‘I am not afraid’ – GECOM Chairman says of assassination threats

, Source - https://newsroom.gy/2020/04/20...sassination-threats/

Chairman of the Guyana Elections Commission (GECOM) Justice (rt’d) Claudette Singh has made a report to the Police following threats which appeared online at the weekend to assassinate her.

When asked about the threats Monday, Justice Singh said, “I am not afraid because death is inevitable and I believe in God.”

Meanwhile, Government nominated GECOM Commissioner Vincent Alexander also noted that he has been receiving threats every day.

“We all get threats. Every day they have something to say about me, they stalk me, all sorts of things, that’s the level we’re operating. If you check Facebook. Every day,” Alexander said.

Guyanese cast their votes on March 2, 2020, and to date, a credible winner has not been declared.

The results have been tied up in legal battles and GECOM is currently finalizing plans for a national recount of all votes.

https://i1.wp.com/newsroom.gy/wp-content/uploads/2019/08/GECOM-3.jpg?resize=750%2C430&ssl=1Justice Claudette Singh, S.C., C.C.H.

I'm unable to copy a post of we Bai Irfan actually coming out of hiding to speak out against holding up the counting of votes. Is like he read my post from yesterday or BJ read it and felt sorry for him and say, "Hey Irfski go say something."

I believe the same dark forces behind the coup are preparing assassination plans for anyone they view as a threat to their plans. This includes PNC officials wanting to do the right thing.

I see dark days ahead due to dark menacing forces.  

Guyana is heading for a Rwanda style situation. The PNC dead Enders will carry out an assassination of one of their own as a pretext to start a genocide of those who threaten their hold. 

I read a lot on the run up to the Rwandan genocide and Guyana is following the same footsteps. 

The PNC intellectual dead Enders are just like the Hutus. I hope Jagdeo realizes this and stop being a chicken little!

If Claudette Singh is truly afraid for her life then she should walk into the US Embassy and ask for refugee status.  The US Ambassador was right there in Ashmins building when she was performing her shenanigans.  She is not a stranger.

Claudette Singh supported the rigging of the 2020 march 02nd Election on behalf of the PNC. She became the main obstructionist for the President. What does she expect in return?  An ambassadorship?

The PNC are creating conditions for a disruption of the pending count. I don’t believe they have any intentions of bringing this to a conclusion in an appropriate manner. Just think how many have broken some serious laws. 

Rochelle posted:

Disgusting. And people can still defend the PPP? Absolute filth.

Gyal, I know it’s early, but go mek lil cook up. 

Your disparaging statement speaks volumes of your chauvinism. No?

If Claudette Singh is truly afraid for her life then she should walk into the US Embassy and ask for refugee status.  The US Ambassador was right there in Ashmins building when she was performing her shenanigans.  She is not a stranger.

Why do you think she wants to go to the USA or anywhere else?  

Who the hell does public crowdfunding for subversive activities. Grow a brain. 

Perhaps it may be amusing in your mind, the loonies try to hide their nefarious activities thinking it can't be revealed .

Who the hell does public crowdfunding for subversive activities. Grow a brain. 

Perhaps it may be amusing in your mind, the loonies try to hide their nefarious activities thinking it can't be revealed .

The only loonies are some in your camp who were trying to set up an assassination of a PNC supporter near Brickdam and blame it on the PPP so they can justify some action.

Apart from that, you are the loonie!  You sold out your parents struggles for rights. Shame on you!

If the Blow Blow have evidence of any " nefarious activities", why keeping same under their bed. What a feeble- minded comment. 

People so stupid to buy the story of crowdfunding for assassination of Govt officials.  The depth of stupidity amazes me!

The only loonies are some in your camp who were trying to set up an assassination of a PNC supporter near Brickdam and blame it on the PPP so they can justify some action.

Apart from that, you are the loonie!  You sold out your parents struggles for rights. Shame on you!

Seems to know too much. By the way any where in my statement regarding loonies was reference to you ?

If there is a breach of democracy, EU will have to impose sanctions – EU Ambassador

A small window of opportunity remains open for Guyana to resolve its 2020 electoral crises through a credible recount, but if democracy is derailed then the country could face crippling sanctions from the 27-member European Union (EU).

This was the assertion of EU Ambassador to Guyana Fernando Ponz-Cantó, who repeatedly noted on Monday that this is not the direction the EU hopes to go.

He was at the time speaking on ‘Election/COVID-19 Watch’ on Kaieteur Radio.

According to the Ambassador, who described the EU as a friend of Guyana, the window of opportunity for a credible and transparent end to the election process has not closed, since a recount of the March 2 votes is still being finalized.

The country’s elections regulatory body – the Guyana Elections Commission (GECOM) – is finalizing plans to commence a national recount after two controversial declarations last month.

“The window of opportunity has not closed. It is not the time yet to put forward that proposal [for sanctions] because the situation can still be remedied democratically.

“But, if situations like these are not remedied democratically, then the EU has the duty and the determination to act according to the principles we share,” Ambassador Ponz-Cantó stated.

Those principles he referred to are enshrined in the Cotonou Agreement which is the framework of cooperation under which the EU works with the 79 countries of the African, Caribbean, and Pacific (ACP) group, which includes Guyana.

The Ambassador explained that the Agreement is based on shared fundamental principles, and if those principles are violated by a country, then a suspension provision would be activated.

“One of those principles, and perhaps the most important one, is democracy. If anybody does not recognize the democratic provisions, there will be a suspension of the cooperation,” he said, adding that several African countries and Haiti have been subjected to this before.

“We have done it, unfortunately, quite a few times in Africa – I was involved in several of those processes – we did it once in the Caribbean in Haiti several years ago, and if there is a breach of democracy, we will have to do it because we are bound by those provisions” the Ambassador warned.

He was keen to note too that the EU’s development cooperation with Guyana is massive, and he would therefore “hate to see that interrupted”.

Not limited to a suspension of cooperation, Ambassador Ponz-Cantó revealed that the EU’s system of sanctions also includes assets freeze and visa suspension among other things.

“The suspension of cooperation is only one of the possibilities because we – like the U.S, Canada and Britain – have a system of sanctions which includes assets freeze, visa suspension, and all the typical tools. This is something we don’t like to use, I won’t like to use, and I hope we won’t have to use,” he said.

He reiterated that the window of opportunity remains open at this time for Guyana to remedy its situation, so sanctions have not been put on the table yet.

However, he added that if situations like these are not remedied democratically, then the EU has the duty and the determination to act according, and invoke the Agreement which outlines a course of action that includes sanctions.

The possibility of sanctions for Guyana surfaced last month following two controversial declarations of results in Region four – the country’s largest electoral district – which handed the APNU+AFC a victory.

However, all international observers and most local observers have described the declarations as having been made from results which were not transparently and credibly tabulated.

There have since been calls by supporters and members of the APNU+AFC for incumbent President and Presidential Candidate of the APNU+AFC David Granger, to be sworn in based on those declarations.

The U.S, through Secretary of State Mike Pompeo, was among the first to issue a stern warning that any government sworn in on results which are deemed fraudulent or not credible will face sanctions.
Other foreign powers have since issued similar warnings.

If the Blow Blow have evidence of any " nefarious activities", why keeping same under their bed. What a feeble- minded comment. 

Who invited you in the conversation ? also watch the adjectives .

People so stupid to buy the story of crowdfunding for assassination of Govt officials.  The depth of stupidity amazes me!

Yep every one stupid ,you guys are the sharpest tool in the shed.

Fraudlette Waste Singh is the reason Guyana is in this dilemma today. She needs to go get off her big fat ass and earn her salary. Maybe she already did with millions in payout before the counting. What did she get like 22 million?

Yep every one stupid ,you guys are the sharpest tool in the shed.

As an admin, this is not the type of statement you should use insult to the posters here. We all have biases and sometimes we have to bite our tongue and let it go. Uneasy lies the head that wears the crown.

Rochelle posted:

Like you have a thing for the gal,Eh,Eh.

Free speech and its expression is under attack on a public forum... way to go " senior admin" 

Seems to know too much. By the way any where in my statement regarding loonies was reference to you ?

Read, Read the statement carefully.

Isn't this a Public Forum?  You are a bit on the edge today.

Free speech and its expression is under attack on a public forum... way to go " senior admin" 

Respond when you are spoken to ,it's a type of etiquette .

Do people butt in to conversations ,when not spoken to ?

Come on! Does this mean we can only address topics that we responded to and cannot debate the topic freely? Interesting indeed.

Rochelle posted:

Well, she stated she makes a good cook up. 😁

You playing stupid?  It was published. The police mentioned it.

Come on! Does this mean we can only address topics that we responded to and cannot debate the topic freely? Interesting indeed.

Where does topic come in to play ?  there was a response to Baseman .

In that case the forum is a ONE man show, Wah de rass now!

You playing stupid?  It was published. The police mentioned it.

Where was that ? can you point to it ?

In that case the forum is a ONE man show, Wah de rass now!

How so ?