Gill,I remembered the logies visiting Leonora,one was placed "as a rememberance" in Leonora compound  where the colonial manager lived,everytime i passed by there i wished i could live that high life with their nice houses sport courts,bar and pool,i would say to my self this son of a sugar plantation worker  will be rich one day to enjoy such a life,and so it happened.

I had a drink at the bar in that Compound a few years after the Colonials left,oh boy i felt elated.

South of Uitvlugt Estate Junior Staff Compound there were logies up to 1960. My father's sister [puwa], her husband and children lived in one. In 1957 and 1958 my mother sent me there to spend school vacations with my cousins. The road from the Junior Staff Sports Club near the side-line dam led to the logies. There was a small school named Kelowna Canadian Mission School. One evening a 5-feet-long alligator crawled out of a trench [called thakoorbari] in front of Sugrim's shop and Sugrim shot it dead in the head. After 1960 the logie residents dispersed to Uitvlugt Pasture, Ocean View, De Willem etc.

Cobra posted:

Folks, the PPP stand besides the working class and the poor and against wasteful spending. Say NO to $300 million dollars on a one night quickie. 

It's your patriotic duty to have a conscience for your people and country. 

Cobra, have some decency. You have your own protest thread against the Golden Jubilee. I DID NOT interfere with your protest thread. 

Cobra posted:

Folks, the PPP stand besides the working class and the poor and against wasteful spending. Say NO to $300 million dollars on a one night quickie. 

It's your patriotic duty to have a conscience for your people and country. 

Cobra, have some decency. You have your own protest thread against the Golden Jubilee. I DID NOT interfere with your protest thread. 

This is not personal, sir. My protest thread received responses from both sides of the isle. No one owns a thread on GNI. Am I not supposed to make comment on your thread?  

Gill,I remembered the logies visiting Leonora,one was placed "as a rememberance" in Leonora compound  where the colonial manager lived,everytime i passed by there i wished i could live that high life with their nice houses sport courts,bar and pool,i would say to my self this son of a sugar plantation worker  will be rich one day to enjoy such a life,and so it happened.

I had a drink at the bar in that Compound a few years after the Colonials left,oh boy i felt elated.

South of Uitvlugt Estate Junior Staff Compound there were logies up to 1960. My father's sister [puwa], her husband and children lived in one. In 1957 and 1958 my mother sent me there to spend school vacations with my cousins. The road from the Junior Staff Sports Club near the side-line dam led to the logies. There was a small school named Kelowna Canadian Mission School. One evening a 5-feet-long alligator crawled out of a trench [called thakoorbari] in front of Sugrim's shop and Sugrim shot it dead in the head. After 1960 the logie residents dispersed to Uitvlugt Pasture, Ocean View, De Willem etc.

Gill ,that's a long time, I attended Kelowna school and lived in both junior and senior staff compound, then finally Ocean View. The area where the logies were located ,was divided in sections known as,"Letter A. Letter B" . The Hindu temple was close to the school with a big Pipar Tree and the trench fill with Puri Leaf water lilly. the pundit name was Bachew Pundit, I know him as "Persad Nana"

Tola,bhai experience in life is always in our memory,i say a little more about the drink at the bar.After i finished school i could have gotten a teaching gob,did not want that or any government gob.So i went to GT,stayed at one my cousin,worked at at my aunt wholesale grocery store,and other jobs.My cousin left GT so i went back home and worked in the Sugar Industry as a field worker,i kinda don't like bosses over my head,i became a GAWU representative for the casual gang,i was with the negotiating team to meet the manager for settling a price dispute.

Any way after a few years i quit Sugar Industry gob and with the guidance of a good friend,i studied Electronics a job i loved and was good at it,the same manager i met when i was the GAWU rep,sent his driver requesting me to fix his VCR he remembered me after a little chat, after finishing the gob and got paid,he said ok let go have a drink that is how i was able to sit at the same counter where the white masters sit,as i said i felt elated.

Django, bhai good memories  about how our lives and career evolved. My wireless communication career was influenced when a female military pen-friend in England,  sent me  a 1965 wireless diary. I was already into communications at Albion and was fascinated to work on a ship as radio officer to see the world, which I did. This is a book by itself, include miss being shot by  a policeman at Zagreb airport, on my way to see my drinking buddies in London.   

A friend in  NY yesterday sent me a link to some 1960 songs,  that triggered me writing three page stories about the memories and adventures during  our teenage years at Albion. Some real funny stuff, that I might post.  After being shot accidentally on the left arm by my friend.  I am still trying to figure why a young female nurse in hospital took my body temperature in my crotch area. As a teenager with many sexual fantasies, this was utter torture.  

During my restrictive years  from  the managers compound, a British soldier  that I knew thru working at Albion, took me for a beer one evening to the  senior staff club. Other than the barman, I was the only other coloured person present, with many stares by  the managers, but no one asked me to leave.

The soldier father was German and mother British. He was a young guy they called Little Hitler. He once asked me about hookers at Rose hall Town, close to where they were staying at Port Mourant.  At that time I knew they were called whore-houses. My friends went, but I was too chicken. They once encouraged me to go with a seven month pregnant hooker, because the price was right, but it looked like she did not have bath for a week. Picky guy !!

After he left Guyana, I wrote him in England about his experience at Rose Hall with the whore-house and his mother replied  saying ' For your information, THEY ARE CALLED BROTHELS'.

I never heard from him again, but I took a few photos of him that I might publish in the upcoming book, while telling stories of my interaction with British soldiers in the 60s.

I read that you might have lived at a place on the WCD, where there was an old Catholic church, replace in the 60s with a new one. It might have been close or across the public road from your place. I know that place well and have quite a few photographs of the sea wall in that area, taken in the 60s.         

Gill ,that's a long time, I attended Kelowna school and lived in both junior and senior staff compound, then finally Ocean View. The area where the logies were located ,was divided in sections known as,"Letter A. Letter B" . The Hindu temple was close to the school with a big Pipar Tree and the trench fill with Puri Leaf water lilly. the pundit name was Bachew Pundit, I know him as "Persad Nana"

I remember him as Bachow Pandit. He later lived at Uitvlugt Railway Line.

Gil and kp, you might know that a Canadian town in British Columbia is called Kelowna. I wrote about attending Albion Canadian Presbyterian Mission school and searched their archives in Toronto. Regarding the challenges by plantation managers wanting to close the schools, because they did not want educated children.

Do you know if this school is linked with Kelowna, British Columbia and whether the mission was Presbyterian ?    

Tola posted:

Gil and kp, you might know that a Canadian town in British Columbia is called Kelowna. I wrote about attending Albion Canadian Presbyterian Mission school and searched their archives in Toronto. Regarding the challenges by plantation managers wanting to close the schools, because they did not want educated children.

Do you know if this school is linked with Kelowna, British Columbia and whether the mission was Presbyterian ?    

Tola, that little school was indeed named after Kelowna, BC. The Canadian Mission schools in BG were set up by missionaries from Kelowna British Columbia.

That is true.one of his son in law was my hire car driver named Paulo.

Tola posted:

Closing schools was another part of history,they didn't want the children to be educated,labor supply bhai.

I never heard my grandfather(nanaa) born in 1893 spoke a word in English.

kp..Paulo is he the dark skin guy live in the street before the train line,me thinks they called him Paul.

Yes Django....I have  photos of the old church  and part of my teenage story is about that area.

If you think that stuff is funny, wait till I post the teenage years story.  Six guys had a wonderful time, entertaining each other. I am still trying to understand how we survived all the risky stuff, but we had fun.

Unfortunately, two are buried in Virginia and New York, while others live in London, NY, Toronto and myself. I don't see them often enough and most have health issues, but the memories are still strong. We laugh  a lot on the phone and cry sometimes, because too many people we know are no longer around.      

kp..Paulo is he the dark skin guy live in the street before the train line,me thinks they called him Paul.

He is the same person. Always keeps a clean Toyota car.He later hook up with one of his passing who was a nurse.

I mean passinger 

Know him well good guy,i used to repair that car stereo his daughter married my friend one of the Hardowar's from Vreed-en-hoop,they live in Canada.

Tola posted:

Closing schools was another part of history,they didn't want the children to be educated,labor supply bhai.

I never heard my grandfather(nanaa) born in 1893 spoke a word in English.

Sometimes I wish I were a little bit older, so I could have recorded the older people's stories.

I do so now, but not many are around any more. I am being given a trip to India later this year, for video recording and photographing a Punjabi/Hindu wedding at short notice, for those unable to attend from India. I hope to learn more about my family background.   

I do  lot of documentation, including stories in time capsules about my family's  history. I am the first to arrive in Canada from my family and our children are intermarrying into Celtic and Russian backgrounds.

I believe its important to document our Guyanese family history for their future generations. As our ancestors went from India to Guyana, many of us made similar moves to other countries and our children might have little knowledge about our life in Guyana, unless we record it.          

Tola posted:

Yes Django....I have  photos of the old church  and part of my teenage story is about that area.

If you think that stuff is funny, wait till I post the teenage years story.  Six guys had a wonderful time, entertaining each other. I am still trying to understand how we survived all the risky stuff, but we had fun.

Unfortunately, two are buried in Virginia and New York, while others live in London, NY, Toronto and myself. I don't see them often enough and most have health issues, but the memories are still strong. We laugh  a lot on the phone and cry sometimes, because too many people we know are no longer around.      

Did you had drinks at the Portuguese rum shop,the owner made his own blend.

I mean passinger 

Know him well good guy,i used to repair that car stereo his daughter married my friend one of the Hardowar's from Vreed-en-hoop,they live in Canada.

Django, was the late Hardowar in Vreed-en-hoop a  guy from NY, who returned in 1992 and started a store. He was also with NACCIE. Originally from Skeldon, who also worked at Albion office ? 

Tola posted:

Django, was the late Hardowar in Vreed-en-hoop a  guy from NY, who returned in 1992 and started a store. He was also with NACCIE. Originally from Skeldon, who also worked at Albion office ? 

No they are older folks long time ago,they had shop and trucks,me thinks they had an uncle from Number 42 Courentyne Berbice,we went to a wedding and stayed there the weekend around the 80's.

Tola posted:

Tola, that little school was indeed named after Kelowna, BC. The Canadian Mission schools in BG were set up by missionaries from Kelowna British Columbia.

Thanks Gil, I am interested in the Canadian Presbyterian mission in GY and will follow up on this information.

To be honest I never cared whether or not celebrations were held because I saw a country go from beautiful to ugly then for a short time it seemed to pick up suddenly it took a dive during the previous Govt. This is the first time I would actually acknowledge the celebration because I have a positive feeling Guyana could be finally taking a turn for the better.

Tola posted:

Thanks Gil, I am interested in the Canadian Presbyterian mission in GY and will follow up on this information.

Tola, yuh know da bai Wikipedia? He tell me dis:

"The Guyana Presbyterian Church was a fruit of the Presbyterian Church in Canada. In 1880 Rev. John Morton a Canadian missionary from Trinidad and Tobago visited British Guyana and recommended to start mission outpost there. The Canadian Presbyterian Church sent Rev. John Gibson to work in Demerara County. The first congregation was the Burns Memorial Presbyterian Church in 1885 to serve the Indian population in Georgetown, Guyana.[1] After his death Rev J. B. Cropper took over the mission in 1895, he spoke fluent Hindi and worked among the Indians in the plantations. Until 1945 the church worked among Indians. Schools and churches were established. A presbytery was formed in 1945 as the Canadian Presbyterian Church in British Guyana. In 1961 the name changed to Guyana Presbyterian Church. It adheres to the Apostles Creed, Nicene Creed and the Westminster Confession of Faith. It had 2,500 members in 44 congregations and 44 house fellowships."

NOTE: Rev John Gibson was a graduate of Knox College, Toronto. There was a Knox Presbyterian Church in Kelowna BC.

antabanta posted:

Can you folks who are energized to celebrate the 50th tell us the accomplishments ever since being liberated from British rule?  Do people even realize that this is what is being celebrated? 

Liberation from British rule or any rule is an accomplishment unto itself.

The Indians of Guyana traded White colonial rule for Black apartheid rule.  Fair trade, what you think!!!!

Tola posted:

Tola, yuh know da bai Wikipedia? He tell me dis:

"The Guyana Presbyterian Church was a fruit of the Presbyterian Church in Canada. In 1880 Rev. John Morton a Canadian missionary from Trinidad and Tobago visited British Guyana and recommended to start mission outpost there. The Canadian Presbyterian Church sent Rev. John Gibson to work in Demerara County. The first congregation was the Burns Memorial Presbyterian Church in 1885 to serve the Indian population in Georgetown, Guyana.[1] After his death Rev J. B. Cropper took over the mission in 1895, he spoke fluent Hindi and worked among the Indians in the plantations. Until 1945 the church worked among Indians. Schools and churches were established. A presbytery was formed in 1945 as the Canadian Presbyterian Church in British Guyana. In 1961 the name changed to Guyana Presbyterian Church. It adheres to the Apostles Creed, Nicene Creed and the Westminster Confession of Faith. It had 2,500 members in 44 congregations and 44 house fellowships."

NOTE: Rev John Gibson was a graduate of Knox College, Toronto. There was a Knox Presbyterian Church in Kelowna BC.

Thanks Gil.  De bai Wikipedia got he own schedule, while I was entertaining someone betta looking dan........   Me priority was in de right place, or I was going to spend some lonesome days.

Knox college on the U of T campus is their archives. I once spent a week going through files, while attending the Indo-Caribbean conference at York. I was looking for photographs  and found some interesting information regarding challenges, to keep the schools open.  

Cropper primary school still exist at Albion Front and me have to check with me Kelowna contact.  I was going to say Calgary contact, but Cain might get jealous.       

alena06 posted:

For those of you going for the Celebrations, best of luck and hope you come back alive

For those looking for a safe, fun vacation - it's only US$650.00 for an airline ticket and hotel stay for 5 days at the Marriott in Port of Spain

Nice post Alena.

Add the risk of the Zika Virus and the escalation of violent crimes in Guyana and you get the big picture.

alena06 posted:

For those of you going for the Celebrations, best of luck and hope you come back alive

For those looking for a safe, fun vacation - it's only US$650.00 for an airline ticket and hotel stay for 5 days at the Marriott in Port of Spain

Nice post Alena.

Add the risk of the Zika Virus and the escalation of violent crimes in Guyana and you get the big picture.

Alena knows how to pour cold water on a hot celebration!!  She must be a spoil-sport!!

baseman posted:
alena06 posted:

Nice post Alena.

Alena knows how to pour cold water on a hot celebration!!  She must be a spoil-sport!!

Guyana kinda sport does really spoil folks   You know us Guyanese have to 'sport' to showoff all we accomplished since Independence. lol 

alena06 posted:
baseman posted:
alena06 posted:

Nice post Alena.

Guyana kinda sport does really spoil folks   You know us Guyanese have to 'sport' to showoff all we accomplished since Independence. lol 

All the PNC has to show is Cuffy (nothing wrong with Cuffy) and if one looks at that Cuffy's statue from an angle, you can get the big of picture what the PNC part two is about to give Guyanese twice.

alena06 posted:
baseman posted:

Nice post Alena.

Nuff, we did so well educating people that they populate every country except Guyana.  And BTW, thanks for the TT tip, I might go with my special one!!