Originally Posted by Stinger:
Well muller Kakwari wham tuh yuh sPacers? Dem Hawks clawed dem rass up good n prapa
Also de Clipclaps got slapped around by de Warriors

Kudos to de Nyets tekkin down de Craptors

Later on today our HEAT will be in action

Go Miami!!!

Syinghaaaagh.....de Pacers pacing themselves like the sorry Knicks....

The only surprise is the space cadets strugglin with lowly Atlanta. Heat is supposed to cake-walk over those BobPussies; Nyets and Craptors will be a competitive series; out west it will be a struggle for all the teams.

We'll get serious about the Heat when they move to round 2 against the Nyets and if they get past them, then a straightened-out Indiana team (see the look on Larry Bird's face). OKC will get it right out west though I suspect Pops team are looking for revenge.

So don't go lathering up your sissy heats just yet. They are doing what is expected of them in a first round joke.

The only surprise is the space cadets strugglin with lowly Atlanta. Heat is supposed to cake-walk over those BobPussies; Nyets and Craptors will be a competitive series; out west it will be a struggle for all the teams.

We'll get serious about the Heat when they move to round 2 against the Nyets and if they get past them, then a straightened-out Indiana team (see the look on Larry Bird's face). OKC will get it right out west though I suspect Pops team are looking for revenge.

So don't go lathering up your sissy heats just yet. They are doing what is expected of them in a first round joke.

For now, I am thinking it is a finals between the Heat and Memphis. But that is only because the Clippers' owner's racist rampage may pull his team down. 

Originally Posted by ksazma:

Yeah, Rihanna may be a NYets fan but even her can't get enough of Bron Bron. Bad news for the NYets tonight. They will all need their mama tomorrow to console them. Especially cry baby Pierce.

THANK GOD FOR MOTHERS ............. DAY.

I guess the Nyets got all their mamas together last night.

Originally Posted by ksazma:

Yeah, Rihanna may be a NYets fan but even her can't get enough of Bron Bron. Bad news for the NYets tonight. They will all need their mama tomorrow to console them. Especially cry baby Pierce.

THANK GOD FOR MOTHERS ............. DAY.

I guess the Nyets got all their mamas together last night.

They certainly did. As certain as one can expect the Heat to play the fool sometimes. I knew it was not going to be a good game for the Heat when Wade and Bosh are standing on the three point line and have Chalmers and Battier on the interior. To add to that Wade is jacking up threes when not needed. But we all know how this series will end. The NYets have their well deserved win. Now the Heat will get back to the business of winning their Championship. This is what others have resorted to to stop the King.

Paul Pierce and the Nets did whatever it took to slow down LeBron James in Game 3.

Originally Posted by raymond:

Guyanese boy Darren Collison (both parents from Guyana), did a nice job for CLippers...his mother is June Griffith, she represented Guyana at the 1984 Olympics...his father was also an athlete from Guyana

OKC had a chance to go up 3-1 but their end game was not good. Too much Westbrook at the end. But OKC will win that series and beat the Spurs. Doesn't matter who wins the West, they will all have home court regardless of who wins the East. Except it is Portland against the Pacers where the Pacers will have home court. But who are we kidding?

The Spurs look like the team to emerge from the West - no question. They are the best TEAM out there. In as much as I like KD, Chris Paul makes Westbrook look like molasses. OKC does not have the collective basketball IQ or depth like the Spurs.

I think the Spurs were the best team last year, but failed in Games 6 and 7 of the finals. I still think they are the best team this year.

Miami is still the team to beat in the East. They have the best player (LeBron now shares that wit KD) and the championship will. It's up to the others to show they can step it up to that level. Both the Nyets and Pacers have the type of team structure to give Miami fits. The question is do they have the right make-up.

The Spurs look like the team to emerge from the West - no question. They are the best TEAM out there. In as much as I like KD, Chris Paul makes Westbrook look like molasses. OKC does not have the collective basketball IQ or depth like the Spurs.

I think the Spurs were the best team last year, but failed in Games 6 and 7 of the finals. I still think they are the best team this year.

Miami is still the team to beat in the East. They have the best player (LeBron now shares that wit KD) and the championship will. It's up to the others to show they can step it up to that level. Both the Nyets and Pacers have the type of team structure to give Miami fits. The question is do they have the right make-up.

Until the Heat let me down, I have no reason to not bank on them.

The Path to 49

The Multi-Tool Apprach of LeBron James

LeBron James       
          Photo Credit: Jesse D. Garrabrant        

There's nothing LeBron James can’t do.

That didn’t become true as the Miami HEAT took a 3-1 series advantage over the Brooklyn Nets with a 102-96 victory. It’s probably been true since before anyone outside the team actually had the chance to notice it. And it’s going to be true whether or not everyone chooses to accept it. This is where we’re at with one of the best we’ve ever seen. Every feat imaginable is on the table. He’s the best superhero movie in a season overrun with them.

You used to be able to sit back a few more feet off the ball in an attempt to draw a jumper, but such passive coverage invites a calm, peaceful result.

James won’t always take the shot, but it’s no longer about whether he can make it or not. Sometimes he’ll search for better options, as San Antonio forced him to do a year ago, but the fallback option for a plus-shooter is still a plus-jumper. The shot can end a scheme.

You can play him straight up, as some chose to do Monday night in Brooklyn. You know you’re risking the drive. You know you’ll need help in the paint. Or you can take your lumps conceding the jumper. It probably doesn’t matter when James is at his best. If he wants to drive, he’s going to drive. And if you’re playing smaller lineups, there isn’t going to be much at the rim to stop him.

“We can’t allow a player like that to be in the paint all night,” Kevin Garnett said.

James scored 17 points on 12 drives, according to SportVU tracking data, as he made every shot he took off his own dribble-attacks. He was 3-for-3 with at least two players defending him at the rim, where he made 11 baskets. Including a couple tough, fading jumpers, he shot 6-of-7 with his primary defender within two feet of the shot.

Put the ball in his hands and you’re handing him the stuff that dreams are made of.

So you want to get the ball away from him? Sending an extra defender his way is only sending a message that someone, somewhere is open.

And if you keep the ball away from him entirely, he’ll find his way into scoring position anyways. For as much attention as his evolution in the post has rightfully garnered, James’ development as a screen-setter has been just as crucial to Miami’s success. The HEAT become reliant on other playmakers to take advantage of the defensive tilt when James shift into that mode, but Mario Chalmers was more than up to the task.

There’s not much more to saying about James’ outing. His 49 points tied a career-playoff high, and only two other players – Allen Iverson and Vince Carter – have put up as many points on 60-plus percent shooting to go with just one turnover in a playoff game since 1986. When the HEAT needed a go-ahead corner three created in the game's final moments, or some one-on-one stops against Joe Johnson, he did that, too. This was greatness, but you didn’t need anyone to tell you that.

“He was what was needed, on the road,” Erik Spoelstra said. That’s what makes him the best player in the game. Whatever is needed.”

Greatness almost wasn’t enough, however, and that’s something to keep in mind going forward. James can do everything, but he can’t do everything in every single game. Sure, the offense is going to go through him, and even though the HEAT were one Chris Bosh corner-three away from the Nets having a go-ahead possession in the final minute, the score being close despite James’ efficiency is hardly an indictment of the rest of Miami’s offense. Other players will have a major scoring impact in the playoffs. That much we know.

It’s on defense that James physically can’t be everywhere at once. There, you need five players, and the HEAT haven’t been playing together on that end as often as they’ll need to be.

“We’re trying to crack the code,” Spoelstra said. “It’s not an easy code. That’s why, for the aficionado out there, it’s a compelling matchup. We try to get to what we get to, but they’re a very smart team full of veteran players. You’re not going to rush them.”

There’s no shame in giving up an offensive efficiency of 115.7 to the Nets over the past two games. Brooklyn has moved the ball better against Miami than any prior playoff opponent not named San Antonio. Occasional bouts with isolation offense aside, the Nets can find good opportunities. And they’ve been incredible shot makers no matter the proximity of their defenders.

You know what it looks like. The Omega Swarm. It showed up for a few possessions scattered over the first two games in what were otherwise solid defensive performances. In those games, the Nets got to the rim 40 times. Since then, those attempts totaled 54, with a variety of drives resulting in high-percentage looks.

“We’re trying to shrink the floor as much as possible, because they got some shooters that got rolling,” Shane Battier said. “We’re trying to extend our defense, and we’re vulnerable at the cup.”

“You take away the three, then they’re going to be able to get to the paint a little bit more,” Dwyane Wade said. “You can’t take away it all, you can try to limit certain things.”

It’s good enough, for now, particularly in earning the necessary road win. But there is a small margin for error when you’re just good enough. James can do everything on offense, and there’s little doubt about the team’s ability to find shots for everyone, but the team will have to live up to its own standards on the side of the ball that’s about more than the vast abilities of a single player.

Statistical support provided by NBA.com, Synergy Sports and STATS LLC

LeBron has to carry plenty dead weight

In as much as this statement is stated with some degree of lightness, there is a lot of light there in the dead weight description. The only thing is whether LeBron can weather this for another two rounds.

I still insist that the Spurs were the best team last year though they lost to Miami in the Finals; and they're the best team this year. They should have finished off Miami in 6 last year, but they'll most likely get a chance this year.

Not gonna happen. He's not Phil's guy. He has a mind of his own. ZenMaster would rather Bill Cartwright over him.Originally Posted by Kari:

Mark Jackson to be the next Knicks coach.

Indiana will close out Washington tomorrow and we'll get the Heats/Pacers this weekend.

Spurs will not have to wait too long for the Thunder.

Looks like we'll get the 4 best teams in the conference finals.

LeBron has to carry plenty dead weight

In as much as this statement is stated with some degree of lightness, there is a lot of light there in the dead weight description. The only thing is whether LeBron can weather this for another two rounds.

I still insist that the Spurs were the best team last year though they lost to Miami in the Finals; and they're the best team this year. They should have finished off Miami in 6 last year, but they'll most likely get a chance this year.

Seriously, how can the Spurs have been the best team last year when Miami won the crown? Don't the better team become champs, always? Best record, sure.