http://www.demerarawaves.com/i....T-9-aX1LOXc.twitter

Ralph Ramkarran resigns from PPPPDF | Print |
Written by Denis Scott Chabrol   
Saturday, 30 June 2012 18:22

Long-serving member of the Peoples Progressive Party (PPP), Ralph Ramkarran on Saturday resigned from the political organisation, just weeks after he publicly called for rampant corruption to be addressed.

Sources close to the former Speaker of the National Assembly, however, rule out Ramkarran joining the Alliance For Change (AFC) or any other political party. Ramkarran was unavailable for comment on his decision but sources say that it stemmed from a racuous at the Executive Committee meeting on Friday. 

Former President, Bharrat Jagdeo was not at that meeting but Demerara Waves Online News (www.demwaves.com) was told that two senior party members who are high-ranking functionaries at the Office of the President heaped criticism on Ramkarran.

Following are Ramkarran's statement and his resignation.

My resignation from the People’s Progressive Party was handed in to the office of the General Secretary this morning.

At a meeting of the Executive Committee on Friday, June 29, 2012, disquiet was expressed about the confidentiality of discussions in my presence having regard to my recent article on corruption. However difficult it might be to link the two issues, the intensity of the discussions were such that further participation in the activities of the PPP would be a challenge.

RALPH RAMKARRAN

June 30, 2012

June 30, 2012.

Cde. Donald Ramotar,

General Secretary,

Freedom House,

Robb Street,

Georgetown.

Dear General Secretary,

I tender my resignation from the Peoples Progressive Party.

Yours fraternally,

Ralph Ramkarran

Originally Posted by Tar_K:

There is even a greater need for a third party that will grow....

True, but you know as well as most, the evil PNC and their GDF sidekick just watching and waiting to pounce and enslave Indians once again for the next 50 years.  Until this "axis of oppression" is addressed, the PPP will get away with almost anything, unfortunately.  You walking a tight rope in Guyana.

Originally Posted by Wally:

This is shocking news for me.  I always liked Ralph.  But I always liked Donald also.  I hope he changes his mind and come back.  If the party can find it in their hearts to forgive Narvin and take him back then they can find it in their hearts to bring back Ralph and Moses.  It is truely a sad day for me.

Wally, you have your head in the sand.  Like Nagamootoo, this is another long-time stalwart of the PPP and he must have agonized over this decision.  The party don't have to "find it in their hearts to forgive", the party and to "find it's heart" and return to it's virtues.  There is clearly a faction within the PPP aiming to push out these guys so the "devil's brood" could fully take over.

If enough of these guys form another force, they could further weken the PPP and cause a rise of the PNC.

Gerhard made an open gesture to Ralph. Interesting times ahead.

Gerhard has good intentions towards Guyana however, I don't see a 3rd force rising to pose any credible threat to the PPP as long "as the PNC-GDF nexus remains intact".  The Ex GDF contingency which went from Brooklyn and ran the PNC campaign made their intentions very clear. The AFC shot itself in the foot by taking an overly one-sided approach against the PPP.  Coupled with the big "back-stab" of the Afro community, the writing in on the wall for Guyana's politics.  There is enormous mistrust among the Indo-Guyanese, not towards the AFC, but more the PNC and it's game-plan in this triangle.

For the AFC to maintain relevance it must face this reality and take a more balanced approach leaving openings to work with either side.  Furthermore, it needs to clean up it's internal politics returning to a plural format vs the current pull towards "family orientation".

The resignation of Ralph Ramkarran from the PPP comes as no surprise, yet it is of great significance for the struggle for decency in public life and clean and accountable governance in Guyana.
Like me, Ralph has been with the PPP for literally his entire lifetime being the eldest son of one of the founders, "Boysie" Ramkarran.
Ralph best represented a moderate outlook fo...r the PPP, and was seen as a compromise candidate to succeed the late Jagans in both the party and state leadership, which was why I backed him in 2010 when I withdrew from the selection process for a presidential candidate. He was defeated by undemocratic methods and maligned, for taking his concerns about corruption public. This is a cardinal and key "sin", and it was a matter of time that, like the democrats before, he fell to the axe of the tiny and frightened clique of Stalinists who have hijacked the PPP.
They would try to get him back, and would make him debased offers as his resignation has taken the PPP to a point of detour from which there would be no return. A luta continua!   Moses Nagamootoo Sunday July 1st ,2012
Originally Posted by Churchill:

The resignation of Ralph Ramkarran from the PPP comes as no surprise, yet it is of great significance for the struggle for decency in public life and clean and accountable governance in Guyana.
Like me, Ralph has been with the PPP for literally his entire lifetime being the eldest son of one of the founders, "Boysie" Ramkarran.
Ralph best represented a moderate outlook fo...r the PPP, and was seen as a compromise candidate to succeed the late Jagans in both the party and state leadership, which was why I backed him in 2010 when I withdrew from the selection process for a presidential candidate. He was defeated by undemocratic methods and maligned, for taking his concerns about corruption public. This is a cardinal and key "sin", and it was a matter of time that, like the democrats before, he fell to the axe of the tiny and frightened clique of Stalinists who have hijacked the PPP.
They would try to get him back, and would make him debased offers as his resignation has taken the PPP to a point of detour from which there would be no return. A luta continua!   Moses Nagamootoo Sunday July 1st ,2012

Well Churchill, Janet gave us the current Stalanist cabal in an undemocratic way.  I don't pity you guys so much as you were all part and parcel of that organization.  However, I do pity the people of Guyana who have to deal with the fall-out from a myriad of bad judgements and decisions by both the Jagans.

The Jagans dead Nah????

Let watch for the "meemakaramization" of Ramkarran.   Nepotism, corruption and incest bursting at the seams in the PPP.  Not much room left for those who wish not to be part of it.  Ramotar needs to act fast and decisive if he wants to maintain credibility.

Is only now Ralphie see nepotism , corruption and incest ? is where de ra55 he bin when Cheddi and Janet were planting such seeds with the likes of present party executives ?

dem bais like 5 decades too late !

Originally Posted by Tar_K:

There is even a greater need for a third party that will grow....

True, but you know as well as most, the evil PNC and their GDF sidekick just watching and waiting to pounce and enslave Indians once again for the next 50 years.  Until this "axis of oppression" is addressed, the PPP will get away with almost anything, unfortunately.  You walking a tight rope in Guyana.

always pushing the fear factor . is talk like di had indo guyanese like pu55ies under the PPP leadership. time fuh ya'll grow some  balls even if is aloo balls , balls nevertheless .

Originally Posted by Wally:

This is shocking news for me.  I always liked Ralph.  But I always liked Donald also.  I hope he changes his mind and come back.  If the party can find it in their hearts to forgive Narvin and take him back then they can find it in their hearts to bring back Ralph and Moses.  It is truely a sad day for me.

bannas better than been duped and pooped on by these likes of yours.

yall PPPites and X pppites always laying full blame pun the Janet and always absolving Cheddi .  Listen guys wan ah dese days alyuh might see de light and know dat the reason Guyana is in such a mess is solely because of Cheddi jagan . not janet Jagan , not the CIA and not the British govt. The problem with yous guys is cannot accept blame and responsibility but yuh ready fuh throw blame pun other people . If PNC was fuh tek ova all alyuh would mout fiery words from FAR with the tails up your a55.

Someone does not become a Neemakaram because they resign from a Party. When one resign in Passion and join the ENEMY because of frustration, that is a totally different matter.

Kid, You yourself need to wake up from your Coma and smell the Coffee. The Jagans dead and gone, keep blaming them(And that is all you doing casting blame)and you also are like the others. Jagan IS the FATHER of our Nation and no one can take that away.

There are still some rough edges in the PPP to smooth out. What Ralph Ramkarran did was admirable. He's a long-serving politician in the PPP, and it's sad that he had to resign. However, what he said about corruption need to be taken very seriously. Corruption is not an easy task to deal with when the practice is embedded in Guyanese psyche for generation. It's actually a way of life that became a second nature. To be fair, President Ramotar needs the space to concentrate on this issue and make a sound decision on what course of action is necessary to elevate the situation. This will take a long process, but it will never get rid of corruption totally. This should be a joint effort since every member of the three parties are no stranger to corruption. This is definitely not a PPP issue; it's an issue that burned the Guyanese society for many decades.         

Baseman: Ramkarran will not receive the brand of neemakaramism.You jump the gun.  

Originally Posted by kidmost:

yall PPPites and X pppites always laying full blame pun the Janet and always absolving Cheddi .  Listen guys wan ah dese days alyuh might see de light and know dat the reason Guyana is in such a mess is solely because of Cheddi jagan . not janet Jagan , not the CIA and not the British govt. The problem with yous guys is cannot accept blame and responsibility but yuh ready fuh throw blame pun other people . If PNC was fuh tek ova all alyuh would mout fiery words from FAR with the tails up your a55.

Yea bai, weh you get di idea me is a PPP or X-PPP.  Like you lashing daro early morning.

Abidah, You are on the money Bhai. Ralph probably resigned because some in the Party were harrassing him for writing and exposing Corruption. Those Bastards should be exposed and jailed. Anyone who do not want corruption to be exposes is GUILTY in my eyes as a BLOODY THIEF!!!

Any idea who might "those bastards" be?  I'm sure Mr Ramkarran did not quit due to some low-level benign corruption.

Someone does not become a Neemakaram because they resign from a Party. When one resign in Passion and join the ENEMY because of frustration, that is a totally different matter.

Kid, You yourself need to wake up from your Coma and smell the Coffee. The Jagans dead and gone, keep blaming them(And that is all you doing casting blame)and you also are like the others. Jagan IS the FATHER of our Nation and no one can take that away.

So if he resign and go roll up in a corner and molt he is a hero.  If Ramkarran decide to go with the "enemy" different matter!  Now, tell me, who is the ENEMY?

The corrupt cabal is a direct political prodigy of the Jagans.  We are only one removed from their stewardship.  Don't we all still refer to LFSB, Hoyte, etc as the roots of Guyana's ills?

So if he resign and go roll up in a corner and molt he is a hero.  If Ramkarran decide to go with the "enemy" different matter!  Now, tell me, who is the ENEMY?

The corrupt cabal is a direct political prodigy of the Jagans.  We are only one removed from their stewardship.  Don't we all still refer to LFSB, Hoyte, etc as the roots of Guyana's ills?

You dont know who the Emenies are??? Imagine these People beat Moses to almost death and now he in bed with them. Who is advocating for him to roll up in a corner. Read again what I posted.

Remember, the enemy of my enemy is my friend.

One thing for sure Ralph WILL NOT be UNGREATFUL. He will NOT join the ENEMY!!!!   Ralph resigned on Principle NOT PASSION, FRUSTRATION and FEELING NEGLECTED.

Nehru,  I know how you guys operate. I hope that you remember these words in the coming months that you have said Nehru and refrain from calling Comrades who quit the party "traitors, Neemakarams and opportunists". Also refrain from calling their homes and leaving threatening messages for them, refrain from senting them threatening letters and refrain from going to their homes and shouting traitors, Neemakarams and opportunists at them and breaking their windows at night.

Help me there nah!  Spit it out!

Originally Posted by Prashad:

One thing for sure Ralph WILL NOT be UNGREATFUL. He will NOT join the ENEMY!!!!   Ralph resigned on Principle NOT PASSION, FRUSTRATION and FEELING NEGLECTED.

Nehru,  I know how you guys operate. I hope that you remember these words in the coming months that you have said Nehru and refrain from calling Comrades who quit the party "traitors, Neemakarams and opportunists". Also refrain from calling their homes and leaving threatening messages for them, refrain from sending them threatening letters and refrain from going to their homes and shouting traitors, Neemakarams and opportunists at them and breaking their windows at night.

Bai, why you bringing up old PNC/HoI behavior.  This is 20 years ago.

Originally Posted by ABIDHA:

There are still some rough edges in the PPP to smooth out. What Ralph Ramkarran did was admirable. He's a long-serving politician in the PPP, and it's sad that he had to resign. However, what he said about corruption need to be taken very seriously. Corruption is not an easy task to deal with when the practice is embedded in Guyanese psyche for generation. It's actually a way of life that became a second nature. To be fair, President Ramotar needs the space to concentrate on this issue and make a sound decision on what course of action is necessary to elevate the situation. This will take a long process, but it will never get rid of corruption totally. This should be a joint effort since every member of the three parties are no stranger to corruption. This is definitely not a PPP issue; it's an issue that burned the Guyanese society for many decades.         

Baseman: Ramkarran will not receive the brand of neemakaramism.You jump the gun.  

======

You ABIDHA will be one of the first calling him neemakaram as you have called Moses using one of your many handles. If Ramkarran takes up a political role I will remind you when you call him such.

Originally Posted by Prashad:

Baseman.  These are the tactics employed by the hidden gang inside the PPP. They have been around long before Jagdeo and Ramotar.  I am not making this up baseman.  This is how these guys operate.  If you doubt me just ask  Moses bhagwan what happen to him.

============

I don't doubt you but they are a pack of useless pricks who are not prepared an equipped to run a country.