Not sure if these r myths/ superstitions or real at times..

so let us share.. maybe some of u  had actual experiences

What abt meaning/significance   dreams??

personally nothing significant happens  with my dreams lol but my sis’ dreams seem to have some msg.. like death or sickness

Eg ..so whn u hand scratch u get or spend  money depending on which hand

— whn yuh eye jump, same thing.. bad or good luck

— dream abt louse is sickness, wedding is death n vice versa

Dreamt abt shoes or old house?? Death.. dream of snake , it is enemy etc

wht abt handing a person pepper,?? Then u 2 will quarrel

bad omen??

so share wht u exp or heard stories abt!!

When you got itchy beety ...you got worms.

Rub jumby bubby on your hands makes em bust when teacher drop lash...teacher get in trouble.

What the heck is jumby bubby?

Cainstah dude I thought was jumbi umbrella but maybe same thing is jumbi bubby which is wild mushroom

ummm when u batty itchy then ummm somebody gugh dead or somebody goady a grow

if u burn something when goady man a pass the goady will roll😳

there was a big silk cotton  tree near my home ( right beside the train line)  I was always told that if I pee in there a Dutchman will keep me and I will never see my family again

also my mom told me if I pee in the trench while bathing a fish will bite out me patacake….well stupideee me, I stop going In the trench to bathe and refuse to learn to swim…

W
@cain posted:

Hehhehhehhh. I think it was jumby umbrella...I lil forgetfull these daze. It was mushroom that's tight. Another bad thing was cowitch.

Actually jumbie bubby is a small fruit that some think has magical powers. A Claypsonian sang about it..... Jumbie Umbrella is Mushroom.

it sounds familiar indeed.. like rubbing jumbee bubby n yr skin buss out .. but i dont rem details ..

but seeing that wild mushroom looked lilbit like bubby (😳😳).. maybe .. n yes jumbee umbrella is mushroom n reason why i still dont eat that thing.. we had a lot in our backyard !

Lynn

Lol@ fish n yr pata.. omg yr mom got u there!

well if u point at graves in burial ground.. wht did u do?

wht abt dropping salt on the ground?? Omg

abt peeing on dutchman tree ( btw wht kind of tree was that? Oak?)… dutchman jumbee was bad bad .. whn dem hold u .. is fuh life!

Lynn

Why did we cover mirrors at night or why we were not supposed to look in the mirror at nights??

or comb hair at nights??

it is funny how we were told not to do certain things n obeyed without any proper explanation .., my maa was very superstitious but i had scientific mind since i was a kid n prodded her for logical answers.. told her if it doesnt make sense to me then it was nonsense … hehe.. i was spoilt so she never beat me for being rude. In addition my dad taught me that ‘belief is cure’ so if i didnt believe it wont affect me.. reason why i was never scared of jumbee or dead.  My dad taught me that i shud b afraid of living people rather than dead as dead done dead so they cant harm me ..

Lynn

If gal pickney climb tree fruit get sour!!

this inquisitive child tested it.. yeah i climbed our genip tree whn no one was looking n proved it wrong!!genips were  sweet as ever. N to b certain i climbed the guava tree too.

the other thing was if u ‘seein yuh monthly’ n climb tree it will wither n die!! Lie lie!! Our neighbor did it.. up up in d tree n we saw her undies. My sis asked n she admitted.. the tree remained intact!!
tell me dis.. is whe dem ole people get dem tings from?? N the amusing thing is that we were so naive, we believed !!

Lynn

Bt itchy .. yrah certain man will die!!! Hahaha

if u scratch u bt night time.. is scotch tape pun yuh bt-hole to ketch pin worm!!
Btw , jokes aside.. that is actually the lab test for pin worms.. u examine that tape under microscope!!

Lynn

Here is a..ahem.. short story of mine.

I grew up with a Dutch couple..she taught English, typing and shorthand..he worked as a bookkeeper so I was quite good in English classes and also learnt bookkeeping from age 12, at the time it was in £sd (pound shilling and pence) I did well in that also.

She was a staunch Catholic, got me into church as an altar boy, that lady dragged me to the 6am and 6pm mass everyday. I went around about one week a month carrying a statue of Our Lady with a group praying with the rosary..I was usually asked to lead in prayer. We prayed for✌

She got quite ill and I remember every day waiting at our front door for the priest as I held a candle..I would then lead him into her bedroom to do his daily prayer ritual.

When she passed away I was outside in our yard when I heard my mom cry out and as I ran to the door I saw mom holding a burning table cloth which she tossed into the sink to soak.

After a while she took it out of the water and what I saw impacted me. The burn mark took on the shape of a chalice (used during holy communion)..in my later years I thought it might have been from the candle holder as it lay burning on the cloth.

She was not taken to a funeral home, instead she was left in the bedroom lying in a black casket. which was filled with ice (I never saw that being done since...I am not sure if was because we were poor or if because he was involved with the Masonic Lodge) that very night I slept in that same bedroom because I guess I was that close to her.

The strange thing is I have never dreamt of her but anytime I got into trouble, fights or got wasted on one thing or another she came to my mind, it was as though she was keeping me on the straight and narrow. She is always in the back of my mind.

@cain posted:

you tek back something you originally gave to someone.

True .give n tek back!!!

btw .u know i had to take swabs from these cysts at phg n i used to smile ‘ inside’ everytime  i rem cyat boil story !

btw lil warm rice in handkerchief applied on eyelid was the home remedy ie warm compress .

an Indian ophthalmologist told me that using the back of warm teaspoon helps for these cysts ( warm compress).. ole people knew abt these home remedies eh!    

Lynn
Last edited by Lynn
@cain posted:

Cyat boil could be a stye..where an oil producing gland gets blocked causing it to break out.

Sometimes bacterial whn foreign bodies get trapped in the gland!

had a friend n a cuz  who bith worked  at beharry curry powder factory n used to get this often !!

Lynn
Last edited by Lynn

“Signs”..anybody  does get signs??

whn my sis foot bottom scratch..she says she knows someone would die..n it is always so but she has no clue who it would be!! …but whenever i call her to inform that someone died..she would say..no wonder my foot bottom was itching non stop for so many days..

also if she sees butterflies around her house, it indicates a death..hmm..

mE nah  does get any ‘sign’

Lynn
@Lynn posted:

A month after my dad died..i dreamt him in the coffin but i was talking to him n he was answering me..my sis said that means someone else will die ..n sure my chacha died

in January I watched someone's funeral online, then dreamt that he was wrapped in a white sheet and showing me his neck how he hung himself. I screamed and woke up. I always dream dead after attending funerals

Dreams…do u get a message whn u dream??

i rem whn i had my 1st girl in 1987..i didnt send msg to my maa but she came up just like that n she said she knew i had got my baby because my (who was dead)  dad dreamt her n told her she must ‘hurry n go’ ..n just like that she knew it was abt even though she had   no idea of my delivery date..she just knew i was preggy!!

My sis dreamt my Olevel results before I actually got it..she woke up a morning after we had heard results were out ..she said to me..’u passed all of yr subjects n got 2 B grades’..i laughed at her n told her if i passed Chemistry n Literature, I have to get distinction in the rest of my subjects’ !!  2 days after, my gfs went to collect their results from sch( i didnt go) n they told me i passed all subjects with 2 B’s .

i rem once this sis woke up n announced that we were going to get ‘overseas’ visitor..n we did, even though we had no idea my aunty from Canada was in the country.  My sis had dreamt of a ‘steamer’ ie Ferry/big boat!!

Lynn

in January I watched someone's funeral online, then dreamt that he was wrapped in a white sheet and showing me his neck how he hung himself. I screamed and woke up. I always dream dead after attending funerals

Omg..scary!! So was there another dead? Family or friend?

I have dreamt my dad n my sis n even my mom many times but in  the dreams they r always alive..sometimes i dream my dad, mom n sis who died in 1981 ..all in  1 dream but nothing ever comes out of those dreams (unlike my sister’s dreams) ..

just that once, i dream my dad in the coffin..it was in our bottom house n i was in the hammock n he was in coffin just like he was at his funeral .   I asked my dad why he looked angry whn he died, that it seemed as if he bit his lip at the corner. His answer was that we had allowed a drunk lady to ‘open’ his eyelids( yeah she lived few houses away from us n was drunk n ran up n opened my dad eyes n said ‘look at me for the last Dada’). But my  bro quickly closed the eyelids but was unable to  close completely after that.) My dad also told me that he always asked  me NOT to cry for him whn he died but to-let him go in peace..that if i cried his soul wont have peace . I was 17 whn he died n he was my WORLD ..his death was sudden as he wasnt sickly ..he died within 15 hrs of falling sick. So yes, i bawled at his funeral .

Well whn i told my sister abt this dream..she told me  someone in the family will die n 2 wks after that dream, my dad’s cuz died. I never dreamt of him being dead after..

btw i dont like to see dead man face(viewing) not because i dream of them, but because i dont look at the dead because that image (dead face n body in coffin) is left imprinted in my mind ..(btw I still have visions of that janaza (KM) n of his lifeless  body wrapped in white , being lowered in the grave.  I cant get it out of my mind’s eyes )

Lynn
Last edited by Lynn

Irfon it’s sad that you do dream him like that. Well he was wrapped in a white sheet.  You two must’ve been very close and his death has impacted your life immensely.  I guess sometimes you are angry at him and other times at yourself.  Perhaps some counselling will help.

on January 27th I went to my good friend’s home after not hearing from her for 2 days…I used the key she gave me more than 12 yrs ago when she bought the house…as soon as I opened the door I see my friend dead on her couch, naked with her towels on the floor and one on her lap.  Apparently she took a bath, must’ve felt dizzy and went to the couch. The coroner said her heart failed….it was very hard at first. She was close to my whole family. She was the only outsider allowed at my home through covid.  My hubby used to take care of her yard, then my son took over and when he started full time work, my youngest took over.  After about 3 wks of her death  I dreamt her. She was fully dressed. She was smiling and joking. I get some counselling through my past employer. It helps .

I recommend that you seek counseling please.

W

Here is another weird thing.Two sisters are married to two of my relatives. Many years ago both sisters dreamt within a couple days of each other, I had kicked the bucket.

I would usually have strange things occur with me to which I chalked up to coincidence until I took an angel course during my holistic health studies. The lady giving the course walked into the room the first day where we were all seated in a circle (about 20 of us) she pointed toward me and told me I had a strong spirit guide.

At one point she went to each of us, told us a bit about our guide, we were then given a small sheet of paper with the name of the guide but we were not to open it until the name came to us. When she got to my daughter who was standing next to me, my daughter was asked if she was involved in holistic work to which my daughter said no but I did (at the time I was doing a bit of work on my daughter..she was also my first case study along with my wife)

The instructor spoke a bit with her then came my turn where she looked over my shoulder, nodded then said the name David as though acknowledging a presence, that was my spirit guide's name. I was the only one not handed the hidden name. During the workshop about half the group came up with the names she had provided on the sheets of paper. Some claimed they heard whispers...some had a feeling.

I can write a book on some of what I came across during those times and still do. The strange part about this...I was never a believer in angels, natural health, energy work (Reiki etc), absolutely not, I popped pills even before I had pain, sucked back the booze before it got spoiled, smoked two packs filterless cigarettes a day, didn't walk away from a good scrap and partied like there was no tomorrow.

@cain posted:

Quite welcome!

Never exp any such stuff but this reminds me of a TV show, with w British host..who was a ‘medium’ n he did something similar…very eerie stuff as he was communicating with DEAD spirits

Lynn

If someone sweeping n if d broom touches  another person’s feet..dem seh that person nah guh get married!!

n if yuh washing bhartan n u wet up the dress by the belly area..dem seh u guh marry a drunk man..lol

Lynn
Last edited by Lynn

Sch chirren used to mark X’s using white chalk on an oldlady bridge..because dem seh d ole lady was an ole higue??

n oh..there was another lady in our street..people said she was ole higue too, so my maa told us to hide our necks whn we passed by the house..lol

Lynn

We were not allowed to play LITTI in the house..i am not sure why..if it meant bad luck or if u calling for someone to get sick??

also card games (my mom used to burn all d cards..we resorted to making cards using boxes but hse burnts those too) ..again i dont rem why..maybe because card games was a dead house thing??

Lynn