I demand an apology from the Guyana Chronicle

January 25 2019

Dear Editor,

When I received a phone call from a female Guyana Chronicle reporter, Svetlana Marshall, my defenses immediately went up. This is a newspaper that is hostile to the PPP/C and its leadership, and has repeatedly omitted to publish the many letters I have being sending to that editor.
And to further compromise their lack of credibility and objectivity, they are willing to publish slanderous statements about me, made by the likes of Rickford Burke in the Wednesday’s letter column of the government’s mouthpiece.
The moment the Chronicle reporter introduced herself, I knew I had to be careful of what I say to her for I did not want to be misquoted. I was also aware of the subject she wanted to discuss as many believe that I possess duel-citizenship. I do not, and I made this very clear to her.
When I was asked about the status of other PPP/C MPs, I referred her to our Chief Whip, Gail Teixeira. She told me she had tried but was unable to reach her. I then suggested that she attend the press conference being held by the Leader of the Opposition the following day, Thursday, January 17, to get the answers she’s looking for.
Editor, in this sensational piece, “Several PPP MPs have dual citizenship”, the reporter wrote, “The MP said he fully agrees with retired judge of the Caribbean Court of Justice (CCJ) Duke Pollard, that the National Assembly of Members of Parliament should be cleared of all MPs with dual citizenship.
“Gill said there should be no cherry picking of the laws, and as such, MPs with dual citizenship should do the honourable thing and step down.”
I categorically deny agreeing with retired CCJ judge Duke Pollard as reported, as it relates to his belief that “Parliament should be cleared of all MPs with dual citizenship.” And any reference I may have made about “doing the honourable thing” and stepping down, was totally sensationalized to give the wrong impression.
I had just brought to her attention a duplicitous remark made by the AFC Chairman, Khemraj Ramjattan, during an AFC press conference, in which he was asked, “What are the implications of the other MPs with dual-citizenship?”
To which he replied that the case brought against Charrandass in the High Court would only apply to him, and said, “You would probably have to bring another case against the rest.”
I reminded her that Ministers Joseph Harmon and Carl Greenidge had both admitted to having dual-citizenship and suggested they should do the honourable thing and step down. This is very different to what is being reported.
All journalists should be guided by the professional ethics of that noble profession. But it is evident that the Guyana Chronicle has been contaminated by government who uses that medium to peddle their propaganda.
I hereby demand an apology from Guyana Chronicle, whose reporter maliciously misquoted me.
I am a proud citizen of Guyana who remigrated after spending over 23 years in the good ‘ole USA as a permanent resident. After my children’s dependency period had ended, I returned home in 2012 in hopes of making a meaningful contribution to the land of my birth.
I have never returned since and have deliberately caused my “Green Card” to expire. I am the holder of one valid passport, issued to me by the Government of Guyana. I will forever be grateful to the People’s Progressive Party for giving me the opportunity to serve my country and her people as a Member of Parliament.
My personal views on dual-citizenship are as follows: We live in a democracy where the Constitution is our supreme law. Guyana is but a budding developing country when compared to the industrialized nations of the world. It is estimated that there are more Guyanese living in the diaspora than in Guyana itself.
It is also an undisputed fact that Guyanese living abroad are generally more exposed, educated and experienced. As a third world country, we must find attractive ways to tap into those human resources by attracting more and more Guyanese to return home to serve. The re-migrant scheme is one such incentive offered.
But the political maturity that Guyanese acquire living abroad cannot be ignored if Guyana is to progress. Perhaps in recognition of this, the laws governing dual-citizenship have not been strictly enforced by all administrations.
Since the Charrandass vote, Members of Parliament with known dual-citizenship are being branded as unpatriotic and having allegiance to foreign countries. Hogwash! Once a Guyanese, always a Guyanese! Ministers Greenidge and Harmon may be guilty of contributing to the visionless policies of this government, and Gail Teixeira may be guilty of fearlessly exposing government corruption but that has nothing to do with their patriotism and loyalty to Guyana and her people.
Minister Harmon once risked his life serving this nation in the Guyana Defence Force; you can’t be more patriotic than that.
Perhaps when we finally get down to constitutional reform, we can find common ground to allow resourceful patriotic Guyanese an opportunity to serve even though they may also have a foreign passport.
My concern is the duplicitous action being taken by government to brand Charrandass a traitor in pursuing charges to nullify his vote because he has dual citizenship. What Charrandass Persaud did was to alleviate the sufferings of the Guyanese people. He did not do it for Canada.
In my book Charrandass Persaud is a brave man and a patriot.

HARRY GILL

I am a proud citizen of Guyana who remigrated after spending over 23 years in the good ‘ole USA as a permanent resident. After my children’s dependency period had ended, I returned home in 2012 in hopes of making a meaningful contribution to the land of my birth.I have never returned since and have deliberately caused my “Green Card” to expire. I am the holder of one valid passport, issued to me by the Government of Guyana. I will forever be grateful to the People’s Progressive Party for giving me the opportunity to serve my country and her people as a Member of Parliament.

Q. Will I lose my permanent resident status if I do not renew my Green Card?

A. No, you will not lose your permanent resident status if you do not renew your Green Card— permanent resident status will not expire or change. However, you are required by law to carry evidence of your status/registration (e.g. (e.g. a valid, unexpired Green Card or the temporary proof of status you receive at the time of filing to renew your Green Card.)

https://www.uscis.gov/sites/de...rdRenewal_110702.pdf

MP Harry Gill , is still Permanent Resident of the USA, will received benefits if worked for 10 yrs and made 40 contributions.

The Chronicle is TOILET PAPER, plain and simple. The Neemakaram Crabdaag does use it to wipe Granger Batty!!!!!!!!

Both this and previous governments run it like a toilet paper...

The Chronicle should be privatized....

DJ, I am no immigration expert but he lived outside of the USA for over six years and did not renew his green card. An immigration officer can revoke his residency. 

I know a few Canadians with permanent U.S resident that this happened to when they entered the USA at the border crossing.

I think your reference was for someone living in the U.S who did not renew their residency card. An immigration expert can comment.

My father in law went back to Guyana many years ago and was in the same scenario. What he did was that he went in to the Canadian embassy and got a visitor visa and came to Canada. He decided to visit some of his children in the U.S and I drove him across the border. He showed his passport and U.S residence card. The immigration officer clearly told him that he could have revoked his residency but he will allowed him to enter and told him that he should renew his residency card when he enters the U.S.

The Chronicle is TOILET PAPER, plain and simple. The Neemakaram Crabdaag does use it to wipe Granger Batty!!!!!!!!

Both this and previous governments run it like a toilet paper...

The Chronicle should be privatized....

The Neemakaram Shameless Crabdaag voted for a budget of 1Gy dollar for Chronicle when he was not washing Batty. NOW this Neemakaram who said that GNI does not belong in Govt before he became ASS KISSER forgot what he did and said. Talk about Shameless Bastards!!!

@Django

As Gill didn't renew his green card, he could not get temporary proof of status that is required as evidence of permanent residence. He is required by law to show that evidence, or else me nah know wha dem go do wid am.

I would like to see a DUMMY try to enter the US with an expired Green Card. Some here will try dat

When it comes to DUMMY, you fit and have no authority to classified any other members of GNI in that category.

Just parading here daily with nothing of essence, same crap you post on FB.

Moses is a shameless prostitute !

Try to use English descriptively rather than through phrases that convey your ignorance and contempt for more than the target of your bile. What the hell is a shameless prostitute and why the hell pick on prostitutes in the first place?

I am a proud citizen of Guyana who remigrated after spending over 23 years in the good ‘ole USA as a permanent resident. After my children’s dependency period had ended, I returned home in 2012 in hopes of making a meaningful contribution to the land of my birth.I have never returned since and have deliberately caused my “Green Card” to expire. I am the holder of one valid passport, issued to me by the Government of Guyana. I will forever be grateful to the People’s Progressive Party for giving me the opportunity to serve my country and her people as a Member of Parliament.

A. No, you will not lose your permanent resident status if you do not renew your Green Card— permanent resident status will not expire or change. However, you are required by law to carry evidence of your status/registration (e.g. (e.g. a valid, unexpired Green Card or the temporary proof of status you receive at the time of filing to renew your Green Card.)

MP Harry Gill , is still Permanent Resident of the USA, will received benefits if worked for 10 yrs and made 40 contributions.

With a green card: If you reside outside the US for more than six months you will lose your immigrant status.

@D2

Again, you opinion is invalid and useless. You should really take some pills for your male menopause ! The Rev correctly diagnosed you a few years ago 

You are the biggest JACKASS and DUMMY on the planet and you display it everyday for the world to see. WWW, means World Wide Web, you are one PROUD DUMB FOOL. Walk ah Karna now, Uncle Nehru gave you your ounce

@Django

As Gill didn't renew his green card, he could not get temporary proof of status that is required as evidence of permanent residence. He is required by law to show that evidence, or else me nah know wha dem go do wid am

Expired Green Gard is Temporary proof of residence.

There are few issues, to receive benefits and Employment and re-entry a valid Green Card is needed.Also he can loose permanent residence by being out of the US for long periods and fail to file US income taxes.

The question, will MP Gill forego his SS benefits if qualified,living 23 yrs in the US one would assume he is qualified.

You are the biggest JACKASS and DUMMY on the planet and you display it everyday for the world to see. WWW, means World Wide Web, you are one PROUD DUMB FOOL. Walk ah Karna now, Uncle Nehru gave you your ounce

Useless FOOL to engage in any discussions, just parading thinking  the useless prattle are worthy .

@Django

As Gill didn't renew his green card, he could not get temporary proof of status that is required as evidence of permanent residence. He is required by law to show that evidence, or else me nah know wha dem go do wid am

There are few issues, to receive benefits and Employment and re-entry a valid Green Card is needed.Also he can loose permanent residence by being out of the US for long periods and fail to file US income taxes.

The question, will MP Gill forego his SS benefits if qualified,living 23 yrs in the US one would assume he is qualified.

I believe for one to collect SS outside the US, he/she must be a citizen of the US. A green card holder can collect SS if he or she lives in the US.

@Django

Proof of residence Where? You are no longer a US resident with an expired Green Card. You then have to show a valid Passport.

@Django

I believe for one to collect SS outside the US, he/she must be a citizen of the US. A green card holder can collect SS if he or she lives in the US.

Will have to check.

@Django

Bai, I think he will have to forfeit his SS. The law does not make any exceptions.

@Django

Proof of residence Where? You are no longer a US resident with an expired Green Card. You then have to show a valid Passport.

Click on link for info.

@Django

Bai, I think he will have to forfeit his SS. The law does not make any exceptions.

Only Customs and Border Protection knows how long you are out of the Country. I doubt SS Dept. and that authority have communications.

@Django

Click on link for info.

I believe you are misinterpreting this statement. This does not address if you are out of the country. I am of the opinion that as long as you remain in the US, you cannot lose your status if the card expires. By the same token, if you(a green card holder) reside outside the US for more than six months, you lose your immigrant status.

@Django

Only Customs and Border Protection knows how long you are out of the Country. I doubt SS Dept. and that authority have communications.

Don't believe that!!! My father was out of the country and came back on the day his 6 months expired and the immigration officer questioned him about why he was out so long.

Moses is a shameless prostitute.

What the hell is a shameless prostitute and why the hell pick on prostitutes in the first place?

. Yuji is ignorant of the vital role prostitutes play in society. In the US, for example, a prostitute's body language says: "Pay me and I'll take in your tired semen, your poor semen, your huddled semen yearning to breathe free, the wretched refuse of your teeming scrotum...."

No need to show green card.

@Django

Click on link for info.

I believe you are misinterpreting this statement. This does not address if you are out of the country. I am of the opinion that as long as you remain in the US, you cannot lose your status if the card expires.

By the same token, if you(a green card holder) reside outside the US for more than six months, you lose your immigrant status.

One can apply for stay outside of the US for more than 6 mths.

They know Everything !

I cross to the border so often that one immigration officer recommended that I get the Nexus for travelling. I was about to get it but a friend advised getting it because you basically give access to ALL of your personal information when getting a Nexus. 

@Django

Click on link for info.

I believe you are misinterpreting this statement. This does not address if you are out of the country. I am of the opinion that as long as you remain in the US, you cannot lose your status if the card expires.

By the same token, if you(a green card holder) reside outside the US for more than six months, you lose your immigrant status.

That is true only for medical reasons or emergencies when you are outside the US. A green card cannot be renewed outside the US(i believe).

Moses is a shameless prostitute.

What the hell is a shameless prostitute and why the hell pick on prostitutes in the first place?

. Yuji is ignorant of the vital role prostitutes play in society. In the US, for example, a prostitute's body language says: "Pay me and I'll take in your tired semen, your poor semen, your huddled semen yearning to breathe free, the wretched refuse of your teeming scrotum...."

No need to show green card.

Bai, I can’t argue with you on this. You rass speaking from experience. I am not an expert in this area. 

I guess no green card is needed but the US greenback is a necessity. 

Skelly, why you try to argue with STUPID??

nehru, it's just sharing my experience and knowledge so other people do not get shafted through ignorance. Believe me, I have been through some of these situations with relatives or some people who asked for advice. I have a red phone that is connected to INS.

That is true only for medical reasons or emergencies when you are outside the US. A green card cannot be renewed outside the US(i believe).

Correct.

Most likely MP Gill, lost his Permanent Resident US status, if one is to take his word of not maintaining his status required by law.

Thank God. he finally got it

Most likely MP Gill, lost his Permanent Resident US status, if one is to take his word of not maintaining his status required by law.

Please read the bold.

Correct.

A Green card is a Residency permit.  If you don’t reside here for more than 6 months a years you could lose it.  Seems they are easy on older folks and Canadians!