Another person collapses and dies at CJIA

April 21, 2013 | By | Filed Under News 

…family criticizes poor response

“…security didn’t even help us…nothing—nothing…not even a walker, not a tissue, nobody responded! There was no ambulance, no Limacol!” – daughter

Another person has collapsed and died at the Cheddi Jagan International Airport (CJIA). This time, 59- year- old Sugrim Mohabir of Lot 85 ‘A’ Miss Pheobe, Port Mourant, Corentyne, who was heading to the United States on a Caribbean Airlines flight to do bypass surgery on his heart, collapsed as he was making his way to the check-in counter on Thursday.

Sugrim Mohabir

According to the man’s wife, Kakace Mohabir, her husband, a former boiler operator at the Albion Sugar Estate, had been referred to a USA hospital to undergo surgery. He had also complained of feeling ill that day.
The man’s relatives are less than pleased with the poor response from the CJIA authorities after the man collapsed. One of his daughters said, “Security didn’t even help us…nothing—nothing…not even a walker, not a tissue, nobody responded!” she complained. “There was no ambulance, no Limacol!” she exclaimed.
The family subsequently fetched the man to the Guyana Defence Force (GDF) Dispensary nearby, “but the nurse there told us that she cannot do anything and that we must take him to the hospital”. The family had to seek transportation to rush the man to the Diamond Diagnostic Centre where he was pronounced dead-on-arrival.
The family is very upset with the treatment at the CJIA and stated that the airport and Government should be more prepared for these things. Family members questioned the modern airport the CJIA happens to be.
Mohabir leaves to mourn his wife and children, Veresh, Shelly, Romaine, Kamini, Shalini and Brandon.
On April 16 last, Ramkhripaul Jagmohan, 61, was about to travel with his wife, Sheila Jagmohan, to Canada when he collapsed also at the CJIA. He and his wife were about to board Caribbean Airlines flight BW 606 to Toronto, Canada. (Leon Suseran)

These places need more Indian staffing.  As Jagdeo pointed out, there is a racists under-current among the Afros in Guyana and they will let Indians die if it's their choice.  You can expect this 100 fold if the PNC ever takes power in Guyana.

novel takeaway deh baseman . . . no ambulance, no Limacol, blackman . . . the HORROR!

"creepy, dangerous lunatic" came to mind when i read your post . . . fully understanding that a weakling like u takes that as a compliment

racist comments from a certified racist

This is a serious thing but I know that airlines do not allow heart patients on flights for the same reason. I'm surprised at no ambulances - what if there is a plane crash? 

Originally Posted by TI:

This is a serious thing but I know that airlines do not allow heart patients on flights for the same reason. I'm surprised at no ambulances - what if there is a plane crash? 

baseman seh is a "racist" blackman plot . . . deliberately killing sick Indian people

BAseman is nah de blackman running tings at de airport IS dem PPP goons. 

Pointblank

You are such a racist jackass. When will you get your head out of your racist poop chute? Does it have to be only when it's one of your own relatives?

As I said on another thread, BJ's comments were spot-on.  It is you katahars who have your heads stuck up your poop-shute.

It is better for one to be a Katahar than to be a kakahole like you.

Most of you know about my encounter with a white supremacist about a year ago who called me a sand migger.  Recently I spoke to anti racism fighter from one of the caribbean islands.  That person told me that I am not black and that I should never use that word black to describe myself because to be black you have to be African.  The complete continent of Africa.  I have dated a girl in the past from an arab African country.  She was snow white and it would be war if someone refers to her as black.

That is one of the racial tendencies that some of these Caribbean Africans have for us Caribbean indians.  Denial of our blackness yet we indians would experience the same anti black racial hate from whites as they experience in some parts of North America.  It is all about hate instilled by British colonial masters.

Originally Posted by raymond:

Raymond, how can someone make a statement of balancing the work force with blacks and Indians at CJIA without being racist? Can you please give us an example?

Originally Posted by Prashad:

Most of you know about my encounter with a white supremacist about a year ago who called me a sand migger.  Recently I spoke to anti racism fighter from one of the caribbean islands.  That person told me that I am not black and that I should never use that word black to describe myself because to be black you have to be African.  The complete continent of Africa.  I have dated a girl in the past from an arab African country.  She was snow white and it would be war if someone refers to her as black.

That is one of the racial tendencies that some of these Caribbean Africans have for us Caribbean indians.  Denial of our blackness yet we indians would experience the same anti black racial hate from whites as they experience in some parts of North America.  It is all about hate instilled by British colonial masters.

I am very confused . . .

what is this desired "blackness" that Afro-Caribbeans [malevolently?] "deny" Indo-Caribbeans?

my confusion starts right here on GNI 

Originally Posted by raymond:

Ray, Do you believe that the Civil Service Employees are good examples of competent and courteous Service?  I understand the strong sentiments of Baseman does sound harsh but we must NOT just brush Guyana's RACISM under the Rug. Have you ever seek the Services of the GPF, Customs Officers etc?????

nah so fast u tap dancing lil coward . . . doan try to hang this one on bharat [he has enough problems]

this is ALL YOU!

Ask them, don't ask me.  To deny that an indian is black when his skin is dark and the world aka Whites and chinese see him as black and treats him in a horrible way because they see him as black.  It is a form of racialism performed against indians instituted by British colonialism.

Ask them, don't ask me.  To deny that an indian is black when his skin is black and the world aka Whites and chinese see him as black and treats him in a horrible way because they see him as blacl.  It is a form of racialism performed against indians..

are you a Black man?

Ask them, don't ask me.  To deny that an indian is black when his skin is black and the world aka Whites and chinese see him as black and treats him in a horrible way because they see him as blacl.  It is a form of racialism performed against indians..

are you a Black man?

That is the way some whites and orientals see me.  They would not hesitate to discriminate against me or even hurt me physically because in their minds they see me as black.  So for some Caribbean Africans to say that I am not black is a form of racism against me because of my indianess. This I believe is a product of British colonialism.

No African from the African continent ever told me that I was not black.  They welcome me into their homes and share their food with me.  They treat me like a brother. It all has to do with British colonialism in the caribbean.

are you a Black man?

That is the way some whites and orientals see me.  They would not hesitate to discriminate against me or even hurt me physically because in their minds they see me as black.  So for some Caribbean Africans to say that I am not black is a form of racism against me because of my indianess. This I believe is a product of British colonialism.

you are AVOIDING my direct question

listen dude . . . on the US Census form under "Race," here are the choices 'applicable' [by your reasoning] to Indo-Guyanese:

[] Black, African American or Negro

[] Asian Indian 

Would/did you check both?

Absolutely I would check both.  I am a black Asian from the Indian subcontinent born in the Caribbean.  My experiences speak for themselves.

you are aware that, in NA, "Black" is a 'race' term that indicates "African" [of the sub-Saharan Negro phenotype] heritage and NOT skin tone

and THAT, sir, is a historical/cultural anomaly which has NOTHING at all to do with Afros 'discriminating' against anyone

You tell that nonsense to those racist whites in North America/Eastern Europe and the racist chinese in Singapour.

Redux you live in a dream world.  Don't forget to come out of your apartment and take a stroll in the real world once in a while.

You tell that nonsense to those racist whites in North America/Eastern Europe and the racist chinese in Singapour.

no sir . . . what I have told you is FACT

but, for some unfathomable? reason, you feel the need to pour the anti-Indian racism of Whites and your "Chinese in Singapour" into the cup of New World Black man -  a group of people singularly marked/victimized for centuries because of their origins

Blackman insisting on 'owning' the pejorative that shaped their history . . . what a crime

hmmm . . . are u for real?

You are the one that is not for real. I am a black Asian whose people have been racially victimized for over 100 years in the new world. We were at the bottom of the societal ladder with the Amerindian in your Anglo saxon colonial society.  Get real. 

ahmmm, no . . . what I have a problem with is your perverse blaming of blackman for this

perhaps we should do a poll on GNI to find out how many of our Indo-Guyanese countrymen here consider themselves "blackman"

doan make some of these dudes commit mass suicide, yeah

Originally Posted by TI:

Weh u bin all dis time. They had a plane crash sometime ago.

No African from the African continent ever told me that I was not black.  They welcome me into their homes and share their food with me.  They treat me like a brother. It all has to do with British colonialism in the caribbean.

obviously, u have never visited South Africa or Kenya/Uganda

there is still time for u to grow up

I have gone to black South African homes and have eaten. No problem there.  On the other hand, Uganda, Kenya and tanzania all were colonized by the British I would not be suprised if they hate indians

colonized by the British, eh . . .  did u ever wonder how Indians got to South Africa?

u beginning to bore me . . . poorly conceptualized, poorly informed, scattershot 'arguing' like a 9th Grader

colonized by the British, eh . . .  did u ever wonder how Indians got to South Africa?

u beginning to bore me . . . poorly conceptualized, poorly informed, scattershot 'arguing' like a 9th Grader

The problem with you is that you cannot handle the truth so you live in denial.

what is your "truth"?

what am i denying?

Indeed the Afros tend to be insensitive but so do the Indians who work there. But it appears that the CJIA administration do not have an emergency plan in place in case of such situations. No ambulance on hand or even nearby. If you are ill in Guyana don't expect the same level of treatment that you get in the US. The concept of ambulance is foreign there for most people as they don't pay enough taxes to pay for such services, in fact it is common and more expedient for relatives of the  afflicted to hire a taxi to get their loved ones to the hospital. And when they do get to the public hospital there is sloth and insensitivity there too. 

Indians and Africans must always treat each other with love, kindness, dignity, respect and equality.  Because at the end of the day they are in the same boat.  They will get the same kick from the same type of people because they are seen as just a bunch of blacks regardless of if they like it or not.

so, the new dispensation in Guyana is such that wherever/whenever Afro-Guyanese predominate and there is unhappiness with performance or service, some goose-stepping, mediocre arsehole like baseman feels totally comfortable defining the state of affairs as "racial" . . . requiring the Gov't to remedy by "ethnic balancing" [i.e., replace Afros with Indos] 

first it was the army, then police, now CJIA underlings; what next . . . teachers, UG students/faculty, nurses, teachers, underlings in the Gov't ministries, etc., etc., [fill in the blanks] . . . where will this madness end?

Indo-Guyanese preponderance is, of course, exempted from all this . . .

the power intoxicated on this BB really taking the PPP as "Indian" Gov't thing [reality?] to fascist extremes . . . Guyana's shame

Indeed the Afros tend to be insensitive but so do the Indians who work there. But it appears that the CJIA administration do not have an emergency plan in place in case of such situations. No ambulance on hand or even nearby. If you are ill in Guyana don't expect the same level of treatment that you get in the US. The concept of ambulance is foreign there for most people as they don't pay enough taxes to pay for such services, in fact it is common and more expedient for relatives of the  afflicted to hire a taxi to get their loved ones to the hospital. And when they do get to the public hospital there is sloth and insensitivity there too. 

how does all of this play with the Infran Ally's drive on tourism?

Visitors are well aware of the risks, but noteworthy is the fact that the deceased in this case was not a tourist but rather an ailing heart patient who chose to go overseas rather than seek more immediate help at the Guyana heart institute. This begs the question as to why is the AFC/PNC blocking the funding of public works for the specialty hospital when it will negate the need for folks to go to Trinidad for treatment. 

so, the new dispensation in Guyana is such that wherever/whenever Afro-Guyanese predominate and there is unhappiness with performance or service, some goose-stepping, mediocre arsehole like baseman feels totally comfortable defining the state of affairs as "racial" . . . requiring the Gov't to remedy by "ethnic balancing" [i.e., replace Afros with Indos] 

first it was the army, then police, now CJIA underlings; what next . . . teachers, UG students/faculty, nurses, teachers, underlings in the Gov't ministries, etc., etc., [fill in the blanks] . . . where will this madness end?

Indo-Guyanese preponderance is, of course, exempted from all this . . .

the power intoxicated on this BB really taking the PPP as "Indian" Gov't thing [reality?] to fascist extremes . . . Guyana's shame

I remember in 1980 going with my father who was suffering chest pains to the new emergency wing of GPH on Lamaha Street.  The place had quite a few Afros and Indians waiting, many non-emergency, many for follow-up treatment for fight-related wounds.  The nurse refused to listen and kept calling in the blacks to see the doctor.  The doctor was Indo-Guyanese who happened to be a family of a friend.  We got a message to him and he pulled my father in and checked out.  He told us that very few Indian make it into see him but there is little he could do.  Most Indians end up leaving and going to one of the private hospitals.  This sentiment is alive and well in today's Guyana and Jagdeo is on-point regarding anti-Indian racism among Afros.