Minister Holder during the meeting with IDB team

(Ministry of Agriculture- April 21, 2016) - Agriculture Minister Noel Holder is currently engaged in a series of meetings with representatives of the Inter-American Development Bank (IDB) to venture into establishing an all-weather road from Guyana to Brazil.

During one of the meetings, Minister Holder pointed to the tremendous potential the country possesses, but is limited by access to markets.

β€œGuyana is the bread basket of the Caribbean, but the problem of getting our commodities out of Guyana is a major issue,” Minister Holder stated.

Mr. Peter Cardebring, an economist from HPC Hamburg Port Consulting GmbH, pointed to some of the direct and indirect effects such a project poses to businesses.  Such a road would be critical for both parties opening up tremendous trade relations.  With the completion of the road project, new markets will be established, in addition to expanding existing ones.  

Also present at the meeting was the General Manager for the Guyana Marketing Corporation, Ms Ida Sealey. She disclosed that, in terms of agro-processing, the road would be a tremendous game changer since packaging material can be sourced from Brazil to further develop the agro-processing industry.

The team consisted of Ms. Sophie Makonnen, the country Representative for IDB, Peter Cardebring and Mr. Timothy McIntosh from Technical Expertise Durable Solutions. They are expected to continue consultations with the Ministers of Finance, Business and Public Infrastructure over the next month.

alena06 posted:

Feeding off of the PPP's ideas again - no brainers.

Do not be stupid. If you have to enter a house you have only a few critical paths...through the window or the doors unless you are an ass and want to go through the walls. If you are developing a country there are also similar critical paths, transportation systems, communications infrastructure and power accessibility as necessary infrastructure.

It is a no brainier because we not only have to connect our largest unexploited region but we need to connect with the economic power base of South America and connect to the trans American highway system. That is not about PPP imagination but a dream existing as long as there were people trying to penetrate into the interior.

There are already numerous trails to the coast made by native peoples exceeding the time since the colonials were here. The existing road system did not emerge where it is because the PPP were smart to create it. It was along cattle trails dating to colonial times.

Danyael posted:

I wish they build a rail line first or in conjunction with a road

Your PNC boys shyte up the first railway built on the continent of South America.  Go tell them to build it ra$$ back!!!

Voicing sound opinions does not hinge on commenting on historical errors. It is on detailing the best strategy for the future with optimism and sound principles to engender the will to make it happen. You ramble on burnham if you feel so inclined.

BTW why are they "my PNC boys"? You nit wits need to focus on liberating your own minds so you can think progressively and independently in expressing your concern and love for country. It is not in the hands of the PPP or the PNC. It is in the hands of men and women  motivating people with truths and best means to ends schema for success. Love for country does not know party

Danyael posted:

Your PNC boys shyte up the first railway built on the continent of South America.  Go tell them to build it ra$$ back!!!

Quote Danyael : BTW why are they "my PNC boys"? You nit wits need to focus on liberating your own minds so you can think progressively and independently in expressing your concern and love for country. It is not in the hands of the PPP or the PNC. It is in the hands of men and women  motivating people with truths and best means to ends schema for success. Love for country does not know party

BB haul yuh ass and tell us how PPP is a Minority party in Guyana.

Today the very worst PNC Thugs & Riggers are part of PPP Leadership.....Remind us how that happen?

Looks like another pipe dream under the PNC. Also to CaribJ, Jagdeo never blocked any such proposal, it was the PNC/AFC with the blocking oft the hydro project. You need to cease the lies.  In fact Brazil commits to paving the Lethem to Linden road every few years but never does anything.

Brazil recommits to Lethem Road

-hydro, port still on agenda

By

Brazilian officials have reiterated the political commitment of Brasilia to proposed infrastructure projects here including the hydropower project in the Mazaruni and the Linden-Lethem road.

Over the past two days, the Guyana-Brazil Joint Commission on Infra-structure Projects met at the Guyana International Conference Centre and discussions centred around the progress relating to the Mazaruni hydropower project and the Linden-Lethem road, the Ministry of Foreign Affairs said in a statement.

Critics have said that Guyana has moved slowly on these projects, several of which have been seriously on the agenda for the last 20 years.

Brazil recommits to paving Linden-Lethem road, hydro power projects

JUNE 26, 2015 | BY | FILED UNDER NEWS 

Several areas of cooperation were discussed when Brazilian Ambassador Lineu Pupo de Paula paid a courtesy call Wednesday on First Vice President and Prime Minister, Moses Nagamootoo, at his temporary office,

Prime Minister Moses Nagamootoo and Brazilian Ambassador Pupo de Paula addressing the media.

at the Ministry of Presidency, Shiv Chanderpaul Drive.
The two sought to renew and strengthen their countries’ relationship with several areas of possible collaboration discussed, a Government statement said.
According to Ambassador de Paula, the two countries share a number of common interests, and this made the discussions even more fruitful.

Looks like another pipe dream under the PNC. .

Druggie the PNC didn't stop any Brazilians ideas on the hydro.  They stopped Amaila, which didn't involve the Brazilians.  This because the PPP picked up a market vendor, and gave him $5 million, no doubt so that they could steal some of it.

Brazil offered to build a road FREE. In fact Jagdeo dragged their feet even with the Takutu bridge, and Brazil decided to procede nonetheless.

More examples of PPP incompetence, as we see opportunities squandered in an era when Brazil had loads of cash.

alena06 posted:

And yet even though Brazil offered to build the road, at no cost to Guyana, the PPP didn't build it.

So was it really a PPP idea?

Stop being so adolescent!  Brazil would build a road for Guyana at NO costs.  Give be a break.  If the PPP had done that, all you PNCites would be up in arms over the "integrity" of the deal and what was compromised. Sometimes I think you talk just to hear yourself!

That road has been on the card all my life and under both administrations!

Brazil offered to build a road FREE. In fact Jagdeo dragged their feet even with the Takutu bridge, and Brazil decided to procede nonetheless.

More examples of PPP incompetence, as we see opportunities squandered in an era when Brazil had loads of cash.

Anytime something looks too good to be true, it is too good to be true!  Hey, alyuh PNC took nuff nuff "freeness" back in the day just to later find out that the "givers" waiting for their payback!  Just ask the Libyans, for one!

PNC = Partying and freeness, yesterday and today!!

ba$eman posted:
alena06 posted:

And yet even though Brazil offered to build the road, at no cost to Guyana, the PPP didn't build it.

So was it really a PPP idea?

Stop being so adolescent!  Brazil would build a road for Guyana at NO costs.  Give be a break.  !

In that era Brazil was looking to develop their border regions.  Their Roraima state is landlocked, and views Guyana as a solution to the problem. 

Obviously there would have been import duty and other concessions waived on products bound to Boa Vista, but given that the all weather road would have opened up a decent part of Guyana, it would have been well worth.

In addition Brazilians also showed interest in Guysuco in times past.   No longer interested.

Now go and worship that evil scoundrel called Baby Kong (Jagdeo), the true disciple of King Kong (Burnham).

Druggie the PNC didn't stop any Brazilians ideas on the hydro.  They stopped Amaila, which didn't involve the Brazilians.  This because the PPP picked up a market vendor, and gave him $5 million, no doubt so that they could steal some of it.

Presently, Brazil has it's share of problems of fraud and corruption. The country is in recession, many of the sites for the summer games are incomplete and the Zika virus is spreading rapidly. Lots of Brazilians are working in Guyana illegally . So let's shoot straight, What's in it for Brazil???

Brazil has been broke since the coalition came into power, so the offers that Brazil had, and that Jagdeo spurned, are no longer on the table!

SO WHY WOULD BRAZIL OFFER TO BUILD ROAD FOR FREE.

Brazil has been broke since the coalition came into power, so the offers that Brazil had, and that Jagdeo spurned, are no longer on the table!

SO WHY WOULD BRAZIL OFFER TO BUILD ROAD FOR FREE.

Brazil's North Western states, especially Roraima, would have easier access to the Atlantic for shipping goods. At one time there were discussions related to building the Lethem - Linden road and a deep water port in Guyana.

They built the Takutu Bridge linking Bonfim and Lethem for free as a part of the overall project.

Danyael posted:
alena06 posted:

Do not be stupid. If you have to enter a house you have only a few critical paths...through the window or the doors unless you are an ass and want to go through the walls. If you are developing a country there are also similar critical paths, transportation systems, communications infrastructure and power accessibility as necessary infrastructure.

It is a no brainier because we not only have to connect our largest unexploited region but we need to connect with the economic power base of South America and connect to the trans American highway system. That is not about PPP imagination but a dream existing as long as there were people trying to penetrate into the interior.

There are already numerous trails to the coast made by native peoples exceeding the time since the colonials were here. The existing road system did not emerge where it is because the PPP were smart to create it. It was along cattle trails dating to colonial times.

As far as I know the cattle was through Berbice and not on the current road now being used. In fact as a lad in high school several,friends and i spent part of the summer using the trail to get to lethem.

Z

We have enough problems constructing new Infrastructure and maintaining our current infrastructure. Yes, it is important as a way to accessing the Brazilian market, allowing access by part of the Brazilian hinterland to ports and international markets,  and import of raw some materials that we might not have. However, this leaves us open to competition in the area of manufactured goods. The example that ms Sealey used about increasing access to packaging is a prime example. There is Carribean Containers here. We will continue to  hinder the development of a industrial' multi-sectoral economy. (Yes, I know that some will argue that service  bases and IT based are more important but recent research is starting to question that)

Z
Kari posted:

Wasn't some kinda road to have been built since I was in high school? Rass so much Brazil-Guyana road talk in a couple of generations.

You are correct since my teenage years that road was to be built,the construction of that road will open a lot of future economic possibilities for Guyana.

Django, please define those future economic possibilities, both negative and positive for the immediate future, the intermediate and for the distant future. 

Z
Danyael posted:

I certainly agree with you about this. But, for us to benefit, Guyana has to think of how it will integrate this with other transportation infrastructure and economic imperatives of developing a multi-sectoral economy.  If not, it increases our dependence.

Z
Zed posted:
Kari posted:

Wasn't some kinda road to have been built since I was in high school? Rass so much Brazil-Guyana road talk in a couple of generations.

You are correct since my teenage years that road was to be built,the construction of that road will open a lot of future economic possibilities for Guyana.

Django, please define those future economic possibilities, both negative and positive for the immediate future, the intermediate and for the distant future. 

Look what kinda hard hard question you gone and ask Django now.  The man will have to get some Advil near to him.

Jalil posted:
Danyael posted:

Quote Danyael : BTW why are they "my PNC boys"? You nit wits need to focus on liberating your own minds so you can think progressively and independently in expressing your concern and love for country. It is not in the hands of the PPP or the PNC. It is in the hands of men and women  motivating people with truths and best means to ends schema for success. Love for country does not know party

Today the very worst PNC Thugs & Riggers are part of PPP Leadership.....Remind us how that happen?

Jalil, contribute something on the topic instead of singing your old song which did not even make it to the charts.

Z
Zed posted:
Jalil posted:
Danyael posted:

Jalil, contribute something on the topic instead of singing your old song which did not even make it to the charts.

Don't say that!  I recommend him for a grammy award.  There is a fine line between madness and genius!!!  Sing you song Jalil.  If you need musical instruments to accompany you, please call on Cain and Stormy!!

Presently, Brazil has it's share of problems of fraud and corruption. The country is in recession, many of the sites for the summer games are incomplete and the Zika virus is spreading rapidly. Lots of Brazilians are working in Guyana illegally . So let's shoot straight, What's in it for Brazil???

And when Brazil offered to build an all weather road from Lethem, and a deep water port, this wasn't the case.

An opportunity squandered by Jagdeo, who now can find nothing better to do than scream "blackman a starve ahbe".

Danyael posted:

Voicing sound opinions does not hinge on commenting on historical errors. It is on detailing the best strategy for the future with optimism and sound principles to engender the will to make it happen. You ramble on burnham if you feel so inclined.

BTW why are they "my PNC boys"? You nit wits need to focus on liberating your own minds so you can think progressively and independently in expressing your concern and love for country. It is not in the hands of the PPP or the PNC. It is in the hands of men and women  motivating people with truths and best means to ends schema for success. Love for country does not know party

Voicing opinion cannot be disassociated or unhinged with historical facts if it is to be sound. To do so often result in BS.

This talk about optimism and sound principles, motivating people with truths and best means are all subjective, just words they teach  in leadership courses. The  real meanings happen when the rubber hits the road. 

Z
Zed posted:

Now Guyana has to spend its own money for this road.

Thanks to Jagdeo incompetence and greed Brazil wasn't allowed to build it as promised.

Please tell us how Jagdeo  prevented the road from being built. Please give specifics, not rhetoric and generalities. 

Brazil offered, and offered, and offered.  Guyana said nothing.

At the time Brazil saw developing improved infrastructure in Guyana as integral to Roraima state being developed.  They even suggested that Linden could be developed as a transport/packaging/manufacturing hub.

So why don't you tell me why Jagdeo refused to move forward on anything to do with Brazil?  It isn't even as if he actually had to find the money.