Originally posted by cain:
Originally posted by Chief:
Originally posted by D2:
your son is right. You should not eat out if you cannot pay the tips as he does. Go to the carryout or food cart, or food court instead. I eat out at least one meal a day as well and given how these people are abused one must at minimum pay 15 percent. If the waiter/waiter are good then one should compensate them more. That is the bulk of their wages,

I don't know about abused, these waiters and waitresses where I eat at are very healthy and robust looking. My average bill for lunch without alcohol is around 50 to 60 bucks and above and I feel that 10% is ok. Anyway in this new year I will put in the 15%.

What I detest is when the restaurants charge a mandatory 18% to 20% as gratuity .

That's when you never visit them again.

Chief, you sound like you is a cheap rass you know. Big Grin
Waiters/waitresses do not make much, they depend on the tips. In my younger days I worked for a short while in a bar (Footloose)for those who may have visited the place,the tips are often shared with the cook and dish washer, so the waiters/waitresses don't always go home with what they collected.

Strippers can also fall into that same category, they make whatever you decide to slide into their thongs/crevices or wherever.

bRO,
The last thing anyone who deal with me can say is that "I am cheap". In my heart of heart I think 10% is more than ok every time I spend 60 bucks and above.

I tip the gas station attendants every time they fill me up because I feel that those people have to be in the cold and heat whilst waiters enjoying comfortable environment.

As for the strippers( when i used to go, now I no longer ) they does get on how they perform Wink
Originally posted by D2:
your son is right. You should not eat out if you cannot pay the tips as he does. Go to the carryout or food cart, or food court instead. I eat out at least one meal a day as well and given how these people are abused one must at minimum pay 15 percent. If the waiter/waiter are good then one should compensate them more. That is the bulk of their wages,

I don't know about abused, these waiters and waitresses where I eat at are very healthy and robust looking. My average bill for lunch without alcohol is around 50 to 60 bucks and above and I feel that 10% is ok. Anyway in this new year I will put in the 15%.

What I detest is when the restaurants charge a mandatory 18% to 20% as gratuity.
If you pay them less than 15 you are absing them, Ask them if you think I am wrong, That is their earning since they work mainly for gratuity, Dont believe me. Ask them so you know,
You guys still have gas attendants who actually serve you?
Dam, I haven't had one of those in years,they're not easy to find around these here parts,it's all self serve, which I think sucks especially when Iman dress up in my Sunday best.
some states require gas pumps be manned. Most have self serve as well as full service. I hate the smell of gas so the self serve is not for me.
Originally posted by D2:

What I detest is when the restaurants charge a mandatory 18% to 20% as gratuity .

That's when you never visit them again.

Chief, you sound like you is a cheap rass you know. Big Grin
Waiters/waitresses do not make much, they depend on the tips. In my younger days I worked for a short while in a bar (Footloose)for those who may have visited the place,the tips are often shared with the cook and dish washer, so the waiters/waitresses don't always go home with what they collected.

Strippers can also fall into that same category, they make whatever you decide to slide into their thongs/crevices or wherever.

bRO,
The last thing anyone who deal with me can say is that "I am cheap". In my heart of heart I think 10% is more than ok every time I spend 60 bucks and above.

I tip the gas station attendants every time they fill me up because I feel that those people have to be in the cold and heat whilst waiters enjoying comfortable environment.

As for the strippers( when i used to go, now I no longer ) they does get on how they perform Wink

If you're tipping waiters at 10%, you are a cheapskate.

I hope you keep your promise to make it the standard 15%
No sweat, Spitin yuh food. No scratching of the Balls and Ass and then using the same hand to marinate my chicken. One Restaurant worker was caught Peeing in a batch of marinated Beef. yippie yippie
Iman does eat in restaurant once,twice annually. Home cooked meals rock,I know what went into the pot.

Outside cooked food never tasted too good.

Harvey's hamburgers got worse over the past 50 years. Kentucky Chicken worse yet. The Baked stuff -my goodness, those bakers in TO need to learn how to make chiny cake and pine tarts.
Originally posted by Errol Arthur:
Whenever I travel to NY I try to patronize the Guyanese reastauants and have never found one that met rreasonable standards of food preparation and presentation, etc.

However, I would like to raise another issue regarding rascality. Churchill treated me to a dinner at one of the better establishments. The food was passable but the waitress was very affable and professional. When she brought us the bill, Churchill rewarded her with a very generous tip. The owner then sent us an amended bill to include the tip as part of the purchase. The creep thereby robbed the server (who, Iam sure, was earning less than the minimum wage) of her well earned tip. We did not protest too much because we sensed the fear of losing her job in her. This is a heinous practice that you NYers should agitate against

Not only a NY phenomena, but industry wide I would say. Traditionally tips or gratuity were on a voluntary basis where patrons are expected to add between 10% - 15% on their tab ( presently I believe it more like 15% -25%) Now many establishments are arbitrarily adding gratuity to the bill and seldom share it fairly with the employees. Personally, I am not a great fan of eating out. My finicky habits restrict my options plus the blessing of a great chef at home rob me of any incentive.
Originally posted by D2:

What I detest is when the restaurants charge a mandatory 18% to 20% as gratuity.

Chiefy, what's your bill like when alcohol is included? Big Grin Do you eat 50-60 bucks of food, or are you dining with others? SmileYou've heard it from the other posters already and it won't hurt to say it again: 10% is too low. 15% is okay. 20% is the way to go. You reported that you gave 15%, but next time you dine out, I encourage you to tip 20%. It's better to give more than is expected. You can always refer back to the teachings...whatever you give, comes back to you 10 times. I know you won't argue with me on this one wavey
Originally posted by Nehru:
I usually tell the waitress to go to school and get a REAL Job if you are not satisfied. I did not tell you to drop out from HS. partybanana partybanana
I am quite certain that more than half of the time the waiters and waitresses are quite educated. Many do it because the hours are flexible as the pursue other interests or are out to earn some cash to pay off bills or buy something they want without breaking their budget. You generalize to easily. My hope is you do not return to the restaurant where you mistreat the waiter/waitresses or skimp on the tip.
They Hosted Wills and his "Thanks Giving" Party Ideas and gave little food. Kids were stamped so they cannot return for more food. Yet this was labelled Thanks Giving Food Hampers.

Chief I guess it was good cos it was in front of the Masjid Big Grin

Originally posted by Pointblank:
If you buy food from halal restaurants you will not have that many problem.

True dat chief Darbars or Marhaba is the way to go

Not forgetting Carifesta...the best Guyanese chineese in Town!!!
Originally posted by Miraver:
Originally posted by D2:

Chiefy, what's your bill like when alcohol is included? Big Grin Do you eat 50-60 bucks of food, or are you dining with others? SmileYou've heard it from the other posters already and it won't hurt to say it again: 10% is too low. 15% is okay. 20% is the way to go. You reported that you gave 15%, but next time you dine out, I encourage you to tip 20%. It's better to give more than is expected. You can always refer back to the teachings...whatever you give, comes back to you 10 times. I know you won't argue with me on this one wavey

I have nothing to argue about, I will get back my 10 times 15% Wink
50 to 60 bucks is normally for two of us.Alcohol can significantly make the bill larger for it is not cheap in the restaurants in Manhattan.

Mir back to the tips, I feel other type of service workers deserve better or more tips than waiters, for example I tip my shoe shine people 75 to 100%, my gas attendants get tips and many other people I do tip but again I feel it is the guest call to leave a tip for the restaurant people.
Originally posted by Vish M:
They Hosted Wills and his "Thanks Giving" Party Ideas and gave little food. Kids were stamped so they cannot return for more food. Yet this was labelled Thanks Giving Food Hampers.

Share skont you writing again.
I keep saying you are your worse enemy and this time you will destroy yourself big fing time!!!

You are a wannabe community leader if you continue with this type of publish thrash, you are wring about people and their business.

You are a chammar, sorry but every time you open your frigging mouth you are sounding like the low of the lowest.

WHat the Masjid has to do with this? Or is it because Carifesta is a halal establishment you want to thrash them.
Carifesta was the only restaurant that gave out over 350 FREE dinners on thanksgiving eve and instead of complimenting them you are writing bullshit.
Last week after you wrote nonsense about a brother you called like 5 times to apologize, now you writing shit about one of the best restaurants on Liberty Ave, how the fouck you will survive as a leader for business development organization is a frigging wonder. .
You should stop opening your mouth for every time you only braying like a donkey!!
Originally posted by Miraver:
Originally posted by D2:

I have nothing to argue about, I will get back my 10 times 15% Wink
50 to 60 bucks is normally for two of us.Alcohol can significantly make the bill larger for it is not cheap in the restaurants in Manhattan.

Mir back to the tips, I feel other type of service workers deserve better or more tips than waiters, for example I tip my shoe shine people 75 to 100%, my gas attendants get tips and many other people I do tip but again I feel it is the guest call to leave a tip for the restaurant people.
Even when we were broke in college we always allocate cash for 15% at minimum tips for the waiter/waitresses. I cannot say I have met or know anyone who stiff waiters/waitresses on tips or thinks it is optional. And you are the first I ever came across who make that claim.
D2,
Tips are not optional? Of course it is!!!!

Further more every guide line on tipping to waiters suggest 10 to 20%, so my 10 and now 15% is not stiffing anyone!!
Tipping your waiter/waitress is not optional. 10% is skimping; 15% basic, and 20% sufficient, 25% quite sufficient and anything above solicitation.
I usually tell the waitress to go to school and get a REAL Job if you are not satisfied. I did not tell you to drop out from HS. partybanana partybanana

You are brutal! Smile My last time at the Olive Garden we struck up a conversation with the waitress and learnt that she had a college degree but could not find a job..
Originally posted by alena:

You are brutal! Smile My last time at the Olive Garden we struck up a conversation with the waitress and learnt that she had a college degree but could not find a job..

Alena my last visit to Red LOBSTER in Manhattan my server is in medical school and she got MY 18% tip. As a matter of fact Manhattan Red Lobster it is a mandatory 18%.
Originally posted by Vish M:

Share skont you writing again.
I keep saying you are your worse enemy and this time you will destroy yourself big fing time!!!

You are a wannabe community leader if you continue with this type of publish thrash, you are wring about people and their business.

You are a chammar, sorry but every time you open your frigging mouth you are sounding like the low of the lowest.

WHat the Masjid has to do with this? Or is it because Carifesta is a halal establishment you want to thrash them.
Carifesta was the only restaurant that gave out over 350 FREE dinners on thanksgiving eve and instead of complimenting them you are writing bullshit.
Last week after you wrote nonsense about a brother you called like 5 times to apologize, now you writing shit about one of the best restaurants on Liberty Ave, how the fouck you will survive as a leader for business development organization is a frigging wonder. .
You should stop opening your mouth for every time you only braying like a donkey!!

Prejudice comes in many different forms and sometimes people don't even realize that they have exposed their prejudices inspite of all the precausions they take to hide them. Smile

Maybe Vishnu could list some of the Hindu owned restaurants on Liberty Avenue that hosted thanksgiving dinners buffet style for those kids.