Farewell, Mr President!

Written by Keith Burrowes
Sunday, 04 December 2011 05:52
Source - Guyana Chronicle

Keith Burrowes

Today, for the first time in 12 years, Bharrat Jagdeo will not be President of Guyana. I would like to congratulate Donald Ramotar on his ascension to the highest office in Guyana.

While I value the maintenance of democracy and the Constitution’s checks on the perpetuation of power, namely the term limits that he himself signed into law, I nevertheless see the departure of the man that was Bharrat Jagdeo from the Office of the President of Guyana as a loss.

Whatever consolation we can give ourselves about his youth and his talent and the contribution he may have left to give Guyana, the fact is that the now former President of Guyana is – unless there is revolutionary constitutional change – an entity of the past. For me this has a great deal of personal significance, since I have spent the vast majority of my working life engaging the President in some professional capacity or the other.

“When the acrimony and the divisiveness would have faded into the past as we go about our daily lives,the legacy of Bharrat Jagdeo will be the place that is visible all around us, the robust economy and rate of growth that are even now forming the foundation of the Guyana that our children will inherit, a place that a quarter of a century ago many of us believed would have been impossible to achieve.”

From our first not-too-pleasant run in when he was Junior Minister in the Ministry of Finance, to our reconciliation shortly thereafter – initiated by him – he has been someone who has earned my respect not just as President, but as a man who cared deeply for his people. His flaws have been magnified and put under a harsh spotlight, particularly in the last few years. What has gone unnoticed, unheralded is the vision, work ethic and sheer determination of will that has changed Guyana’s destiny and set us on an upward path today.

From his pragmatic and strong leadership in CARICOM, particularly on the EPA issue, to his Low Carbon Development Strategy, to his One Laptop Per Family initiative, he has shown that one can rise from the humblest of circumstances to impact upon not simply your country but the world.

No great leader in history is perfect, and few are given credit in the immediacy of the aftermath of their rule. What essentially matters is their legacy as tested and affirmed by the passage of time.

When the acrimony and the divisiveness would have faded into the past as we go about our lives, the legacy of Bharrat Jagdeo will be the place that is visible all around us, the robust economy and rate of growth that are even now forming the foundation of the Guyana that our children will inherit, a Guyana that a quarter of a century ago many of us believed would have been impossible to achieve.

His legacy will also be the inordinately large international image of Guyana in a world where countries our size and relative lack of global power never warrant so much as a headline unless they are slaughtering their own citizens by the tens of thousands, or some natural disaster is doing it for them. Thirty years ago, Guyana’s jungles became known as the scene for one of the greatest tragedies of the modern era – the mass murder/suicide of the followers of Jim Jones at Jonestown. That stain stayed with us for almost three decades, and became such an effective identifier for the country that one simply had to mention “Jonestown” in order to distinguish Guyana from Ghana to some puzzled person querying the location and indeed name of this country.

Today, directly because of the vision of Bharrat Jagdeo as President, our forests represent not a mausoleum of transnational tragedy but a symbol of international hope. Whenever we reach the stage in which the world renews itself as a consequence of human action towards the mitigation of climate change, Guyana will be known in essence as one of the places of the genesis of the new world, and it will have been Guyana under the leadership of Bharrat Jagdeo.

That said, at 48 years old he has the opportunity for his personal life’s work to continue, to transcend both the good and the bad associated with his presidency. Jimmy Carter remains an excellent example of a head of state who created a purpose that rose above what ought to have been the zenith of his life’s work, his four-year presidency of the United States of America. Carter left office more than a decade older than Jagdeo is now, yet he went on to play a major role in the enhancement and maintenance of democracy around the world. Indeed, his Carter Centre was crucial in creating the conditions that ultimately led to Jagdeo’s presidency.

Even as President Ramotar seeks to create his own legacy by furthering the gains made by his predecessors, he has to be realistically aware that the chief architect of Guyana’s modern economy is a readily available and invaluable resource; how he makes optimal use of that resource even as he carves his own distinct presidential agenda remains to be seen.

Thank you Mr President for your confidence and trust in me over the years.

Last Updated ( Sunday, 04 December 2011 06:05 )

the legacy of Bharrat Jagdeo will be the place that is visible all around us, the robust economy and rate of growth that are even now forming the foundation of the Guyana that our children will inherit, a place that a quarter of a century ago many of us believed would have been impossible to achieve.”

Farewell, Mr President! is was fun while while you cuss up all your antagonist Big Grin

Originally posted by asj:
Farewell, Mr President! is was fun while while you cuss up all your antagonist Big Grin

In doing so it might have cost the PPP at least that six critical votes which might have given them an absolute majority....
the legacy of Bharrat Jagdeo will be the place that is visible all around us, the robust economy and rate of growth that are even now forming the foundation of the Guyana that our children will inherit, a place that a quarter of a century ago many of us believed would have been impossible to achieve.”

maybe your children,not my children.why don you sent back your children to like in that shit
Originally posted by warrior:

maybe your children,not my children.why don you sent back your children to like in that shit

My Children are highly educated and working in reputable institutions in America.

Dummy you need to worry about yours.

Originally posted by Churchill:

In doing so it might have cost the PPP at least that six critical votes which might have given them an absolute majority....

Just a figment of your imagination.

Jagdeo is currently one of the most disposed men in the nation and he earned that position well with his autocratic rule. His tenure was bedeviled with secrecy, vindictive politics and the rise of an entrenched oligarchy. It will take us a decade to undo his network of parasitism on the nations blood stream. He is best forgotten promptly as he represents all that was bad in the PPP.

It is not my imagination that the PPP did not realise an absolute majority !
It is not my imagination that Jagdeo is a " cuss bud "....
It is not my imagination that Jagdeo is perceived by many even in the PPP as being corrupt....
It is not my inagination that he is perceived by many as being morally low....
It is not my imagination that he lied about knowing the principals involved int the law books scam....

And the list could goes on and on....
Originally posted by warrior:

My Children are highly educated and working in reputable institutions in America.

Dummy you need to worry about yours.

i have 4 children,three went to univerity,one is police officer one studing law and one is a editer for most of the movies that is made in canada the last is 13 and she is doing a IB course you figure it out she also have a black belt in karate like the rest of broters and sister and guess who is the instuctor,now see bar--rat do such a good job and guyana is so highly develop why don you take back your children to work there.is people like you that have guyanese punishing,by cheering on the ppp crime family when all they were doing is fulling they pocket

It is not my imagination that Jagdeo is perceived by many even in the PPP as being corrupt....
It is not my imagination that he lied about knowing the principals involved int the law books scam....

Whatever is the figment of your imagination, no one can take Jagdeo legacy of bringing Guyana out of the doldrum and bankruptcy to one of viability.

And that is what count, not your stupid speculations simply because you do not like Jagdeo.

Whatever is the figment of your imagination, no one can take Jagdeo legacy of bringing Guyana out of the doldrum and bankruptcy to one of viability.

And that is what count, not your stupid speculations simply because you do not like Jagdeo.

did he take guyana out of bankruptcy,any one of you plesae tell me what is guyana enternal debts.and i wonder why the NORWAY funds was never release.
Goodbye to an icon in Guyana's History. The youngest, the smartest, the brightest, the best speaker, the only one who impressed the international community, the fighter; the man who endured the pressures of the one of the most racially divided nations on earth and still strove to get us away from mass starvation.
I guess them kids tek after dem muddah nuh? Smile dunno
i have 4 children,three went to univerity,one is police officer one studing law and one is a editer for most of the movies that is made in canada the last is 13 and she is doing a IB course you figure it out she also have a black belt in karate like the rest of broters and sister and guess who is the instuctor,now see bar--rat do such a good job and guyana is so highly develop why don you take back your children to work there.is people like you that have guyanese punishing,by cheering on the ppp crime family when all they were doing is fulling they pocket
Originally posted by Anan:
I guess them kids tek after dem muddah nuh? Smile dunno
i guess you right,their mother is a good women,i was the rouge Smile
[/QUOTE]i have 4 children,three went to univerity,one is police officer one studing law and one is a editer for most of the movies that is made in canada the last is 13 and she is doing a IB course you figure it out she also have a black belt in karate like the rest of broters and sister and guess who is the instuctor,now see bar--rat do such a good job and guyana is so highly develop why don you take back your children to work there.is people like you that have guyanese punishing,by cheering on the ppp crime family when all they were doing is fulling they pocket

If you keep on talking garbage all the time on every posts and every thread maybe someone will finally listen to you, and realise that you've got your head so far up your ass you can chew your food twice.

Originally posted by alena:
Goodbye to an icon in Guyana's History. The youngest, the smartest, the brightest, the best speaker, the only one who impressed the international community, the fighter; the man who endured the pressures of the one of the most racially divided nations on earth and still strove to get us away from mass starvation.

Well said Alena, scumbags that comes here just to critique Jagdeo, are making their hatred
taking over their brains putting same into a lockdown mode.

.[/QUOTE]

ASJ....it is not imagination nor " stupid speculations " it is a fact what I posted above....It is immaterial whether I like Jagdeo or not !.....his words and actions might have cost the PPP a majority.... moreso it was him and Robert who stated that Nagammootoo leaving the PPP was not significant.....

Well said. People need to get over themselves. They are taking the man's personal business and confusing it with politics.

Sadly the "crab in a barrel mentality" of the Indian people of Guyana is what is causing the biggest downfall.

Jagdeo went and help Buxton and other non-Indian areas to develop and give the people an opportunity to show he wasn't racist by neglecting the Indian community. Guess what happened, those areas are where APNU got the most votes and the Indians feeling neglected didn't vote. Hope this is an eye opening era for the new government.

yea the man who din screw his wife.
I think you have munched on one of those hallucinogenic mushroom by accident. The man is clearly a dunce, speaks like a lactating cow and is lambasted by every international agency doing metrics on leaderships and development analysis on individual nations. As a point of policy the gentleman claims we live in racial bliss and the idea that we are divided is due to disinformation by internal and foreign agents.
Originally posted by JT:
Jagdeo went and help Buxton and other non-Indian areas to develop and give the people an opportunity to show he wasn't racist by neglecting the Indian community. Guess what happened, those areas are where APNU got the most votes and the Indians feeling neglected didn't vote. Hope this is an eye opening era for the new government.

This is the kind of ignorant tribal analysis you expect from the notorious ignar caught on videotape @ the PPP's Albion bacchanal.

Seductive in its counterfactual simplicity . . . the final sentence an ominous coda.

God save Guyana from such people!
Originally posted by JT:

Well said. People need to get over themselves. They are taking the man's personal business and confusing it with politics.

Sadly the "crab in a barrel mentality" of the Indian people of Guyana is what is causing the biggest downfall.

Why this overwhelming concern with the welfare of Indian people when we should be worrying about the Guyanese people? The necessity is to move away from this by devolving powers so communities have direct responsibility for their own planning and development. There should also be direct constituencies so the idea of the president visiting other places is not linked to him giving them preferential treatment.

In reality, there is not one ounce of data to support your claim. Black people did not vote for the PPP because the PPP is not acting in their interest and further it is a brazenly corrupt entity.
[QUOTE]Originally posted by Chief:
Some will like the man some will not like the man.
His term as President is now history, let him enjoy his pension.[/QUOTE] Hell no. The promise of the AFC and APNU is to revisit this question and clarify the strategy for awarding pensions so there is a finite cap on the outlay. Also, he cannot be paid more pension than salary. He should be paid at least 2/3 of his last four quarters in salary.
Originally posted by D2:
I think you have munched on one of those hallucinogenic mushroom by accident. The man is clearly a dunce, speaks like a lactating cow and is lambasted by every international agency doing metrics on leaderships and development analysis on individual nations. As a point of policy the gentleman claims we live in racial bliss and the idea that we are divided is due to disinformation by internal and foreign agents.

she would say that about any coolie president of guyana that racist sow.
Originally posted by D2:
Jagdeo is currently one of the most disposed men in the nation and he earned that position well with his autocratic rule. His tenure was bedeviled with secrecy, vindictive politics and the rise of an entrenched oligarchy. It will take us a decade to undo his network of parasitism on the nations blood stream. He is best forgotten promptly as he represents all that was bad in the PPP.

This not only represents Jagdeo, but those in regions who took their leadership skills from him, eg, Berbice regional officials, who ruled with an iron hand, leaving many traumatized, which may take them decades to recover.
Similar to what was shown to the PPP at the election, many regional officials will have an uphill battle with their election, to hold on to their positions.

The AFC is kicking ass....
This is how AFC would make in roads Regions by Regions -County by County and eventually Hip Hip Horay.AFC the leaders and a better and safe Guyana.Many would follow Bharrat one by one -two by two and very shortly all of them run the same way our Guyanese Brothers and Sisters run to other neighboring Countries.Pay back is a B*&@#.
Many overseas Guyanese have invested well and have good pension plans.
They can tolerate most things if they return to live in Guyana, but crime is a big one.
If the Ramotar administration can create an atmopsphere of security, many, many people would return to live there, taking back millions of overseas dollars.