Convicted drug trafficker/deportee hired as Manager of GWI’s Debt Recovery Unit

As questions continue over the granting of fuel licences to the head of the Guyana Water Inc. (GWI),

GWI’s head, Dr. Richard Van-West Charles

Dr. Richard Van-West Charles, another scandal is brewing at the state-owned entity.
According to details now emerging, a close friend and business partner of the Chief Executive, was hired last year as Manager in the all-sensitive Debt Recovery Unit. That unit handles tens of millions each year collected from delinquent customers.
However, it seems that GWI failed to conduct proper background checks of the Manager, Lear Goring. They missed the very pertinent fact that Goring was convicted by US authorities in the 1990s before being deported twice- the last time in the early 2000s.
According to US court files, Goring was convicted twice of drug trafficking in 1990s. In the first instance, after a conviction, he was deported in 1993 to Guyana. Not to be daunted, he used a forged passport to travel back in 1995 – again with drugs.
Again he was caught. In 1996, he changed his not guilty plea after an agreement with prosecutors and the New York court sentenced him to 63 months in the Federal Correctional Institution, Fort Dix, New Jersey.
It is unclear if he was deported before his sentence of actual jail time, which amounted to 48 months, ended.
What is known is that between January and June, 2002, he was deported yet again from the US.
Goring’s name surfaced last week after he was named with Van West Charles, his current boss at GWI, as being a director of Atlantic Fuels Inc. That company was granted a fuel import and storage licence last November.

No background checks? - Lear Goring

No background checks? – Lear Goring

The revelations of the licences immediately raised concerns, with questions asked if Van-West Charles’ connections to the Coalition Government was what tipped the company that applied.
Local documents filed in the Deeds and Commercial Registry disclosed that in June last year, weeks after the coalition, Van-West Charles, a former minister within the People’s National Congress (PNC), and his close friend, Goring, became directors for Atlantic Fuels. The other partners are Andron and Ronaldo Alphonso, close relatives of business magnate, Alfro Alphonso.
In late September, applications were filed with the Guyana Energy Agency (GEA) for the licences. The licences were issued five weeks later.
In October, Van-West Charles became the Chief Executive of GWI, a state-owned entity that is charged with providing potable water to homes across the country. Shortly after, he hired Goring, a business partner, to head the Debt Recovery Unit.
The GWI’s head had come under fire last year for the hiring of Goring and another ‘friend’, Lance Mars. Both positions were reportedly not advertised.
The GWI’s boss had reportedly said that both men were known to him personally.
He reportedly said that he needed someone “competent” to deal with the debt at the state company. But Goring was not hired because he is a friend.
“He had applied to GWI and I know him…but I know many people in the organization, so it’s an area that I have responsibility for and…we have shown results already; in the month and a half, we have collected over $50M already in terms of the level of indebtedness, so I am satisfied with his performance,” Dr Van West Charles noted in a statement to an online news.
Back in December, Minister of State, Joseph Harmon, was asked to comment on the posts being filled without advertisements. He reportedly said that it is a non-issue, as long as the men were qualified.
“Well they are qualified…let me say this… Guyana is a small country and we have to utilize the resources that are available to us…everybody is somebody’s friend,” said Harmon.
With regards to those lucrative fuel licences, GEA last week in response to questions by Kaieteur News, disclosed that indeed the application came in late September and was granted on November 5th, 2015.
GEA said that all was above board when it came to the application and that Atlantic Fuels listed the storage facility of another authorized company in its application…not something unusual.
Fuel has been rivaling gold when it comes to generating ready cash. It is big business.

No background checks? - Lear Goring

No background checks? – Lear Goring

Back in December, Minister of State, Joseph Harmon, was asked to comment on the posts being filled without advertisements. He reportedly said that it is a non-issue, as long as the men were qualified.

“Well they are qualified…let me say this… Guyana is a small country and we have to utilize the resources that are available to us…everybody is somebody’s friend,” said Harmon.

Indeed Harmon; perhaps he is an extremely close friend of the PNC.

Notice how CaribJ, d2 and the rest of the qwe qwe supporters run from this thread. 

They bolted like Usain.  

Extremely faster than Usain St. Leo Bolt.

Notice how CaribJ, d2 and the rest of the qwe qwe supporters run from this thread. 

We have lives, apparently unlike you.

Also unlike you we are not robots of politicians.  Both D2 and I have made note of the fact that APNU AFC is as corrupt as the PPP, and as riddled with cronyism.

In fact I was vocal about Van West Charles, as I didn't see what experience he had in running an organization like GWI.

You however cheered Jagdeo's use of a dangerous criminal called Roger Khan.

Is Granger protecting this person from the US authorities, as Jagdeo protected RK.  Yes we all remember the mental breakdown of Jagdeo when he called the heads of state of Suriname and T&T treacherous and acting in contradiction to the spirit of CARICOM as both cooperated with the rendition of RK by the US gov't.

Get back to me when some one who is escaping the arms of the law is being protected by Granger.

Also unlike you we are not robots of politicians.  Both D2 and I have made note of the fact that APNU AFC is as corrupt as the PPP, and as riddled with cronyism.

See how these guys quick to pick on every lil thing that pops up, good for them, however they kept their eyes shut when their Champion o deSoil was their king....they saw no wrong.

See how these guys quick to pick on every lil thing that pops up, good for them, however they kept their eyes shut when their Champion o deSoil was their king....they saw nothing wrong.

hay frustrates them is that they try to paint us as uncritical stooges of APNU AFC in the same way as they defend Jagdeo the criminal.

Look how angry they get when it is pointed out to them that the end of the PPP was a mere 15 months ago.  Also that just about all the faults being attributable to APNU AFC.   They have yet to explain why so many PPP officials became millionaires (US dollars) when clearly their compensation wouldn't have allowed this, nor did the fact that almost all of them were paupers prior to 1992.

See how these guys quick to pick on every lil thing that pops up, good for them, however they kept their eyes shut when their Champion o deSoil was their king....they saw nothing wrong.

hay frustrates them is that they try to paint us as uncritical stooges of APNU AFC in the same way as they defend Jagdeo the criminal.

Look how angry they get when it is pointed out to them that the end of the PPP was a mere 15 months ago.  Also that just about all the faults being attributable to APNU AFC.   They have yet to explain why so many PPP officials became millionaires (US dollars) when clearly their compensation wouldn't have allowed this, nor did the fact that almost all of them were paupers prior to 1992.

You will note that both you and Cain have no shame as you continue to support a corrupt PNC administration. You keep deflecting from the matter at hand by reaching back into the past. But today is a new day, no one cares about Jagdeo, he is obsolete, Granger is the man on the hot seat, he is doing a terrible job so far with all the corruption we see popping up. 

....., Granger is the man on the hot seat, he is doing a terrible job so far with all the corruption we see popping up. 

And to note, while under the PPP/C the wife of the President indeed has a purely ceremonial role.

Granger's wife dips her hands deeply into respective ministries for money then prominently displays herself in the activities while overshadowing the respective ministers.

This is identical to Forbes and Viola Burnham's unbridled activities.

Convicted drug trafficker/deportee hired as Manager of GWI’s Debt Recovery Unit
Aug 21, 2016 News 0 Comments

Granger has no shame, he is shameless.

Moses is even more disgraceful than Granger. He opened his loudmouth declaring war on corruption during the campaign. Harmon put one slap on him and made him sit in a corner.

Even criminals are cashing in. Granger owes a debt of gratitude to this hero Burnham so he gives Burnham's son-in-law a full licence to cash in.

What is even more troubling, those GNI's AFC/PNC supporters are ashamed to admit that they were conned and remain silent as the treasury is being looted.

This is beyond disgraceful.

PNC's advisor Mitwah Lilmohan should be ashamed of himself. This is what he was fighting for day in and day out.

Shame on the AFC/PNC crooks !!!!!!! AND their GNI's AFC/PNC supporters !!!!!!!

And please, do not bring up PPP corruption cause the AFC/PNC crooks cannot even prove shyte despite feeding their friends

$ 400 Million (four hundred million dollars ) for audits that proved Shyte !!!!!!!!

People used to say that the PNC had Ko KO Beah during the Burnham days. Guess what, that Ko Ko Beah has spread beyond cure during the AFC/PNC era. 

Even Burnham's son-in-law is spreading the curse.

Guyana is screwed under these AFC/PNC crooks.

Convicted drug dealer Hired by the AFC/PNC while decent Indos are being kicked out:

lear-goring-300x290

"Local documents filed in the Deeds and Commercial Registry disclosed that in June last year, weeks after the coalition, Van-West Charles, a former minister within the People’s National Congress (PNC), and his close friend, Goring, became directors for Atlantic Fuels. The other partners are Andron and Ronaldo Alphonso, close relatives of business magnate, Alfro Alphonso.
In late September, applications were filed with the Guyana Energy Agency (GEA) for the licences. The licences were issued five weeks later.
In October, Van-West Charles became the Chief Executive of GWI, a state-owned entity that is charged with providing potable water to homes across the country. Shortly after, he hired Goring, a business partner, to head the Debt Recovery Unit.
The GWI’s head had come under fire last year for the hiring of Goring and another ‘friend’, Lance Mars. Both positions were reportedly not advertised.
The GWI’s boss had reportedly said that both men were known to him personally."

• lear-goring-300x290

"Again he was caught. In 1996, he changed his not guilty plea after an agreement with prosecutors and the New York court sentenced him to 63 months in the Federal Correctional Institution, Fort Dix, New Jersey.
It is unclear if he was deported before his sentence of actual jail time, which amounted to 48 months, ended.
What is known is that between January and June, 2002, he was deported yet again from the US."

Where is the transparence that these crooks told Guyanese that they were going to implement ?

Where are AFC/PNC's sympathizer Gil and Django ?

Paging 

Paging

Will Granger refuse to act when most of 99 percent of these minister caught up in corruption his own ?

Is is because that most of these ministers are Afros ?

Time for him to grow some ball* and show some decency, respect and accountability to Guyanese.

Or was he serious to give his friends the new codeword "the clock is ticking" ?

Meaning, tek boys tek ? Me eye blind ?

Where is the transparence that these crooks told Guyanese that they were going to implement ?

Paging 

Paging

Banna i don't have to be here all day,have other stuff to do,both Burnham son-in-law and the other fella need firing,i don't condone wronging both PNC and PPP are no good for Guyana.

Paging 

Paging

Banna i don't have to be here all day,have other stuff to do,both Burnham son-in-law and the other fella need firing,i don't condone wronging both PNC and PPP are no good for Guyana.

Thanks.

But remember this, it was Moses and Ramjattan who boldly declared that they will stamp out corruption.

Last time I checked, none of GNI's AFC supporters are holding them accountable for their lies. None, not one of them.

Lilmohan Mitwah was beating up his chest, cutting and pasting headlines about corruption, Granger give them a lil title and they have gone silent. They will pay for their sins.

Burnham's son-in-law and the other fella will continue to fill their pockets. Granger will do shyte about it.

Paging Gil now.

Brother Cain was shamed into finally showing some class.     Keep it up, bro.  

Cain is a decent man. He earned my respect.

Django did too.

The rest are in hiding with deep shame. Lilmohan Mitwah is busy polishing the Title "PNC Advisor" signed by conman Grainjaw.

yuji22, today is a summery but rainy Sunday and I was on GNI briefly and then off until now. When I read the press report early morning I pissed green, you know what I mean? President Granger should send Van Water-Oil east to Berbice Mad House.

Thanks for your honesty.

Django did too.

The rest are in hiding with deep shame. Lilmohan Mitwah is busy polishing the Title "PNC Advisor" signed by conman Grainjaw.

Yugi, I know Mitwah by some other names, never heard of Lilmohan, so for the past hour I went online, and lo and behold, found some sad news. We don't know what members are going through, their children, etc. Maybe this explains his nastiness to posters, taking it out on us.  I remember his PNC buddies sticking up for him and telling posters to go easy on him when posters retaliated to his taunts.  I'm a christian and I wish him and his family all the best.  

Django did too.

Yugi, I know Mitwah by some other names, never heard of Lilmohan, so for the past hour I went online, and lo and behold, found some sad news. We don't know what members are going through, their children, etc. Maybe this explains his nastiness to posters, taking it out on us.  I remember his PNC buddies sticking up for him and telling posters to go easy on him when posters retaliated to his taunts.  I'm a christian and I wish him and his family all the best.  

Leonora,

Thanks for your post. I also wish him and his family all the best.

I am a Hindu and so is Mitwah and our dharma does not exclude anyone for their sins, myself or anyone else. It is called for Karma, it means for every action, there is an equal and opposite reaction.

We shall reap whatever we sow.

In a few posts above, prior to yours,  I made the following statement with no harm meant:

"Lilmohan Mitwah was beating up his chest, cutting and pasting headlines about corruption, Granger give them a lil title and they have gone silent. They will pay for their sins."

In a few posts above, prior to yours,  I made the following statement with no harm meant:

"Lilmohan Mitwah was beating up his chest, cutting and pasting headlines about corruption, Granger give them a lil title and they have gone silent. They will pay for their sins."

HAHAHA, you rass -playin it safe nuh, you think God could be conned?

Django did too.

I wish Mits all the best have faith you will pull through,I always believe in tough times put your shoulder to the wheel and you will succeed.

The people are getting more corruption rather than less.  Some on this forum makes superficial condemnation of the current gov't. 

Uncle Billy ,how do you conclude that??

HAHAHA, you rass -playin it safe nuh, you think God could be conned?

All the time that the PPP was in office, this dude was the head of the drug trafficking ring out of Guyana. No wonder most of the drug mules were negroes. You PNC supporters blamed all on the PPP. Now this Lear Goring lungera is being exposed. PNC mad good money during the PPP years. Remember all those bags they found at the airport? It was this Goring lungera giving Guyana a bad name.

I dont know what you people expect his Excellency Pres DAG to do.  He has a shallow pool from his constituency to draw from.  The PNC talent pool has always been a some educated people mixed with an ample dose of criminals, convicts and square pegs.  What you see here is just part of the usual stride.

Does anyone believe Granger could draw on the Caribj-type Brooklyn African Diaspora class?  Think again!!  Their agenda is not to return anbd get sun burnt and rustic.  Their aim is you see Blacks rule Guyana and they will go for the Good, the Bad and the Ugly, as long as they are Black. Get real folks!

The people are getting more corruption rather than less.  Some on this forum makes superficial condemnation of the current gov't. 

Uncle Billy ,how do you conclude that??

You need explanation for ABC too???

Some on this forum makes superficial condemnation of the current gov't. 

Superficial condemnation is better than no condemnation. Did you even make superficial condemnation of the past PPP government?

Gilly, maybe I am wrong. I was told that once you were deported from NA, you are disqualified from holding a civil service job. Did the current government not abiding by this rule?

The government is not abiding by a number of rules. Sad but true.