Dear Editor,

State dinner or dinner in a state? That is the question about the Gala event at the Arthur Chung Convention Centre. I’ll gloss over the fact that there was some confusion over seating, and that an usher had no idea who Sir Shridath Ramphal and his wife were, and at which reserved table they should have been seated.

After nearly tripping over the scarily uneven floor covered by turf carpets, the ends of which had not been secured (it’s very basic to ensure that there are no trip hazards), I was brought some cherry juice in a glass. That was the last glass I saw. Thereafter, my wine and cream liqueur were served in plastic cups. The dinner service was a bulk/big box store plastic special, along with the plastic covered silver foil flatware. Yes you’re reading right! Please don’t tell me formal wear and fine dining and expect me to eat off of plastic. No, nada, nyet ,uh-uh and in any other language you can think of it will still be no. There are party services in Guyana. Couldn’t a proper dinner service be rented? People do this for regular parties, much more such a significant event. Even though this wasn’t a picnic, the President, the Prime Minister, members of the diplomatic corps all had the same plastic dinner service. I can only speak for myself when I say that I would rather not have the joy of sawing through meat with a plastic knife at a gala dinner.

We sat waiting patiently to be served the appetisers of cream of eddo soup, dinner roll, prawns/fish seafood (sic) salad, and chilled avocado to no avail. Although the main course was buffet style, the organiser was unaware that the appetisers ought to have been served.

Soon after the President and Mrs. Granger arrived and were seated, what appeared to be a spontaneous reception line was formed. The emcee asked everyone to be seated and introduced, the architect of the event, none other than the Junior Education Minister Nicolette Henry. After brief and uninspiring introductory remarks, everyone was invited to eat. This was to be accomplished by proceeding to the buffet when your table’s number was called. As it turned out, one was apparently expected to tote one’s salad and dinner plates to the buffet and back, as there were no plates at the food stations, as is customary at buffet style dinners. The US Ambassador was seen haplessly walking to the buffet with his plated tucked under his arm. Many guests were juggling bowls of soup and plates while walking back to their tables. At the second food station, no ladle was in sight, the soup was being dished with another soup bowl.

I’ll try not to dwell ad nauseam on the supposed fine dining menu which lacked imagination. At the very least, someone from Carnegie School of Home Economics, could have been consulted on creating a menu. To me fine dining showcasing Guyana’s rich heritage would’ve been something like bite sized cassava bread rounds with shrimp and avocado cocktail, portions of stuffed snapper or something to that effect. I do not expect the minister to think of all these things. However, this is why one has a staff, and resources that one can call upon when planning these kinds of events. In case the minister is not aware, the fine dining experience usually entails being served one’s meal, which comprises an aesthetically pleasing plate, not having food slopped on a plate after standing in line. After about four tables had been called, people from the remaining tables just got up and converged on the two food stations. Guests from the table beside ours said that it was a mob scene at the serving station closest, and that their meal was cold.

Table decor followed the current lacklustre trend. Crudely made flag-draped dolls were the centre pieces. Hibiscus Craft Plaza outside of the Guyana Post Office Corporation has beautifully made dolls attired in the flag. Again there are talented Guyanese event planners and decorators was it so hard to call on them for technical advice? Someone remarked that the set up reminded him of a “wedding house.”

A number of apparently disenchanted people walked out during the dinner including Ret. Major General Norman McLean. At about 9:45 pm after having been on time for a 7pm start, and unable to stand in line for another 20 minutes or so waiting for food, we too left and subsequently had our fine dining food from Georgie’s. I know that the President and Mrs. Granger have standards so just this once I’d have liked to possess mind-reading skills. Having attended many formal dinners when I lived in Guyana, it was very disappointing to suffer through this ‘chouse’ that was the 50th independence gala dinner. Dear Ms. “I have it all under control” Minister, it would appear that in the end that you certainly did not. Let this be a lesson in humility. Rather unfortunately it was at the expense of the administration of President Granger.

Yours faithfully,

Yolande Gittens

Stabroek News, May 31 2016

Someone told me white dolls with blue eyes were the center pieces for the dinner tables.  Wonder why!!

This is what "change you can believe in" looks like. The voters voted for change. They haven't seen anything yet!

Someone told me white dolls with blue eyes were the center pieces for the dinner tables.  Wonder why!!

The white ones coulda been a lil bit cheaper than the rest, also if they had brown ones, black people would get vex, if they had black ones Coolie people would vex up, so put white ones an vex up everybody, mek it rass even.

The Putagees was on the dhall.

They did this to encourage the PPP to attend.  They know how much you all loved the blue eye bougie.

It is a real shame on the nation. Backwardness. Granger HAD to have the event in a grand way. Dat man is a real disappointment. He run racing wid Ramotar for incompetence.

Really! When the PPP first came into power the ministers were so primitive that they didn't know how to eat with a knife and fork. 

Janet really had it with them when napkins were tucked into the shirt, beneath the neck, and some ate with sucking sounds.

It was off to etiquette camp for those folks who eat usually with their fingers.  

The ambassadors who attended found the natives very "interesting and exotic", diplomacy chatter for rustic and crude.

They did this to encourage the PPP to attend.  They know how much you all loved the blue eye bougie.

Oh dear me.  Why didn't I think of that?!!

It is a real shame on the nation. Backwardness. Granger HAD to have the event in a grand way. Dat man is a real disappointment. He run racing wid Ramotar for incompetence.

Having the event in a grand way is not such a bad move, taking into consideration it's the nation's 50th. But rass man, organize the damn thing properly. Here in Manhattan at this hotel, we have many events and functions happening all the time, but nothing like what I've read above.
Plastic cups, knives, fork??  Is Ms. Yolande Gittens sure it was a gala event she attended or some lime at a creek up the Soesdyke highway?

Really! When the PPP first came into power the ministers were so primitive that they didn't know how to eat with a knife and fork. 

Janet really had it with them when napkins were tucked into the shirt, beneath the neck, and some ate with sucking sounds.

It was off to etiquette camp for those folks who eat usually with their fingers.  

The ambassadors who attended found the natives very "interesting and exotic", diplomacy chatter for rustic and crude.

It is interesting how we need to use the dining behavior of the PPP of some quarter century ago to provide cover for how this government behaved last week. Is like there has been no evolution over the past quarter century. Wonders never cease.

This is really funny.

"As it turned out, one was apparently expected to tote one’s salad and dinner plates to the buffet and back, as there were no plates at the food stations, as is customary at buffet style dinners. The US Ambassador was seen haplessly walking to the buffet with his plated tucked under his arm. Many guests were juggling bowls of soup and plates while walking back to their tables. At the second food station, no ladle was in sight, the soup was being dished with another soup bowl."

I am actually very shocked that you didn't. No wonder the old time Jaganites hate you all Jagdeoites.  

She was a Goddess who parted the waters, and you should be bowing down to worship blue eye Bougie.

This is really funny.

"As. At the second food station, no ladle was in sight, the soup was being dished with another soup bowl."

All I can say is "WOW". I assume that Granger didn't see that because he seems to be from that old time G/T black middle class who would NOT tolerate that.

Well since the brightest 80% have been fleeing the country since 1973 I am not surprised.

Now a bunch of people who used to eat with their fingers, and who never knew how to use a toilet until well into their adult years, run around screaming "me rich, me have nuff money".  These are who now define what class is in Guyana.

Back in the early sixties. Your comments were readily bestowed upon us Indians by your fellow Africans. Etiquette.  Shows, you all thinking hasn't changed one bit towards us. Suh pompous, dem bruddahs used to ball it out upon ahwe cooolies.

Things will eventually have its way though. With all dem knives, forks, spoons and china, dem razz din have food. Forbes was dem punishment for vanity. Whitemouth dem had, all ahyuh. 

Back in the early sixties. Your comments were readily bestowed upon us Indians by your fellow Africans. Etiquette.  

Go cuss Janet's jumbie. 

When the sucking sound came out, folks holding their knife like a spade, and their forks like a shovel.  When the napkins were tucked into the top buttons of the shirt, instead of resting on their laps.

Janet said this isn't good enough and sent them to etiquette school.

This happened in 1992.  Now these guys, who were paupers, now prance around screaming "ahbe rich, me gat nuff money".

Now a bunch of people who used to eat with their fingers, and who never knew how to use a toilet until well into their adult years, run around screaming "me rich, me have nuff money".  These are who now define what class is in Guyana.

Who are these people bai?

I am actually very shocked that you didn't. No wonder the old time Jaganites hate you all Jagdeoites.  

She was a Goddess who parted the waters, and you should be bowing down to worship blue eye Bougie.

No need for anyone to bow down to Mrs. Jagan.  Y'all doing a fine job with those blonde hair, blue eyed center pieces.  I am sure she is smiling in her grave with acknowledgment and deep appreciation. Maybe this is what Granger was talking about when he was wailing about Unity Gov't.

Back in the early sixties. Your comments were readily bestowed upon us Indians by your fellow Africans. Etiquette.  

Go cuss Janet's jumbie. 

When the sucking sound came out, folks holding their knife like a spade, and their forks like a shovel.  When the napkins were tucked into the top buttons of the shirt, instead of resting on their laps.

Janet said this isn't good enough and sent them to etiquette school.

This happened in 1992.  Now these guys, who were paupers, now prance around screaming "ahbe rich, me gat nuff money".

Iz Blackman time now to be classless. Shows how Burnham messed up ur race. Pride goeth before the fall.

Unfortunate, iz dat he also criminalized alyuh, dat iz the fall. Obeah is a curse.

We shall rise again. Just not today. Is alyuh time now.

No need for anyone to bow down to Mrs. Jagan.  Y'all doing a fine job with those blonde hair, blue eyed center pieces.  I am sure she is smiling in her grave with acknowledgment and deep appreciation. Maybe this is what Granger was talking about when he was wailing about Unity Gov't.

Carib's response looks like he is dissatisfied with the actions of his people.  He may just be using the Jagan bit for cover.

Seriously though, is Minister Henry going to be the architect of any future events? Somehow I think she will because the powers that be seems satisfied with her performance.  

Old men are stubborn people. Granger is set in his ways. I doan think he is a reader. Suh, he have all these mediocre people surround him.

The Jagans comes to mind, Granger is just like Janet and Cheddie. Stubborn no azz.

Carib's response looks like he is dissatisfied with the actions of his people.  He may just be using the Jagan bit for cover.

Seriously though, is Minister Henry going to be the architect of any future events? Somehow I think she will because the powers that be seems satisfied with her performance.  

Bhai, dem only know to wipe dem batty with grass, grow their nails long enough to use as spoons and rub grease on head for Vaseline.

Old men are stubborn people. Granger is set in his ways. I doan think he is a reader. Suh, he have all these mediocre people surround him.

The Jagans comes to mind, Granger is just like Janet and Cheddie. Stubborn no azz.

I agree with you.  Granger is holding back Guyana the same way that the Jagans did.  The country need some forward thinking, out of the box brains like Jagdeo.  

All of those PPP folks, who were paupers in 1992, earned civil servant salaries, and yet are now millionaires.

I agree with you.  Granger is holding back Guyana the same way that the Jagans did.  The country need some forward thinking, out of the box brains like Jagdeo.  

What Guyana  becoming,Jagdeo ran his stint is he not ? suh alyuh want him to run the country for life.

.  The country need some forward thinking, out of the box brains like Jagdeo.  

You have never revealed what out of the box brains has Jagdeo displayed.

1. Urging consumers and business people to tank the economy?  Who suffers if this happens.  Not Jagdeo who gets a pension much larger than any other for CARICOM head of state will get.

2. Screaming that Guyana should sell rice to Venezuela, when oil prices are low, meaning that so will the prices paid to the farmers.  And in fact its debatable whether Venezuela will swap rice for oil, when it badly needs US dollars.

3.  Guysuco.  A mess.  Marriott. A luxury that Guyana doesn't need.  Amaila Falls........Fip Motilall, no need to say more.   All kinds of under handed deals, to reward his oligarch cronies.....KN has them all listed. Providence stadium.  It just seems to me as if even St Kitts is getting more international matches these days, and being a tourist island, they actually earn foreign exchange.  Providence Stadium is a glorified Thirst Park, except that Guyana is paying off the loan in HARD CURRENCY.

4. In 1992 Guyana's economy was sugar, bauxite,rice, gold timber. In 2011 the economy was gold, rice, sugar, bauxite and timber No change, except the order.

5. In 2014 Guyana remained the poorest country in the English speaking Caribbean with the greatest level of poverty, the highest incidence of child labor, the highest infant mortality rates, the lowest GDP per capita, the worst performance in CXC in English and Math.  Guyanese flocked to the rest of CARICOM, and many remaining in Guyana, depended heavily on the earnings that these economic refugees received.

So where is the "brilliance" of Jagdeo?  Aside from keeping PPP supporters enslaved, and engaging in crafty forms of corruption, which made a man who was starving in 1992 one of Guyana's wealthiest men (if you believe that he did this through saving, you are truly crazy).

When Jagdeo became President many, including more than a few who traditionally voted PNC, had high hopes. This man turned out to be quite disappointing.

The most stubborn and arrogant of the bunch were Jagdeo, and his mentor Burnham.

It just amazes me that folks don't see how much like Burnham Jagdeo is.

No need for anyone to bow down to Mrs. Jagan.  .

And yet your fellow PPP slaves still do.

If I tell the truth that Janet was an evil wench, who used to give Cheddi good blow, when she was seen on the seawall making love to Burnham.  And that she panicked when she became pregnant with Joey, fearing that his appearance might reveal  her sinning nature.  So relieved she was when she didn't give birth to a mulatto baby.

All of those old time PPP slaves would get frantic and scream how dare I defile their Goddess by implying that a black man used to "rock her world".

Vish M posted:

It is apparent that folks who are coordinating these events lack prior experience

Well the people who know how to do these things are too old, or no longer living in Guyana.

The days of decorum in Guyana ended decades ago.  I bet the woman who noticed lives in the USA, and was shocked that this is how far Guyana has sunk.

All of those PPP folks, who were paupers in 1992, earned civil servant salaries, and yet are now millionaires.

And what does this have to do with the calamity at the State Dinner the other night again?

If I tell the truth that Janet was an evil wench, who used to give Cheddi good blow, when she was seen on the seawall making love to Burnham.  And that she panicked when she became pregnant with Joey, fearing that his appearance might reveal  her sinning nature.  So relieved she was when she didn't give birth to a mulatto baby.

So I guess it was not true but one of your many made up stories.

All of those old time PPP slaves would get frantic and scream how dare I defile their Goddess by implying that a black man used to "rock her world".

Bai, why yuh always talking about black man rocking peoples' world? Is black man rocking your world your secret fantasy?