Hindu priest blazing a trail in Richmond Hill 1

Varanu Sahabir serves as first woman pandit at Liberty Ave. Hindu temple.

Posted: Thursday, November 1, 2018 10:30 am

Liberty Avenue is full of rare things. A mash-up Guyanese-Chinese restaurant, rare tropical-bird places, coconut buns.

But it’s never seen anything like Varanu Sahabir.

She is 33 years old, a St. John’s University-trained lawyer and the first woman to serve as a Hindu priest — a pandit, in the language of the temple — for a mainstream congregation in Richmond Hill.

“It was never a case of me saying. ‘I want to be a spiritual leader,’” she says. “That was never in the scope of what my potential career could be.”

Sahabir, born in Trinidad and raised in East Elmhurst, serves at the Shri Lakshmi Narayan Mandir, a stucco-front temple at Liberty Avenue at 128th Street in the heart of Little Guyana. It has been there for 34 years and, until now, has always had a man conducting Sunday services. Same as all the other temples in the neighborhood.

The limited role of women in the religion has been dictated more by culture and tradition than by any religious teaching, Sahabir explains. Nothing said women couldn’t be clergy. As in other religions, the times are catching up to and overtaking the church.

“I just happened,” she said. “We would schedule priests and they would cancel last minute. What are we going to do?” The congregation would press her to stand in.

“I knew all the madras. I grew up in a temple. When the book was in front of me, I was, ‘Wow I don’t even need to look at these words. I know what I’m saying because I grew up hearing it. And when the time came for me to step into the role, everybody said. ‘Do it. We need you to do this.’”

From there, it was a short step to giving up law (“I told my dad this is not for me, I don’t think this is my path,” Sahabir says) and beginning the arduous studies to become a pandit.

In India, the first religious academy to train women priests opened seven years ago. It is no longer a news story there.

But in the West Indian branch of the religion — which, among the descendants of Indians who immigrated to the Caribbean 150 years ago, differs significantly — women priests are all but unheard of.

“It meant breaking a lot of gender norms, a lot of conceptions off what I thought was going to be acceptable in the community,” she said. “I never thought this was going to be possible.”

The idea of a woman pandit is still unsettling along Liberty Avenue. Sahabir has not been invited yet to lecture — the term she uses for sermons — at other temples in the borough, as is customary.

And her father — an operating engineer with Local 30 and a devout Hindu who played music in the temple and raised his daughters there — waited nearly a year before showing up at the Liberty Avenue temple to see his daughter conduct a service.

He did not approve of a joke she told during her sermon, she recalls.

This is new territory for many men in Little Guyana, she admits.

“I never wanted to be the one who forced the issue,” she says. “I’m big on this. I figure, when the time is right, things happen. Doors open for you.

“I always believed in the same sort of predetermination, like ‘God will guide me.’”

http://www.qchron.com/editions...l?platform=hootsuite

We had one in my community, but the wicked guys gave her a tough time. They asked her what would happen when she's menstruating, would she sit and do the service? She was outraged and went to another temple that was more humane.

Nehru, isn't this Pandit Jadonath's temple? What happened with the court case?

We had one in my community, but the wicked guys gave her a tough time. They asked her what would happen when she's menstruating, would she sit and do the service? She was outraged and went to another temple that was more humane.

There is no Hindu Law that prohibits her from doing puja during her cycle. What about the pundits who don't wash themselves after they go to the toilet?

Valid point, Mitwah. This man's world is turning into a human world for both male and female.

Mits, I'd like your opinion on this. A christian girl was married to a Brahmin, both Guyanese. Every year they had jandhis and on one such event she had her cycle, but still sat with him, and helped share food later. She thought Guyanese had ancient rules and that as long as her heart was pure nothing else should matter. Was she wrong to sit with him, and touch the food?

I don't see what's wrong. It a natural cleansing cycle. What about the mind and the purity of the heart?

Blazing trails mean that the pandit in getting lots of converts in my books.  The only Hindus that are doing so are the Hari Krishnas, the Maharishis, Shri Chinoy and Oshu (previously known as Sri Rajneesh before his legal troubles).

Real Hindus don't practice conversion.

How me glad she mek sucess. Hope she success. De lady is wan trained lawyer from wan respectable law skool. Nuff, nuff con man pandit juss murmerin gibberish and tekkin de peoplkle money. 

Real Hindus don't practice conversion.

Real so-called Hindus need some good lash in their behinds. They got a sinking religion and they don't even know it.  Big numbers by birth rate are fooling them into a false sense of security but soon they will get a rude awakening when they see numbers sinking before their eyes. I asked the RSS leader in my community to show me the Hindu financial system.  I have not heard back from him since then.  Prashad has 100 US dollars to give to Hindus this year and he is giving it to the Hari Krishnas.

I don't see what's wrong. It a natural cleansing cycle. What about the mind and the purity of the heart?

I agree.  There are some people who did wonderful things for the poor, while living in the people's poverty.  They did not see the people  outward beings, but what was within.

In my travels to developing countries, I  formed a new rule : I will  eat what the people eat  without asking questions.  Because if they don't get sick or die, I will not either.  Plus, it forms a bond with the poor. 

In a dark thatched-roof hut, I once ate some soup with hard pieces.  I did not eat the hard pieces, but the next morning I discovered them to be pumpkin skins.  The people were so poor, that they washed and after cutting, they cooked the entire pumpkin.   

Hindu priest blazing a trail in Richmond Hill 1

Varanu Sahabir serves as first woman pandit at Liberty Ave. Hindu temple.

Posted: Thursday, November 1, 2018 10:30 am

Liberty Avenue is full of rare things. A mash-up Guyanese-Chinese restaurant, rare tropical-bird places, coconut buns.

But it’s never seen anything like Varanu Sahabir.

She is 33 years old, a St. John’s University-trained lawyer and the first woman to serve as a Hindu priest — a pandit, in the language of the temple — for a mainstream congregation in Richmond Hill.

“It was never a case of me saying. ‘I want to be a spiritual leader,’” she says. “That was never in the scope of what my potential career could be.”

Sahabir, born in Trinidad and raised in East Elmhurst, serves at the Shri Lakshmi Narayan Mandir, a stucco-front temple at Liberty Avenue at 128th Street in the heart of Little Guyana. It has been there for 34 years and, until now, has always had a man conducting Sunday services. Same as all the other temples in the neighborhood.

The limited role of women in the religion has been dictated more by culture and tradition than by any religious teaching, Sahabir explains. Nothing said women couldn’t be clergy. As in other religions, the times are catching up to and overtaking the church.

“I just happened,” she said. “We would schedule priests and they would cancel last minute. What are we going to do?” The congregation would press her to stand in.

“I knew all the madras. I grew up in a temple. When the book was in front of me, I was, ‘Wow I don’t even need to look at these words. I know what I’m saying because I grew up hearing it. And when the time came for me to step into the role, everybody said. ‘Do it. We need you to do this.’”

From there, it was a short step to giving up law (“I told my dad this is not for me, I don’t think this is my path,” Sahabir says) and beginning the arduous studies to become a pandit.

In India, the first religious academy to train women priests opened seven years ago. It is no longer a news story there.

But in the West Indian branch of the religion — which, among the descendants of Indians who immigrated to the Caribbean 150 years ago, differs significantly — women priests are all but unheard of.

“It meant breaking a lot of gender norms, a lot of conceptions off what I thought was going to be acceptable in the community,” she said. “I never thought this was going to be possible.”

The idea of a woman pandit is still unsettling along Liberty Avenue. Sahabir has not been invited yet to lecture — the term she uses for sermons — at other temples in the borough, as is customary.

And her father — an operating engineer with Local 30 and a devout Hindu who played music in the temple and raised his daughters there — waited nearly a year before showing up at the Liberty Avenue temple to see his daughter conduct a service.

He did not approve of a joke she told during her sermon, she recalls.

This is new territory for many men in Little Guyana, she admits.

“I never wanted to be the one who forced the issue,” she says. “I’m big on this. I figure, when the time is right, things happen. Doors open for you.

“I always believed in the same sort of predetermination, like ‘God will guide me.’”

http://www.qchron.com/editions...l?platform=hootsuite

There is another girl - Pandit Amrita, she works in the Medical Field. She speaks mostly in English so the younger crowd loves her.

She did my house opening ceremony when I bought my mansion. My girls actually enjoyed sitting and taking part in the ceremony.

alena06 posted:

. . . when I bought my mansion. 

who talks like that?

smh

Them "neva see cum fuh see" Guyanese.

I know of couples who have done this with a huge mortgage. They become stressed out and they are always fighting and are on prescription drugs for anxiety. 

alena06 posted:

who talks like that?

smh

Why do you always notice when someone mentions the word mansion?  

alena06 posted:

who talks like that?

smh

Jealousy killing you ole geezer!! U gotta be Guyanese.

alena06 posted:

who talks like that?

smh

Is this not a personal attack?

alena06 posted:

who talks like that?

smh

No it's a compliment for you.  Smile you are on camera.

alena06 posted:

who talks like that?

smh

U back from Florida? Need the keys for one of your vacation homes. Heard the event was epic. 😀

alena06 posted:

who talks like that?

smh

There is a reason why She mentioned that.  And it has nothing to do with arrogance.  

Then it must be inferiority complex.

alena06 posted:

who talks like that?

smh

This is a good thread, let’s not derail it. congrats to the pandits.

Last edited by alena06
alena06 posted:

who talks like that?

smh

Didi, you say camera? 

Image may contain: 3 people, people smiling, people standing

Last edited by Mitwah
alena06 posted:

who talks like that?

smh

Certainly not !!

This old geezer is a force to reckon with, don't come on GNI tooting his horn about wealth,have seen it in the homeland and here for the past two decades.

That's for folks with low esteems.

Noticeably your sibling chimed in with some gibberish.By the way try to stay young, hopefully there are good genes.

Lastly,remembered how you doubt the ROI on investments, well not everything are written in text books.

There is a lot for you to learn.

alena06 posted:

who talks like that?

smh

U back from Florida? Need the keys for one of your vacation homes. Heard the event was epic. 😀

LOL! 

alena06 posted:

who talks like that?

smh

Nice, I see you also made it back from London.  That’s a fast turn around for both of you. Congrats on everything!!!  And yes, heard it was an epic event from a common friend not yet unfriended!!

alena06 posted:

who talks like that?

smh

Nice, I see you also made it back from London.  That’s a fast turn around for both of you. Congrats on everything!!!  And yes, heard it was an epic event from a common friend not yet unfriended!!

Haha I haven’t left yet.  lol GNI got some stalkers.

alena06 posted:

who talks like that?

smh

Base, some are able to see, hear, feel or smell something that does not exist; usually because they are ill or have taken a drug.  In Guyana, dem ah seh yuh ah see jumbie.

alena06 posted:

who talks like that?

smh

Django bhai, Good Monday morning. Can't wait for tomorrow to go get out there and vote. Bring back civility to America. Vote Democrat.

Ok. I am sure Alena did not mean she owns a mansion. Every man's home is his castle. I live in a modest home very comfortably. I could have afforded to buy a half million dollar house. Why go that way? All you do when the kids are gone is to heat it up in the winter and cool it in the summer. I am happy in my manikole banaff which has more than double its value.

alena06 posted:

who talks like that?

smh

Django bhai, Good Monday morning. Can't wait for tomorrow to go get out there and vote. Bring back civility to America. Vote Democrat.

Ok. I am sure Alena did not mean she owns a mansion. Every man's home is his castle. I live in a modest home very comfortably. I could have afforded to buy a half million dollar house. Why go that way? All you do when the kids are gone is to heat it up in the winter and cool it in the summer. I am happy in my manikole banaff which has more than double its value.

tell ugli Macaws and budgies love manicole trees also

alena06 posted:

who talks like that?

smh

I don't care bhai, i lived moderately.

There are some snotty posters here, can't figure the reasons for being such. There is a probability due to not being on their side of the fence they hurl insults.

alena06 posted:

who talks like that?

smh

Certainly not !!

This old geezer is a force to reckon with, don't come on GNI tooting his horn about wealth,have seen it in the homeland and here for the past two decades.

That's for folks with low esteems.

Noticeably your sibling chimed in with some gibberish.By the way try to stay young, hopefully there are good genes.

Lastly,remembered how you doubt the ROI on investments, well not everything are written in text books.

There is a lot for you to learn.

Just a few days ago you loudly broadcasted the , two houses in US, one in Guyana, two businesses in US and how much more wealth, so stop being sarcastic , you are the Poster Boy of promoting your PERSONAL wealth on GNI. I suggest stan quiet.

alena06 posted:

who talks like that?

smh

Ok. I misunderstood given what you posted.  Anyway good to see Bibi back from her big shindig.  Understand it was a blast, barge and all!

Just a few days ago you loudly broadcasted the , two houses in US, one in Guyana, two businesses in US and how much more wealth, so stop being sarcastic , you are the Poster Boy of promoting your PERSONAL wealth on GNI. I suggest stan quiet.

Hogwash !! on two occasions had to do it, to confront the idiocy of one the member of the crew , you are part of. Also i mentioned it doesn't matter nothing.

You guys and gals wants to belittle other posters, when they rebutted it termed boasting.

Banna take a hike.