Calls mount for Ruel Johnson to step down to facilitate probe

One week after Cultural Policy Advisor to the Government, Ruel Johnson, had threatened to “torch” the Sanata Complex, which houses the Guyana Times newspaper, Television Guyana (TVG – CH 28) and Radio Guyana Inc (RGI) 89.5; the Private Sector Commission (PSC) has called out Government for its inaction against Johnson.

Government Advisor on Cultural, Ruel Johnson

On his Facebook page, the Cultural Policy Advisor at the Education Ministry and Director of the Guyana National Newspaper Limited, which publishes the Guyana Chronicle, Johnson stated bluntly, “Here’s my idea for a united Guyanese protest against impunity and tenderpreneurship – go break down all the parking meters and then proceed to torch the Sanata complex.”
Johnson explicitly made the connection between the Sanata Complex, QAII, its owner and the Media Group consisting of its newspaper, television and radio stations.
According to the PSC in a statement to the media on Monday, the Private Sector Commission is patiently awaiting the resolution of the matter involving Johnson, who was inciting terrorism when he made the social media post.
“It has been several days and there has been no official response to the alleged threats made by Mr Johnson. These statements allegedly attributed to Mr Johnson may be deemed to incite terrorism, as well as constitute a threat of arson in breach of, inter alia, Section 40 of the Criminal Offences Act (which attracts a seven-year jail sentence), as well as Section 3 (2) of the Anti-Terrorism and Terrorist Related Activities Act of 2015 which attracts even stiffer penalties,” the PSC outlined in its statement.
Moreover, the Commission posited that such a call from any other citizen would be reprehensible, while highlighting that threats directed at the Leader of the Opposition, as well as the President were appropriately and condignly dealt with under the Laws of Guyana. The PSC added that when such calls are made by a Government official to over eight thousand social media followers, then that official must surely be viewed with severity.
To this end, the Commission underscored that Johnson has a duty to the nation to protect and promote its cultural diversity, however, his actions indicates that he is unfit for any position of authority.
“If his alleged pronouncements are proven to be true, it is clear that he is unfit to hold responsibility for such a crucial and delicate element of social cohesion and the Private Sector Commission fully expects that the Minister of Education will take appropriate action to redress the situation. Certainly, Mr Johnson should at the very least step down until investigations are completed,” the PSC asserted. Following the threat on social media, a Police report was filed by the head of security at the media entity with the Criminal Investigation Department (CID) last Tuesday.
In Chapter 8:01 of Guyana’s Criminal Law (Offences) Act, Title four, Section 35, the charge of ‘Attempt, incitement and threat’ applies to “Everyone who, in any case where no express provision is made by this Act, or by any other written law for the time being in force, for the punishment thereof, attempts to commit, or incite, or attempts to incite any other person to commit any felony not punishable with imprisonment for seven years or more, or any misdemeanour, under this Act shall be guilty of a misdemeanour and liable to imprisonment for one-year.”
Moreover in Section 36, the Act goes on to cite that in cases where the felony cited incurs imprisonment of seven years or more, the act of incitement carries imprisonment for two years. According to the laws of Guyana, arson is an indictable offence usually carrying a minimum sentence of three years and a maximum of five years.
Since the complaint was filed a week ago, Police are yet to obtain a statement from Johnson. Last Wednesday, Police showed up at his office with the intention of taking him into custody for questioning, but were told that he was not there.
Contacted again on Monday, A Division (Georgetown/East Bank Demerara) Commander Clifton Hicken told this newspaper that the Police had returned to the Cultural Advisor’s office earlier in the day, but had to leave without seeing him for another engagement. Hicken assured that attempts would be made later in the day to contact Johnson.
Meanwhile, since the report was filed, Johnson took to social media with a series of posts making a mockery of the Police and the situation.
On the other hand, Education Minister Dr Rupert Roopnaraine last Tuesday had promised to seek an explanation from the Ministry’s Cultural Policy Advisor on the threat. Referring to such a comment being made as “strange”, Roopnaraine made it clear that such comments were not reflective of the Government or its views.
“Certainly not! I don’t know where that came from or what it’s about. When I see him, I will ask him. It was brought to my attention and I would like an explanation on it.”
However, the following day Johnson posted on his Facebook account saying that he had seen the Minister that morning and nothing was said to him about the issue.

Ruel Johnson’s hate-filled letter runs against everything Nelson Mandela stood for

Like This TopicFollow This Topic

In his quest for publicity (to hock his self published book?), Ruel Johnson feels compelled to revive the infant terrible role even though he’s so long in the tooth. The last time he tried it, he was pitching for the post of editor with the Guyana Press – at a price of $3 million a month.

He evidently thought – by some reverse psychology process – that by cussing out the Culture Minister Dr Frank Anthony, who would’ve been his boss, the fella would hire him. He thought wrong. So he’s throwing another hissy fit once again. But then we shouldn’t be surprised – they do say that you can’t teach old dogs new tricks, don’t they?  He also decided to move up the ladder and cuss out Dr Anthony’s boss – President Donald Ramotar. And what’s twisted his bukta into a knot this time?  â€œRamotar isn’t fit to attend Nelson Mandela’s funeral,” he hissed. He didn’t take issue with those who wanted the prezzie to take along Opposition Leader David Granger with him.

https://guyana.crowdstack.io/topic/r...on-mandela-stood-for

antabanta posted:

Anybody read this book?

What difference would it make if anyone read it? Why don't you read it and offer your opinion or a summary? That would be the intelligent thing to do.

Knucklehead,

I am trying to get some feedback from people...and trying to find out how much of what he writes is reflective of Guyanese life and culture. 

Knucklehead,

I am trying to get some feedback from people...and trying to find out how much of what he writes is reflective of Guyanese life and culture. 

You already have the book in your possession. STFU and read it and ascertain for yourself its reflection of Guyanese culture. But, of course, the problem is you know nothing of Guyanese culture and cannot make the comparison.

Hey hey hey...me always tink Snowie Rowie was a banna pon FB me know. Hey hey hey...but ayoo gat wan point dat he a Ruel. Ayoo doan belittle Ruel...de man does criticise he party sometime. Hey hey hey...anyhow he is still one of dem one love social cohesion hypocrite...hey hey hey...anyhow if ayoo want foh know how guyana cultua dey read Naipaul. Ruel dem is go about by bad mind...hey hey hey.

antabanta posted:

Anybody read this book?

What difference would it make if anyone read it? Why don't you read it and offer your opinion or a summary? That would be the intelligent thing to do.

Is VishM Ruel and also Ronan/Redux?

Na...VishM is not we bai Ruel . VishM write few book bout Guyana me tink...

antabanta posted:

Anybody read this book?

How come Vish doesn't know Guyana and he writes books about Guyana? Are these books for kindergarten kids in Africa who do not know Guyana and might think it's Ghana?

.anyhow if ayoo want foh know how guyana cultua dey read Naipaul. Ruel dem is go about by bad mind...hey hey hey.

Naipaul's contempt for Black peoples is organic to his writings

if "ayoo" includes Afro-Guyanese, what education would they get about Guyana culture from this severely limited individual?

antabanta posted:

Anybody read this book?

This is a Fkt up place.

Skelly, it looks like you on to something hey bhai.

Interesting to know, under what nick the " Ruel " used to post under before 2009. 

Come in Django Come in. 

antabanta posted:

Knucklehead,

You already have the book in your possession. STFU and read it and ascertain for yourself its reflection of Guyanese culture. But, of course, the problem is you know nothing of Guyanese culture and cannot make the comparison.

DUH!  DO DO brain....ever heard of a book club?  

you know nothing of Guyanese culture "....thats my reason for trying to get some feedback....so I can compare note with those who know more...

obviously you have a more basic problem, other than not having read the book...you cant read...

Knucklehead

antabanta posted:

Anybody read this book?

How come Vish doesn't know Guyana and he writes books about Guyana? Are these books for kindergarten kids in Africa who do not know Guyana and might think it's Ghana?

Skeleton-Brain...read my book on "How to read my A,B,C...and other letters"   You might learn something....

antabanta posted:

Knucklehead,

you know nothing of Guyanese culture "....thats my reason for trying to get some feedback....so I can compare note with those who know more...

obviously you have a more basic problem, other than not having read the book...you cant read...

Knucklehead

Careful Vish, me thinks Anta also wrote a book.

antabanta posted:

Anybody read this book?

Skeleton-Brain...read my book on "How to read my A,B,C...and other letters"   You might learn something....

I do not read and understand Swahili. You from Ghana, Togo, Malawi or Gold Coast?

antabanta posted:

Anybody read this book?

I do not read and understand Swahili. You from Ghana, Togo, Malawi or Gold Coast?

My books are written in English....try reading dat one...it has big letters and lots of pictures  

antabanta posted:

Knucklehead,

Knucklehead

Yes, I've heard of a book club. I can recommend a few you can check out instead of embarrassing yourself on GNI. What reason would I have to read a politically-biased book filled with misinformation? It would be good for you to develop at least the intelligence to weed out what books are worthy or not.

antabanta posted:

Knucklehead,

Knucklehead

Yes, I've heard of a book club. I can recommend a few you can check out instead of embarrassing yourself on GNI. What reason would I have to read a politically-biased book filled with misinformation? It would be good for you to develop at least the intelligence to weed out what books are worthy or not.

Filled with misinformation??

Knucklehead....stop trolling me if you have nothing intelligent to say...

How do you know the book is politically biased and filled with misinformation, eh...if you never saw it...or never read it....its about short stories...you fool.

Every author writes with a kind of bias...even Jagan in his West on Trial...or Rodney with his How Europe Underdeveloped Africa...

You judge a book by its cover?

Knucklehead

antabanta posted:

Knucklehead,

Knucklehead

Filled with misinformation??

Knucklehead....stop trolling me if you have nothing intelligent to say...

How do you know the book is politically biased and filled with misinformation, eh...if you never saw it...or never read it....its about short stories...you fool.

Every author writes with a kind of bias...even Jagan in his West on Trial...or Rodney with his How Europe Underdeveloped Africa...

You judge a book by its cover?

Knucklehead

Nah. Judge by the writer!  That Banna is a pan-Afroist anti Indo racist!

Jagan was a communist...so this means I should not read his book if I am not a communist?

Rodney's book was required reading in one of my classes...and in many colleges around the world. He was an Africanist and a communist...does that mean I should not read his book?

The best thing is to read the book and be aware of biases...no?

BTW:

If I write a book on "How to Speak English" and both KP, Dave, DrugB and Skeldon-Man cant speak English properly, does that mean they should not read the book?...it would help them 

Jagan was a communist...so this means I should not read his book if I am not a communist?

Rodney's book was required reading in one of my classes...and in many colleges around the world. He was an Africanist and a communist...does that mean I should not read his book?

The best thing is to read the book and be aware of biases...no?

BTW:

If I write a book on "How to Speak English" and both KP, Dave, DrugB and Skeldon-Man cant speak English properly, does that mean they should not read the book?...it would help them 

The difference, they both were ideologist and nationalists and not racist!

On the guys and their English, watch them thump yuh rass!