Originally Posted by randolph:

The first official Cabinet meeting convened by the new administration was not chaired by Prime Minister Moses Nagamootoo as is stipulated under the Cummingsburg Accord signed by APNU and the AFC to contest the elections.

as a PPP bitter-ender soldier dedicated to race-baiting, fear-mongering and the self-serving destruction of multi-racial harmony in Guyana, why are the closed-door coalition doings of such 'concern' to you?

hmmmm?

The first official Cabinet meeting convened by the new administration was not chaired by Prime Minister Moses Nagamootoo as is stipulated under the Cummingsburg Accord signed by APNU and the AFC to contest the elections.

you doing a great job keep us inform use bar-rat house as your outpost 

If the source for this information is indeed correct, perhaps there will be much more to be revealed as time progresses.

The Cummingsburg Accord is simply a private agreement between the PNC and AFC which absolutely has no bearing and significance to the constitution of Guyana and its pertinent attendant issues.

I have a feeling this Nagga guy don't know how fuh run meetings...PNC rocks.

Originally Posted by alena06:

De man in a previous government also ran a high school  and he na know how to run meetings, ha !!

Instead of posting the conclusion, why not ask the reason ?

Originally Posted by Tola:

De man in a previous government also ran a high school  and he na know how to run meetings, ha !!

That was a sarcastic statement btw.

you are a dutty homan. haul yuh stink ass da side.

Ms Alena, lemme tell you what I know for a fact, what I've witnessed personally. Moses Nagamootoo has been chairing meetings for various organizations for over 45 years, from the PPP to the Union of Guyanese Journalists to the Caribbean Media Workers Association to the International Organization of Journalists, and also as PPP Minister of Information and later Minister of Local Government. I was present at many meetings Nagamootoo chaired quite proficiently.

You say you "have a feeling", I am saying what I know for sure.

As regards Cabinet meetings, President Granger is setting the tone and giving the charge at the outset, but Prime Minister Nagamootoo will soon take the chair.

Alena tell abee wha Jagdeo know to do?

Besides putting Varshni out and teking in Kwame?

Alena who is Rude Boy?

Ms Alena, lemme tell you what I know for a fact, what I've witnessed personally. Moses Nagamootoo has been chairing meetings for various organizations for over 45 years, from the PPP to the Union of Guyanese Journalists to the Caribbean Media Workers Association to the International Organization of Journalists, and also as PPP Minister of Information and later Minister of Local Government. I was present at many meetings Nagamootoo chaired quite proficiently.

As regards Cabinet meetings, President Granger is setting the tone and giving the charge at the outset, but Prime Minister Nagamootoo will soon take the chair.

Alena see the word "Shaft" and she got all excited.

partybanana

partybanana

I'm not concerned about whether she is excited or not. I'm concerned about her making statements on Nagamootoo that have no bearing to reality or history.

partybanana

I'm not concerned about whether she is excited or not. I'm concerned about her making statements on Nagamootoo that have no bearing to reality or history.

I know.  

partybanana

You are in the league of Bheri!  Low-life jerks!

partybanana

You are in the league of Bheri!  Low-life jerks!

Stop harassing dat gyal from Canal. haul you ass.

Chairing a meeting is not a big deal.  It becomes a big deal when the Chair decides that someone should not speak or certain topics should not be discussed.

I cannot understand  why there was an agreement in the first place for a PM to chair a meeting when the President is present. This just doesn't seem right. The PM should chair if the President is not there.  The Cummingsburg Accord is not the 10 Commandments.

It's a partnership.  You take turns.

Nehru, election over.  PPP lost.  Moses is new VP and PM.

He had told PPP, they can't win without him and that proved correct in 2011 and 2015.

Embrace it.

Anger is you drinking poison hoping the other person dies.

Don't keep drinking poison, try some of the Coalition's cool aid.  It's good for you.

Originally Posted by Jay Bharrat:

It's a partnership.  You take turns.

Nehru, election over.  PPP lost.  Moses is new VP and PM.

He had told PPP, they can't win without him and that proved correct in 2011 and 2015.

Embrace it.

Anger is you drinking poison hoping the other person dies.

Don't keep drinking poison, try some of the Coalition's cool aid.  It's good for you.

Why would I be angry??  Because of a RIG Election??  Because my Credit Card got cancelled???  NO NO NO .. I can buy my own Likka and Poke.

What some folks, including the Moses cultists, fail to understand is that the President is higher in the hierarchy than is the PM.  If Granger wishes to attend a cabinet meeting he is free to do so.  Protocol will suggest that he will chair that meeting.

The problem will be if Harmon began to chair the meetings.  His role is to liaise between cabinet, which is chaired by Nagamotoo, and the Presidency.  Not to oversee cabinet, which initially appeared to be the case when Harmon began to say things most appropriately said by Moses. 

But they seem to have fixed the problem, thanks to vocal people like M Maxwell.  Rather than engaging in the normal Guyanese practice of not criticizing the government which one supports, were very vocal about what they saw as potentially high handed actions by Granger.  Apparently their voices were heard.

Originally Posted by VVP:

Chairing a meeting is not a big deal.  It becomes a big deal when the Chair decides that someone should not speak or certain topics should not be discussed.

I cannot understand  why there was an agreement in the first place for a PM to chair a meeting when the President is present. This just doesn't seem right. The PM should chair if the President is not there.  The Cummingsburg Accord is not the 10 Commandments.

The Accord said that the PM would have responsibility for the day to day functioning of cabinet.  He would also have responsible for making several recommendation on a variety of issues, with the President having the final say.

Don't know what the fuss is because in every system the head of state has the final say.  If Hillary screamed war and Obama said no, there would be no war, and Hillary would have been fired if she made her disagreement public.  Obviously Obama would have considered her suggestions and recommendations prior to his final decision.

This is how it works between Nagamootoo and Granger.

  If Granger wishes to attend a cabinet meeting he is free to do so.  Protocol will suggest that he will chair that meeting.

Cabinet is not parliament. I think Granger will be attending all cabinet meetings.  That's why I cannot understand why the PM is the chair per the Accord.  This does not make sense.

. . . thanks to vocal people like M Maxwell.  Rather than engaging in the normal Guyanese practice of not criticizing the government which one supports, were very vocal about what they saw as potentially high handed actions by Granger.  Apparently their voices were heard.

lol

Interesting that Granger actually commented on comments made by people like these, and we are now seeing more transparency with people being allowed to play the roles that they were expected to play.  He don't hear as much from Harmon.

Redux, this is actually a good thing when a gov't's supporters feel free to criticize it, and when that gov't actually responds to their comments.

Now imagine if we had the same thing under gov'ts dominated by the Jagans, Burnham, and Jagdeo where Guyana might be today!