Originally posted by Gerhard Ramsaroop:
Originally posted by Demerara_Guy:
Originally posted by Nehru:

Can you please tell us why Moses did not get the Speakership???

The PNC will be punished for this in the next election.

I am surprised with this aspect, my nephw Gerhard.

1. AFC obtained the Speakership directly and specifically with the support of the PNC.

2. The Speaker, by all acceptable parliamentary traditions, is asigned to the party in power, whether it is a minority or majority party. In the case of a coalition government, the governing parties select the Speaker

3. Amna Ally, PNC member, specifically nominated Khemraj Ramjattan as a member of the main committee rather that the AFC separately nominating its member{s}.

4. AFC is intimately interweaved with and is an integral part of the PNC/APNU.

5. Where then is indeed the true and full independence of the AFC?

I am saying the PNC will be punished for their stance on Uncle Moses. Doesn't matter what happened after. The rejection of Uncle Moses did not go down well with many of their own people who were hoping for a greater break with the past.

AFC obtained the Speakership position with the direct and solid support of the PNC/APNU.

AFC is solidly intertwined with the PNC/APNU.

How can the AFC extracate itself from such a grip of the PNC/APNU.

Uncle Moses was never asked not to attack the PNC.

As is quite clear, AFC is imtimately entertwined with the PNC.

That is a heinous lie, Uncle D_G - with all due respect. The AFC voted with the PPP against APNU on some of the line items in the financial papers. In the end, the AFC only voted against 4 items out of a total of 28, and they were only voted against for want of explanations.

It is immaterial how the AFC votes.

From all published information, the AFC is solidly intertwined with th PNC/APNU.

The voting pattern of the AFC is in accordance with the agreement between the PNC/APNU and AFC.
Originally posted by Nehru:

Can you please tell us why Moses did not get the Speakership???

The PNC will be punished for this in the next election.

I am surprised with this aspect, my nephw Gerhard.

1. AFC obtained the Speakership directly and specifically with the support of the PNC.

2. The Speaker, by all acceptable parliamentary traditions, is asigned to the party in power, whether it is a minority or majority party. In the case of a coalition government, the governing parties select the Speaker

3. Amna Ally, PNC member, specifically nominated Khemraj Ramjattan as a member of the main committee rather that the AFC separately nominating its member{s}.

4. AFC is intimately interweaved with and is an integral part of the PNC/APNU.

5. Where then is indeed the true and full independence of the AFC?

I am saying the PNC will be punished for their stance on Uncle Moses. Doesn't matter what happened after. The rejection of Uncle Moses did not go down well with many of their own people who were hoping for a greater break with the past.

AFC obtained the Speakership position with the direct and solid support of the PNC/APNU.

AFC is solidly intertwined with the PNC/APNU.

How can the AFC extracate itself from such a grip of the PNC/APNU.
You, unfortunately, are locked into your own opinion. I most certainly do not see myself as being intertwined with nothing else, but my work for the people of Guyana. And so we will agree to disagree. Please read my edit above too.

I will say to you, what I said to "the Rev"; it is a fortuitous mistake of the PPPites to focus on the AFC rather than focus on getting the PPP to do what is right. The more you come over as if the PPP is entitled to govern as they please, the more support you will lose. Fine by me.

Uncle Moses was never asked not to attack the PNC.

As is quite clear, AFC is imtimately entertwined with the PNC.

That is a heinous lie, Uncle D_G - with all due respect. The AFC voted with the PPP against APNU on some of the line items in the financial papers. In the end, the AFC only voted against 4 items out of a total of 28, and they were only voted against for want of explanations.

It is immaterial how the AFC votes.

From all published information, the AFC is solidly intertwined with th PNC/APNU.

The voting pattern of the AFC is in accordance with the agreement between the PNC/APNU and AFC.
You are propagating another heinous lie. There is no agreement between the AFC and APNU. I challenge you to produce it.

I will say to you, what I said to "the Rev"; it is a fortuitous mistake of the PPPites to focus on the AFC rather than focus on getting the PPP to do what is right. The more you come over as if the PPP is entitled to govern as they please, the more support you will lose. Fine by me.

The AFC has placed itself solidly into the arms and grips of the PNC/APNU .. and that is evident from all of its-AFC actions.

Plain and simple .. it is quite clear that there is no real difference between the PNC/APNU and AFC.

The next election, whenever it is called, will be quite an interesting one.
To say the least. Wink Moses will not be able to visit his Hometown and will be banished to HELL. partybanana

The AFC has placed itself solidly into the arms and grips of the PNC/APNU .. and that is evident from all of its-AFC actions.

Plain and simple .. it is quite clear that there is no reall difference between the PNC/APNU and AFC.

That I agree with.

And again, I have no issue with the PPP fooling itself that it can get rid of the AFC by propagating race and lumping the AFC with APNU. The people will not be fooled forever. And once this remains the strategy of the PPP, the AFC will defeat it by doing its groundwork and PR. Let the PPP continue to focus on the AFC and not do what is right.

Snap elections? Bring it on!

And again, I have no issue with the PPP fooling itself that it can get rid of the AFC by propagating race and lumping the AFC with APNU.

It is the AFC that solely placed itself solidly into the ares and grips of the PNC/APNU.
It is for the electorate to speak on that when the times comes, and it is for us to continue to do our work on behalf of all Guyanese and to ensure that the right message stays out there.

We do have our work cut for us, and if the PPP wants to be complacent and rest on being able use lies, race and their propaganda machinery against us, then they do so at their own peril.

And again, I have no issue with the PPP fooling itself that it can get rid of the AFC by propagating race and lumping the AFC with APNU.

It is the AFC that solely placed itself solidly into the ares and grips of the PNC/APNU.

It is for the electorate to speak on that when the times comes, and it is for us to continue to do our work on behalf of all Guyanese and to ensure that the right message stays out there.

Correct .. and again, it will be quite a surprise at the next eletion.
YEAR......PPP VOTES....TOTAL VOTES

Thank you, Rev. Your numbers show what I am saying, that the PPP's support is in decline.

Big Grin HA HA HA Big Grin

Gerhard:

In terms of absolute numbers the Rev can't argue with you---226K in 1997 to 166K in 2011.

But in terms of percentage of votes received---the 48.6% the PPP received in 2011 was an anomaly---the Party will get back to the normal 50+% in the next election.

RE: THE AFC

28,366...Votes the AFC received in 2006 = 8.4%

35,333...Votes the AFC received in 2011 = 10.3%

What do you folks project in the next election Gerhard ?

Will the AFC get to 40,000 votes ?

Remember, the ceiling for a 3rd party in Guyana is 12%.

BY THE WAY GERHARD---this was the likely breakdown of the votes the AFC by ethnicity in the 2011 election:

AFC = 10.3% of total votes

* 15% of Indians voted for the AFC

* 4% of Afro guyanese voted for the AFC

* 11% of Mixed folks voted for the AFC

* 9% of Amerindians/others voted for the AFC

QUESTION:

Can the AFC improve on that 4% afro votes if East Indian Moses is the party's presidential candidate ?

Originally posted by warrior:
rev this is the last term for the ppp,you people thief too much,for this next 5 yrs look out for some of you getting charge.

warrior:

When you say "you" hope you dont mean the Rev Big Grin---listen the Rev lives on Central park West in Manhattan(lincoln square neighborhood)---that is thousands of miles from Pradoville2---that is where lots of the thiefin PPP politicians are building their mansions.

I will give you the name of 4 of the most crooked and corrupt PPPites:

1. Barath Jagdeo

2. Robert Persaud

3. Irfaan Alli

4. Clement Rohee

CHALLENGE TO THE AFC

Khemraj and Trotman said during the election campaign that charges would be brought against corrupt politicians.

WHERE ARE THOSE CHARGES ?

As has been the case since the AFC initially entered parliament, with very small improvements.

DG:

You have started many threads on new and exciting developments in Guyana---just today alone I saw you start threads regarding the Guyana fishing industry, the matthews ridge manganese project, and the $40 million Guyana will be receiving from Norway. Keep up the good work.

Now, keep this in mind Demerara-Guy:

GOOD NEWS ABOUT GUYANA = BAD NEWS FOR THE AFC

Gerhard comes here and nitpicks about what is wrong in Guyana---like the illegal sugar strike in blairmont---or some road with potholes in Berbice---but he will absolutely never comment on any of the positive developments in Guyana---the fishing industry, manganese, gold, the 40 million from Norway.

LOSERS LIKE GERHARD, MOSES, AND KHEMRAJ LONG FOR GUYANA TO SUFFER ECONOMICALLY.

That will be great news for the AFC.

Anyway, keep posting the great news Demerara-Guy---good news will always frustrate Gerhard and the AFC.

Rev Al ..

A few comments, assumptions that you are not aware of the basic information.

1. As a high school student, I became a member of the PPP in November 1957.

2. Though now living abroad, I remain uninteruptedly a supporter of the PPP.

3. Though the PPP has faults which indeed it should address, it is still better than the other political parties.

4. November 2012 will be 55 years of my continuous ( uninterrupted ) support for the PPP.
Rev Al ..As a high school student, I became a member of the PPP in November 1957.

DG:

Let me see if I can still do 3rd standard arithmetic. Big Grin

You said you were in high school when you first joined the PPP in 1957, so let's calculate your age today:

* Assuming you were 14 when you hooked up with the PYO--the progressive youth organization---is the PYO still active ?

* 1957 to 2012 = 55 years

ADDING:

14 + 55 = 69

Wow! I guess the Rev should refer to you as Uncle Demerara_guy---69 years young, huh ? Keep on trucking bhai. Big Grin

Though the PPP has faults which indeed it should address, it is still the political party that is better that the other parties.

The Rev totally agrees with you---no party is perfect---and the PPP has some flaws---but it remains the best party to lead Guyana today.

3 cents lawyers like Khemraj, Moses, and Trotman should focus on their law practices---those losers lack the following and the support to ever win an election in Guyana---the most they can do is weaken the PPP and help the PNC return to power--what a horrible tragedy that would be for Guyana.

Originally posted by Rev Al:

3 cents lawyers like Khemraj, Moses, and Trotman should focus on their law practices---those losers lack the following and the support to ever win an election in Guyana---the most they can do is weaken the PPP and help the PNC return to power--what a horrible tragedy that would be for Guyana.

For a reverend you do seem to indulge in a lot of bad mouthing other people.
Let's face the fact: the PPP and PNC are the same party in all but name and colour.

The PPP is slowly losing its grip. Next election, they will fall below the 1992 amount of votes.

The AFC is there for the people. Big Grin flag

Ramkarran and I were class mates and friends. Big Grin

So you and Ralph are old QC boys Big Grin

---the Rev did A'levels at QC.

Ralph and I attended Central High School.

One correction.

2013 will be 55 continuous years' association with the PPP .. not 2012 as stated earlier. Big Grin

So that's where he met his lovely wife---his bio says he was smitten from the day he laid eyes on her. Smile

Maybe like the Rev he did A'levels at QC.

Anyway, Ralph Ramkarran was an excellent speaker in parliament---and would have been an good choice for President---but Barath handpicked Ramotar---and from what I have seen of Ramotar so far---he is a good leader.

Ramkarran and I were class mates and friends. Big Grin

So you and Ralph are old QC boys Big Grin

---the Rev did A'levels at QC.

One correction.

2013 will be 55 continuous years' association with the PPP .. not 2012 as stated earlier. Big Grin
Well there is hope for you yet, Uncle D_G; my dad saw the light after 60 years of unbroken support for the PPP.
Originally posted by Mitwah:

The PPP is slowly losing its grip. Next election, they will fall below the 1992 amount of votes.

The AFC is there for the people. Big Grin flag
flag
Rev, you notice I have no need to call you any names in my discussions with you? This same name calling, among other things, including what you "preach" (hate, race, etc) is why the PPP is where it is today. This is now historic fact. And so, we have a PPP in decline and an AFC in ascendency. Let's see how this continues, but if we are to extrapolate...
The KFC rising like a lump of SHIT on yeast.
Rev, you notice I have no need to call you any names in my discussions with you? This same name calling, among other things, including what you "preach" (hate, race, etc) is why the PPP is where it is today. This is now historic fact. And so, we have a PPP in decline and an AFC in ascendency. Let's see how this continues, but if we are to extrapolate...
Rev, you notice I have no need to call you any names in my discussions with you?

Gerhard:

Calling the Rev names is like dropping water on duck's back---the Rev is immune to name calling, ad hominem attacks and smears.

Don't let the "loser" label get to you Gerard---dont take it personally---it's only politics my bwoy--look, you are an executive of a party that was soundly defeated the last 2 elections---the AFC received 8.4% of the votes in 2006 and 10.3% in 2011---you folks are LOSERS.

This same name calling, among other things, including what you "preach" (hate, race, etc) is why the PPP is where it is today.

Gerard:

You know where the PPP is today ? Just where they have been the last 20 years---occupying the executive branch of government in Guyana.

And for all their crookedness and corruption and complacency, the PPP missed out on winning a majority in the last election by less than 5000 votes.

THE AFC RECEIVED A PALTRY 10.3% OF THE VOTES---YOU WON A MERE 7 SEATS AND YET YOU CARRY ON LIKE YOU ARE MAJOR PLAYERS IN GUYANA'S POLITICS.

The AFC(10.3%) is only a major player if they are in bed with the PNC(40.8%)---and this is what the Guyanese voters will be told in the next election---the AFC and PNC are partners and bedmates---and a vote for the AFC is a vote to put the PNC back in power.

And so, we have a PPP in decline and an AFC in ascendency. Let's see how this continues, but if we are to extrapolate...

So the AFC are in ascendancy, huh ?

The AFC won 28,366 votes in 2006 and 35,333 votes in 2011---that's an increase of only 6967 votes---that is what you call a party in ascendancy Gerhard ?

YOU CLEARLY LIVE IN A FANTASY WORLD MY BWOY.

RE: THE PPP

They won 183,867 votes in 2006 and 166,340 votes in 2011---that's a decline of 17,527 votes.

A loss of 17,527 votes does not indicate a party in decline---what it reflects is a minor glitch.

THE PPP WAS PUNISHED FOR ITS COMPLACENCY AND FOR TAKING ITS BASE FOR GRANTED.

The PPP needs to re-connect with the grass roots---bottom house campaigning is more effective than the outrageous, ridiculously excessive, over the top nonsense the PPP engaged in during 2011.

REST ASSURED GERHARD---RAMOTAR IS AWARE OF WHAT IS WRONG WITH THE PPP---AND HE INTENDS TO FIX THE PROBLEMS.

In the next election 50+% of the Guyanese people will have full trust and confidence in Ramotar and his party---and President Ramotar will win re-election by a majority.