http://www.huffingtonpost.com/...rc=sp&comm_ref=false

NYPD Cops Dance Dirty With Women During West Indian Day Parade

First Posted: 9/12/11 05:03 PM ET Updated: 9/12/11 07:19 PM ET

For the uninitiated, the dance move you're about to see is called "daggering" (watch this Major Lazer video for a full introduction) and although we're pretty sure "daggering" may violate some NYPD standard of conduct, everyone in the crowd goes wild and loves it. So, whatever.

Plus, this happened the same day cops in Brooklyn for the West Indian Day parade may have accidentally shot and killed an innocent Crown Height woman AND racially profiled a city councilman before arresting him. So however unprofessional and inappropriate this may have been, anything to make us smile from that day is a welcome change.

(It gets really crazy around the 16 second mark. Slightly NSFW.)
Originally posted by Nehru:
What is nasty about a Lil Backballing and wine and go down low???? Seriously.

nothing is wrong with a "lil." what those women were doing in that video though was basically simulating anal sex (and from what i can tell, probably engaging in it as well) in a public place. parade or no parade: not appropriate, vulgar, distasteful and disgusting.
Originally posted by the new yorker:
those women are nasty.

I agree. This is a part of West Indian culture that I find somewhat revolting and not particularly proud of. However I can still empathize with Pandit Nehru and others, who after a few swig on the bottle can find themselves on the slippery slope ( in this case a gyrating mound) to licentiousness.
Originally posted by Mara:
I agree. This is a part of West Indian culture that I find somewhat revolting and not particularly proud of. However I can still empathize with Pandit Nehru and others, who after a few swig on the bottle can find themselves on the slippery slope ( in this case a gyrating mound) to licentiousness.

i find it ugly and shameful behavior. i would never, ever take my daughter to one of these parades as they do not celebrate west indian "culture." they celebrate vulgarity and indecency. are the mothers and fathers of these women and girls behaving like this proud of them? does it make someone proud to see his/her daughter basically wearing underwear (even that's stretch as one can almost see right up most of their cracks on that video) and engaging in sex simulation in public? i feel sorry for anyone who took their children to this display and who's children now think this is a "celebration" of their culture.
[QUOTE]Originally posted by Nehru:
Obviously you are NOT a West Indian. dat is how we Roll.[QUOTE]

well, guyana is technically not part of the west indies, so i guess not. ewww, your women are nasty.

When you say that gy is technically not part of the Caribbean, I guess you mean geographically, everyone knows that, but what about socially...?

We, who have lived or have roots to that narrow strip of northern South America know where our connection lie, i.e. with the Caribbean.

I have had this argument with lots of person over the years, it has even been debated on this very forum many times.
Originally posted by kwaku:
When you say that gy is technically not part of the Caribbean, I guess you mean geographically, everyone knows that, but what about socially...?

We, who have lived or have roots to that narrow strip of northern South America know where our connection lie, i.e. with the Caribbean.

I have had this argument with lots of person over the years, it has even been debated on this very forum many times.

that's why i used the word "technically."
Caribbean and West Indies is a huge difference. Guyana is in the Caribbean, it does have some WI influences but, we are not West Indian.
We are South Americans.
Likewise,Venezuela is not in the West Indies but they are in the Caribbean.

From Wikipedia, there are 41 countries that make up the Caribbean. I counted 40.

This category has the following 41 subcategories, out of 41 total.

[+] Former countries in the Caribbean (2 C, 19 P)

[+] Anguilla (18 C, 4 P)
[+] Antigua and Barbuda (20 C, 4 P)
[+] Aruba (19 C, 5 P)

B

[+] Bahamas (19 C, 4 P)
[+] Barbados (20 C, 4 P)
[+] Belize (20 C, 4 P)
[+] British Virgin Islands (19 C, 3 P)

C

[+] Cayman Islands (21 C, 5 P)
[+] Collectivity of Saint Martin (8 C, 3 P)
[+] Colombia (24 C, 7 P)
[+] Costa Rica (22 C, 4 P)
[+] Cuba (23 C, 5 P)
[+] Curaçao (19 C, 5 P)

D

[+] Dominica (19 C, 3 P)
[+] Dominican Republic (22 C, 5 P)

F

[+] France (27 C, 8 P)
[+] French Guiana (18 C, 3 P)

G

[+] Grenada (21 C, 4 P)
[+] Guadeloupe (17 C, 6 P)
[+] Guyana (22 C, 5 P)

H

[+] Haiti (20 C, 4 P)
[+] Honduras (20 C, 7 P)

J

[+] Jamaica (23 C, 12 P)

M

[+] Martinique (16 C, 8 P)
[+] Mexico (25 C, 5 P)
[+] Montserrat (17 C, 5 P)

N

[+] Caribbean Netherlands (4 C, 8 P)

N cont.

[+] Nicaragua (20 C, 5 P, 1 F)

P

[+] Panama (22 C, 7 P)
[+] Puerto Rico (26 C, 17 P, 2 F)

[+] Saint BarthÃĐlemy (14 C, 6 P)
[+] Saint Kitts and Nevis (20 C, 5 P)
[+] Saint Lucia (20 C, 3 P)
[+] Saint Vincent and the Grenadines (19 C, 4 P, 1 F)
[+] Sint Maarten (13 C, 5 P)
[+] Suriname (21 C, 4 P)

[+] Trinidad and Tobago (23 C, 6 P)
[+] Turks and Caicos Islands (15 C, 5 P)

U

[+] United States Virgin Islands (22 C, 5 P)

[+] Venezuela (25 C, 5 P)

The following are 26 countries that make up the West Indies I count 25.

Anguilla,
Antigua & Barbuda
Aruba
Bahamas
Belize
British Virgin Islands
Cayman Islands
Cuba
Dominica
Dominican Republic
Grenada
Guadeloupe
Haiti
Honduras
Jamaica
Martinique
Montserrat
Netherlands Antilles
Puerto Rico
St. Kitts and Nevis
Saint Lucia
St Vincent & The Grenadines
Trinidad and Tobago
Turks & Caicos Islands
US Virgin Islands
Originally posted by Mara:

i find it ugly and shameful behavior. i would never, ever take my daughter to one of these parades as they do not celebrate west indian "culture." they celebrate vulgarity and indecency. are the mothers and fathers of these women and girls behaving like this proud of them? does it make someone proud to see his/her daughter basically wearing underwear (even that's stretch as one can almost see right up most of their cracks on that video) and engaging in sex simulation in public? i feel sorry for anyone who took their children to this display and who's children now think this is a "celebration" of their culture.

There is little or no difference difference with women winning up to Tassa at Maticore night or on Lawa morning at Indian weddings.
I attended a hindu wedding at a Mandir and Tassa was allowed to play in the yard and boy I could not have belief the type of vulgar dancing that was going on in that Mandir Yard. I came here on GNI and spoke about it and was told that music and dancing is part and parcel of Hindu culture.

Question for you will you take your daughter to a such a wedding where there is winning up?
Originally posted by Chief:
There is little or no difference difference with women winning up to Tassa at Maticore night or on Lawa morning at Indian weddings.
I attended a hindu wedding at a Mandir and Tassa was allowed to play in the yard and boy I could not have belief the type of vulgar dancing that was going on in that Mandir Yard. I came here on GNI and spoke about it and was told that music and dancing is part and parcel of Hindu culture.

Question for you will you take your daughter to a such a wedding where there is winning up?

we don't engage in that kind of bullshit at our weddings. tassa dancing is nothing like the anal sex simulation going on in this video, so i don't what kind of tassa dancing you've been watching.

Are you doubting that that there is not wholesale winning that goes on at Indian weddings?
Winning from infront can be deemed simulating sex as well.

It is not fair statement for you and others who are screaming that you will not expose your children to this "tpye of culture". The "winning" that goes on at Indian weddings are getting very close and if not, already to the point of what is seen at Carnival time.

If you doubt me just check out Ricki Jai's "Matticore" and other Chutney singers videos.
Are you doubting that that there is not wholesale winning that goes on at Indian weddings?
Winning from infront can be deemed simulating sex as well.

It is not fair statement for you and others who are screaming that you will not expose your children to this "tpye of culture". The "winning" that goes on at Indian weddings are getting very close and if not, already to the point of what is seen at Carnival time.

If you doubt me just check out Ricki Jai's "Matticore" video and any most other Chutney singer videos.

i am not doubting or denying anything about what goes on at functions. i haven't been to every single wedding, birthday party, nine day, etc. etc. etc in the the history of the world to know what goes on at every single one. you asked me about what goes on at the weddings i go to, and i'm telling you that at my family's functions, the type of vulgarity seen in the video above will not happen. you can go on moaning about it, but my child has never seen that type of nonsense AT ANY FUNCTION we've been to. PERIOD. END OF STORY.

and i don't know who this ricky jai person is, but whomever he is, if he is making vulgar videos, he is not representative of my culture. he represents himself and anyone else in his video, not me, and not my culture.
Wine down behavior is common at most carnivals all over the world when people get drunk and start frollicking. It's not limited to West Indian carnivals. This is actually very tame in comparison to what happens in Rio when the Brazilian women have their breasts and pu55y hanging out. That is why it is called a carnival, for you to let go and have some fun and stop being a stiff old bore.

A lot of holier than thou people who condemn other peeps just having a little fun does deh sleepin wid other people husband and wife. They need to just change the channel if they don't like what's on the TV.
Originally posted by AndrÃĐ:
Wine down behavior is common at most carnivals all over the world when people get drunk and start frollicking. It's not limited to West Indian carnivals. This is actually very tame in comparison to what happens in Rio when the Brazilian women have their breasts and pu55y hanging out. That is why it is called a carnival, for you to let go and have some fun and stop being a stiff old bore.

A lot of holier than thou people who condemn other peeps just having a little fun does deh sleepin wid other people husband and wife. They need to just change the channel if they don't like what's on the TV.

ME AN DA CHIEF NEED SOME PICS OF THIS.
[
i am not doubting or denying anything about what goes on at functions. i haven't been to every single wedding, birthday party, nine day, etc. etc. etc in the the history of the world to know what goes on at every single one. you asked me about what goes on at the weddings i go to, and i'm telling you that at my family's functions, the type of vulgarity seen in the video above will not happen. you can go on moaning about it, but my child has never seen that type of nonsense AT ANY FUNCTION we've been to. PERIOD. END OF STORY.

I hear you you loud and clear!!

Ricki Jai is a popular chutney singer from Trinidad.
Originally posted by cain:
Originally posted by AndrÃĐ:

ME AN DA CHIEF NEED SOME PICS OF THIS.

Been there done that!!!
At this point of my life I man chilling and praying!! Wink
Man den stay yuh Baxside at Home and shut off yuh TV. Lil Punani never hurt anyone. yippie yippie
Originally posted by Cobra:
The vulgarity that is portrayed at the labor day parade obscured the true meaning of the yearly celebration. The women are engaged in public obscenities that encouraged police officers to do the same. The African Zulu tribe is a class act comparing to sweaty back balling and fat shaking rare ends.
Originally posted by Nehru:
Man den stay yuh Baxside at Home and shut off yuh TV. Lil Punani never hurt anyone. yippie yippie
Originally posted by Cobra:
The vulgarity that is portrayed at the labor day parade obscured the true meaning of the yearly celebration. The women are engaged in public obscenities that encouraged police officers to do the same. The African Zulu tribe is a class act comparing to sweaty back balling and fat shaking rare ends.

The value system of some, is what makes the world the sh!t hole it is today. Guyana is no different.

My mom always say that you make your children, not their minds. Many young kids including indians are spreading their wings beyond anything you might ever think of. But for the most part they are only having fun. Their outlook is nothing to what we were brought up with. They are very confident, fearless and lack that grain of hypocrisy we sometimes have. They are much more tolerant to others and other cultures beliefs. Your daughter may not partake in this kind of activity but maybe she will and my bet is that if she did you will be able to use your love for her and all her other great qualities to overlook this and see it as just young kids having some fun.

Now at Nehru’s age, if he were to behave this way would be plain sick. Smile