say byebye
Anyone ofu GUYS ever heard this from ayuh mumma??
β LIke yuh smell yuh sweat or whaβ
wht does dis mean??
Yuh force ripe?? Lol
Why do we Guyanese repeat a single word� sometimes we even say it more than twice eg such emphasis!!
like β bai dis mango sweet sweet β ..
Or dat gyal βnice niceβ or βfine fineβ
Or d water βrough rough β
or me belly βfull fullβ
or yuh foot battam βblack blackβ
or we add βBADβ after eg this mango sweet BAD! Lol
couldnt we just use βVERYβ before the word like very nice or very hard!!
@Lynn posted:Why do we Guyanese repeat a single word� sometimes we even say it more than twice eg such emphasis!!
like β bai dis mango sweet sweet β ..
Or dat gyal βnice niceβ or βfine fineβ
Or d water βrough rough β
or me belly βfull fullβ
or yuh foot battam βblack blackβ
or we add βBADβ after eg this mango sweet BAD! Lol
couldnt we just use βVERYβ before the word like very nice or very hard!!
Lynn nah only "VERY" sweet, she izz sweet, sweet, sweet an' very, very, very pretty.
@Former Member posted:Lynn nah only "VERY" sweet, she izz sweet, sweet, sweet an' very, very, very pretty.
Hahaha..i forgot abt the very very very β¦hehehehe
out language sweet bad bad
Anybody still βchip upβ greens/fruits??
Wow..i just saw a video n the lady said she βchip up breadfruitβ β¦i havent used this words in decades n had forgotten abt it!
AS LIL KIDS , WE USED TO HELP CHIP UP PUMPKIN N OCHRO ETC ! ..n green mangoes too!!
come on guys..im am sure im missing some βtermsβ/words that we used to use as kids!! Pls share..
Wht abt βFALLAβ (follow) ie to ACCOMPANY
i was talking to a relative ..going down memory lane whn i got teaching job in GT (werk-en-rust) at age of 16 n stayed in wortmanville. I was so scared to walk alone in that area n also in βTOWNβ. The lil 8 yrs old kid had to βfallaβ me to the bank n cheap st..n also whn i had teachersβ meeting which n ended late whn it started to get dark (dusk)
Some girls were not allowed to go out alone..de bruddas had to βfallaβ dem
Wht about βfalla-pat β???
whn u βCOPYβ somebodyβ¦
ie whn u do wht somebody else does..
i assume βFALLA-PATβ is short for βfollow-patternβ????
Then there is βfalla-MEβ the marabunta (actually a s a lil kid I used to say βMALIBUNTAβ )
me belly ah bileβ¦hungry
me belly ah grumble..hungry with gas
me belly ah tumbleβ¦whn u nervous
me belly ah mek noise..gas
me belly guh bussβ¦whn u eat too much
Whn me seh ..βme bat-ee ah biteβ..wha da mean??
Me eye ah jump..eye is twitching
Me back ah bruk..severe back ache
me head ah buss open..severe headache
mehead ah swing me or ..dizzy
me ears ah ring
Me palate DRAP(drop)..wht dis mean?
@Lynn posted:Me palate DRAP(drop)..wht dis mean?
1. Eagerly longing for the food.
2. Also, expression of being hungry.
@Lynn posted:Whn me seh ..βme bat-ee ah biteβ..wha da mean??
1. yuh bam-bam is itching bad, bad, bad.
2. Also, trouble is awaiting you, soon, soon, soon, soon.
@Former Member posted:1. yuh bam-bam is itching bad, bad, bad.
2. Also, trouble is awaiting you, soon, soon, soon, soon.
Bt itch or scratch diff from βBITEβ
whn it bite..it means u r βdoomedβ..whn u do soemthing. Wrong n u know the punishment coming!
whn it scratching/itching (physically) β¦myth is certain kind a people guh dead!! Hehehehe
@Former Member posted:1. Eagerly longing for the food.
2. Also, expression of being hungry.
Noβ¦.no..
whn we had dry cough n it not stopping, my maa used to say yuh palate drap..(causing the irritation)
n her βcureβ for it was to wrap her index finger with a clean piece of cotton or gauze..damp it n put fireside ashes n salt b blackpepper ..then she put the finger down yr throat n rub yr palate . Whn she done she made u gargle with warm salt n black pepper water!!
Believe itβ¦it was painful n i bit her finger many times but it βcuredβ the dry cough right away!!
Whn yuh hungryβ¦u say βme belly ah bile/boilβ (bhuk lege ..lol)
U ever hear dis β me livva ah hut/hurtβ
that is whn someone is very hurt (emotionally) ..hahaha
heart ah flatta (flutter) is like a panic attack..extreme nervous reaction ..like witnessing an accident or a near-miss accident
whn u have bun(burn) stomachβ¦acid reflux/GERD
whn u get βlock-offβ ..(or me side ah βstickβ me) means u get βstitchesβ in yr sides ..ie muscle spasms around yr rib area
Wht abt βyuh head nah goodβ orβ
βyuh head nah wuk too riteβ
lol..OH LARD!
!!
Hard ears!! (Stubborn) or βyuh ears hardβ
βBig eyeβ. ..glutton/greedy
Eheh..me jjust rem dem bais used to talk abt βFAT-EYEβ
is wha dem bin mean?? Hehehehe
@Lynn posted:Eheh..me jjust rem dem bais used to talk abt βFAT-EYEβ
is wha dem bin mean?? Hehehehe
Dat is like when dem bais see wan booooootiful gal like yuh an' dem look and look and look and look lang lang lang hadmirarin yuh beauty ... dat is how dem get wan big FAT, FAT, FAT, FAT EYE.
Nah.. fat eye is whn a uoung lady doesnt sit like a βladyβ
βshe does give fat-eyeβ
ir βfree matineeβ
Run mouth
.. yuh like fuh run yuh mouth too much!!
u r a βrun-mouthβ
or yuh like to β carry newsβ
βDaageenβ
anybody knows this!!!
@Lynn posted:Nah.. fat eye is whn a uoung lady doesnt sit like a βladyβ
βshe does give fat-eyeβ
ir βfree matineeβ
Soooooo Lynn ...
Dat izz lik' when dem duz allow "free matinee" wan wan wan wan tyme.
@Former Member posted:Soooooo Lynn ...
Dat izz lik' when dem duz allow "free matinee" wan wan wan wan tyme.
Hahaha..me nah know caz me nevah give βfat eyeβ to nobady!!
I think there was a song β¦ic ant rem the words
βbut it had βme cant get me cant get β
n then there was an asnwer to that song..βu can put it on a plate of dal n rice..me nah want me nah wantβ
i prob have the words wrong..lol
@Lynn posted:Hahaha..me nah know caz me nevah give βfat eyeβ to nobady!!
I think there was a song β¦ic ant rem the words
βbut it had βme cant get me cant get β
n then there was an asnwer to that song..βu can put it on a plate of dal n rice..me nah want me nah wantβ
i prob have the words wrong..lol
Oiii Lynn ...
Most likely, it is this song by The Tradewinds ....
THE TRADEWINDS - You Can't Get
Yes..thatβs it..thnx
i didnt rem it is a TW songβ¦
N that the βpeas n rice replyβ was in d same song..lol
BTW..this reminds me of the βhay fatty bum bumβ song
n then there was a reply with βhey likkle magga boy..letme tell yuh sumtingβ¦β
oh yeahβ¦small days !!
Anybody rem this word..βADGEβ????
@Lynn posted:Anybody rem this word..βADGEβ????
Isn't ADGE or "Aadgee" referring to paternal grandmother.
@Lynn posted:Anybody rem this word..βADGEβ????
I think it comes from the word "edge". For example, if I think I am faster that you in a foot race, I may give you an "adge" of about 3 to 10 yards in a 100 yard dash to the finish line. That is you will only need to run 97 to 90 yards. The less distance gives you an "adge' to win the race.
Those after school lessons can give you an adge to pass the exams with higher marks.
@Former Member posted:Isn't ADGE or "Aadgee" referring to paternal grandmother.
Nah..it used like whn people racing..esp if it is an adult an a kid..or a guy n a girl..
to patronize the βweakerβ one..they would give him or her an βadgeβ ..like shorter distance..
or they would give them an earlier startβ¦