Originally posted by asj:
FORGOTTEN BEAUTIES:

PARVEEN BABI

PARVEEN LAST DAYS:

She was found dead in her Mumbai apartment on 22 January 2005 after her residential society secretary alerted the police that she had not collected milk and newspapers from her doorstep for three days. The Police suspected that she might have died three days back, though the cause of her death was not immediately known. She was found to have gangrene of the foot as a complication of her diabetic condition. The police ruled out any foul play. Later it was said that the cause of death appeared to be complications from diabetes.

After her death, her body was taken to a Hospital, where it lay unclaimed till evening. Soon after, filmmakers Mahesh Bhatt and Ashok Pandit offered to perform the last rites if there was no claimant. Her burial was conducted according to Islamic rites and Babi was buried next to her mother at Santa Cruz, in Mumbai on 23 January 2005

Frown

INDEED A VERY SAD END FOR A BEAUTIFUL WOMAN: MAKES ME REMEMBER MEENA KUMARI

SOME TIME IN THE FUTURE I WILL DO AN INDEPTH THREAD ON PARVEEN BABI

can't believe it's her...god rest her soul.

but she was amazing in those movies with AB, SK etc n i had liked her a lot..feel realy sad for her at the end.
Asj...great topic...hey I liked her in Pyar Ka Mausam..Teesri Manzil n Kati Patang...great songs in those movies too..

i might not post too much but i still find some time to read

Hi IK, thanks for visiting and for your comments, always a pleasure having you on my various topics.

Asha Parekh was very good in her days, the movie Dil Deke Dekho catapulted her to fame, and was very successful at the time, also those that you have pointed out were really good as well.

After her death, her body was taken to a Hospital, where it lay unclaimed till evening. Soon after, filmmakers Mahesh Bhatt and Ashok Pandit offered to perform the last rites if there was no claimant. Her burial was conducted according to Islamic rites and Babi was buried next to her mother at Santa Cruz, in Mumbai on 23 January 2005

INDEED A VERY SAD END FOR A BEAUTIFUL WOMAN: MAKES ME REMEMBER MEENA KUMARI

SOME TIME IN THE FUTURE I WILL DO AN INDEPTH THREAD ON PARVEEN BABI

can't believe it's her...god rest her soul.

but she was amazing in those movies with AB, SK etc n i had liked her a lot..feel realy sad for her at the end.

Parveen Babi's last days were really sad, and if one were to delve into it, it would brings out the hankies. I am researching info on Parveen and in the near future, I am sure that a write up will gather the same attention as we did with Rekhaji and Zeenie Aman

FORGOTTEN BEAUTIES:

VYJAYANTHIMALA:

Vyjayanthimala Bali (born on 13 August 1936, in present day Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India) an Indian actress of the 1950s and '60s, who won a large number of awards for her acting and classical dancing achievements. Following her cinema career, she entered Indian politics, and became a Member of Parliament.

Born in Madras in a Tamil family; she did her schooling at Sacred Heart Church Park Convent, Chennai. She trained in Bharatnatyam, a South Indian genre of classical dancing.

At the age of 5, Vyjayanthimala got the rare chance of performing a dance before the Pope. At age 15, she got a break in AVM Productions Tamil movie, Vazhkai, which was directed by M. V. Raman, a family friend. The movie was a success, and was remade in Hindi as Bahaar (1951). She acted in a few more Tamil movies before moving on to a highly successful career in Hindi movies. Her dance competition with Padmini in the Tamil film, Vanjikottai Vaaliban, received much acclaim.

FORGOTTEN BEAUTIES:

VYJAYANTHIMALA:

Vyjayanthimala got her initial Hindi movie roles in Ladki and Nagin (1954). Hemant Kumar's music and her dance accompanying the song, Man Dole, Mera tan dole, in Nagin made the movie an enormous success, and the movie's success helped Vyjayanthimala break out of B grade movies. Bimal Roy cast her as Chandramukhi opposite Dilip Kumar in the critically acclaimed Devdas. She subsequently starred in four successful films opposite Dilip Kumar: Madhumati, Ganga Jamuna, Leader, and Naya Daur. The first two of those four roles earned her Filmfare Best Actress Awards. She also received a Filmfare nomination as Best Actress for portraying in Sadhna' a tawaif (a courtesan) who eventually got rehabilitated in the society. She costarred with Raj Kapoor in Sangam which earned her the Filmfare Best Actress Award. (She denied rumors of an affair with Raj Kapoor during the production of Sangam, saying that it was a publicity stunt by Kapoor to boost his image.

Vyjayanthimala starred in the 1966 historical epic, Amrapali, based on the life of the legendary Buddhist courtesan Amrapali. The movie was not a commercial success, and the commercial failure much disappointed her as she considered it the magnum opus of her career. Later, she said that she would like to see a remake of that movie, with Madhuri Dixit playing her role.

She costarred with Dev Anand in Jewel Thief, with Rajendra Kumar in Suraj, with Shammi Kapoor in Prince, and with Kishore Kumar in his inane yet zany comedies,including the blockbuster New Delhi. Vyjayanthimala's Tamil movies included Vanjikottai Valiban, Irumbuthirai, Then Nilavu, Vaazhkai, Penn, Parthiban Kanavu (old), and Baghdad Thirudan.

FORGOTTEN BEAUTIES:

VYJAYANTHIMALA:

Vyjayanthimala married Dr. Chamanlal Bali. After marriage, she terminated her acting career and moved to Chennai. She has a son, Suchindra Bali, by Dr. Bali. After she moved to Chennai, she entered politics as a member of the Lok Sabha (lower house). Later, she was nominated as a member of the Rajya Sabha (upper house). In 2007, she published her autobiography, titled Bonding, with Jyoti Sabarwal as co-writer.

FORGOTTEN BEAUTIES:

VYJAYANTHIMALA:

MOVIES OF VYJAYANTHIMALA:

Jeevitham (1949)
Nagin (1954)
Devdas (1955)
New Delhi (1956)
Aasha (1957)
Naya Daur (1957)
Madhumati (1958)
Paigham (1959)
Aas Ka Panchhi (1961)
Ganga Jamuna (1961)
Nazrana (1961)
Leader (1964)
Sangam (1964)
Zindagi (1964)
Amrapali (1966)
Suraj (1966)
Jewel Thief (1967)
Sunghursh (1968)
Duniya
Prince (1969)
Ganwaar (1970)
Prince (1969)

Where is Nutan and Tanuja?

Skellybhai, it is a work in progress, maybe later as time permits we will get to

Nutan and Tanuja, suffice to say that Nutan was one of the greatest actress with more Filmfare Awards than any other actress.

There are so many other actresses that we would have liked to include here, actresses like Nargis, Waheeda Rehman, Meena Kumari, and quite a few others, if time permits we will get back to this.

Originally Posted by asj:

did any body mention NUTAN 

Warrior,

Skelly did asked about Nutan, there is an answer to his Q, it is also interesting to note that Nutan was once Miss India.

Wow!What beauty. Thanks Asj.

hello you dummy don't watch my women

Dem really need fuh ketch yu baxside an trow yu in wan mad house in Canada.

Warrior,

Skelly did asked about Nutan, there is an answer to his Q, it is also interesting to note that Nutan was once Miss India.

you got that right professor now you know i was madly in love with that women

Warrior,

I didn't know that Nutan was more than one woman.

Warrior,

for a professor you do not know much she was all women

Warrior,

for a professor you do not know much she was all women

Can you write some sense? Or at least use a punctuation mark so that we can understand what you are really trying to say.

FORGOTTEN BEAUTIES: 

THE ACTRESS WHO CHARMED US WITH MANY BOX OFFICE HITS TO NAME A FEW: MILAN, KHANDAAN, MAIN TULSI TERE AANGAN KE: JUST COMES TO MIND

Nutan Khandan 1965

Nutan literally worships the ground beneath her husband’s feet in Khandan (1965).

There is a careful line to be drawn in classic Bollywood cinema between love for a man and all-out worship. The songs below represent that unfortunate relic of Bollywood songs that transformed the excitement and bliss of romantic love into something plain unhealthy. We all know the genre I refer to. The trouble is, the songs are so good on a purely artistic level that we can’t help but keep playing them over and over again. Most of them were smash hits at the time of their release and continue to keep a significant slice of Indian audiences captivated, despite shifting social norms.

It’s easy to oversimplify this phenomena by saying, “it’s cultural” or “that was the way of thinking back then.” Yes, in India as in many countries, many women were raised to believe their ultimate role was in service to their husband and the framework for sexuality revolutionized worldwide in the 60s and 70s. But you can’t let it go at that for any similar explanation undermines the contradictory evidence within Indian history and the inherent wrong of this mindset. I don’t care if you lived in the 17th century or were born yesterday, we can’t raise our daughters like this. India is a country famous for electing the first female Prime Minister, for revering the strength and wisdom of its many awe-inspiring female gods, and where women become IT specialists and make salaries equivalent to their male counterparts. But there’s an uglier side too, and hopefully today we all feel a collective awkwardness when reminded of it in that great reflection of culture: film.

You’ll notice that all the songs on our cringe-tastic list are Lata Mangeshkar (half of them Nutan) hits, and it’s no surprise. Of course, it would be the heroine, not the bad modern girl left with an Asha side number, that would sing the song of self-flagellistic devotion. It’s a bad sign that some of these lines were thought to be representative of the “ideal” woman or wife–have we really improved anything by turning women into half-naked screens sirens instead? You decide.

1. Tumhi Mere Mandir (Khandan 1965)

“Tumhi mere mandir, tumhi mere pujaa, tumhi devta ho.”

“You alone are my temple, you alone are my prayer, you alone are my God.”

2. Aap Ki Nazaroon Ne Samjha (Anpadh 1962)

“Aap ki nazaro.n ne samjha pyaar ke qaabil mujheâ€ĶKeh rahi hai har nazar, banda parwar shukriya.”

“Your glances deemed me worthy of your loveâ€Ķevery glance of mine says ‘Thank you, Lord.’”

3. Dheere Dheere Machal (Anupama 1966)

“Mujhko karne de! Karne de! Solah sringar! Koi aataa hai!”

Oh let me, let me, let me adorn myself and put on full-make up! He is coming”

FORGOTTEN BEAUTIES:  NUTAN:

Nutan Samarth Behl (4 June 1936 – 21 February 1991), better known as Nutan. She appeared in more than 70 Hindi films in a career spanning over four decades. Regarded as one of the finest female actors in the history of Hindi Cinema, Nutan was noted for playing unconventional parts, and her performances often received praise and accolades.

Nutan started her career at the age of 14 in the 1950 film Hamari Beti, directed by her mother Shobhna Samarth. She subsequently starred in such films as Nagina and Humlog (both 1951). Her role in Seema (1955) garnered her wider recognition and a Filmfare Award for Best Actress. She continued playing leading roles through the 1960s until the late 1970s and went on win the award on four other occasions for her roles in Sujata (1959), Bandini (1963), Milan (1967) and Main Tulsi Tere Aangan Ki (1978). Some of her other films of this period include Sone Ki Chidiya (1958), Anari (1959), Chhalia (1960), Tere Ghar ke Saamne (1963), Swaraswatichandra (1968), Anuraag (1972) and Saudagar (1973).

In the 1980s, Nutan started playing character roles and continued working until shortly before her death. She portrayed mostly motherly roles in such films as Saajan Ki Saheli (1981), Meri Jung (1985) and Naam (1986). Her performance in Meri Jung earned her asixth and last Filmfare Award, this time in the Best Supporting Actress category. Nutan holds the record of five wins of the Best Actress Award at Filmfare, which was held only by her for over 30 years until it was matched by her niece Kajol in 2011; she is overall the most-awarded actress in the female acting categories at Filmfare, with six awards alongside Jaya Bacchan. In 1974, she was awarded the Padma Shri by the Government of India.

Nutan was married to Rajnish Behl from 1959 till her death of cancer in 1991. Their son, Mohnish Behl is a character actor in Hindi films and television.

Pics : āŠœāŠŋāŠŊāŠūāŠĻāŦ€ āŠēāŦāŠđāŠūāŠŊāŠŪāŠūāŠ‚ āŠ­āŦāŠēāŠūāŠŊāŠūāŠ‚ āŠ† āŠœāŠūāŠœāŠ°āŠŪāŠūāŠĻ āŠ…āŠ­āŠŋāŠĻāŦ‡āŠĪāŦāŠ°āŦ€

Nutan: She is considered amongst the finest actors of Hindi cinema, and deservedly so. Her body of work includes gems like 'Sujata' (1959), 'Anari' (1959), 'Chhalia' (1960) 'Bandini' (1963), 'Milan' (1967) and  'Main Tulsi Tere Aangan Ki' (1978). Even while playing supporting characters in her later years, she made a mark, notably in 'Meri Jung' (1985), 'Naam' (1986) and 'Karma' (1986)

Actresses like Sadhana and Smita Patil noted Nutan as their influence. Sadhana was once quoted as saying, "If there was any actress I modelled myself in the lines of it was the versatile Nutan in Seema, Sujata and Bandini. Parakh was a film where I really followed Nutan." Filmmaker Sanjay Leela Bhansali said of her, "They don't make actresses like her anymore."