@cain posted:

Oh rant..did yall have any space for a house?

Countryside Cain …..we lived on a triple lot..n back half of land was our backyard ..we had cows n a cricket pitch ..

hear joke nah..d latrine was way down to the back..u had to run whn nature called n u in trubble if u  had belly wuk.

There was rice-field  behind us so there was a shallow drain separating our land from .,so we had plenty monkey apple trees ( know they flourish near water)

But we had small house..2 bedroom..8 pickney..parents had a bed  in the kitchen..

Lynn

Here u go Cain..( as kids we heard thisβ€¦β€™β€˜u want genip”…then U said β€˜yes’..then u heard β€˜skin yuh lips’ ..ah tell u , lang time pickney bin prappa bad) ..also we were told that if we swallowed the seed, it would grow in we belly!! I rem 1 slipped down my throat once n i cried so much because of this foolery.  After that, My mom made be crack the seeds before putting in my mouth ..as is aid..im  nt too fnd of this fruit

Medico cus bijugatus is a fruit-bearing tree in the soapberry family Sapindaceae, native or naturalized across the New World tropics including South and Central America, and parts of the Caribbean. Its stone-bearing fruits are edible. It is also called Bajan ackee, genip, guinep, genipe, ginepa, kenèp, quenepa, quenepe, quenette, chenet, skinup, talpa jocote, mamón, limoncillo, canepa, skinip, kenepa, kinnip, huaya, or mamoncillo.[2][3][

FruitEdit

Fruit

The fruit is a round drupe, approximately 2–4 cm (0.79–1.57 in) in diameter, with a thin, brittle, green peel. The bulk of the fruit is made up of the one (or, rarely, two) whitish seeds, which are surrounded by an edible, orange, juicy, gelatinous pulp. There are efforts in Puerto Rico and Florida to produce cultivars with a more favourable flesh-to-seed ratio.

When ripe, the fruits have a bittersweet, wine-like flavour and have mild laxative properties. They are extremely rich in iron and phosphorus. The seed, being slippery, is a potential choking hazard.

Fruits mature in the dry season or summer.

Lynn

I remember a fruit somewhat like awara with white flesh and a bit elongated, I think the seed was also elongated, so not good for playing marbles (three holes dug in to the ground). The skin would crack when bitten, I preferred that to awara.

Another thing I recently spoke about (not a fruit) was nuttin. That thing bad for days when you got a cavity.

@cain posted:

I remember a fruit somewhat like awara with white flesh and a bit elongated, I think the seed was also elongated, so not good for playing marbles (three holes dug in to the ground). The skin would crack when bitten, I preferred that to awara.

Another thing I recently spoke about (not a fruit) was nuttin. That thing bad for days when you got a cavity.

Kookkrit is what I knew that fruit as

Will look for nuttin at Charlie’s WI @ morning side and Shepard

W
@cain posted:

Cookrit..

nuttin was yummy!!
n nutcrush ( cookie i think)

Lynn

I doan remember nutcrush but it does sound quite...mmmmmm....painful.

Actually I do remember it. Once I had a bicycle with ladies frame and did a spring jump onto the saddle..well..I missed and landed in between. This was done in front of StMarys on brickdam while the girls were watching, I quickly hurried around the corner by the cakeshop and start rub it.

@cain posted:

I doan remember nutcrush but it does sound quite...mmmmmm....painful.

Actually I do remember it. Once I had a bicycle with ladies frame and did a spring jump onto the saddle..well..I missed and landed in between. This was done in front of StMarys on brickdam while the girls were watching, I quickly hurried around the corner by the cakeshop and start rub it.

Ahahahaaaa

o lordie

Lynn
The Stinking Toe fruit, otherwise known as the Locust fruit or JatobΓ‘, is the fruit of the West Indian Locust, the largest tree in the Caribbean. The fruit is contained within a large brown pod that is shaped somewhat like a toe. Stinking Toe fruit is roughly 3 to 5 inches in length, oblong and slightly kidney-shaped. The shell of the pod is very hard and is about 5 centimeters thick. An odor is released when the shell of the pod is broken; the smell is described as β€œoff-putting” and the recommendation is generally to avoid the aroma. Within the shell is a cream-colored, powdery flesh surrounding an average of 3 to 6 seeds. Each seed is individually covered with the flesh. The texture is very dense and dry and the flavor is sweet, like powdered sugar. Each of the seeds are the same general shape as the outer-shell, just much smaller and should be discarded.

Seasons/Availability

Stinking Toe fruit is available in the summer months.

Current Facts

Stinking Toe fruit is a tropical delicacy from the humid tropical rainforests of Central America. The fruit and the tree it grows on are botanically known as Hymenaea courbaril, and have a long history of being both medicinally and economically valuable to the indigenous people of tropical South and Central America. Though the fruit earned the nickname β€œStinking Toe” for its aroma and look, the fruit is known locally as Koubari or Courbaril in Creole, or Carao in Asia.

Nutritional Value

The bark, leaves and flowers of the West Indian Locust tree have been used by indigenous tribes in the South American, Brazilian, Peruvian, and Central American rainforest for thousands of years, specifically the Karaja Indians and the Creole of Guyana. It was first mentioned in Brazilian herbal medicine in the 1930s.

Applications

The Stinking Toe fruit requires a bit of force to open, such as a brick or a hammer. Generally, in the tropics, they are broken open with rocks against a hard surface. Once the pod is broken, the fruit can be removed. Consuming raw Stinking Toe fruit may require some water – the texture is very dry. The flesh can be grated over a sieve or strainer and the seed removed. This Stinking Toe fruit β€œflour” can be added to baked goods or smoothies. The nutritional and health benefits of Stinking Toe lend well to any bread, biscuit, or morning smoothie.

Ethnic/Cultural Info

Every part of the West Indian Locust tree has nutritional or medicinal benefits. The fruit themselves are very low in calories, and high in carbohydrates. They have been said to be an appetite enhancer, and an aphrodisiac. The smelly fruit is high in vitamin A and iron. Studies done on the flesh of the Stinking Toe fruit show that it has antimicrobial, antifungal and antibacterial properties.

Geography/History

The Hymenaea genus includes over two dozen species of tall trees in the rainforest. One of the tallest trees in the canopy, the Locust tree is not only a source of nutrition, but a source of economic benefits as well. In Brazil, the tree is known as Jatobazeiro. The wood from the tree is used for carpentry and the resin from the tree is used as a violin varnish. The large bell-shaped, white flowers of the West Indian Locust tree are pollinated by bats flying high in the rainforest canopy. The tree generally produces the pods after 8-12 years, so cultivation requires time. The fruits mature during the rainy season, and are ready to harvest once the rains have stopped. Gravity is generally the best way to harvest the pod from the trees. Outside of tropical Mexico, Central and South America, Stinking Toe trees grow in Jamaica and in some of the Caribbean islands. The trees are also grown by some rare and tropical fruit growers in Southern California.
Lynn
@Lynn posted:

Not really ! There were many big trees esp  the genip   N was there a jamoon in the yard where u guys went to wash yr muddy feet.. S’s home??

You know I does dream that house a lot but have no memory of the trees…I am still β€˜friends’ with those people  and the house is still theirs with lots of changes

that was the first bie to hold my hand

he used to hold my hand and help me on to the train as he was coming home from QC…after a while he stayed on the train then jumped off when train started to pick up speed

W

I was surprised when I saw tamarind(brown) in our Sobeys..in a yellow box. I will mention tennis rolls when next I see the owner. Maybe I will even make some and take it in for him to try. Yall remember years ago I made it and it came out so dam hard it could only be used as paper weights or for holding doors open? D2 made sure I never forgot it.heh heh.

A couple years ago they had cassava for the first time but it wasn't selling..weeks latet I notice they start to rot...couple weeks later they still sat on the shelf rotting away. I positioned them all with the rot showing..the following week I went in and they were gone.