ok I have 2 names: either Claude Christian or Brindley Benn.
I was gonna say is either Benn Christian or Brindley Claude but I really believe is dat Brindley chap.
Gil,this is tough quiz,Guyana was chosen since 1962
by a select committee appointed by the House of Assembly.
Bright star, you're getting close to the target. Don't give up. Quiz still open.
If only the names of the select committee is known
this quiz will be solved,when the answer is revealed
it will be found in the future.
Bright star, you're getting close to the target. Don't give up. Quiz still open.
Deep
I hope he ask it soon or i might forget
I will give it a shot Dr.Fenton Ramsahoye.
Sir John Carter.
I got a feelin Gilly doan know the answer neither
You bet I know, friend.
Lemme hold de suspense till tomarra marning.
A. Chung
Meanwhile, the PPP Government, optimistically expecting independence during 1962, initiated important preparations for such an event. Through its initiative, the House of Assembly appointed a "select committee" to choose a new name for the independent nation. Eventually, in June 1962 the committee submitted a report recommending the choice of the name "Guyana", and it was quickly approved by the Assembly.
as you said Django
courtesy of the constitutional conference 1962.
A. Chung
Not he. Not Sir David Rose either.
Yuh get shack out.
A. Chung
Yuh get shack out.
Was it Woolford?
I will give it a shot Dr.Fenton Ramsahoye.
Not he. Step aside and think about a cane.
Sir John Carter.
No. Step aside and think about an angel.
A. Chung
Yuh get shack out.
Was it Woolford?
No, sir. Light a cigar, fold your arms and watch.
Next quiz.
Who was the first person to officially propose that British Guiana be renamed Guyana?
I told Django to think about a cane. [pun]
I told Mars to think about an angel. [pun]
Anjali [angel] answered: either Claude Christian or Brindley Benn. [50-50]
Cain [cane] answered: "I really believe is dat Brindley chap." [100% sure]
Indeed, Brindley Horatio Benn was Minister of Community Development and Education in the 1957-61 PPP government. The PPP was expecting independence in 1962, so they were preparing beforehand. Mr Benn proposed a motion in the House of Assembly that upon the granting of independence, the name BRITISH GUIANA should be changed to GUYANA.
As opposition leader Forbes Burnham didn't object, the motion was passed.
In introducing that important motion in the legislature, Brindley Benn became the first person to officially propose the name change.
Cain is the winner.
Anjali gets consolation prize.
Congrats!!
Next quiz.
Who was the first person to officially propose that British Guiana be renamed Guyana?
I told Django to think about a cane. [pun]
I told Mars to think about an angel. [pun]
Anjali [angel] answered: either Claude Christian or Brindley Benn. [50-50]
Cain [cane] answered: "I really believe is dat Brindley chap." [100% sure]
Indeed, Brindley Horatio Benn was Minister of Community Development and Education in the 1958-61 PPP government. The PPP was expecting independence in 1962, so they were preparing beforehand. Mr Benn proposed a motion in the House of Assembly that upon the granting of independence, the name BRITISH GUIANA should be changed to GUYANA.
As opposition leader Forbes Burnham didn't object, the motion was passed.
In introducing that important motion in the legislature, Brindley Benn became the first person to officially propose the name change.
Cain is the winner.
Anjali gets consolation prize.
Congrats!!
Congrats to the winners.
LOL got me today with the pun.
One more thing about Brindley Benn. As Minister of Community Development and Education, he introduced History and Culture Week under the slogan ONE PEOPLE and ONE NATION with ONE DESTINY.
Burnham adopted it as Guyana's motto in 1966.
Thanks Sir Gil for my consolation prize, I actually smiled when I saw the pun for 'angel' I figured one of my answers was correct
One more thing about Brindley Benn. As Minister of Community Development and Education, he introduced History and Culture Week under the slogan ONE PEOPLE and ONE NATION with ONE DESTINY.
Burnham adopted it as Guyana's motto in 1966.
ONE PEOPLE and ONE NATION with ONE DESTINY.
Brindley had a great vision,
if only this can be acknowledged Guyana will be
a great nation.
Okay, let's move on to today's quiz.
Our mystery man was a Hindu-Guyanese [] born without arms and legs.
Precisely because of that defect, he got the attention of an American headhunter who took him to the United States where he achieved celebrity status in circus tours and even got a role in a Hollywood movie. Who was he?
Prince Randian
Like allyuh know dis chap good.
Yes, Prince Randian, Django and Anjali.
Congrats!!
Congrats!!
I believe dis chap fathered several kids
That's what impresses me the most about his story
Now, next one.
He was the King's representative in British Guiana.
He habitually attended services in Christ Church, Georgetown.
He retrenched many civil servants to cut costs.
He ordered civil servants to work one hour extra every day for same pay.
He decided to leave BG after only 8 months because people hated him.
Who was HE?
Congrats!!
I believe dis chap fathered several kids
That's what impresses me the most about his story
With his wife, known as Princess Sarah (born circa 1872), he fathered four daughters and a son. Their children were Mary Randian (born circa 1893), Richard Randian (born circa 1901), Elizabeth Randian (born circa 1904), and Wilhelmina Randian (born circa 1904) -- Wikipedia
ATTENTION SHAITAN
You think is only you can attract white woman? Prince Randian had plenty ah dem lang befo yuh aja time.
You and Jagan tek leftova.
ATTENTION SHAITAN
You think is only you can attract white woman? Prince Randian had plenty ah dem lang befo yuh aja time.
Gilly, Hold your fire. Why you think Guyanese can only get "leftova" white woman? Are we inferior human beings? You speak as though the white women Guyanese married lived in a trailer park and are referred as white trash.
Governor Guggisburg
ATTENTION SHAITAN
I would never marry a white woman chap.
I went apaan jaat in finding a spouse. Just like all the men preceding me for the last hundred years in my family.
ATTENTION SHAITAN
Gilly, Hold your fire. Why you think Guyanese can only get "leftova" white woman? Are we inferior human beings? You speak as though the white women Guyanese married lived in a trailer park and are referred as white trash.
Bai, have a sense of humour, nuh.
ATTENTION SHAITAN
Bai, have a sense of humour, nuh.
Ok. I just thought it was an insult to Guyanese men with the "leftova" thing.
Governor Guggisburg
WINNER!
HE was His Excellency Sir Frederick Gordon Guggisburg, Governor of British Geeyaana, 1928-1929.
Great and fast job!!
https://guyaneseonline.wordpre...00s-by-peter-halder/
One of the shortest serving Governors was Sir Frederick Gordon Guggisburg. He was also, according to sources, most unpopular.
Sir Frederick had served in the Gold Coast, now Ghana, before coming to British Guiana on 7 November 1928. He had received a great deal of praise for his governance of the British colony in Africa, especially in the field of education. He was to find out, however, that British Guiana was a different kettle of fish from Ghana.
He arrived in British Guiana with pomp and circumstance. His ship docked at precisely the time it was supposed to. He emerged from it in full regalia, resplendently dressed and looking distinguished, impressive and imposing. He was accompanied by his Aide-de-Camp, a Rear Admiral; and his Private Secretary, a Brigadier General.
A huge crowd had gathered to welcome him. Enthusiastic locals broke the official cordon to go as near as possible to him to catch a closer glimpse. One lady was heard saying, βOur father, our savior has come.β
The national interest in his arrival, the enthusiastic welcome and greeting, and the comment, were not without reason. The colonyβs economy and the treasury were in dire straits.
As an administrator, Governor Guggisburg, was a hard-nosed disciplinarian. He made adverse comments about the state of the colonyβs economy and set about righting things.
He enunciated a set of principles which Members of the Legislature were required to follow to cut expenditure. He also ordered them to attend each and every meeting of the body and to wear the regulation white civil service uniform.
Guggisburg embarked on a national plan to rationalize all government departments through retrenchment of staff, and the control of appointments, posts and increments in the civil service. Working time was extended by one hour daily. Leave for certain categories of civil servants was cut.
His actions soon caused disaster in the civil service. Hospitals, post offices, the police department, and public institutions in general, became short staffed. Government services suffered. The lives of people in the colony were affected. Many felt that the actions of the Governor were unjust and did not address the problems facing the country.
Governor Guggisburg soon became very unpopular. He decided to go on home leave to Britain in 1929 after only eight months service in the colony. Unlike his arrival, only a small and quiet crowd gathered to see him off. He retired in 1930 after his return to Britain and died shortly after.
He attended Christ Church during his brief tenure in British Guiana.
Governor Guggisburg
WINNER!
HE was His Excellency Sir Frederick Gordon Guggisburg, Governor of British Geeyaana, 1928-1929.
Great and fast job!!
Thanks Sir Gil you gave a lot of clues, that helped me.
Congrats!!
I don't know....but its kinda sad to me that he became a circus freak. But hey what do I know
@Riya, you were missed. Hope you participate tomorrow.
wah school let out fo the day
@Riya, you were missed. Hope you participate tomorrow.
Hi Sir Gilbakka, I'm sorry I missed class and I do hope to be on time tomorrow