Former TT Prime Minister thinks Guyana oil can save Petrotrin refinery from closure

Former Trinidad and Tobago Prime Minister, and current Leader of the Opposition, Kamla Persad-Bissessar

Former Trinidad and Tobago Prime Minister, Kamla Persad-Bissessar is urging the current government in the twin-island republic to pursue a partnership with neighbouring Guyana to refine its oil in order to avert the closure of the Petrotrin refinery.

According to a report in Newsday, Ms Persad-Bissessar who is currently Opposition Leader said she hopes Prime Minister, Dr Keith Rowley would consider this option ahead of an address to the nation scheduled for Sunday evening.

“I understand Guyana has found another well and they are producing, can we not group in some way and find a way to work together as a Caricom (sic) where we can help them refine their oil?” she asked.

Newsday further quoted the former Prime Minister as saying, in reference to the closure of the refinery, “I am calling on him [Dr Keith Rowley] to let good sense prevail to be very cautious in making such a drastic and dangerous move, this will have a ripple effect throughout the economy and the country.”

According to Newsday, Ms Persad-Bissessar said even if Guyana moves to build its own refinery in the future, the Petrotrin facility can still be used in the initial years of oil production in the South American country, which is set to begin by 2020.

“Of course they will build their own refinery but we have one and many of the units in the refinery at Petrotrin are new, so a lot of money has been invested on the refinery side and now they are shutting it down. It is total nonsense,” she reportedly said.

Guyana has not made a final decision yet as to where its oil will be refined. The country’s Minister of Finance recently said on a webinar that the prospect of building a local refinery is not an immediate concern of government.

Mr Jordan said a number of refineries located in the Caribbean, and throughout the region, including Trinidad and Tobago’s Petrotrin, remain options which are being examined by the administration and a decision is yet to be made on the way forward.

Personal experience at Piarco does not and must not interfere with government business. The call to refine Guyana's oil in neighboring Trinidad is good since Guyana cannot afford to build one of its own. Guyana should consider the offer seriously and should engage the government of Trinidad on this matter.

it is a call to save their oil refinery and save Trinidadians Jobs. They are the most selfish people in the Caribbean treating other Caribbean national like crap and only needs you when they are in trouble and it will benefit them

Pointblank
Pointblank posted:

it is a call to save their oil refinery and save Trinidadians Jobs. They are the most selfish people in the Caribbean. U utreating other Caribbean national like crap and only needs you when they are in trouble and it will benefit them

Why do u even bother to respond to that jackass.

Guyana is a member of Caricom. Yes, Trinidad treated Guyanese like cattle  but we should not be treating others the same way we were treated.

I am certain that the Guyana government will consider all options if approached by Trinidad. Trinidad has already been humbled with the pending closing of their refinery.

President Granger has demonstrated that he can be respectful in circumstances like these.

Cooler heads should prevail.

Thank you Prince!

Guyana is a member of Caricom. Yes, Trinidad treated Guyanese like cattle  

And yet thousands of Guyanese live in Trinidad.  Not all legally.

Let us see how Guyanese will treat Venezuelans if thousands decide to pour into the country.

Not only Trinidad treated Guyanese poorly, some of you forgot Suriname.

I still do not blame Trinidad neither Suriname, I squarely blame the two major political parties in Guyana.

Correct. No one likes impoverished people pouring into their country.  If Venezuelans enter Guyana en masse there will be loud voices screaming at them. Forgetting of course that thousands of Guyanese (use to) live in that country.

The Guyana government should negotiate with one of the dozen oil company that have an interest in drilling for oil, to build the refinery in Guyana, it will be a win win situation for that company.  

It will create jobs for the locals.

Doerga company to build US$100m oil refinery

" />

From left to right are: Steve Rowan, Turhane Doerga Sr, Turhane Doerga Jr and an employee of the company.

Local company GuyEnergy is to build a modular oil refinery in Region 10 at a cost of about two percent of what a paid international consultant to government had said might be needed here.

Expected to be completed “way before” ExxonMobil’s 2020 estimated production start date, GuyEnergy is forging ahead, stating that the venture would cost about US$100m as compared to the US$5B that Pedro Haas, Director of Advisory Services at Hartree , had projected to the  government.

https://www.google.ca/amp/s/ww...00-oil-refinery/amp/

I still do not blame Trinidad neither Suriname, I squarely blame the two major political parties in Guyana.

Correct. No one likes impoverished people pouring into their country.  If Venezuelans enter Guyana en masse there will be loud voices screaming at them. Forgetting of course that thousands of Guyanese (use to) live in that country.

Consider yourself lucky in the whiteman country.. yet you cuss them for black people failure. 

Trinidadians(my brother in law from my wife's side is aTrini) still thinks they are superior to Guyanese. Don't blame the PPP or the PNC for their(Trinis) attitudes towards our brothers and sisters. What goes around comes around. Karma is a witch with a "B". Why refine the oil there and rescue their economy? Guyanese need the jobs. Charity begins at home.

Once Exxon takes the oil out of the ground, it is no longer a product of Guyana. It belongs to Exxon. 

Guyana only gets a small percentage as royalty. As for the other incentives for Guyana, that will take some time to recover.

If Guyana wants to refine the crude, then it has to purchase it from Exxon.

Guyana, cannot juss sey we want some oil for refining.

Once Exxon takes the oil out of the ground, it is no longer a product of Guyana. It belongs to Exxon. 

Guyana only gets a small percentage as royalty. As for the other incentives for Guyana, that will take some time to recover.

If Guyana wants to refine the crude, then it has to purchase it from Exxon.

Guyana, cannot juss sey we want some oil for refining.

Suh what happen to Guyana share of 50% of  25% crude oil after 75% recovery cost ?

guyana gets paid, they have no influence over policies. Guyana do not have an investment in the consortium.

Article 11 Cost Recovery and Product Sharing

Sharing Agreement

Suh what the contract says here ?

• Sharing Agreement

guyana gets paid, they have no influence over policies. Guyana do not have an investment in the consortium.

Sharing Agreement

bai read nah. de ting seh '"fter recoverable contract costs in any month". How will anyone get into Exxon books? They are as crooked as the people they are dealing with...Rex Tillerson and Donald T???

Monies tranferred.

Not crude.

Guyana wants to refine, they have to purchase the crude for the refinery. Exxon is nah going to give it for free. 

In Trinidad case, Exxon can contract them to refine. But Exxon is not interested in refining. Exxon just wants the tankers of the world to come to their Floating Vessels and have the crude pumped into their tankers and float away.

Monies tranferred.

Not crude.

Guyana wants to refine, they have to purchase the crude for the refinery. Exxon is nah going to give it for free. 

In Trinidad case, Exxon can contract them to refine. But Exxon is not interested in refining. Exxon just wants the tankers of the world to come to their Floating Vessels and have the crude pumped into their tankers and float away.

That's not what the Contract said after  the 75% recoverable cost.

Sharing Agreement

bai read nah. de ting seh '"fter recoverable contract costs in any month". How will anyone get into Exxon books? They are as crooked as the people they are dealing with...Rex Tillerson and Donald T???

You are correct no one knows how many years 75% goes to recoverable cost.

Pointblank posted:

Former TT Prime Minister thinks Guyana oil can save Petrotrin refinery from closure

Former Trinidad and Tobago Prime Minister, and current Leader of the Opposition, Kamla Persad-Bissessar

Former Trinidad and Tobago Prime Minister, Kamla Persad-Bissessar is urging the current government in the twin-island republic to pursue a partnership with neighbouring Guyana to refine its oil in order to avert the closure of the Petrotrin refinery.

According to a report in Newsday, Ms Persad-Bissessar who is currently Opposition Leader said she hopes Prime Minister, Dr Keith Rowley would consider this option ahead of an address to the nation scheduled for Sunday evening.

“I understand Guyana has found another well and they are producing, can we not group in some way and find a way to work together as a Caricom (sic) where we can help them refine their oil?” she asked.

Newsday further quoted the former Prime Minister as saying, in reference to the closure of the refinery, “I am calling on him [Dr Keith Rowley] to let good sense prevail to be very cautious in making such a drastic and dangerous move, this will have a ripple effect throughout the economy and the country.”

According to Newsday, Ms Persad-Bissessar said even if Guyana moves to build its own refinery in the future, the Petrotrin facility can still be used in the initial years of oil production in the South American country, which is set to begin by 2020.

“Of course they will build their own refinery but we have one and many of the units in the refinery at Petrotrin are new, so a lot of money has been invested on the refinery side and now they are shutting it down. It is total nonsense,” she reportedly said.

Guyana has not made a final decision yet as to where its oil will be refined. The country’s Minister of Finance recently said on a webinar that the prospect of building a local refinery is not an immediate concern of government.

Mr Jordan said a number of refineries located in the Caribbean, and throughout the region, including Trinidad and Tobago’s Petrotrin, remain options which are being examined by the administration and a decision is yet to be made on the way forward.

Guyana needs its own oil refinery!! We are going to get the money for it...eventually. TT can help initially until we set up our own. We do not need to kowtow to anyone in the region, especially TT.

In fact, Guyana now will have the potential to compete economically with Brazil and emerge as THE regional giant in the area.

Pointblank posted:

Guyana needs its own oil refinery!! We are going to get the money for it...eventually. TT can help initially until we set up our own. We do not need to kowtow to anyone in the region, especially TT.

In fact, Guyana now will have the potential to compete economically with Brazil and emerge as THE regional giant in the area.

Guyana can buy their idle refineries cheap. Pennies on the dollar.

Pointblank posted:

Guyana can buy their idle refineries cheap. Pennies on the dollar.

What happened? Trinidad Oil dun.

Good idea however the cost benefit ratio must be considered. If they want Guyana oil to save their refinery then they must provide and enticing reason, preferably a substantially lower than the prevailing cost to refine. 

Kamla knows what she is talking about.  The deal is done for Guyana’s oil to be refined in Trinidad.  Why do you think Ansa McCall and other Trinidad companies get preference over Guyanese companies in Guyana.  Rowley is taking charge.

for those who visited TT how many product of Guyana did you see on the store shelves. TT loves to exploit other CC countries loves to have other countries buy their product but does not likes to buy from other CC countries

Pointblank

What stupidness alyuh deh pon on this thread.  I leave one day and pooo shit.

Is weh alyuh come up with this thought that Kamla speaking to Guyana?  Guyana has no say in the matter in any way.  TT speaking to Exxon, they need to demonstrate a value proposition. Guyana owns NOTHING and will get their fee based on the PSA, which is limited to the harvesting of crude, nothing else.  Guyana has no say beyond that, it's all up to Exxon.

Exxon will pump the oil into their ships, no sense to trans-ship, they will bring to the USA and refine.  Guyana has Light Sweet, the type the refineries are geared towards.

TT has a better chance of getting Exxon's business than Exxon building any refinery in Guyana.  Alyuh wake up and smell the coffee!

Is weh alyuh come up with this thought that Kamla speaking to Guyana?  Guyana has no say in the matter in any way.  TT speaking to Exxon, they need to demonstrate a value proposition. Guyana owns NOTHING and will get their fee based on the PSA, which is limited to the harvesting of crude, nothing else.  Guyana has no say beyond that, it's all up to Exxon.

Exxon will pump the oil into their ships, no sense to trans-ship, they will bring to the USA and refine.  Guyana has Light Sweet, the type the refineries are geared towards.

TT has a better chance of getting Exxon's business than Exxon building any refinery in Guyana.  Alyuh wake up and smell the coffee!

Agreed. Why not leverage T&T's refinery if they can get a cut rate to prevent it from closing. . 

Reeper posted:

Agreed. Why not leverage T&T's refinery if they can get a cut rate to prevent it from closing. . 

Don't know what you mean!  Exxon has underutilized refineries in the USA which will be their first priority.  However, TT should make a pitch to satisfy Exxon's contracts within Caricom and a lowered duty rate.  Maybe they can show competitive advantage for Exxon!  I don't know the legality of any such actions!

After they treat guyanese like dogs at Piarco, she's now asking the current Govt. to pursue what?

Don't know if you remember when Guyana had no foreign exchange and Trinidad refused to sell us oil. Now they want to work together? I must admit the prospect of working with a neighbor is attractive but we survived and hopefully so will they.

After they treat guyanese like dogs at Piarco, she's now asking the current Govt. to pursue what?

Don't know if you remember when Guyana had no foreign exchange and Trinidad refused to sell us oil. Now they want to work together? I must admit the prospect of working with a neighbor is attractive but we survived and hopefully so will they.

Bai, alyuh relax, no Montezuma or Eric revenge hey!  TT want to work with Exxon, not Guyana!

Pointblank posted:

for those who visited TT how many product of Guyana did you see on the store shelves. TT loves to exploit other CC countries loves to have other countries buy their product but does not likes to buy from other CC countries

Can you discuss what Guyana did to market their products.  I don't see Guyanese products anywhere except for the usual suspects like Limacol.

I do remember when BWIA was flying Guyanese "free" because their money was locked in Guyana and of no use to them.  I do recall T&T buying rice from Guyana when other countries were cheaper.  I do also recall Guyana bankrupting a supplier credit system that was designed to facilitate intra CARICOM trade.

Now let us discuss Guyanese attitudes to Venezuelans now that they arrive as paupers.