NCN’s 2009 financials released…Audit Office unable to determine what entity owned

November 23, 2012 | By | Filed Under News 

Government has released the 2009 financial statements of the National Communications Network (NCN) and is indicating that state auditors were unable to determine the accuracy of the assets of that entity. NCN raked in over $455M in revenues that year. The company also benefitted from some $54M in subvention from Government.

Martin Goolsarran

The report, prepared by the Audit Office, also confirmed that poor records-keeping made it impossible for auditors to determine what exactly NCN owned as the management failed to implement and maintain a master and sectional inventory during 2009.

It also spoke of millions of dollars being outstanding from advertisers and others for a number of years.

Auditor General Deodat Sharma, as a result, issued a qualified opinion “arising from limitation in scope and uncertainty”.

The 2009 accounts of NCN, which operates the country’s only authorized radio stations and the state-owned television stations, including NCN Channel 11, said that revenue from advertising was almost $201M.

The revenue, inclusive from NCN’s Linden and Berbice locations, also came from sponsored movies, news, other programmes, sports, production and deaths and messages. Almost $41M was paid to entities like CMC and Stabroek TV.

Mohamed Sattaur

Wages and salaries for NCN were almost $160M in 2009 with $83.6M allotted for utility charges. Its total operating expenses were listed as $412.8M. At the end of 2009, NCN’s net worth was some $727M.

The report from the state auditors would confirm that all seems not to be right at NCN which earlier this year ran into an angry Parliamentary opposition which could not understand how NCN wanted state money when it made more than $500M last year. There are questions about where the monies went.
NCN came under the spotlight this year after allegations of fraud prompted the Board of Directors, headed by Dr. Prem Misir, to launch an investigation into payments to the entity for the Jingle and Song Competition hosted by

Guyana Telephone and Telegraph Company (GT&T) last year.
NCN was hired by GT&T to record and produce the popular show last year. However, acting on information, the NCN Board launched a probe and discovered that Programme Manager,

Martin Goolsarran, collected almost $4M and placed it in his personal bank account. There was also no written contract.

There were several other breaches discovered in the probe conducted by an independent auditor which led to Chief Executive Officer, Mohamed Sattaur, resigning. Goolsarran has been sent on suspension since June.

Prem Misir

During the probe, evidence had emerged that both Goolsarran and Sattaur allegedly pressured staffers to falsify documents, backdating them to fool the auditors. There were other indications of records deliberately being poorly kept. The NCN affair had proven to be a major embarrassment for the administration with questions also, whether criminal charges will likely be laid.
On Wednesday, Cabinet Secretary Dr. Roger Luncheon said that Government is not likely to order a wider probe into the affairs of the NCN unless the Auditor General demands it.

A report by NCN’s Board of Director pertaining to an internal probe has been completed and is with President Donald Ramotar, who is the Minister of Information.

Where are the cretins who call for investigations on Corruption?

Imagine these crooks once tried to pass NCN off as private and not public. Since no accounting exists for years the crooks had ample time to make the entity a shell as they line their pockets with its assets and income.

I hope they cal for a debate or rather an open press conference where they are asked to provide answers to questions on what happened here.

Can we expect at least the management gets indicted??? I guess that is wishful thinking with this corrupt PPP.

The ongoing Brassington swindle. hopefully we would one day be able to put that pin headed, beady eyed, screechy voiced, soprano toned, fat,  girly man in prison for robbing us blind.

Marriott Hotel Project…AFC tables motion to halt public funding

November 23, 2012 | By | Filed Under News 

By Abena Rockcliffe

A parliamentary motion which seeks to stop Government from injecting state funds into the construction of the Marriott Hotel in Kingston, was yesterday tabled by the Alliance For Change (AFC).
The motion, if passed, will seek to ensure that no further expenditure is incurred by National Industrial and Commercial

AFC leader Khemraj Ramjattan

Investments Limited (NICIL) or its subsidiary Atlantic Hotels Incorporated (AHI) on the Marriott Hotel project, without the authorization and approval of the National Assembly.

The construction has an estimated cost of US$60M.

The AFC noted in the motion, its belief that “Government is using NICIL as an instrument, whether directly or indirectly through its subsidiary Atlantic Hotels Incorporated, to unlawfully acquire public lands and then to lease such lands, and also to spend billions of dollars of public monies into the Marriott Hotel Project, so as to avoid and evade authorization and approval of the National Assembly.”

Parliament was given notice of the motion by AFC leader Khemraj Ramjattan, who based the motion on the fact that the Finance Minister, Dr Ashni Singh, has failed to “fully comply” with the terms of a motion approved by the National Assembly on June 27.

The motion cited by Ramjattan had sought to hold the responsible Minister to, among things, provide the National Assembly, “as early as possible” with: a detailed report on the disposal by sale or otherwise of all state assets entrusted to NICIL and the Privatization Unit, the terms on which they were disposed of and the criteria used and the outstanding bi-annual reports and annual audited accounts required of NICIL and the privatization Unit under the relevant legislation.

Also, the said motion had called for the handing over from the former executive director of NICIL (and Head of the Privatisation Unit), a report on the disposal by sale or otherwise of all other state assets, including the terms on which they were disposed of and the criteria.

Further, the motion requested that the Finance Minister make financial provision for the “urgent” commencement of an “independent financial audit of the operations of NICIL.”

The motion stated that “the responsible Minister has failed to fully comply with the terms of the above-mentioned Motion, now known as Resolution No. 14 of 2012 of the National Assembly, to make the necessary financial provision or to provide the reports and information thereunder;…it is a notorious fact that NICIL has prime State Lands known as Block Alpha, Kingston vested to it by Order of Minister Ashni Singh dated 23rd November, 2010, which vested is an illegality since NICIL is not a public corporation.”
The AFC noted that “another illegality occurred when NICIL leased the said Block Alpha, Kingston for 99 (ninety-nine) years to a subsidiary company of NICIL, namely, Atlantic Hotels Incorporated which is the front company for the Marriott Hotel Project.”

The construction site for the Marriott Hotel in Kingston

It was pointed out in the motion that the money being invested by NICIL into Atlantic Hotels Incorporated is public money as defined by the Constitution and the Fiscal Management and Accountability Act, which monies ought to be made payable into the Consolidated Fund.

The AFC motion mentioned the fact that “the expenditure of public monies, to be constitutional and lawful, has to be authorized for spending and/or investment by the majority approval of the National Assembly.”
The motion will be debated at the next parliamentary sitting.
The Chinese contractor involved in the Marriott Hotel was advanced US$10M (G$2B) last year, despite ongoing objections to the project by the opposition parties in Parliament.

This project has been severely criticized for its lack of transparency and the alleged use of taxpayers’ money through the unaudited NICIL books. The project is also criticized by hoteliers who have argued that there is unused capacity in other hotels.
The main criticism is the government’s intended competition with the private sector.

Days before the General and Regional Elections last November, the Bharrat Jagdeo administration turned the sod signaling the start of the project at Kingston, west of the current Pegasus Hotel.
The land in Kingston is being cleared and camps have been built by the Chinese company.

The money would be taken from the accounts of NICIL, the same company which is charged with managing undisclosed state assets worth billions of dollars.

On November 16, 2011, a ‘design and build’ contract was executed with SCG and AHI to the value of US$50.9M. It will see the delivery of a 197-room facility built on a turnkey basis.

The PPP guys will say " In Burnham days tiefin went on  an nobody did a dam ting about it, we deh pon top now, is we turn."

Only difference this time...AFC putting on da pressure.

Yes, corruption and mismanagement by a govt owned news media that should really be privatized. Govt should not be running any news media. Many AFc/Pnc operatives work there and are involved in corruption along with PPP counterparts. There is plenty of blame to go around. 

when did the dirty handed Goolsarran and Sattaur join the PNC, eh, u KLOWN?

braying loudly & stupidly must be soothing to the extra weight rolling around in your groin area

Goes to show how little you know, both fellows contributed and voted for the AFC/PNC. 

yaaawwn . . . another KLOWN post

somebady light a feather

Another stupid post by the NJ brainless jackass with a grin as if he tasted shit.

NCN is a haven for corrupt AFC/PNC agents as they look for innovative ways to fleece the nation's coffers. They infiltrate govt organizations and spin their evil web then when they are caught their agents try to blame the PPP. 

Excellent observation! Blame everything on the government. It's like hiding your sins behind god's back.

Oh-h-h-h Pl-e-e-ease, that was a stupid observation from a stupid person doan go jonin the stupidy clan now banna.

Cain Buddy,
You been on this board for a long time. You know if cows, horses, dogs or chickens get killed on the road, they blame the government. Some of the doomsayers on this board are so anti government, they will blame the Guyana government if their ice cream is cold.

yOriginally Posted by skeldon_man:

Oh-h-h-h Pl-e-e-ease, that was a stupid observation from a stupid person doan go jonin the stupidy clan now banna.

Cain Buddy,
You been on this board for a long time. You know if cows, horses, dogs or chickens get killed on the road, they blame the government. Some of the doomsayers on this board are so anti government, they will blame the Guyana government if their ice cream is cold.

There is an easy way to prove that these fools blame govt unfairly. Compare what they blame the GoG against who is normally blamed for the same type incidents in other nations and my point will be proven. If police is corrupt in the US, the govt is not blamed. If there is a 100 year flood as in 2005, the govt is not blamed for this act of nature, George Bush was not blamed for Katrina. When there is drug busts, govt is not blamed in other nations for encouraging the trade. If there is a bridge broken, govt is not blamed.  If a citizen stumps his toe in Guyana the AFC/PNC rats blame govt.

When there is drug busts, govt is not blamed in other nations for encouraging the trade.

oi simple-minded jackass . . . ANY country that sub-contracts national security to a drug lord will be JUSTIFIABLY blamed for "encouraging the trade" . . . no??

like i said . . . there is no place to hide

When there is drug busts, govt is not blamed in other nations for encouraging the trade.

oi simple-minded jackass . . . ANY country that sub-contracts national security to a drug lord will be JUSTIFIABLY blamed for "encouraging the trade" . . . no??

Name me one time that the US or CA govt was blamed for encouraging drug trade. You people blame govt unfairly.

like you sampling too much product lately . . . what part of "sub-contracts national security to a drug lord" do you NOT understand?

There is no evidence of this claim. Even the US stated that the GOG do not support the drug trade. ahahhahaha

so . . . RK was not engaged by the GOG to 'eliminate' the FF; and the catch & release charade when Raja and Associates were found with all dem high powered weapons did not happen; and the Ramsammy/spy computer ting was all a dream; and, and, and . . . de PPP lying to Indo-Guyanese telling them that RK is a National Hero who save de country [er, save de PPP, that is]

climb out lil mo pun dis limb nah fool

so . . . RK was not engaged by the GOG to 'eliminate' the FF; and the catch & release charade when Raja and Associates were found with all dem high powered weapons did not happen; and the Ramsammy/spy computer ting was all a dream; and, and, and . . . de PPP lying to Indo-Guyanese telling them that RK is a National Hero who save de country [er, save de PPP, that is]

RK was engaged by the business community to protect the country from the Ff's when the pNC/AFC police were in cahoots with the bandits.  Now that the police were fed milk, they deal with the bandits themselves with financial tips from the business community in times of unrest. Don't believe that police are acting out of pride in their jobs, they are being paid under the table by business folks to neutralize the wicked elements who you and the parties you support finance from sales of drugs and other illicit activities.

i suggest you address my post instead of having random conversations with the magic KLOWN people in your head

my saw is sharpened and ready

Gagraj, Jagdeo did the correct thing in bringing down the politically inspired terrorist.  If they had to use some some questionable characters to save the masses, then they were perfectly justified, no apologies.

guh fite with drug_b; i gat a ringside seat for this battle of loser antimen

guh fite with drug_b; i gat a ring side seat for this battle of loser antimen

I have no fight with the man, I say Jagdeo, Gagraj did the correct thing, no apologies.

yeah, but u friken to mention RK name . . . ah wonder why?

oh wait, i forget u is a wannabe PPP smartman . . . and certified COWARD whose MO is to hide his bigotry behind multiple nics

oh wait, i forget u is a wannabe PPP smartman . . . and certified COWARD

That's a figment of your over-active imagination and what you say.  I say, if they did, then I can understand.

oh wait, i forget u is a wannabe PPP smartman . . . and certified COWARD

That's a figment of your over-active imagination and what you say.  I say, if they did, then I can understand.

Raja prappa lonely in jail . . . all alyuh PPP soldiers suddenly (conveniently) fughet that the great hero (circa 2006) ever existed . . . "some questionable characters" is all the 'recognition' he rates in 2012.

scum like u have plenty to answer for . . . RIP Sash Sawh

i suggest you address my post instead of having random conversations with the magic KLOWN people in your head

You have no saw, just a piece of wood hitting at a rock with no effects. None of the nonsense you spew about spy equipment have any basis in fact. 

No evidence exist that link Gajraj or Jagdeo to the cleansing of the Ff's. As normal such covert actions remain secret as it should be. 

True, was a gang on gang thing, that's why I qualified with "if".

ha ha haaaa . . . antiman confusion

You have no saw, just a piece of wood hitting at a rock with no effects. None of the nonsense you spew about spy equipment have any basis in fact. 

low hanging fruit . . . not worth my [anyone's] time

Licks like peas does have this effect. Hhahahahahah

after 3 hours of contemplation u produce this feebleness, eh?

i suggest u back your dray cart up and study lil mo here:

https://guyana.crowdstack.io/displayF.../lastReply#lastReply

i suggest u back up and study lil mo here:

Apparently you live on this forum waiting for a response, I don't ,  I have a life outside this place. Nevertheless the beatings I inflict seems to have you bassidy. ahahahah 

yessssss . . . there is no escape

I am the hammer, U are the nail (my pakoo)

[BTW, waiting another X hours for me to log off so u can get some breathing space is not gonna help] 

yessssss . . . there is no escape

I am the hammer, U are the nail (my pakoo)

[BTW, waiting another X hours for me to log off so u can get some breathing space is not gonna help] 

Any every now and then...ouch....you pound yuh own finga.