Hughes: Sentence for PM’s son vacated with magistrate’s firing

Feb 20, 2015
0 2

Just posted on Nigel Hughes’ FB page re the firing today of Magistrate Geeta Chandan Edmund, the consequence of which is that Sam Hinds Jr who was found guilty of wounding will have to be retried.

“Press Release.
On the 16th day of January 2014 Magistrate Geeta Chandan Edmund was written to by the Judicial Service Commission in relation to the following allegations
Absence from a Magistrate’s Association meeting to discuss the Sexual Offenses Act
Medical leave for two days between the 5th and 7th June 2013
Absence for sick leave.
Failure to report absence of work to the Chancellor.
Inability to deliver 19 decisions
Failure to respond to queries from the Chief Magistrate.
Departure from Guyana on the 20th day of January 2013 without approval.
There was no allegation of misconduct leveled against Ms Chandan Edmund.
There was no hearing or any invitation to any hearing on the allegations for the entire year of 2014.
Samuel Hinds Junior was charged with a serious criminal offense of unlawful wounding on the 3rd March 2014.
Magistrate Geeta Chandan Edmund conducted the trial and found Samuel Hinds Junior guilty on the 6th February 2015.
The Magistrate deferred sentencing Mr. Hinds to allow a Probation Report to be prepared and adjourned the matter to 20th February 2015.
On the 13th day of February 2015 at 4.15 PM the Judicial Service Commission in excess of one year after they laid the above allegations against Magistrate and four days before the date sent for sentencing of Samuel Hinds Junior, the Judicial Service Commission instructed Magistrate Chandan Edmund to attend a hearing on the 18th day of February 2015.
On Monday the 16th day of February 2015 Counsel for the Magistrate wrote to the Judicial Service Commission inquiring bout the format and procedure which the Commission intended to pursue at the hearing.
On the 18th day of February 2015 the Magistrate in the company of her Attorney attended the Judicial Service Commission where Counsel for the Magistrate inquired about the rules under which the Commission intended to deliberate , the procedure to be adopted particularly whether it was an adversarial or inquisitorial proceeding.
Counsel further pointed out to the JSC that there was no rule which required the Magistrate to notify the Chancellor and or seek his permission prior to her departure from the Country.
The Commission conceded that there was no such rule in existence either in the Judicial Service Commission Rules or the Public Service Rules but said that there was a standard administrative practice that the Chancellor approve her departure
The Commission further informed the Magistrate that they were not obliged to specify what procedure they intended to pursue as they were going ahead with the inquiry.
The complainant and the adjudicator in the entire proceedings was the the Judicial Service Commission.
Every single allegation leveled against the Magistrate was answered and refuted with the production of documentary evidence including a letter from the Doctor who examined Ms Chandan Edmund.
On Friday the 20th February 2015 when the case of the Police V Samuel Hinds Junior was called, the probation officer was unable to produce a Probation Report thereby forcing an adjournment.
At 2.15 pm on the same day the Magistrate was informed “ the Commission therefore considers it both necessary and appropriate, that it is in the public interest that you be forthwith discharged from further magisterial duty”.
The immediate effect of the termination of the Magistrate’s service is that the verdict against Mr. Hinds is vacated and a new trial before a different Magistrate will now follow.
The Magistrate intends to pursue all legal remedies available to her up to the Caribbean Court of Justice

A magistrate does her job. Against incredible odds she does her goddamn job. And these daags fire her for following the law.

You cannot wage war against the courts and target magistrates for sentencing criminals who happen to be sons of people in high political office.

A magistrate does her job. Against incredible odds she does her goddamn job. And these daags fire her for following the law.

You cannot wage war against the courts and target magistrates for sentencing criminals who happen to be sons of people in high political office.

This was happening since 1993. They have completely undermined the judicial system. Files just disappear. When people can't get justice they will have to take up more radical methods. The system is very unfair against common people.

Originally Posted by ball:

I am saying that the same shit happens, to people who doan have connections for example they shut down me shop because I tell the sanitary inspector that he is a rat rass 

In this country you might have redress if you feel that a bureaucrat was abusive towards you.  In Guyana you have none/

At 2.15 pm on the same day the Magistrate was informed “ the Commission therefore considers it both necessary and appropriate, that it is in the public interest that you be forthwith discharged from further magisterial duty”.
The immediate effect of the termination of the Magistrate’s service is that the verdict against Mr. Hinds is vacated and a new trial before a different Magistrate will now follow.
The Magistrate intends to pursue all legal remedies available to her up to the Caribbean Court of Justice

Guyana will again be in the spotlight for no good reasons.

BIG UP GUYANA!! WAY TO GO.

Shaitaan Bhai, Why dont you wait for all the facts and get an understanding of how a Magistrate can be fired. Ever heard of the Judicial Service Commission???  Do you know the composition of the Commission??  Did you see the Commission's ruling in writing??

If we find out it was done politically, then I also would have much to say.

Obviously she was fired because the son of the Prime Minister Samuel Hinds was due to be sentenced  after she  found him guilty of assault; the corrupt  PPP/C government victimization machine at work for the world to see.

VOTE FOR THE GRANGER / NAGAMOOTOO TICKET AND APPOINT A JSC THAT WORKS FOR ALL THE PEOPLE.

Obviously she was fired because the son of the Prime Minister Samuel Hinds was due to be sentenced  after she  found him guilty of assault; the corrupt  PPP/C government victimization machine at work for the world to see.

VOTE FOR THE GRANGER / NAGAMOOTOO TICKET AND APPOINT A JSC THAT WORKS FOR ALL THE PEOPLE.

Mits, You may not be aware but Granger has a say in who gets appointed to the JSC.

Nehru bhai, how about the  Director of Public Prosecutions (DPP)who  has advised the police against  charging the presidential guard who allegedly slapped Aishalton teacher  John Adams for heckling President Orama  during a PPP/C meeting  last December?

These things reminds me of the PNC dictatorship days. Chandra and Geeta banished for offending Samuel and the PPP/Cabal.

Last edited by Mitwah

Shaitaan Bhai, Why dont you wait for all the facts and get an understanding of how a Magistrate can be fired. Ever heard of the Judicial Service Commission???  Do you know the composition of the Commission??  Did you see the Commission's ruling in writing??

I agree with you Nehru.

Let's not play politics with everything. Too often the political parties in Guyana tend to milk things for what they are not.

Nehru bhai, how about the  Director of Public Prosecutions (DPP)who  has advised the police against  charging the presidential guard who allegedly slapped Aishalton teacher  John Adams for heckling President Orama  during a PPP/C meeting  last December?

These things reminds me of the PNC dictatorship days. Chandra and Geeta banished for offending Samuel and the PPP/Cabal.

Mits, The Guard should slap him again for being rude and disrespectful to THE EXECUTIVE PRESIDENT.

You love to boast about how great America is and preach us about the ills of dictators in muslim countires and here you are revealing your true self.

A man heckles the President so he must be slapped.

You should go and live with the Taliban in Iraq who beat people for attending a footbal game.

In your heart of heart you do not love democracy.

As Ialways say God Bless America and people like you Nehru are only fooling the people and the community you live in.

I agree with you Nehru.

Let's not play politics with everything. Too often the political parties in Guyana tend to milk things for what they are not.

Thumbnail

The  magistrate found the son of the Prime Minister guilty of a crime. Before she can sentence him, she is fired. This means a new trial all over again when he refused to appear 8 times. I wonder why she did not issue a bench warrant for his arrest for contempt?

You love to boast about how great America is and preach us about the ills of dictators in muslim countires and here you are revealing your true self.

You should go and live with the Taliban in Iraq who beat people for attending a footbal game.

As Ialways say God Bless America and people like you Nehru are only fooling the people and the community you live in.

If was yuh Boy Burnham he would have disappeared forever, you know what I mean.

Shaitaan Bhai, Why dont you wait for all the facts and get an understanding of how a Magistrate can be fired.Ever heard of the Judicial Service Commission???  Do you know the composition of the Commission??  Did you see the Commission's ruling in writing??

Nehru .... Did you read or Understand this...

Ever heard of the

Judicial Service Commission???

Nehru yuh ever heard of

Corruption and Bribe?

Carl Singh is no

Pope Francis or Jimmy Carter.

I will bet you before May 11

Nuff decision makers

will disappear...and leave

Our Shores for Good....

It happen before in 1992...

Where are all the

Judge & Magistrate

who sat on the Bench before 1992???

Chief, There are many thngs you need to learn about America, but let me get back to topic. The FOOL was warned many times and told he will get to speak/ask question when the President finish speaking.

So now you using Burnham. All you PPP boys has no shame.

Burnham constitution lives!!

The PPP should have held a water side wuk yesterday for Burnham birthday.

Take your pick

(1) Nehru behaving like Toilet Paper.

(2) Nehru behaving like Floor Cloth.

(3) Nehru is a Lap Cloth

President Donald Ramotar addressing a gathering at the Progressive Youth Organisation's [PYO) Mash Camp event.

President Donald Ramotar addressing a gathering at the Progressive Youth Organisation's (PYO) Mash Camp event.

Bhai dem had de wuk under de tent....

look how dem ole lady Dress

President Donald Ramotar addressing a gathering at the Progressive Youth Organisation's [PYO) Mash Camp event.

President Donald Ramotar addressing a gathering at the Progressive Youth Organisation's (PYO) Mash Camp event.

Bhai dem had de wuk under de tent....

look how dem ole lady Dress

so this is cool, talking to the 40% andf ignoring the 60%.

Great political strategy.

The people he talking to will never vote against the PPP.  So he gotay dhall with them.  Let him go to buxton and see if the people not chase his backside out the place.

You see today Moses Nagamootoo in a village called Reliance on the Essequibo Coast and Cotton Tree.  Former PPP country.  This man pealing away the vote from the PPP one village at a time.

Tomorrow - Moses in Rose Hall, Nigg, Albion, Port Morant.  Again more pealing will happen.

He is explaining why we all must NOT vote PPP.