Home > TOP STORY > Foreign Ministry probing conviction against Ambassador to Kuwait
Ambassador to Kuwait Shamir Ally

Foreign Ministry probing conviction against Ambassador to Kuwait

By Ravin Singh
The Ministry of Foreign Affairs Wednesday said it was probing reports that the country’s Ambassador to Kuwait, Dr Shamir Ally, is a convicted felon. “I have seen one of the publications and we are investigating and trying to establish the veracity in determining the seriousness of the conviction,” Carl Greenidge, Minister of Foreign Affairs told reporters. He said that that when the investigation is completed, a report would be made to Cabinet.
The Kaieteur News has reported that Ally was convicted on March 4, 2003 by United States District Court Judge, Michael M. Baylson, for dissemination of false financial information by Acrodyne Communications, Inc. (“Acrodyne”) in press releases and Commission filings in 1998, 1999 and 2000.
The newspaper went on to claim that the diplomat was charged jointly with two others and was fined US$10,000.
“The Securities Exchange Commission alleged that Mancuso (Acrodyne’s former CEO and president), Lanchoney (Acrodyne’s former Chief Financial Officer), and Ally (Acrodyne’s former controller) were aware of numerous and significant problems with Acrodyne’s accounting controls, but failed to assure that Acrodyne’s financial transactions were accurately recorded.
The Commission claimed that, as a result of the actions of Mancuso, Lanchoney and Ally, Acrodyne engaged in inaccurate and improper cost accounting and revenue recognition” Kaieteur news reported.
It was also alleged that the ambassador, “directed that unsupported journal entries be made to the cost of sales and inventory accounts to bring Acrodyne’s financial statements in line with the gross margin percentage he had estimated for the period. The Commission claimed that Mancuso approved these fraudulent adjustments for the first quarter of 2000.”
Minister Greenidge told the media that “due diligence was exercised” during the period leading up to Ally’s appointment.
He noted though that sometimes, due to the size and complexity of the United States, where Dr. Ally lived, it is difficult to get answers upon request.
“… something may happen in one part [of the US] and you can’t approach the US and get answers. You have to go to the right courts and the right states,” he said.
Further Minister Greenidge pointed out that Dr. Ali has also served on a number of boards and bodies in Guyana ov2er the years. Earlier this year, the diplomat was made Deputy Chairman of the Board of Directors of the Guyana Office for Investment (GO-Invest).
Despite this however, the Minister expressed his belief that the pool of ambassadors was the “best set” that the country could have put together for the work they are required to do.
“I think we have, with experience and qualifications – the best set of ambassadors that you could put together for the work they are required to undertake.
“Compared with the teams we’ve had over the years, they are very well placed to undertake the goals that we set out.”

A simple google search brings the evidence but the dumbasses in office can't even do this.

UNITED STATES SECURITIES AND EXCHANGE COMMISSION

LITIGATION RELEASE NO. 18025 / March 10, 2003

ACCOUNTING AND AUDITING ENFORCEMENT
RELEASE NO. 1736 / March 10, 2003

SECURITIES AND EXCHANGE COMMISSION v. A. ROBERT MANCUSO, RONALD R. LANCHONEY, AND SHAMIR A. ALLY, Case No. 03-1220 (E.D. Pa.)

On March 4, 2003, United States District Court Judge Michael M. Baylson entered final judgments against A. Robert Mancuso, Ronald R. Lanchoney, and Shamir A. Ally, enjoining them from future violations of the antifraud and recordkeeping provisions set forth in Sections 10(b) and 13(b)(5) of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934 ("Exchange Act") and Rules 10b-5 and 13b2-1 thereunder, and from future aiding and abetting violations of Sections 13(a) and 13(b)(2) of the Exchange Act and Rules 12b-20, 13a-1, and 13a-13 thereunder. The final judgment against Mancuso also enjoined him from future violations of Rule 13b2-2 under the Exchange Act. In addition, the final judgments prohibited Mancuso and Lanchoney from acting as an officer or director of a public company, and imposed civil penalties of $50,000 against Mancuso, $10,000 against Lanchoney, and $10,000 against Ally. The defendants consented to the entry of the orders without admitting or denying the Commission's allegations in the action.

The Commission's complaint alleged that the defendants were involved in the dissemination of false financial information by Acrodyne Communications, Inc. ("Acrodyne") in press releases and Commission filings in 1998, 1999 and 2000. The Commission alleged that Mancuso (Acrodyne's former CEO and president), Lanchoney (Acrodyne's former CFO), and Ally (Acrodyne's former controller) were aware of numerous and significant problems with Acrodyne's accounting controls, but failed to assure that Acrodyne's financial transactions were accurately recorded. The Commission claimed that, as a result of the actions of Mancuso, Lanchoney and Ally, Acrodyne engaged in inaccurate and improper cost accounting and revenue recognition. The Commission also alleged that, starting in the second quarter of 1999 and continuing through the first quarter of 2000, Ally directed that unsupported journal entries be made to the cost of sales and inventory accounts to bring Acrodyne's financial statements in line with the gross margin percentage he had estimated for period. The Commission claimed that Mancuso approved these fraudulent adjustments for the first quarter of 2000. Finally, the Commission claimed that Mancuso recklessly provided false information to Acrodyne's auditors relating to Acrodyne's guarantee of a customer's debt. In a related matter, on March 6, 2003, the Commission ordered Acrodyne to cease-and-desist from future violations of the antifraud, periodic reporting, and books and records provisions of the Exchange Act.

http://www.sec.gov/litigation/litreleases/lr18025.htm

Modified: 03/10/2003

Not surprised that the Coalition government is once again surprised. Awaiting the forming of a subcommittee by the government to look into why they didn't do a simple Google search.

Not sure how relevant for the PNC as they have bigger criminals in their midst.

On this matter, wonder who were the auditors and what was their position.  If they got away with that, sound like very laxed auditors.  One of the first things a good auditor would do is hone in on management JV's.

The fact that they were personally convicted and fined leads one to conclude the act was deliberate and willful rather than bad judgement or managememt oversight.

ba$eman posted:

Not sure how relevant for the PNC as they have bigger criminals in their midst.

On this matter, wonder who were the auditors and what was their position.  If they got away with that, sound like very laxed auditors.  One of the first things a good auditor would do is hone in on management JV's.

The fact that they were personally convicted and fined leads one to conclude the act was deliberate and willful rather than bad judgement or managememt oversight.

Who is a bigger criminal than Shamir Ally?  How did he become a millionaire??

The Kaieteur News has to be careful in how they are reporting this case. The perpetrators committed an SEC violation. In many cases, these violations are not criminal offenses and are not considered to be felonies.
The SEC imposed a civil penalty as opposed to a criminal one. There was no admission of guilt by the parties who were charged. The judge also told them that they could not commit the same violation again. It's basically similar to an out of court settlement in a civil lawsuit. I'd be very interested to see what the GOG concludes in this case after they are finished with their investigation.

He is convicted, he is corrupt. Cannot trust him! What, are you going to justify his appointment? The government might be setting up to say that it was not serious enough to strip him of his positions. 

This is guy was a AFC supporter. Larry Singh was a PNC supporter. The guy at GWI is the boss friend, BLackman pleaded guilty, slated to GPHC. They  all seem to be coming back to Guyana to get a financial return on their political investment. Lots of scamps! This is the coalition definition of clean government.

Z
Zed posted:

He is convicted, he is corrupt. Cannot trust him! What, are you going to justify his appointment? The government might be setting up to say that it was not serious enough to strip him of his positions. 

This is guy was a AFC supporter. Larry Singh was a PNC supporter. The guy at GWI is the boss friend, BLackman pleaded guilty, slated to GPHC. They  all seem to be coming back to Guyana to get a financial return on their political investment. Lots of scamps! This is the coalition definition of clean government.

I am not justifying his appointment. Did you read what I said or are you just mouthing off without knowing how these things work like the Kaieteur News?

This is what the SEC pursued against the defendants Moron. Do you even understand the difference between a civil action and a criminal offense?

https://www.sec.gov/News/Artic...rticle/1356125787012

Civil action: The Commission files a complaint with a U.S. District Court and asks the court for a sanction or remedy. Often the Commission asks for a court order, called an injunction, that prohibits any further acts or practices that violate the law or Commission rules. An injunction can also require audits, accounting for frauds, or special supervisory arrangements. In addition, the SEC can seek civil monetary penalties, or the return of illegal profits (called disgorgement). The court may also bar or suspend an individual from serving as a corporate officer or director. A person who violates the court's order may be found in contempt and be subject to additional fines or imprisonment.

I guess we'll never have intellectual foreign diplomats like Dr. Odeen Ishmael to represent us anymore. 

The whole damn world gone crooked.  Look right here we might even end up with crooked Hillary for president!!  We are living in the end times.

The question was asked whether you were trying to justify his appointment. The question mark at the end of the sentence means something.

I do know the difference As far as I am concerned, and you are free to disagree, he was guilty and fined. Now, he is an ambassador. 

The coalition promised clean government and we are not getting what they promised.

Z
Zed posted:

See how the Namakaram Uncle Tom gat his mouth in his Batty NOW!!!!

While there was no conviction they Dr. Ally was a defendant in a cease and desist order for the reporting failure violations of the SEC. The optics don't look good.

And Carl Greenidge ought to be schooled in the use of Google. 

Kari posted:

While there was no conviction they Dr. Ally was a defendant in a cease and desist order for the reporting failure violations of the SEC. The optics don't look good.

And Carl Greenidge ought to be schooled in the use of Google

"He noted though that sometimes, due to the size and complexity of the United States, where Dr. Ally lived, it is difficult to get answers upon request.
“… something may happen in one part [of the US] and you can’t approach the US and get answers. You have to go to the right courts and the right states,” he said."

The above is what he said,i laughed when reading his statement.

Carl thinks ole USA like Guyana where it take years to get some info.

Kari posted:

Google, etc should not be the official vetting mechanism for appointees.  Official sites like Intellius, etc should be used.

Kari posted:

Donald Trump settled a similar civil violation with the IRS for illegal campaign donations. He paid a fine and is now the Republican nominee for president of the USA.

Perry Holloway needs to open an FBI file on Shamir Ally and get the details out.  Where there is smoke, there is fire.  Those google findings are old, irrelevant cases.  The smoking gun might lie in those fake online degrees he is selling in the US and overseas.

Kari posted:

Donald Trump settled a similar civil violation with the IRS for illegal campaign donations. He paid a fine and is now the Republican nominee for president of the USA.

Settling with the IRS over some nebulous rules violation for campaign donation is very different than deliberately cooking the books with the intent of defrauding shareholders.  And I'm not saying the banna did that, just going on what the SEC said.

When Trump realized he had exceeded the limits, he tried to get back the excess but was unsuccessful as it was already committed or spent!

Kari posted:

And Carl Greenidge ought to be schooled in the use of Google

"He noted though that sometimes, due to the size and complexity of the United States, where Dr. Ally lived, it is difficult to get answers upon request.
“… something may happen in one part [of the US] and you can’t approach the US and get answers. You have to go to the right courts and the right states,” he said."

The above is what he said,i laughed when reading his statement.

Carl thinks ole USA like Guyana where it take years to get some info.

Dem PNC old froogies seem to have been under a rock since 1992. That statement reflects the ineptness and plain outright stupidity of the people running Guyana today.  And this is the banna who will represent Guyana in trade and other international dealings.  I'm sure he does not know he USSR no longer exists!!

ba$eman posted:
Kari posted:

Settling with the IRS over some nebulous rules violation for campaign donation is very different than deliberately cooking the books with the intent of defrauding shareholders.  And I'm not saying the banna did that, just going on what the SEC said.

When Trump realized he had exceeded the limits, he tried to get back the excess but was unsuccessful as it was already committed or spent!

What I'm speaking about had nothing to do with exceeding limits. He bribed the Florida Attorney General with an illegal campaign contribution in return for the probe against the Trump University being dropped. He was sanctioned by the IRS for this. It's basically the same scenario as Ally, he broke the laws of a federal agency, received a civil sanction and paid a fine. Now Crooked Donald is the Republican Nominee for POTUS. 

Continued saga of the PNC/AFC government on appointments by the administration.

It leaves to be seen how many other appointed individuals are yet to be exposed.

In a public statement Forbes Burnham's daughter, Roxanne Burnham Van West-Charles, has indicated that these individuals should be given chances to be in such positions.

Article --- Roxanne Burnham defends Lear Goring

Source --- https://guyana.crowdstack.io/topic/ro...-defends-lear-goring

Carl seh he gat Stupidee supporters who will forever back him.

I gotta tell ya Pavi, when I returned from the UK after using punch cards with timed batch in doing regression analysis for Economic functions and equations, I was dealing with Carl Greenidge (in the early 80s) who was one of the first people to us e an Apple Mac computer. That was the first time I used a personal computer. 

The man ain't no statistical economics slouch.

Kari posted:

I gotta tell ya Pavi, when I returned from the UK after using punch cards with timed batch in doing regression analysis for Economic functions and equations, I was dealing with Carl Greenidge (in the early 80s) who was one of the first people to us e an Apple Mac computer. That was the first time I used a personal computer. 

I was using a Mac on my job at the ad agency I worked for in the eighties.  Graphic designers used Macs. 

Kari posted:

But does he know that the USSR no longer exists??

aKari posted:

Irrelevant as usual.  The man seh the USA so big that you could be convicted of a Federal crime in one part and the other part dont know.  Maybe he ran the background check in Guam?

Being a highly qualified academic does not guarantee that your performance will live up to expectations.  There are so many failures in the real world and many of these failures involve some of the best and brightest. Greenidge's credentials maybe dazzling but his performance as a finance minister was dismal. 

ba$eman posted:
aKari posted:

Irrelevant as usual.  The man seh the USA so big that you could be convicted of a Federal crime in one part and the other part dont know.  Maybe he ran the background check in Guam?

Perhaps, they are still checking the system yet the appointment is made.

Being a highly qualified academic does not guarantee that your performance will live up to expectations.  There are so many failures in the real world and many of these failures involve some of the best and brightest. Greenidge's credentials maybe dazzling but his performance as a finance minister was dismal. 

Bankrupting a country qualifies as dismal!

Roger Khan, yet folks like you crowned him hero, even after the USA said that he was a wanted man.

You know what.  Those who cussed out the PPP have a right to cuss out this government.  Those who praise the PPP, even though they are no better, lack this right.

The Jagdeo era was an embarrassment for all right thinking Guyanese, in the face of the open embrace of that regime for narco traffickers, and the open and brazen law breaking by PPP officials.  A PPP minister pistol whips some one, most likely a PPP supporters. His reward was to be made ambassador to Brazil.  And there are other instances similar to this.

Now here is where APNU/AFC and the PPP differ.  APNU/AFC will acknowledge this "error" and remove him as they did Lear.  The PPP would have been screaming that they can do what they want and nobody can stop them because they have a mandate. 

Even when 51% of the population voted AGAINST them, they still screamed "mandate".  The only "Mandate" they had is when Jagdeo went out on a date with one of his men.

ba$eman posted:
Kari posted:

What I'm speaking about had nothing to do with exceeding limits. He bribed the Florida Attorney General with an illegal campaign contribution in return for the probe against the Trump University being dropped. He was sanctioned by the IRS for this. It's basically the same scenario as Ally, he broke the laws of a federal agency, received a civil sanction and paid a fine. Now Crooked Donald is the Republican Nominee for POTUS. 

Ok, this is not about Trump or Clinton.  Greenidge came up with a stupid ass explanation about the size and complexity of the USA.  How assinine in todays world of transparency.  One would at least expect they would be aware and have a reasonable explanation why this is not relevant to the appointment.

I'm not judging one way or the other as to the merits.  One would expect it's something in the files which have been put to rest.  Instead, all you clowns behaving equally stupid and shell shocked that someone ran Google search and published the findings.

Roger Khan, yet folks like you crowned him hero, even after the USA said that he was a wanted man.

You know what.  Those who cussed out the PPP have a right to cuss out this government.  Those who praise the PPP, even though they are no better, lack this right.

The Jagdeo era was an embarrassment for all right thinking Guyanese, in the face of the open embrace of that regime for narco traffickers, and the open and brazen law breaking by PPP officials.  A PPP minister pistol whips some one, most likely a PPP supporters. His reward was to be made ambassador to Brazil.  And there are other instances similar to this.

Now here is where APNU/AFC and the PPP differ.  APNU/AFC will acknowledge this "error" and remove him as they did Lear.  The PPP would have been screaming that they can do what they want and nobody can stop them because they have a mandate. 

Even when 51% of the population voted AGAINST them, they still screamed "mandate".  The only "Mandate" they had is when Jagdeo went out on a date with one of his men.

You still with this Roger Khan and Jagdeo tune????   That is some ra$$ up, dee-seated obsession.  I recommend Psychiatric intervention - Soon!!!!

ANd BTW, you did not answer my question.  Please answer it before anymore meaningless rants!!

What is interesting is that an international agency wanted to hire Greenidge, but the PPP, in its haste to damage the careers of as many Afro Guyanese as it could, blocked this.  This was an example of PPP racism which was raised when a UN rapporteur arrived to examine charges of PPP racism.  He left with a report that Guyana was seriously divided and there was merit to these charges.

ba$eman posted:
Kari posted:

Ok, this is not about Trump or Clinton.  Greenidge came up with a stupid ass explanation about the size and complexity of the USA.  How assinine in todays world of transparency.  One would at least expect they would be aware and have a reasonable explanation why this is not relevant to the appointment.

I'm not judging one way or the other as to the merits.  One would expect it's something in the files which have been put to rest.  Instead, all you clowns behaving equally stupid and shell shocked that someone ran Google search and published the findings.

I for one am not shell shocked about anything so you're just blowing your usual hot air. This very issue was discussed here on GNI a few weeks ago and the same document was produced during the discussion. 

What is interesting is that an international agency wanted to hire Greenidge, but the PPP, in its haste to damage the careers of as many Afro Guyanese as it could, blocked this.  This was an example of PPP racism which was raised when a UN rapporteur arrived to examine charges of PPP racism.  He left with a report that Guyana was seriously divided and there was merit to these charges.

Stop your dirty lies.  How can the PPP stop an international agency from hiring Greenidge??  Every man, woman, and child in the world knows that Greenidge and Burnham bankrupted Guyana.