Shamnarine was reportedly abused repeatedly for several years, and on some occasions in the presence of their child, who is now five-years-old.

Berbice domestic worker dies after severe beating by husband

Six days after allegedly being beaten by her husband, 44-year-old domestic worker Sabita Shamnarine of Line Path Village, East Berbice, Corentyne, died at the New Amsterdam Hospital on Saturday evening.

The death of the woman has left relatives feeling a sense of regret and anger as they are appealing to women who are abused to report the matter to the Police before it is too late.

They are calling on the Police to ensure the man who beat Shamnarine faces the full penalty of the law.

Shamnarine was reportedly abused repeatedly for several years, and on some occasions in the presence of their child, who is now five-years-old.

On the night of July 15, 2018, Shamnarine was beaten so badly that it left marks of violence about her head, neck, abdomen. She was allegedly cuffed, kicked and beaten by her husband, who has so far been only identified as Manoj; he has been arrested and remains in custody.

The woman was taken to the hospital by a friend on Monday last after she pleaded not to be taken back home for fear of more licks.

Mere hours after being admitted, she was reportedly rendered unconscious due to the beating and had to be transferred from the Skeldon Hospital to New Amsterdam on Friday after her condition continued to deteriorate. She was placed on life support in the Intensive Care Unit but eventually succumbed on July 21.

A post-mortem examination is expected to be conducted today to determine the exact cause of death.

A family friend who spoke with this publication said they have been pleading with Shamnarine to leave the abusive relationship, but she was always very fearful of leaving.

β€œWhen her son gets an accident in 2016, someone went home to inform them and found him beating her naked; another time he pelted a hammer to her head,” the family friend stated.

https://newsroom.gy/2018/07/23...-beating-by-husband/

I do not argue with Antimen like you.

Have a good day.

You are showing bravery with the wrong signature, GNI fearless. You love to use Blackman name boldly behind a computer, but you can't tell them in front of their face. You are a seedless barwah choda. No wonder Granger is shoving bamboo in all-you kaka-hole. 

This has been a regular occurrence where men vent their frustration on women/wife and children. Rum drinking is the major cause. Some of them never get sober to think straight that they are hurting another human being. Another man's daughter, a woman. Hanging is too easy. Life in prison will teach him a good lesson. 

What Manoj did was awful and criminal , he needs to be given the full penalty by the law. But Prince ,you already conclude that RUM was the cause, I did not see it in your article above. Mental problem is a big problem in Guyana, the daily stress of not having a job and failing to provide for the family leads many to break, and that is so in all races. So just don't single out Coolie man, are you a racist??

Domestic violence must be condemned and the person responsible for this act must be hanged.

Antiman Prince is implying that all Indo males are abusive and the Blackman  [African] are not abusive.

SMH.

Looks like an African man does eat your dinner,when ever the mention of  East Indian domestic abusers,the African men are resurrected.It's a known fact that East Indians men outshine African men as domestic abusers.

East Indian men does dakolay too much white rum.

Domestic violence must be condemned and the person responsible for this act must be hanged.

Antiman Prince is implying that all Indo males are abusive and the Blackman  [African] are not abusive.

SMH.

Looks like an African man does eat your dinner,when ever the mention of  East Indian domestic abusers,the African men are resurrected.It's a known fact that East Indians men outshine African men as domestic abusers.

Now, you have facts to back up, where is the source.??

Not murder: Skeldon domestic worker died from natural causes

Died from natural causes: Sabita Shamnarine

A post mortem examination conducted on the body of 40-year-old Sabita Shamnarine, a domestic worker of Line Path, Skeldon, Berbice, has since revealed that she died from gastro intestinal bleeding and shock and haemorrhage to the brain.
Senior police sources have since confirmed that the woman’s death is not being treated as a murder since β€œthere were no injuries and she died from natural causes. It is not a murder, she got no injury. It could have been caused by drinking,” the officer said.
Shamnarine was admitted at the New Amsterdam Hospital in an unconscious state after she was transferred from the Skeldon Hospital some two weeks ago but succumbed to her illness on Saturday. She was reportedly admitted after complaining about her stomach and had alleged that she was beaten by her husband.
Meanwhile, the police relayed that the woman’s husband who was arrested after the woman was admitted to the hospital, still remains in custody until advice is sought.
Neighbour’s told Kaieteur News that the woman has been a victim of domestic violence for many years. On many occasions, her abuser was arrested but β€œshe does go and beg to release he”.
They also admitted that the woman is a heavy drinker and would imbibe with her husband.
The couple had two children. Their youngest, a five-year-old, would normally witness the alleged abuse meted out towards his mother.
On one occasion, the woman’s husband reportedly hammered her to the head while he was under the influence of alcohol.
The police are investigating.

https://www.kaieteurnewsonline...from-natural-causes/

What Manoj did was awful and criminal , he needs to be given the full penalty by the law. But Prince ,you already conclude that RUM was the cause, I did not see it in your article above. Mental problem is a big problem in Guyana, the daily stress of not having a job and failing to provide for the family leads many to break, and that is so in all races. So just don't single out Coolie man, are you a racist??

We need to accept that our kind outshine the Africans as domestic abusers.

Alcohol don't solve problems,it makes it worse.

SMH.

Seems like you haven't mingled with the Africans .

We need to accept that our kind outshine the Africans as domestic abusers.

Alcohol don't solve problems,it makes it worse.

Who abuse Who? the woman was also a drunk.

SMH.

You don't have to mingle with Africans to learn about Indians.

SMH.

You don't have to mingle with Africans to learn about Indians.

Mingling with other ethnicities one can gather their behavior.

Shut you poke. Coolie men love to suck rum night and day. What mental problem are you talking about? Rum eats up them frigging brains. 

alena06 posted:

Gosh this is really awful.  Society needs to take a stand against domestic violence.  The abuser should be hanged high.  Too often we let these abuses go  on as the women feel it is a way of life.  I am sickened beyond words. πŸ™

Didi, a lot of women  ah drink mo dan men. Meh agree wid yuh that: Society needs to take a stand against domestic violence.

alena06 posted:

Gosh this is really awful.  Society needs to take a stand against domestic violence.  The abuser should be hanged high.  Too often we let these abuses go  on as the women feel it is a way of life.  I am sickened beyond words. πŸ™

Domestic violence has become a big money making business.  

How so?

Alcoholism and the resulting behavior is a response to depression.  Lots of people suffer and don't know it.  It comes out differently in men and in women.

Blacks are less prone to becoming alcoholics and lashing out against their wives, etc because they tend to socialize more as a group in churches, etc.  I saw Blacks having their drinking sessions and their women are included.  They tend to have a built in support structure in their society. 

Muslims have the same structure and tend to operate the same way.  This is why they don't drink as much.

Hindus are different as the religion is non-congregational, as such, people don't feel the need for getting together.  Yes, Hindus do go to the temple, etc.  But many don't and when they do it's non-committal.  Hindus are an individualistic thinking people.  This is why suicide is also high among Hindus.  It's two sides of the same coin.

However, to qualify my comment. I grew up with Blacks and they do have their share of DV.  However, Black men tend to go look for a sweet homan to get away from pressure and conflict.  Indians go and get drunk and then go home!

alena06 posted:

When? How? Please explain.

Shut you poke. Coolie men love to suck rum night and day. What mental problem are you talking about? Rum eats up them frigging brains. 

I assume you didn't drink rum then why are misbehaving like a drunkard,  that's mental problem. 

alena06 posted:

Given your "wealth" of knowledge, you need to advise Annan Boodram, Shanaz and the TCV group who run the Suicide and DV prevention org out NY.  They always seem to be struggling scraping up funds of $2,000 - $2,500 to sponsor seminars in Guyana.

Oh, also Anna Correa.  She nows operates for the group in Guyana.

alena06 posted:

When? How? Please explain.

"Bibi", on a serious note, please elaborate. 

Amral posted:

Indian men are more prone to domestic violence than blackman

Different family structures.  The Indo family is more patriarchal so more Indo females are trapped in these abusive marriages. 

Black women have more confidence to separate themselves from these men because they are more able to function as independent women.  Their isn't a cultural imperative that they must be within a nuclear family structure dominated by the husband. Black families are also more matriarchal, especially these days now that black women tend to be more educated than black men.

It isn't that one ethnicity is more prone to domestic abuse.  Its that they have more opportunities to do so.  The stereotype of the "angry black woman" doesn't find an equivalent in the shape of the "angry Indo woman".   An analysis of labor statistics shows that Indo females are less likely to be in the labor force so more dependent on their husbands for their survival.  So its likely that they have to take more abuse because they have fewer alternatives.

I also suspect that the ethnic composition of those who successfully commit suicide arises from similar causes.

A post mortem examination conducted on the body of 40-year-old Sabita Shamnarine, a domestic worker of Line Path, Skeldon, Berbice, has since revealed that she died from gastro intestinal bleeding and shock and haemorrhage to the brain.
Senior police sources have since confirmed that the woman’s death is not being treated as a murder since β€œthere were no injuries and she died from natural causes. It is not a murder, she got no injury. It could have been caused by drinking,” the officer said.
Shamnarine was admitted at the New Amsterdam Hospital in an unconscious state after she was transferred from the Skeldon Hospital some two weeks ago but succumbed to her illness on Saturday. She was reportedly admitted after complaining about her stomach and had alleged that she was beaten by her husband.
Meanwhile, the police relayed that the woman’s husband who was arrested after the woman was admitted to the hospital, still remains in custody until advice is sought.
Neighbour’s told Kaieteur News that the woman has been a victim of domestic violence for many years. On many occasions, her abuser was arrested but β€œshe does go and beg to release he”.
They also admitted that the woman is a heavy drinker and would imbibe with her husband.
The couple had two children. Their youngest, a five-year-old, would normally witness the alleged abuse meted out towards his mother.
On one occasion, the woman’s husband reportedly hammered her to the head while he was under the influence of alcohol.

A post-mortem examination conducted on the body of 40-year-old Sabita Shamnarine, a domestic worker of Line Path, Skeldon, Berbice, has since revealed that she died from gastrointestinal bleeding and shock and haemorrhage to the brain.

Princess wrote" "Rum drinking is the major cause. Some of them never get sober to think straight that they are hurting another human being".

Princess' mouth like wan cunny. Every time he open he mouth, he wan big lollipop fuh suck.

Thanks, Mars.

A post-mortem examination conducted on the body of 40-year-old Sabita Shamnarine, a domestic worker of Line Path, Skeldon, Berbice, has since revealed that she died from gastrointestinal bleeding and shock and haemorrhage to the brain.

Princess wrote" "Rum drinking is the major cause. Some of them never get sober to think straight that they are hurting another human being".

Princess' mouth like wan cunny. Every time he open he mouth, he wan big lollipop fuh suck.

Thanks, Mars.

The jackass put up big heading. " look what coolie men are good for" without getting the full story.  How much more stupid can a person get?

Sounds like she had a drinking problem. But β€˜shock and hemorrhage to the head sound like a blow to the head.πŸ™