Linden needs a ‘shake up’ – Volda Lawrence

– so residents can benefit from gov’t services to bring relief

By Vanessa Braithwaite, August 22, 2016, http://guyanachronicle.com/lin...e-up-volda-lawrence/

Minister of Social Protection, Volda LawrenceMinister of Social Protection, Volda Lawrence

MINISTER of Social Protection Volda Lawrence believes that Linden needs a ‘shake up’ so that the residents can benefit from services made available by the government to bring relief to citizens. Lawrence at a public meeting in the mining town said that something or someone in Region 10 is preventing services from reaching residents.

The minister’s response followed concerns voiced by residents on issues regarding the education system, unemployment rate, and environmental issues along with information sharing.

CLOG IN THE SYSTEM
“Something is wrong in this region, something is wrong, we are in Georgetown, we are at Cabinet meeting, we are passing this, we are passing that, we are talking about bringing the services to our people and Linden comes up repeatedly because we know over 23 years you have been punished and then to come here and to hear the stories that we are hearing …. there is a clog in the system in Linden…there is something or someone stopping the services that this government is bringing…something is wrong,” declared Lawrence.

Many residents of the mining town were issued termination letters from the Community Infrastructure Improvement Project (CIIP) and have labeled the move to terminate them unfair.

Those residents have called on the Social Protection Minister to intervene as they are of the opinion that the Linden Mayor and Town Council is being unfair to them.

Regional Democratic Councillor Gordon Callender disclosed that the workers turned to him after being served with the termination letters.

He said in a bid to prevent them from heading to the streets, he tried to get the intervention of several persons in authority, including the Regional Chairman.

Meanwhile, Deloris Gibbons, a CIPP worker blamed the Linden Mayor and Town Council for ‘corrupting’ the entire programme as many of the councillors pass instructions.

“One time they telling you don’t wuk, stop wuk, next day who tell you wuk, we never tell you stop wuk, this is how deh get yuh …”she said.

Gibbons also accused Deputy Mayor Waneka Arrindell of not respecting the workers and placing a bin that should be used for the community of Green Valley in her yard.

“The bin is come but the bin in come on the road, the bin come in her yard,” she claimed with the support of many other CIIP workers present.

Town Clerk Jonnellor Bowen recently told members of the media that the decision to terminate approximately 271 workers in Linden under CIIP was made through the councillors of LMTC.

Regional Chairman Renis Morian had asked for those letters to be rescinded, noting that it created uneasiness among the workers who were not properly consulted on the move.

Bowen said prior to the decision, she received correspondence at the level of the Ministry of Communities, based on discussions with the permanent secretary, where it was noted that the 271 employees under the CIIP programme would be allowed to work up to July 31, 2016.

She said the correspondence stated too that a maximum of 250 workers must be employed no later than August 1, 2016 and would work for eight hours per day, 4 days per week, 16 days per month, which would also include an increase in payment from $12,500 to $25,000 per month.

Many of the workers were not told of the reason they were issued termination letters and this lapse in the information process created tension among the group.

Industrial Relations Officer of the Guyana Public Service Union for Linden, Morris Butters at the meeting addressed the issue of limited information spiraling out of control as there isn’t a proper communication mechanism in place between the municipality and the Regional Democratic Council (RDC).

“Anything affecting the people of Linden decided on at the Town Council or the RDC, it remains there, it does not come out to the people so that they can know what their leaders are doing and what their leaders have planned for them. I think they need to have something so that we can inform the people of this community,” Butters said.

He recommended that the councils utilize the medium of television or radio to disseminate information as they have a “responsibility to the people.”

DISCONNECT
Minister Lawrence concluded that there is a disconnect between the Town Council and the people and committed to discuss the situation with Minister of Communities Ronald Bulkan. She said the Mayor and Deputy Mayor of Linden will also be summoned to a meeting.

“We want to know what is going on in this region, this region needs a shakeup,” she affirmed.

Lawrence said she will do a follow-up visit to the mining town in September. The public meeting brought to an end a weekend visit to communities along the Berbice River by Minister Lawrence and Minister within the Ministry of Social Protection, Keith Scott.

MINISTER of Social Protection Volda Lawrence believes that Linden needs a ‘shake up’ so that the residents can benefit from services made available by the government to bring relief to citizens. Lawrence at a public meeting in the mining town said that something or someone in Region 10 is preventing services from reaching residents.

CLOG IN THE SYSTEM
“Something is wrong in this region, something is wrong, we are in Georgetown, we are at Cabinet meeting, we are passing this, we are passing that, we are talking about bringing the services to our people and Linden comes up repeatedly because we know over 23 years you have been punished and then to come here and to hear the stories that we are hearing …. there is a clog in the system in Linden…there is something or someone stopping the services that this government is bringing…something is wrong,” declared Lawrence.

Linden needs a ‘shake up’ – Volda Lawrence, By Vanessa Braithwaite, August 22, 2016, http://guyanachronicle.com/lin...e-up-volda-lawrence/

Something indeed seems to be wrong and most definitely the Minister and cabinet are deflecting the issues on others.

The area was successful and thriving during the period under DEMBA but when Forbes Burnham nationalised and took over the operation around 1974 the operations and other activities declined at a rapid rate under the PNC regime.

1,  Cheddi endorse the nationalization.

2.  Linden's collapse went into free fall when Jagdeo fired 3,000 people when he sold Guymine from under them.

3.  The PPP can not point to a single piece of evidence that they have attempted to revitalize Linden's economy.

so that the residents can benefit from services made available by the government to bring relief to citizens

Takers.

Yet you and the rest of the brown bai KKK are bawling that the gov't isn't doing anything for Berbice.

So let the gov't close down GuySICKO so the workers can stop taking taxpayers dollars as an unsustainable company receives endless bailouts to prevent the workers from being put on the breadline.

2.  Linden's collapse went into free fall when Jagdeo fired 3,000 people when he sold Guymine from under them.

3.  The PPP can not point to a single piece of evidence that they have attempted to revitalize Linden's economy.

Perhaps you need to research the issues, rather that hurl nonsense as noted in item 3.

Regarding item 2, perhaps you are of the view that Government should continue with the ownership of the bauxite company.

Why did they continue with GUYSIKO??

Regarding item 1, opposition leaders are always in consultation with the government where they may or may not be agreements.

DEMBA and the ensuing names of the company is the issue.

Perhaps you need to research the issues, rather that hurl nonsense as noted in item 3.

The voting patterns of Linden will show you what they think of the PPP.  These aren't PNC slaves so if the PPP offered a better deal the PNC would have been history.  They fought against Burnham and are making demands of Granger.

What the PPP gave Linden were bullets because the PPP wanted to take away the one benefit that Linden had, which enabled them to survive through the deep economic morass of that town with the loss of bauxite jobs.

Regarding item 1, opposition leaders are always in consultation with the government where they may or may not be agreements.

It was clear that the PNC lacked the capacity to run these companies.  It was also clear that Burnham's plan was to nationalize the economy to allow total control.

But Cheddi, blinded by his Marxist Leninism, and loyal to Moscow and Havana, endorsed this action by Burnham.  You cannot walk away from that.

The voting patterns of Linden will show you what they think of the PPP.  These aren't PNC slaves so if the PPP offered a better deal the PNC would have been history.  They fought against Burnham and are making demands of Granger.

What the PPP gave Linden were bullets because the PPP wanted to take away the one benefit that Linden had, which enabled them to survive through the deep economic morass of that town with the loss of bauxite jobs.

1. 1953 MacKenzie and surrounding areas voted for the PPP.

2. 1957 MacKenzie and surrounding areas voted for the PPP-Burnhamites.

3. Subsequently MacKenzie and surrounding areas voted predominantly for the PNC.

It was clear that the PNC lacked the capacity to run these companies.  It was also clear that Burnham's plan was to nationalize the economy to allow total control.

But Cheddi, blinded by his Marxist Leninism, and loyal to Moscow and Havana, endorsed this action by Burnham.  You cannot walk away from that.

President and Opposition Leader may agree or disagree on matters.

The issue is the fact that the PPP sold Guymine as they claimed that they could no longer sustain losses. 

3,000 Lindeners lost their jobs and no doubt there were other indirect job losses as the sharply diminished purchasing power of what was once the most high paid part of the population then began to impact other areas.

The PPP knew that this would happen and didn't have a plan to transform Linden into something else.  In 2001 Linden had the 2nd most educated population, behind G/T and had the densest concentration of skilled workers.  So why couldn't it have been turned into an Export Processing Zone akin to those in other parts of the Caribbean like Jamaican and the DR. No the PPP told Linden to become a town of market vendors.

The PPP REFUSES to sell GuySICKO because they fear the political consequences if sugar workers ended up like former bauxite workers so YES it is relevant when you query why Guymine shouldn't have been sold.

This DUNCE  RACIST PIG thinks she can fool anyone. Linden never received as much as they did under the PPP. These RACIST FOOLS are unable to bring progress to Guyana , giving themselves fat raises and sitting on their big Bamxzee and empty heads not knowing what to do. Now they want the PPP to join them and teach them how to run a country!!!!

1. 1953 MacKenzie and surrounding areas voted for the PPP.

2. 1957 MacKenzie and surrounding areas voted for the PPP-Burnhamites.

3. Subsequently MacKenzie and surrounding areas voted predominantly for the PNC.

The PPP was never an option for Linden once it became a racist party hostile to blacks.  And their treatment of Linden being evidence of that.  Do you suggest that blacks and Muslims vote for Trump, because an Afro Guyanese vote for the PPP is exactly that.

The difference in treatment of the bauxite workers and the sugar workers is ample evidence of the contempt that the PPP has for Linden.

I note that you cannot cite evidence that the PPP attempted to transform Linden when it became evident that the private owners would lay off the vast majority of the workers.  The only idea they had was to make Linden a town of market vendors.

Linden has however always confronted the PNC when they felt neglected or abused by that party.  And THAT you cannot dispute.  Look at how they currently confront Granger!

When the leader of the opposition endorses and even encourages the President (Prime Minister in that era) then  he should share the blame when this decision was in error.

Guyana did NOT have the expertise, technology or capital to run these globally integrated enterprises. in fact we see GuySICKO as living evidence of that.  Why didn't the PPP divest GuySICKO in an era when there might have been some buyers?

In addition by then Burnham's dictatorial ways had become evident.  Cheddi should have refused to support the nationalization of the sugar industry, especially given that by the mid 70s Bookers was a model multinational, investing much into the socio economic welfare of its employees.  Cheddi would have already seen the mess that the PNC had made of other nationalized companies.

Yet Cheddi was as happy as a pig in mud when Bookers Guyana was nationalized.

So yes I blame Burnham, but I also blame Cheddi.  Given his anti colonial credentials Cheddi could have stood against the nationalizations without being painted as a colonial stooge.

The issue is the fact that the PPP sold Guymine as they claimed that they could no longer sustain losses. 

3,000 Lindeners lost their jobs and no doubt there were other indirect job losses as the sharply diminished purchasing power of what was once the most high paid part of the population then began to impact other areas.

The PPP knew that this would happen and didn't have a plan to transform Linden into something else.  In 2001 Linden had the 2nd most educated population, behind G/T and had the densest concentration of skilled workers.  So why couldn't it have been turned into an Export Processing Zone akin to those in other parts of the Caribbean like Jamaican and the DR. No the PPP told Linden to become a town of market vendors.

The PPP REFUSES to sell GuySICKO because they fear the political consequences if sugar workers ended up like former bauxite workers so YES it is relevant when you query why Guymine shouldn't have been sold.

PNC nationalised DEMBA in the 1970's to become government's operation.

The company was then sold by the PPP to the private sector.

Carib DeCon can only contribute  propaganda that aims to divide our people along racial lines.  He has nothing else to offer.

I hope you are not surprise or only now discover this. It is in his blood and conditioning at sophia University!!!

Last edited by Nehru

When the leader of the opposition endorses and even encourages the President (Prime Minister in that era) then  he should share the blame when this decision was in error.

Guyana did NOT have the expertise, technology or capital to run these globally integrated enterprises. in fact we see GuySICKO as living evidence of that.  Why didn't the PPP divest GuySICKO in an era when there might have been some buyers?

In addition by then Burnham's dictatorial ways had become evident.  Cheddi should have refused to support the nationalization of the sugar industry, especially given that by the mid 70s Bookers was a model multinational, investing much into the socio economic welfare of its employees.  Cheddi would have already seen the mess that the PNC had made of other nationalized companies.

Yet Cheddi was as happy as a pig in mud when Bookers Guyana was nationalized.

So yes I blame Burnham, but I also blame Cheddi.  Given his anti colonial credentials Cheddi could have stood against the nationalizations without being painted as a colonial stooge.

It is known that both Forbes Burnham and Cheddi Jagan made miscues.

Carib DeCon can only contribute  propaganda that aims to divide our people along racial lines.  He has nothing else to offer.

Boldly you lie about the murder of innocent blacks by the bloodthirsty PYO.  THAT is what divides Guyana according to race.  When you highlight black atrocities, and deny that Indians were equally atrocious.

The fact that I rub your face in the Roger Khan mess is not racist.  Its reminding you that the PPP was a criminal enterprise.

I hope you are not surprise or only now discover this. It is in his blood and conditioning at sophia University!!!

Carib thinks we are incapable of separating facts from fiction when he turns up his trottle and blast away with his usual lies and half-truths.

It is known that both Forbes Burnham and Cheddi Jagan made miscues.

And yet you always blame only Burnham.

Cheddi facilitated the growth of the Burnham power lust by facilitating the mechanism that he used to get it. Nationalizing the entire economy thereby rendering the entire population to be vulnerable to his whims.  He did it without having to engage in Papa Doc behavior.

Cheddi's blind devotion to Moscow and Havana contributed to the destruction of Guyana by Burnham.  He could have stood up to it and educated the Afro Guyanese of what Burnham was planning to do.  He didn't.  In his mind the PPP was going to win any free election, so he didn't see a need to broaden its base.

Carib thinks we are incapable of separating facts from fiction when he turns up his trottle and blast away with his usual lies and half-truths.

Continue to fool yourself that Roger Khan was fiction.  His presence in a US jail and the daily rapes that he must endure is evidence of how real this was.  The man was a big one, protected by Jagdeo. Outsmarted by the USA with the cooperation of Felix, and the Roger Khan dynasty came to an end.

Boldly you lie about the murder of innocent blacks by the bloodthirsty PYO.  THAT is what divides Guyana according to race.  When you highlight black atrocities, and deny that Indians were equally atrocious.

The fact that I rub your face in the Roger Khan mess is not racist.  Its reminding you that the PPP was a criminal enterprise.

The PPP is not a criminal enterprise.  Those criminals lodged in the Gulf section of Buxton who Roger Khan hammered were the main force behind a  criminal enterprise that spreaded fear and terror. Guess who eulogized them? It was not the PPP.

Last edited by Billy Ram Balgobin

PNC nationalised DEMBA in the 1970's to become government's operation.

The company was then sold by the PPP to the private sector.

Equally unprofitable Guysuco was not sold.  When we see the massive job losses and the dire condition of Linden it becomes evident why the PPP didn't subject its own base to this privatization, but instead demand endless bail out of an industry where unit production costs are 3X the unit price for its product.  And this not likely to change.

The PPP is not a criminal enterprise.  

Cooperating with narco traffickers is evidence of a criminal enterprise.  refusing to cooperate with the USA, Canada and the UK who wanted to help squelch this rampant drug trafficking is evidence of a criminal enterprise. Refusing to punish the man who master minded the killing of a PPP minister because that minister refused him access to an industry that would have allowed him to launder his ill gotten gains, and to export his main product is evidence of a criminal enterprise.

WikiLeaks has it all there.  The same source that you all use in your vain attempt to claim that Granger is a racist.

The USA saw the PPP regime as akin to that of Bouterse. CRIMINAL!

In fact Bouterse and the PPP enjoy excellent ties.

Boldly you lie about the murder of innocent blacks by the bloodthirsty PYO. 

THAT is what divides Guyana according to race. 

When you highlight black atrocities, and deny that Indians were equally atrocious.

Guyana became prominently divided along racial lines in the early 1950's.

1. When the constitution was suspended in 1953, the British succeeded in putting a wedge between Dr. Chddi Jagan and Forbes Burnham.

2. Forbes Burnham tried to become leader of the then PPP.

3. When Forbes Burnham's attempt failed, he broke from the organization and hence two political parties ... PPP-Jaganites and PPP-Burnhamites

4. 1957 elections were contested and the PPP-Jaganites were the winners.

5. Shortly after 1957, PPP-Burnhamites became the PNC.

When you highlight black atrocities, and deny that Indians were equally atrocious.

1. When the constitution was suspended in 1953, the British succeeded in putting a wedge between Dr. Chddi Jagan and Forbes Burnham.

3. When Forbes Burnham's attempt failed, he broke from the organization and hence two political parties ... PPP-Jaganites and PPP-Burnhamites

When Burnham left he took with him some Indians.  Burnham knew that his party couldn't win unless he won some rural seats, and that he couldn't win on the basis of a racial vote.  So he had to get cross ethnic support if he was going to win.  You will note that in 1957 he didn't have the ability to rig the vote.

The PPP knew that the easiest way to win was with a racial vote, so condoned the cries for "apan jhat" when Indians were urged to vote PPP.  It aligned itself with Indo supremacist groups whose goal was to transform Guyana into an Indian dominated nation.

A reliance purely on the African vote would have damned the PNC to losses.  A reliance purely on the Indian vote would have  allowed the PPP victory.

In fact Eusi, who never liked Burnham, and who refused to leave with him, was forced out when he saw that there was no room for Africans within the PPP, unless they became yes men, which he clearly wasn't.

In 1961 a PPP motorcade drove through black villages, harassing their inhabitants, and making threats of sending them back to slavery.  A black PPP supporter came out to welcome the PPP motorcade, but was met with racist insults.

The PPP is like the Donald Trump GOP.

When Burnham left he took with him some Indians.  Burnham knew that his party couldn't win unless he won some rural seats, and that he couldn't win on the basis of a racial vote.  So he had to get cross ethnic support if he was going to win.  You will note that in 1957 he didn't have the ability to rig the vote.

The PPP knew that the easiest way to win was with a racial vote, so condoned the cries for "apan jhat" when Indians were urged to vote PPP. 

It aligned itself with Indo supremacist groups whose goal was to transform Guyana into an Indian dominated nation.

A reliance purely on the African vote would have damned the PNC to losses.  A reliance purely on the Indian vote would have  allowed the PPP victory.

In fact Eusi, who never liked Burnham, and who refused to leave with him, was forced out when he saw that there was no room for Africans within the PPP, unless they became yes men, which he clearly wasn't.

In 1961 a PPP motorcade drove through black villages, harassing their inhabitants, and making threats of sending them back to slavery.  A black PPP supporter came out to welcome the PPP motorcade, but was met with racist insults.

The PPP is like the Donald Trump GOP.

"apan jhat"

As noted on related GNI topics and elsewhere ....

1. Apan jhat was indeed started in the 1950's.

2. Of specific note, at that specific time before the 1953 elections, there was the PPP as the major party.

3. Also of note, in 1953 after the government was suspended, there were subsequently the PPP-Jaganites and PPP-Burnhamites.

4. It was quite clear that apan jhat was never started nor used by the PPP-Jaganites.

5. It is of interest which group started apan jhat.

"apan jhat"

2. Of specific note, at that specific time before the 1953 elections, there was the PPP as the major party.

3. Also of note, in 1953 after the government was suspended, there were subsequently the PPP-Jaganites and PPP-Burnhamites.

4. It was quite clear that apan jhat was never started nor used by the PPP-Jaganites.

It was also noted that apan jhat was used by Indo supremacist groups to ensure the victory of an Indian party.  The PPP didn't need to actually use it.  They just needed to allow its use on their behalf.

I have already told you that it was the PPP and NOT the PNC which had something to gain from encouraging ethnic voting.

As noted by world authorities and official records, Burnham rigged every elections after 1964 to remain in power.

"apan jhat"

It was also noted that apan jhat was used by Indo supremacist groups to ensure the victory of an Indian party.  The PPP didn't need to actually use it.  They just needed to allow its use on their behalf.

I have already told you that it was the PPP and NOT the PNC which had something to gain from encouraging ethnic voting.

Indeed; it is on record and quite known that those groups were firmly within the then PPP-Burnhamites which subsequently became the PNC.

As noted by world authorities and official records, Burnham rigged every elections after 1964 to remain in power.

He rigged every election after 1964 because he knew that ethnic voting meant that he would never win otherwise.

But in 1957 he did NOT have the power to rig, so had to attract Indian votes in rural areas.  G/T, McKenzie and New Amsterdam did NOT generate enough seats to offset the rural areas.  Plus North G/T was not a seat that Burnham would win as it was where the whites and the coloreds lived.  The UF controlled much of the interior.

So a PNC win could only come by winning a few rural seats.

On the other hand the PPP could win PURELY by the rural vote.  Given that Indians outnumbered blacks and the seats were winner take all it was the PPP which benefitted from race based voting, so could have allowed Indo supremacist groups to sweep Indians towards them and away from the PNC, which did have Indian candidates.

Burnham exploited ethnic politics AFTER he had the political power to do as he wished. He could NOT do so in 1957. 

He rigged every election after 1964 because he knew that ethnic voting meant that he would never win otherwise.

But in 1957 he did NOT have the power to rig, so had to attract Indian votes in rural areas.  G/T, McKenzie and New Amsterdam did NOT generate enough seats to offset the rural areas.  Plus North G/T was not a seat that Burnham would win as it was where the whites and the coloreds lived.  The UF controlled much of the interior.

So a PNC win could only come by winning a few rural seats.

On the other hand the PPP could win PURELY by the rural vote.  Given that Indians outnumbered blacks and the seats were winner take all it was the PPP which benefitted from race based voting, so could have allowed Indo supremacist groups to sweep Indians towards them and away from the PNC, which did have Indian candidates.

Burnham exploited ethnic politics AFTER he had the political power to do as he wished.

He could NOT do so in 1957. 

Perhaps, rigging elections is firmly ingrained in the manner how the PNC conducts its political activities .. many of those who are firmly entrenched in the current PNC are members of the party since in the 1950's.