The APNU+AFC government says it remains interested in having the estimated 365,000 Canadian based Guyanese return home and invest in Guyana.

Prime Minister and First Vice President Moses Nagamootoo made the announcement on Friday while meeting with the new High Commissioner of Canada to Guyana, Pierre Giroux.

“I am contemplating shortly to take a delegation to Canada to continue the relationship with the Diaspora and Canadian business groups, who would want to come to Guyana,” he said.

The meeting took place at the Office of the Prime Minister and it was labelled as a meeting between friends by Prime Minister Nagamootoo.

The Prime Minister and High Commissioner discussed strengthening bonds of friendship. “Our bonds and relationship with Canada, we hope will deepen as we help each other to overcome our difficulties… Canada has always been ready in the past, to render assistance to Guyana,” said Prime Minister Nagamootoo.

The Prime Minister thanked High Commissioner Giroux for Canada’s continued support for, and interest in the democratic process in Guyana, and also for its great interest in Guyana’s economy.

President David Granger recently returned from Canada where he reported that the Guyanese Diaspora in Canada have a great interest in what is happening back home.

The President and First Lady were in Toronto, Canada, for a three-day visit. He too used the occasion to repeat calls for Guyanese to return and invest their skills and capital to help move Guyana forward.

It was reported too that that President Granger entertained discussion regarding investment proposals, from a group of business persons, who are serious and optimistic about investing in Guyana’s Hinterland and other areas in the country.

Look people will not leave the COLD COLD Canada for the Warm and sunny Guyana.

That is life.

Reason 1.

CRIME.

Reason 2

GPL - Black outs.

Reason 3.

None of the State organisation works.

Originally Posted by ksazma:

PM Kakamotoo is promising yuji-no-moto big returns on his intended investments in Guyana.

Nothing short of a ponzi scheme

yuji-no-moto loves a ponzi scheme.

To be very honest, PNC has not created a stable business investment atmosphere and is sending mixed signals to investors. 

High crime rate is also scaring overseas Guyanese from even visiting.

To be very honest, PNC has not created a stable business investment atmosphere and is sending mixed signals to investors. 

High crime rate is also scaring overseas Guyanese from even visiting.

Two weekends ago on my short visit,plane was full.

First thing is there are not 300k Guyanese in Canada, even if one includes those who are Canadian born.

Secondly very few will return as they have lives and families in Guyana.

So Granger really needs to find something more innovative to talk about.

If they do return to Guyana, what will they do? Be pushed around by insecure twits who are jealous because they live "outside"?

Originally Posted by Django:
Originally Posted by Tola:

Me sellin tomorrow if me can get a house lot near me 'fiend' Jaggo at Prodo 2.

An excellent suggestion, but ....

You looking for protection..smart thinking bhai.

Me also want three transformers to keep me computa alive fa GNI...

First thing is there are not 300k Guyanese in Canada, even if one includes those who are Canadian born.

If they do return to Guyana, what will they do? Be pushed around by insecure twits who are jealous because they live "outside"?

Good point. Guyanese at home think we non-resident Guyanese want their jobs and positions when we offer help. I have heard and read of many such sad experiences. Some Guyanese say that when they travelled to Guyana, volunteered their services and professional advice, they had to put up with remarks like: "Wheh yuh bin all dis time? You cut and run and now yuh want come and rule awee." Sad.

Gil, dat is so true. We are seen as foreign invaders. 

The Jagdeo PPP created a trend in Guyana, that might take decades to reverse.

The people became selfish, even within their own families and see those returning to help them, as rich and could pay for anything.

Even as one person 'demanded', helping them build their large four bedroom house.

They don't trust each other and more so, they don't trust those wanting to help them build their lives.

If the new government is to reverse this trend, they need to work with grassroots groups.  

Bhai, you should see some of the nasty comments directed at non-resident Guyanese on Facebook. The usual attack is: "What do you know? You don't live in Guyana." It's as if we don't have a right even to comment.

In this high-technology age, we don't have to live in Guyana to know what goes on there. I for one read the Guyana news online every morning, and I'm in e-mail and messaging (Whatsapp and Google Hangouts) direct contact with friends and family back home regularly. Today, for instance, Khemraj Ramjattan and I exchanged e-mails on a political matter regarding Jagdeo.

Some of us non-resident Guyanese spend more time and interest in Guyanese affairs than we spend in the affairs of our adopted Canada or US or wherever.

Bhai, you should see some of the nasty comments directed at non-resident Guyanese on Facebook. The usual attack is: "What do you know? You don't live in Guyana." It's as if we don't have a right even to comment.

In this high-technology age, we don't have to live in Guyana to know what goes on there. I for one read the Guyana news online every morning, and I'm in e-mail and messaging (Whatsapp and Google Hangouts) direct contact with friends and family back home regularly. Today, for instance, Khemraj Ramjattan and I exchanged e-mails on a political matter regarding Jagdeo.

Some of us non-resident Guyanese spend more time and interest in Guyanese affairs than we spend in the affairs of our adopted Canada or US or wherever.

The reality is that we don't live in Guyana, so might have the facts, but not feel the reality of life in Guyana.

But that suggests a dialogue where we express our opinions, and they express theirs and we learn from each other.  Not living in Guyana, and being exposed to different societies we notice things that they don't because they take it for granted.  Like the abusive service standards, and complete absence of customer rights.

I wouldn't mind if they just ran us off, and had nothing to do with us.  But let some one die down there.  There will be no funeral until the overseas relatives arrive with the cash to pay for the funeral.  They would even want us to bring the coffin, if that was possible.

They cannot have it both ways!

Interesting fact that this is where BOTH races see eye to eye.  They don't like "been aways", and "come backees".

These attitudes aren't unique to Guyanese either.  Jamaicans are just as bad.  I suspect the same being also true on other Caribbean countries where the population is dependent on remittances. 

They love the cash in the hand, but resent the cash which is being given to them.  Maybe they think that it is an indication of failure on their part.

Today, for instance, Khemraj Ramjattan and I exchanged e-mails on a political matter regarding Jagdeo.

Was that classified stuff?

Kaz, yuh is a fass rass.

No. Not classified. I can tell you the theme: a Kaieteur News report on Jagdeo's preconditions for disclosing the source of his vast wealth. Don't ask me more, budday.

Wishful thinking. This government is so outrageous in their expectations. I can't see this happening with the heighten security issues out of control with an incompetent government in charge.

Today, for instance, Khemraj Ramjattan and I exchanged e-mails on a political matter regarding Jagdeo.

Was that classified stuff?

Kaz, yuh is a fass rass.

No. Not classified. I can tell you the theme: a Kaieteur News report on Jagdeo's preconditions for disclosing the source of his vast wealth. Don't ask me more, budday.

aarite bai. just mekkin sure Ramjattan stay on the straight and narrow.

My experience is, these government doan ever take investments very serious. If it is mining and foreign owned, dey climbing all over the investor. 

I am surprised at Granger, he says all the right things, but he does not know how or what to do about Foreign Based Guyanese investments.

Kakamootoo's daughters are living in OHIO.  Let them take the first step. 

Really ?

If so, Judas KaKaMotoo's children should make the first step.

Originally Posted by Billy Ram Balgobin:

Buxton and Agricola are ripe for investment. 

That's right, Billy. Jobs must be created in Buxton and Agricola to get youths off the street and to reduce crime.

We have a lot more information about Guyana and Guyanese politicians than a typical local Guyanese. GNI is a clear example of that.

Granger already appealed to the blacks in Brooklyn  and no one answered.

How can anyone forget how Burnham and the PNC robbed them.  kakamotoo wants Indians whom he hate to shower their money on Guyana so that he can fill his pockets. 

The PNC wants the Indo milking cows. Their Brooklyn PNC supporters have ZERO disposable income after paying their rent.

Reality is kicking for the PNC. 

The PNC wants the Indo milking cows. Their Brooklyn PNC supporters have ZERO disposable income after paying their rent.

Karibj and his brothers will soon travel to ST. Vincent to cut grass.

noting that "Karibj" is far far more educated than u [i mean, not that that's saying much]

where do you plan to go cut grass?

Allyuh rass happy. Allyuh run down black people as if they're worthless. What you should recognize is that generally, Afro-Guyanese aren't enthused about business as Indos. They have traditionally sought employment in the public service, teaching, nursing, law, mining, the disciplined forces, etc.

Some Afros will argue justifiably that they weren't allowed to operate on a level playing field as Indos.

When slavery ended, Afros were on their own, having to pool their coins together to buy land. Indo indentured servants were each given 5 acres land free of cost when their contracts ended. That's not fair.

The reality is that we don't live in Guyana, so might have the facts, but not feel the reality of life in Guyana.

But that suggests a dialogue where we express our opinions, and they express theirs and we learn from each other.  Not living in Guyana, and being exposed to different societies we notice things that they don't because they take it for granted.  Like the abusive service standards, and complete absence of customer rights.

I wouldn't mind if they just ran us off, and had nothing to do with us.  But let some one die down there.  There will be no funeral until the overseas relatives arrive with the cash to pay for the funeral.  They would even want us to bring the coffin, if that was possible.

Interesting fact that this is where BOTH races see eye to eye.  They don't like "been aways", and "come backees".

Today, for instance, Khemraj Ramjattan and I exchanged e-mails on a political matter regarding Jagdeo.    So you are a paid informant.Mouth open story jump out!!!!

Allyuh rass happy. Allyuh run down black people as if they're worthless. What you should recognize is that generally, Afro-Guyanese aren't enthused about business as Indos. They have traditionally sought employment in the public service, teaching, nursing, law, mining, the disciplined forces, etc.

Some Afros will argue justifiably that they weren't allowed to operate on a level playing field as Indos.

When slavery ended, Afros were on their own, having to pool their coins together to buy land. Indo indentured servants were each given 5 acres land free of cost when their contracts ended. That's not fair.

also the skilled trades Mechanic,Carpenter,Mason, Welders etc

Originally Posted by kp:

Today, for instance, Khemraj Ramjattan and I exchanged e-mails on a political matter regarding Jagdeo.    So you are a paid informant.Mouth open story jump out!!!!

kp, get one thing straight. Khemraj Ramjattan is my friend for nearly 30 years. I read something yesterday in KN about him and Jagdeo and I emailed him. I have never been paid to do political work, not by the PPP or the AFC which I support now. Do you get paid to do PPP work?